[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Originally posted by espido1001@Dec 28 2005, 07:29 PM

galantD : bro no no ! i said it looks ""something like this"" tht's a pic i ripped from the net.. :cheeky:

Made me all excited! Chey!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

• Replies 14.5k

Originally posted by Sols@Dec 28 2005, 09:03 PM

this place sells the thread lock!!!!!!

http://www.sportsbilt.com/finish2.htm

err... the hardware store at the NUS prata place there also got sell... but its the red stuff lah... not sure if you guys wanna use it... lol..

i use the red stuff on boats... lol..

anyway!!! I passed my 2A!!!! 6 points... lol...

i almost hit the last pylon on my slalom... lol... then i braked damn hard, slowed down and siam lol... kanna 4 points for 6sec slalom... lol...

oh yah... thanks to neo for directing me to motorworld!!

Congrats on your 2A Bro! The link you posted is not for sure what we are looking for. Anyway, i switched all my screws w/o the Loctite 242 already.

Updated List!

SUS304 Allen Cap Screws(For Engine Area):

1. M6 x 16mm - 3nos

2. M6 x 20mm - 20nos

3. M6 x 25mm - 9nos

4. M6 x 30mm - 4nos

5. M6 x 35mm - 4nos

6. M6 x 45mm - 3nos

7. M6 x 50mm - 1no

SUS 304 CSK(Allen) Head Screws:

M6 x 16mm - 2nos

SUS 304 Allen Cap Screws(For Cosmetic Area):

M5 x 8mm - 2nos - Tank Cap

M5 x 25mm - 3nos - Tank Cap

M5 x 16mm - 2nos - Throttle Handle

M6 x 25mm - 4nos - Brake/Clutch Reservoir Clamp

M6 x 45mm - 2nos - Pipe Hanger

M6 Nut and Flat Washer - 6nos/ea - Pipe Hanger

M6 x 16mm - 2nos - Ignition Cover

M8 x 75mm - 4nos - Handle Bar Clamp

SUS 304 CSK(+) Head Screws:

M4 x 12mm - 4nos Brake/Clutch Reservoir Cover

Had quite an experience this evening with my bike. Extracted from my monster blog, hee I created a sub-blog just for my monster @ Daron's Monster.

Problem happened halfway from Lau Pa Sat to Boat Quay MacDonald.

Experience:

Bike moved off fine, then I felt the clutch lever to be abit light feeling (loose). Then I couldn't kick up to 2nd gear, so I was dragging my 1st gear for just a short distance. Thank God that I only needed to travel a short distance though I didn't reach my destination. My first thought is that my clutch plate or something couldn't 'eat' into the gear. Then I arrived at the stop line at the end of China Street turning into Church Street/Pickering Street. Clutch in to stop and the bike just died on the stop line. My heart rate started to pick up abit, started the bike sucessfully but it still died again though I was clutched in. Then I played with the clutch lever and it had almost zero resistance. I thought the cable broke or something. So I kicked the bike into neutral and pushed it to the corner of Grean Easter Centre. Then called a fellow monster rider Vince from SBF, great guy he is. Always teaching me how to do up my bike. So he contacted Rosli (a mechanic who owns a bike shop in Paya Lebar) and he came down about an hour later. Of course I didn't mind the wait, I also called my uncle who is also a mech but didn't want to bother him unless really need to tow my monster away. So I was there just waiting, staring into space, looking at bike, silently praying. Well looking at the bike stationary for so long made me kinda love the bike abit more, really love the style of the bike.

Resolution:

Rosli immediatley check the clutch fluid and "abcardabbra" that was the cause of the problem. He said the fluid was dirty becuase rain water managed to seep in.

Advice:

I had early warnings that my neutral gear was very hard to engage. Always going to either 1st or 2nd gear. I though it was normal for bikes, especially since mine is a 7yr old bike and some bikes at the driving centres had the same problems. So that the first warning, secondly that the biting point seem to be at 'different points' of releasing the clutch.

Well I already planned to go down next week to do my servicing, but this had to happen today. *sigh* But still thank God that I could still ride the bike back home and neutral is much easier to get into.

Special thanks to Vince Kam and Rosli.

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

any1 here was at jln kayu riding red m4?

yohji

no worries abt it....

contacted/neo

my duke really got clutch pump prob it gets very soft den really loose den cant even change gear....all da way frm jln kayu 2 sengkang was a drag...2nd time it c*** up on me...sianz!

:mad: :giddy:

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Saw a Monster dark 400 FP plate on the PIE heading along Eunos towards town, rider was very focused, had matching apparel, and a nice Ducati shield on tank.

As for painting the frame, it would be better to powder-coat it, more resistant to wear.

Well guys, will head north tmr, so all you fellas have a good New Year, and ride safe.

Cat :bounce:

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Originally posted by Pro Dero@Dec 29 2005, 12:56 AM

contacted/neo

my duke really got clutch pump prob it gets very soft den really loose den cant even change gear....all da way frm jln kayu 2 sengkang was a drag...2nd time it c*** up on me...sianz!

:mad: :giddy:

I had this problem before. Can be due to several factors.

Firstly, do a complete flush and bleed of the clutch system. IF the problem still comes back, then have to check to see if the slave cylinder is leaking. Good time to change the O-rings there.

If the slave cylinder is fine, the pump internals might be leaking. Anyway, the bike is quite ridable without the clutch, just try not to stop :D

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 29 2005, 02:06 AM

I had this problem before. Can be due to several factors.

Firstly, do a complete flush and bleed of the clutch system. IF the problem still comes back, then have to check to see if the slave cylinder is leaking. Good time to change the O-rings there.

If the slave cylinder is fine, the pump internals might be leaking. Anyway, the bike is quite ridable without the clutch, just try not to stop :D

Sorry neo, just wondering whats the difference between flush and bleed? Both would mean to empty the contents right?

Sorry if its :offtopic:, just want to widen my tech knowledge.

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 28 2005, 09:37 AM

Hi WiLL56..

Wow u change to 14/43? Pickup sure Powerful.. Distance? Btw wt Monster r u riding? M4, M6 or M9? As for sprocket size 41.. i wld also strongly recommend u go on the net.. spareshack, ebay.. mayb can try loudbikes(US)..

Btw for the two guys i saw @ Mike Y'dae.. Cool man to be able to see forum ppl o'side.. I didnt know them until i met them.. Neway,EasytoFindMe.. Get well soon may so u can ride & "Growl" again.. giv u 2-3 mnths then we can "Cheong" 2getda(rite after i come bak from my sailaway).. u getting the 916 rite? So ltr can try with my m9.. hehehehe!!!

I am riding a M400. Actually I wanted to know what is the ideal sprockets combination for touring yet pickup is not so stressful?? Pls advise me. Thanks...

Neo

What is the sprocket size you use last time for touring?

Originally posted by WiLL56@Dec 29 2005, 12:09 PM

Neo

What is the sprocket size you use last time for touring?

14/39. I wouldn't recommend it for street riding though.

For street riding, try maybe 14/42 minimum.

Vince > The difference between flush and bleed? Hmm, i also don't know~! Haha. Depends on which workshop you go I guess. My workshop mechanics will empty the entire system of fluids and use compressed air to clear the hoses before re-filling it again.

Some will use a quick bleeder to replace the old fluids. Some do it the traditional way, pump pump pump.

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 29 2005, 12:52 PM

14/39. I wouldn't recommend it for street riding though.

For street riding, try maybe 14/42 minimum.

Vince > The difference between flush and bleed? Hmm, i also don't know~! Haha. Depends on which workshop you go I guess. My workshop mechanics will empty the entire system of fluids and use compressed air to clear the hoses before re-filling it again.

Some will use a quick bleeder to replace the old fluids. Some do it the traditional way, pump pump pump.

Vince? Me contacted. :cheeky:

Originally posted by GalanteD@Dec 28 2005, 10:04 PM

Congrats on your 2A Bro! The link you posted is not for sure what we are looking for. Anyway, i switched all my screws w/o the Loctite 242 already.

second row last one... thread locker... thats what i use on sail boats to lock the bolts in... lol...

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

errr.... if i'm not wrong hor... flush is to totally change the fluid...

bleed is to just remove the air bubbles in the fluid...

From then to now...

Sols, congrats on your 2A!

Finally saw a Ducati on the road! Just now around 11am, saw a 998 at the T junction of North Buona Vista Road and Holland Road. :thumb:

http://home2.pacific.net.sg/~hwee_li/avatar/vespa.gif

First of all, CONGRATULATIONS to SOLS! :cheer:

I just came back from Minerva with some parts. Think I will share the prices with you guys here incase you guys need to buy them in future.

1. Oil Cartridge (oil filter) - $20

2. Speedo Drive (the thing that turns the speedo cable) - $87

3. Fork Seal Ring x 2 - $50

4. Fork Dust Scrapper x 2 - $54

Total: $221.55 (w/GST) :faint:

Kind of costly eh? But nobody forced me to buy a Monster. :sweat:

Didn't buy speedo cable because it cost $40+! Anyway I suspect the problem is not my cable. The cable is still okay and not broken. So will change the speedo drive first.

Wanted to get front sprocket but no stock. Will probably arrive in late January 2006. Price is about $70+. BTW I called Michael he also no stock. Told me I could get imitation one at Chong Aik for just $20+. You guys think it's advisable to do that or stick to original one? If I don't get the sprocket I can't change my chain.

Caught in heavy rain again! But no flood this time. Bike dirty again. Sigh!! :nono:

Hey rehdeer,

Nice Ducati scale model you have there! Where did you buy it and how much? Looks like the real thing man! :thumb:

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by yohji@Dec 29 2005, 04:08 PM

Nice Ducati scale model you have there! Where did you buy it and how much? Looks like the real thing man! :thumb:

Yeah it's very real! Bought it around $80+ at the shop beside Birkenstock in Wheelock Place, that's 20% off the original price of around $100+.

http://home2.pacific.net.sg/~hwee_li/avatar/vespa.gif

rehdeer

Wah $80!! No wonder it looks so real, not like those Maisto models. At first I thought you bought a first hand Monster man! Thanks for the information! Might go down and grab one next time! I nearly bought a Maisto model from Minerva just now. Luckily I never do that haha!

dark_monster

Hey yah I work in the West. I travel by Clementi Road everyday. Were you on your bike or in a car? I didn't spot any Monster. Anyway I'm not very observant. I only look infront or stare on the ground at traffic lights cos I don't want pple to think that I am challenging them. You know how intimidating we can look right with the full face helmet, riding jacket and gloves. So I don't turn my head much : ) You work in the West too? BTW are you from Hong Kong?

c26492.jpg

heh get 2 monsters, same paint job... confuse people.

lol... eh ask you guys huh... how much you guys paying for insurance??

my dad alone is $180...

with me is $530 leh....

From then to now...

Originally posted by Sols+Dec 29 2005, 07:55 PM-->
QUOTE (Sols @ Dec 29 2005, 07:55 PM)
lol... eh ask you guys huh... how much you guys paying for insurance??

my dad alone is $180...

with me is $530 leh....[/b]

c26492.jpg