Hello from Australia, I'll be in SG for a day in October right before the MotoGP and I'm currently enquiring about hiring a motorcycle - so fingers crossed I get one. Any, reason for the post, I was wondering where the good riding roads are in SG? Thanks in advance!

• Replies 30

Riding in spore is like riding neighbourhood road in ur country. My suggestion is why not ride up to Malaysia? It's more exciting!

My Ride History:

1997 - 2003 : Yamaha SRE 100 a.k.a My First Love

2001 - 2004 : Yamaha Sports Y110SS a.k.a My First 2-Stroke Bike

2005 - 2012 : Honda Phantom TA200 a.k.a My First Cruiser Bike

2012 - 2012 : Honda CB400 Spec II a.k.a My First VTEC Love

2013 - NOW : Yamaha YZF-R1 a.k.a My First SuperBike :cool:

Riding in spore is like riding neighbourhood road in ur country. My suggestion is why not ride up to Malaysia? It's more exciting!

Ah ok, been trying to Google the roads that might be fun and haven't had any luck, that's probably why ;) I'll look into riding to Malaysia instead.

Would riding still be the best way to get around SG? If anyone has been to Australia, would it be comparatively safe?

Thanks for all your help! :)

There's Gap, Mount Faber, Mandai etc. Nowhere in the league of Malaysia and Thailand.

We don't have much roads here, just lots of dangerous traffic, you might find nice sweeping corners here and there...and suddenly there's a traffic light 50m from the apex.

Only 1 day in SG? Got enough time to rent bike & go rounding? Seems very rush to me.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

One day might be a little too rush for you man. But you could do a road trip to all the nice food places around in sg. Do you know any riders here? It'll be good to have someone show you around :)

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

I've got an 11 hours stop over at SG. Going to Msia for the MotoGP :). Figured I'll go for a ride on the stop over.

Might hire a bike to head out to some food places and then a ride on Mount Faber - actually looks pretty good from Google Maps. @wait4me, you're right, Australia has amazing riding roads! :)

Should be fine with a GPS.

Thanks again.

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

I've got an 11 hours stop over at SG. Going to Msia for the MotoGP :). Figured I'll go for a ride on the stop over.

Might hire a bike to head out to some food places and then a ride on Mount Faber - actually looks pretty good from Google Maps. @wait4me, you're right, Australia has amazing riding roads! :)

Should be fine with a GPS.

Thanks again.

you may be disappointed with mount faber :p

from bottom till peak is about 1km ride so nothing much to enjoy about that

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

singapore can rent bike ??

Can... Can even rent Harley bike oso have. But super expensive.

My Ride History:

1997 - 2003 : Yamaha SRE 100 a.k.a My First Love

2001 - 2004 : Yamaha Sports Y110SS a.k.a My First 2-Stroke Bike

2005 - 2012 : Honda Phantom TA200 a.k.a My First Cruiser Bike

2012 - 2012 : Honda CB400 Spec II a.k.a My First VTEC Love

2013 - NOW : Yamaha YZF-R1 a.k.a My First SuperBike :cool:

you may be disappointed with mount faber :p

from bottom till peak is about 1km ride so nothing much to enjoy about that

That's cool, all I want to do is go riding in SG. I'm happy going around roundabouts at 40km/hr here in AU. ;)

11 hours?

You really are better off taking the Bus, MRT and walk to several shops along Jalan Besar, look and buy bike stuff and hopping onto a Airport City Bus Tour. (I think its free, depending on whether you took SIA to Singapore.) Wear Slippers/Crocs with socks; bermudas and thin cool t-shirts.

Bring cash, buy lots of bottles of water along the way, and possibly decide on a drinking spot where you will be. Let us know how to identify you, and we drink beer, kopi, ice milo or teh o ice limau with you before you hop back on the bus for your flight to Malaysia.

Trust me, I am a trainee Tour Guide. And you riding, negotiating the heat, the traffic, the picking up and using the bike, petrol and traffic rules plus your unfamiliarity with the directions and idiocrisy of people here gave me chills while I slave away trying to manage invoicing......in my aircon office...

Good point! Thanks, I'll contact you as the time nears for some places to visit. :)

There's not much awesome riding roads, mate. Not like Australia where the roads are as good quality, longer and therefore will give better fuel consumption to the bike. In Singapore and Malaysia, you can lane split, but do so with care. I miss lane splitting because I know it's illegal where I am in QLD

You can find some nice places in Singapore you have just a few hours to ride. There are places to stop for food or looking around.

Head to Johor if you want to spend more time riding (e.g. 5-6hours covering 300-400km). It will be completely different from Singapore though.

Some articles that give you an idea of what to expect: http://livinglifefinally.wordpress.com

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

You can always head to Neo Tiew Road. Its located in the suburb. :D

Faster than fast,

Quicker than quick.