if 10 may seems like i can make it.

what sort of touring storage is available ya? or any recommendations on how bring stuff for touring? my bike doesn't have box....

what speed you all be travelling? how long (timing) to malacca ya?

if you do not want to spend on a tank bag ($100 to $300), consider packing your clothes in a black garbage bag or zip loc bags (army style) and secure the bag over the rear seat using bungee cods or nets. This is available at ah boy's shop. But something like gloves, request for bungee cods free. Hope it helps.

I will most likely not be able to make this trip.. But if time permits, i'll try to to be at Petronas to send the team off :)

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

• Replies 41.9k

• AsHaRiE

• Singaporean

• muhdhaikal

• kitty23

beach road army market also sells those type of bicycle nets with black hooks.

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

FAQ

1. $80 is for the hotel stay only?

Yesd, the $80 is for the hotel stay. Should there be an excess, we will either refund you or we will pool the money together for a meal if you guys agree. Or put into the ever declining fund to prep for Matric fair.

2. What will be the travelling speed.

As of now, there are no 2B bikes. So we will most likely be travelling at 100km/h of 2A bikes. Should Chie Hui and wadi decide to join us ( which all of us are hoping he will) we will travel at about 90km/h 2A speed.

3. How much are we going to sp[end there.

No one will spend more on petrol than Stanley. He estimates that we need at most RM$80 for petrol. For enjoyment, SGD$100 is enough.

4. How big is the group.

As of now, 11 person (exclude wadi xyoshiki and Chie Hui) and 9 bikes.

As

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

Some distance figures for you all.

Tuas Checkpoint (Singapore) to GP Esso => 5.7km

GP Esso to Machap (1st Stop) => 87.41km

Machap to Ayer Keroh (1st R&R, not 2nd Overhead Bridge Restaurant [OBR]) => 130.5km

Total distance spent on NSHW to Ayerkeroh (just outside Malacca)

=> 223.61km

I propose to leave GP Esso at 0745. This is so that we can reach Malacca in time (preferably before noon) to check in, settle down and be able to have Chicken Rice balls instead of Chicken rice bones.

Setting off early, the morning air is cool, the sun is behind us. V shiok for riding.

Average riding speed would be 110km/h (NSHW speed limit) to 130km/h.

DO NOT worry about losing sight or not being able to catch up. North South HighWay (NSHW) is just a huge straight line. If you do not see a human marker, just continue going straight.

Keep in mind PAGOH R&R, MACHAP R&R, Ayer Keroh R&R. Remember that sometimes the town turn-offs are BEFORE the R&R, so slow down and look out for human markers before attempting to turn off.

0745 depart GP Esso ( HW & Fadz pls do your BMT thing and get everyone organised to set off at that time exact. I know I can count on you guys. :thumb: Bo pian if pple have to rush to wait, wait to rush. Timing must be met)

0845 Reach Machap R&R : 1 hour should be more than enough time to cover 80+ km. Once reach, top up petrol and go. Our destination for holiday is Malacca, NOT the petrol station at Machap. Prepare to depart at 0900.

1015 Reach Ayer Keroh R&R : Final top up before heading into Malacca. WQ will take lead from here on into the town. I'm not 100% sure of Malacca town small roads to Aldy. I don't mind exploring on my own, but I mind leading 10 bikes to horlan....

1145 Reach Aldy Hotel : 1 hour 45 mins to get from Ayer Keroh to Aldy takes into account horlan antics and pple dilly dallying.

(1) Maintain safe following distance. DO NOT follow too close because you are scared to be lost. Straight road all the way, look out for human markers.

(2) Watch out for each other. NUS first outing, I will take it personally against anyone attempting for 299km/h past me. Objective is to ride safe, get there together, enjoy first time experience of riding up to Malaysia safely within comfort levels.

(3) In case of anything, call my H/P number. My helmet headset enables me to pick up your call even when I am on the move. No worries about that. Just remember that you are NEVER alone. Help is always on hand. We will have a designated Sweeper (the most experienced of the lot... aka my dearest Lin W.) to ride last. No matter what happens, you know that there is someone behind you.

(4) I understand everyone is busy preparing for exams. BUT if you need to get some servicing or some parts changed on your bike. Please do it NOW 3 weeks before the trip. It is too late if you wait till after exams.

(5) IN the event of rain, make sure to stop safely along road shoulder. Make sure its not along a bend or blind corner and you can see vehicles coming from afar. FACE oncoming traffic while you put on your rain attire and be prepared to jump off NSHW if some crazy truck comes careening towards you. Don't get hit by something in the backside and meet St. Peter without knowing what happened.

(6) As always. TSR states that you all need 7 hours of sleep before hand. I know some of you all will be excited, first time heading up. BUT do NOT consume (excessive amounts?) of alcohol just to help you sleep.

All are matured adults. For this trip please look learn and listen out for instructions from me, WQ and Derek. We will try out best to make the trip as pleasant as safe as possible. Look forward to having fun together ladies and gentlemen! :cheeky:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3506/3466942491_3c2e673ece_o.jpg

One more thing. Please learn from Issac.

ZIPLOC and waterproof your Handphone + Passport.

:D :D :D

haha yes it was an expensive lesson.

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

thanks for the advice.

thinking of just carrying a backpack on the shoulder.....and letting the weight rest on the seat.

Some people don't mind doing this. However I personally recommend against it. I always travel clean fatigues free from stuff. I believe it saps energy slowly to carry stuff on the body.

BUT

Why not you give it a try and let us know if you can take it? ;-)

ermm.. i tot its 0800 at gelang patah?? 0745 kinda early i think.. kekeke

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

ermm.. i tot its 0800 at gelang patah?? 0745 kinda early i think.. kekeke

Actually I would rather set off at 0700. Best way to ensure we reach Malacca before noon. This includes anything that crops up along the way.

WQ what do you reckon? I believe if we go by 8am meet at GP, plus pple being late and all... We gonna end up departing GP Esso only at 8:30am.

Name of Event:

NUSRiders Malacca Trip 2008

Organiser (Contact Number):

Hongwei / 94597410

Date and Time:

10th May 2008 morning to 11th May 2008 evening

Meetup Location:

NUS SRC Carpark(0730h) or Gelang Patah Esso after Malayisan customs at 2nd Link(0800h)

Itinerary:

Day 1

Ride to Malacca via North-South Highway, Check-in to Aldy Hotel.

Lunch then hog the hotel's rooftop Jacuzzi overlooking Malacca. (haha!)

Dinner then all drink on the club president at the hotel lounge.

Day 2

Sightseeing all day!

Can shop for goodies to bring home, but remember to bring touring storages on your bikes. Then

Return to Singapore via trunk roads and NSH.

Costs (if any): TBC (petrol, makan, shopping, accomodation)

Admin Instructions/ Notes: TBC

Confirmed List:

1. Lin W / 96985712 / NOK: Lim Chang Ban - 96497212

2. Hongwei / 94597410 / NOK: Cynthia Wee - 97728671

3. Fazli / 98005561 / NOK: Fazli's mother - 64015142

4. Stanley /

5. CS / 91556265 / NOK: PaPa CS -- 96749962

6. Kitty /

7. Chottoh/

9. Deborah /

10. Haikal/

11. Derek /

12. xyoshiki / 93380572

NOTE:

Please apply for auto roam so it is easy to contact. I understand that the telcos do offer temporary auto roam.

Have $80 ready on Wednesday for collection. I will persoonally call to remind you on Tuesday.

Versys

think i going unique motors to service my bike before going for the trip.

Time to change engine oil and perhaps check on my clutch as well.

Anyone wants to go there on 9 May afternoon? After morning paper.

Versys

think i going unique motors to service my bike before going for the trip.

Time to change engine oil and perhaps check on my clutch as well.

Anyone wants to go there on 9 May afternoon? After morning paper.

Please read carefully what I wrote. :sian:

inspiring

tml i shall go

-service front brake pump

-change brake pads

-change clutch cable

-screw up all the loosen screws (tighten is the word, but, screw up sounds better)

and the excess $ if have for the 80 collected

i strongly agree to a makan session

anyway

hongwei, i still owe u the bak kut teh $, and for tt, i will add in 1 Limited Edition SBF tee-shirt as interet to pass to u

Name of Event:

Hongwei / 94597410

Date and Time:

Meetup Location:

NUS SRC Carpark(0730h) or Gelang Patah Esso after Malayisan customs at 2nd Link(0800h)

Itinerary:

Day 1

Day 2

Sightseeing all day!

Can shop for goodies to bring home, but remember to bring touring storages on your bikes. Then

Confirmed List:

4. Stanley / 90289458 / Will pass info to HW.

6. Kitty /

7. Chottoh/

9. Deborah /

10. Haikal/

11. Derek /

12. xyoshiki / 93380572

13. Stan's friend / contact Stan

NOTE:

Please apply for auto roam so it is easy to contact. I understand that the telcos do offer temporary auto roam.

Have $80 ready on Wednesday for collection. I will persoonally call to remind you on Tuesday.

hey whats nok?? wed is study week...u guys coming to sch ?

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr17/her-melancholic-smile/banner.jpg

magic 110r - 2007

nsr sp 150r - 2008

s4 spec2 - 2009

Phanthom - 2009

Finooo - 2009

Vespa - 2015

NOK next of Kin..

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

xyoshiki.. maybe i can join u.. i intend to flush coolant.. and do the necessary checks.. loosen chain.. etc etc..

Name of Event:

Hongwei / 94597410

Date and Time:

Meetup Location:

Itinerary:

Day 1

Day 2

Sightseeing all day!

Confirmed List:

4. Stanley / 90289458 / Will pass info to HW.

6. Kitty / NOK : kitty's mum 96707880

7. Chottoh/

9. Deborah /

10. Haikal/

11. Derek /

12. xyoshiki / 93380572

13. Stan's friend / contact Stan

NOTE:

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr17/her-melancholic-smile/banner.jpg

magic 110r - 2007

nsr sp 150r - 2008

s4 spec2 - 2009

Phanthom - 2009

Finooo - 2009

Vespa - 2015

Actually I would rather set off at 0700. Best way to ensure we reach Malacca before noon. This includes anything that crops up along the way.

WQ what do you reckon? I believe if we go by 8am meet at GP, plus pple being late and all... We gonna end up departing GP Esso only at 8:30am.

the other time time.. my group set off abt 0830.. but we managed to reach ayer keroh b4 noon.. ard 11 like dat.. riding around 100-110.. but topup session is really touch n go.. no dilly dally... think shud be able to..

i dunnoe.. hehehe organizer's decision..

hehe.. for sum reasons i shall not put up my name yet on the list.. hehe.. have to verbally sign a contract with my gf.. still in negotiations talk..

hehehe..

Wadi, CH u going?

my bike is sick again.

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

the other time time.. my group set off abt 0830.. but we managed to reach ayer keroh b4 noon.. ard 11 like dat.. riding around 100-110.. but topup session is really touch n go.. no dilly dally... think shud be able to..

i dunnoe.. hehehe organizer's decision..

Then we can reach even earlier. The earlier the better. 45mins difference only lah... Just sleep earlier the night before. Get to GP Esso by 0715 so can move off at 0745 sharp. Things must move like clock work.

hehe.. for sum reasons i shall not put up my name yet on the list.. hehe.. have to verbally sign a contract with my gf.. still in negotiations talk..

Well you have till Wednesday to sign up and give cash to HW. If we can't book enough rooms at Aldy for everyone, priority would go to those who signed up earlier. I reckon thats the fairest.

Certainly alternative lodging may be arranged at your own discretion, but Aldy has been designated as the one that is most bike friendly. Our bikes will be parked within the hotel grounds under shelter.

im trying damn hard to get my parents approval.

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)