My recent survey has proven that riders are facing bad road conditions daily, and skidding is not juz a "I am careful enough" reason not to fall.

Any fellow forumers would like to share skidding issues?

You may have skidded before and survived/not survived, but do let us know how do u really control it betta, and probably the scenario too.

P.S: I'm a super noob newbie, and I skidded even in driving centre. LOL :help:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

• Replies 37

1)paint with or w/out rain also scary to let me feel the rear tyres sliding when going past them..kena once..bad mistake lol..

2)following behind others during rain with bad road conditions after rain..suddenly if the person e brake in front of you... the next thing you hear someone say when you find yourself looking up at the sky is "HO SAY!" then you know what i mean :cheeky:

hmm, how do u control a skid better? anyone noes?

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@April 12, 2007 11:44 pm

wow thats a tough question.. lolz..

i only know how to prevent..

1) get better brakes

2) get better tyres

3) ride slower

anyone cares to share about counter-steering method of riding?

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@April 12, 2007 11:44 pm

Don't do anything, the bike will sort it out, especially if it's a small slide over paint/metal. Don't close the throttle, don't brake, don't tense up. Maintain the throttle as it was, look where you want to go and let the bike sort itself out.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

Skidded once due to the rear tyre fishtailing and ended up with my first broken bone! Be sure not to jam your brakes, in the first place, try not to get yourself in a situation you cannot control. There wasn't any paint markings, just that the ground was wet due to the rain.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

Originally posted by myxilplix@April 12, 2007 11:54 pm

Don't do anything, the bike will sort it out, especially if it's a small slide over paint/metal. Don't close the throttle, don't brake, don't tense up. Maintain the throttle as it was, look where you want to go and let the bike sort itself out.

realli???

how bout if the bike gonna fall le? jump out like defensive riding?

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@April 13, 2007 12:19 am

realli???

how bout if the bike gonna fall le? jump out like defensive riding?

Gonna fall then let the bike go, and hope your gear protects you.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

Originally posted by myxilplix@April 13, 2007 12:25 am

nice answer. gear is the most impt.

heard defensive riding plays a part too?

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@April 12, 2007 10:39 pm

My recent survey has proven that riders are facing bad road conditions daily, and skidding is not juz a "I am careful enough" reason not to fall.

Any fellow forumers would like to share skidding issues?

You may have skidded before and survived/not survived, but do let us know how do u really control it betta, and probably the scenario too.

I'm more interested to hear from those who did not survive.

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@April 12, 2007 10:39 pm

I've skidded so many times in bbdc.

I guess when you start to skid, immediately release your brake and steer in the direction of the skid.

nothing else you can really do yeah?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v82/boariggy/poseurborder.jpg

what's that coming over the hill? Is it a monster? Monster?

eh, as a newbie i let go everything and fly :smile:

tat's why i need help!

during my defensive riding course i learn how to use counter steering to avoid a fall is yar rear locks n "fish tails"

Its is if yar rear sliding to the left u tilt yar handle bar to the left. Basically tilt yar handlebar to the side which yar rear is swinging to. But do not turn yar handle bar too much as u wld swing the other way of flip.

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

Originally posted by newernewbie@April 13, 2007 12:56 am

I'm more interested to hear from those who did not survive.

u sure?? i think it wld be quite scary to hear frm those guys :giddy:

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

skid can be caused by a couple of reasons

1) rear wheel lock

2) during corner, theres oil, gravel etc..

3) corner too low

so it has to depends on which kind it is b4 deciding wat method to use lolz..

solution

1) release rear brake

2) pray to god

3) pray to god

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

Originally posted by myxilplix@April 13, 2007 12:25 am

I agree... my fren's bike skidded at a tight bend and when he felt that he's confirm gonna go down, he quickly let go of the bike. That probably saved him because subsequently, the bike smashed onto the metal railing and broke into half... If he had held on.... it would be really bad... :giddy:

Hmm. Had 2 encounter once in the rain and once on dry road. Did not survive in the wet road incident.

It was still drizzling, overtook a car and went to left filter. Unfortunately got car stationary giving way to traffic on main road. Immediately brake and rear tyre skidded on zebra-crossing white paint. It all happened very fast and the next thing i know i was on the ground sliding forward and my helmet touched the car's rear bumper.

2nd incident must have been either sand or oil on road. Was joining PIE from tampines, easy right bend, suddenly rear tyre fishtail. Immediately release throttle, and slowly apply front brake as i straighten up the bike to gain back balance.

Learnt from both incidents is that whenever skid, 1st thing is NEVER² jam brake. It will only cause you to fall. The tyre which skids, be it front or rear, just let it roll and try not to counter steer unless you are a pro. Try to counter balance slowly instead and bring the bike upright. Also, dont save money on safety issues like brakes, tyres, gears. Hope this helps.

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

Originally posted by myxilplix@April 12, 2007 11:54 pm

best answer....

and for fishtail, rAjOaNa has explain it to you. its quite fun to counter steer hehee... but dun do it on emergency braking, its increase ur braking dist..... as for rear wheel lock, maintain ur front braking, but release ur rear wheel brake, and apply it again, only lighter then the last time. Usually when u brake the rear too hard, it lock....

for u to learn everything, it takes practise, understand ur bike, ur braking, ur tyres, ur cornering. from there on, improve ur skills to control them.... :cheer:

Don't be deceived by appearance;

Know the true essence that lies beneath,

This is what is the most important.

go take defensive riding at cdc lor pinkchick got teach something might be useful for all riders infact.. counter steer and things

2005 July - 2006 July Tzm150

2006 August - 2007 October SpecIII

2007 October - 2009 June R1

Here's my newbie input. It is more about rear wheel lock.

A rear wheel lock can cause u to fishtail. When people brake, because of inertia, they will usually lean forward. I see this alot when I am on the road. Most of them don't realise that they do that.

When u brake, especially those real hard brakings, do what u learn in the driving centre.

Straighten ur bike

Lock your elbow

Keep ur gears in, don't clutch in.

brake hard and while braking make sure you lock ur elbow and push urself against the handle bar.

What cause wheel lock, other than slippery road is that there is insufficeint weight on the rear wheel. By pushing urself up, u are shifting some or ur weight to the rear wheel.

While doing hard braking the force on the front wheel is much more than that on the rear wheel. that is why we need to add weight to the rear wheel by counteracting the inertia that is pushing us forward.

That is what I do and so far no skidding while doing e-brake.

The safest method is go slow, increase following distance on wet days. Ensure that u minimise the chance of doing e-brake. Don't race around bends. Public roads have more chance of having bike unfriendly stuffs on them, especially around bends. If u want to have the thrill of going fast and bending low, head for a proper track.

Hope my contribution helps abit.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

next time anyone skid on the road, when the first person tries to attend to u.. ask him "how's my powerslide?"

:cheeky: :faint:

http://distilleryimage11.s3.amazonaws.com/4ad27eb6714811e3b59a0ebb7344746f_6.jpg
Originally posted by joajas@April 13, 2007 08:40 am

Here's my newbie input. It is more about rear wheel lock.

A rear wheel lock can cause u to fishtail. When people brake, because of inertia, they will usually lean forward. I see this alot when I am on the road. Most of them don't realise that they do that.

When u brake, especially those real hard brakings, do what u learn in the driving centre.

Straighten ur bike

Lock your elbow

Keep ur gears in, don't clutch in.

brake hard and while braking make sure you lock ur elbow and push urself against the handle bar.

What cause wheel lock, other than slippery road is that there is insufficeint weight on the rear wheel. By pushing urself up, u are shifting some or ur weight to the rear wheel.

While doing hard braking the force on the front wheel is much more than that on the rear wheel. that is why we need to add weight to the rear wheel by counteracting the inertia that is pushing us forward.

That is what I do and so far no skidding while doing e-brake.

The safest method is go slow, increase following distance on wet days. Ensure that u minimise the chance of doing e-brake. Don't race around bends. Public roads have more chance of having bike unfriendly stuffs on them, especially around bends. If u want to have the thrill of going fast and bending low, head for a proper track.

Hope my contribution helps abit.

ur contribution rox!

Now tinking back, in scientific terms, u are right.. the more we lean towards our front wheel and causing rear wheel to be lighter, and yet we are still pressing hard on the rear brake, that's where the skid applys.

Can i conclude tat sportsbikes has higher chances of skidding as we tend to lean down/forward more?

Originally posted by silverstein@April 13, 2007 06:49 pm

next time anyone skid on the road, when the first person tries to attend to u.. ask him "how's my powerslide?"

:cheeky: :faint:

reminds me of such a thread in sbf!

this guy who i forgot his name, fell down, didn't stand up on the spot.

Instead, on tat lying down position, he lighted a cig and start laffing to himself.

Ppl were worried and shocked. :giddy:

Assuming your tyres have sufficiently thick grooves remaining to channel water to avoid hydroplanning:

A. To avoid skidding in the future, it is good to learn how to brake the bike properly without causing a skid.

B. A step better would be to have better anticipation so that you minimise having to brake within a very short distance.

For A, just apply what is taught in riding school:

i. Use mostly your front brake.

Stepping hard on your rear brake will cause your rear wheel to lock, hence lose grip, hence "fishtail".

If you use your front brake, when braking, the bike transfers its weight to the front wheel, so it is less likely to lose grip.

ii. When braking the front (and rear) brake, avoid sudden stomping on them.

It will cause the wheels to lock and to lose grip.

You need to give the front wheels about 1 second to gradually build up power without losing grip.

So do what is taught in school. Apply a bit of pressure on your front brake. Once the fork dives to its bottom, then apply more and more and more power.

This technique applies to both dry and wet braking.

Perhaps only difference is that in the wet, use a bit more rear brake power.

More importantly, in the wet, your braking distance will definitely increase.

So if you leave very little safety distance and expect to stop just the same as if in the dry, high chance will wheel lock or you can' t brake in time. Both results in injury.

So, the better solution is to be able to better anticipate.

The is B. To do B, please read up on Hazard Oriented Vision and other safety techniques within Street Smart:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=67876

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders