funny how there isn't much rave abt the alpha 10s..

for the fellows who ride on the road 2... they have doubtless track grip.. are like superbly dual purpose.. likewise for the after-market qualifiers.. very good value for money.. But the 10s far outshine the qualifiers in profile.. no need to fight so hard to turn in and stay down.. guess thats y cost so much more..

Think its a viable option for some of us who also ride in sg roads..

Alpha 10s how much are they worth?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

• Replies 394

Just to add on...it seems like nobody mentioned Sportec M1..isit not tat popular in tracks? o_O

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

bros i need ur advice.. wat tyre should i use for rd and once a month track.. BT-016, Corsa 3??

2004-2007: Kawasaki KRR

2007-2008: Yamaha R6 02 & Honda Wave

2008-2011: Yamaha R6 07 & Honda Wave

2012-2013: Hond CBR600 & Honda Wave & KTM 640

bros i need ur advice.. wat tyre should i use for rd and once a month track.. BT-016, Corsa 3??

i'm using dc3... its not veri good on the wet, especially on the wet track.... dry no problem....

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

change taste already ah? wat happen to dragon supercorsa? :cheeky:

Dragon Supercorsa is still my tires of choice for now cos I've not tried Power 1 on my R6 on tracks. Power 1s i used for my KTM 400 on Tuas track and it sticks like glue.. :cheeky:

question - power ones change the geometry - how did you guys adjust your suspension to counter that?

Really?? How is that?? Anyway after i had my Power 1 fitted..i had my bike tweaked by the Ohlins specialist. Sporting Motor.. No issue with geometry at all.

i'm using dc3... its not veri good on the wet, especially on the wet track.... dry no problem....
im using dc3 too at tis moment, tot of trying other..

Michelin Power 1... :cheeky:

heard gd reviews bout it.. price wise??:faint:

question - power ones change the geometry - how did you guys adjust your suspension to counter that?

All tires change the geometry of the bike since they are never exactly the size that is described on the sidewall.

For example, a 190/55 rear Michelin Power Race tyre is actually close to 200mm in width when mounted and a Pirelli Supercorsa is almost bang on 190mm.

Of course, the width does not affect geomoetry (much), but because the height of a tyre is dependent on it's profile (shape) & width (aspect ratio the "55" in 190/55), it means that a Michelin will probably be taller than a Pirelli, since 55% of 200 is more than 55% of 190.

That is when geometry is affected since a taller rear will put more weight on the nose of the bike. This may be good as it promotes faster steering, but bad too since it can push too much weight on the front, leading to front end tucks and even spinning the rear since not enough weight is on it.

Most commonly, the problem always occurs up front. For example, Michelin have a special "C" compound Power Race front (which is now a "V" compound Power One front) which is a taller tire (5mm) in terms of profile (it is more triangulated than the rounder standard race tyre) to give more contact patch at full lean, although it is still a 120/70 as the standard race tyre is.

Because it is taller, it lifts the front end of the bike 5mm, which will cause the bike to steer slow (although the triangulated profile may mask this) and take weight off the front, meaning that it will run wide (understeer) and tuck if you push it.

I know this very well since I crashed in turn 6 in the '08 MSS when we mounted this "C" front without making any adjustments.

Now, I drop the forks 5mm to account for the extra height so the bike maintains the same characteristics and weight distribution.

Because of that most serious racers always tape measure the tyres compared to the old tyre before fitting them on, so that they maintain the same attitude of the bike that they are used to and dont crash like me.

Remember, all brands and models are slightly different and calculations are only theory, so break out those tape measures and be aware!!!

Lastly, you can also drop/raise forks/shocks to suit your riding style.

In WSB, the superstick 1098s run a vert flat attitude to carry more corner speed, but Bayliss and Haga run very high rears and low fronts to suit the style they adopted on the 1098 for high horespower WSB races, so that they can brake, turn the bike, pick it up and fire it out, spending as little time lent over on the side. This slows the apex corner speed but means that the speed down the next straight to the next corner is higher, which contributes to a higher average speed, which contributes to lower lap times. This works for WSB, and the 990cc generation of MotoGP bikes, but not for the 800cc generation, which has less grunt, so rely on corner speed instead.

These 800s have no choice but to run as fast as they can through the corner, so mid turn balance is the key and a latter geometry is used.

Rossi has been putting more wiehgt on the rear of the bike to help maintain mid corner balance and counter wheelspin on exits, which is why you always see him run up against everyone else mid corner.

He is smart, using the strenghts of the bike to win.

Spend more time at Sporting Motors and they can tell you all about it, ask Dhiraj and you shall receive.

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

For riders, by riders, NOT SOME GREEDY F*CK OUT TO MAKE A BUCK

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=23316&dateline=1271137474&type=profile

Nice..in depth characteristic of tires. Even thou i sort of know wat the numbers mean on the tire wall..its juz too long / too chim to explain. Only Hart can write essays..haha!! Good job..

im using dc3 too at tis moment, tot of trying other..

heard gd reviews bout it.. price wise??:faint:

Price varies..heard $430 to $450 normally. Some ppl can get it cheap..some can't. See which bike shop u got marbles..they like ur marbles, u get it cheaper.. :cheeky:

Dragon Supercorsa is still my tires of choice for now cos I've not tried Power 1 on my R6 on tracks. Power 1s i used for my KTM 400 on Tuas track and it sticks like glue.. :cheeky:

wah... u big & small also whack... hardcore... my suspension need touch up leh.. rear getting softer already... :cheeky:

Can't post a new thread? Read HERE

Price varies..heard $430 to $450 normally. Some ppl can get it cheap..some can't. See which bike shop u got marbles..they like ur marbles, u get it cheaper.. :cheeky:

thanx bro..:cheers:

wah... u big & small also whack... hardcore... my suspension need touch up leh.. rear getting softer already... :cheeky:

Go set lor... :cheeky:

R6 now no more riding already..handed over to my bro. Nw driving a Vivaro to transport the KTM to Tuas track..woohooo!!!

Go set lor... :cheeky:

R6 now no more riding already..handed over to my bro. Nw driving a Vivaro to transport the KTM to Tuas track..woohooo!!!

alamak... den let go PG already & whack tuas?

Can't post a new thread? Read HERE

guys help, bt 092 a use er track?

You can use any tires you want on the track.

The question is:

What do you want out of it?

If you are looking for fun, the BT092 will be fine. You just have to ride to the tire and not let the red mist come down if someone goes past.

Make sure you check the tire's speed ratings. Google it.

Hartholomew Mamola

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=23316&dateline=1271137474&type=profile

guys,how do we know the tyre has worn out(track riding)?

and usually which part of the tyre worn out first?

tks.

2 ways:

You may notice a lack of grip, which mainly is attributable to 2 things:

Wear (rubber worn down) - look closely at your tires and you will see some "humps" in the tread. When the tire wears down to the point where these "humps" are flat with the tire, it's time to change.

Heat Cycling - Rubber hardens every time it gets heated up and cools down. This is especially so when used hard (track riding), so a tire's grip may start declining even before the rubber has worn down to the "humps".

For most riders like us though, the "humps"/"indicators"/"markers" are good enough though. But you have to bear in mind that tires lose grip eventually through their service life - so ride to those limits.

For track riding, the sides always wear down first - unless you are a ***** (haha).

Hartholomew Mamola

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

Tks Hart!:thumb:

But for those tyre without tread on the shoulder,how do we know the shoulder area has worn out?

Edited by ongsujie

live to RIDE

RIDE to live

Has anyone tried the new Metzeler racetec Interact, I was talking to a Pirelli guy recently (Pirelli & Metzeler are owned by same company), he was saying the racetecs are the business, new technology, better than the Diablo Supercorsa (a couple of year old technology now).

Any feedback, thoughts?

It doesn't matter what the question is, the answer is more power!