Anyone can advise how to change the front headlight bulbs? :confused:

Mine blew on the left side. :weep:

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

• Replies 16.5k

Originally posted by FJRRider@Jun 14 2006, 01:42 PM

Hmmm...........:mad:

Dat mean i oso kana CARROT by the AM old man.

he say $17 is the best price..o_O

thik mus gt u guys 2 go gt e stuff 4 us liao.

:bow: :bow: :bow:

Maybe you called him 'old man', thats why he sell you at $17. :cheeky:

I always call him uncle here and there, think he hear also shiok. :angel:

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Jun 14 2006, 05:37 PM

Maybe you called him 'old man', thats why he sell you at $17. :cheeky:

I always call him uncle here and there, think he hear also shiok. :angel:

if u call him boss here & there..up & down..it will works like viagra to him..

i tried that b4.. :cheeky:

Originally posted by mutant_sheep@Jun 15 2006, 12:10 AM

if u call him boss here & there..up & down..it will works like viagra to him..

i tried that b4.. :cheeky:

Wah! Call uncle already can get the oil filter at $15, if call him boss think he'll reduce till $13. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Jun 14 2006, 05:32 PM

I think you don't even have to remove the plastic panels to replace the headlight on the left. Just reach in with dextrous hands and pull off the cover. Then there's a metal clip which holds the H4 bulb in place. I replaced both my bulbs with high intensity 4300K bulbs and did this...

Originally posted by Teamlm@Jun 14 2006, 04:57 PM

It's good to DIY.. Last try to do servicing with bro Ashen, Both of our hands were stained and messy. The worst part, don't know how to dispose off the used engine oil.

Do it at your preferred bike shop would save you time, after all the cost come back to the same. Best of all, I can ask them to tune up the bit and pieces.

Example : Oil Change. S$45 mineral, S$85(syn)

Oil filter : Original (Long type) S$15 per piece.

Shaft oil : S$5 per change.

My DIY Costs:

4L Semi-Synthetic Total API-SL - $25 at Carrefour (big money-saver!)

Crush washer - not really necessary

4x NGK Platinum Spark Plugs - $26 at Regina

Yamaha Oil Filter - $18 at Regina

Yamaha Air Filter - $40 at Regina

Throttle Body Sync - free but only after you buy the $150 Carbtune which pays for itself after 2-3 uses.

Dispose of your used oil at any friendly shop, motorcyle or car. I usually take mine to Autobacs in Bt Batok cos I live near there. "Excuse me, can I dump my used oil into your recycle bin?" After the surprised look they always say yes!

I never tried leaving overnight to drain like someone suggested - will try that next time...

NATIONAL DAY RIDE?

Anyone want to arrange a ride on National Day? I haven't been with any group yet as not normally free on weekends, and haven't yet stretched my FJR on Malaysian highways. So I'd love to go somewhere...

illiew so which are the days that u are free?? maybe u wanna speccify

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Originally posted by Teamlm@Jun 14 2006, 04:57 PM

It's good to DIY.. Last try to do servicing with bro Ashen, Both of our hands were stained and messy. The worst part, don't know how to dispose off the used engine oil.

Do it at your preferred bike shop would save you time, after all the cost come back to the same. Best of all, I can ask them to tune up the bit and pieces.

Example : Oil Change. S$45 mineral, S$85(syn)

Oil filter : Original (Long type) S$15 per piece.

Shaft oil : S$5 per change

Just changed to Metzeler mZ6.. S$450 plus balancing. Wonderful.. I'm running in the tires for this coming un confirm Mersing Trunk cornering trip.

think it doesn't really cost much more to do it at the motor tiam

i onli paid semi syn oil 4L = $40

change filter (original honda) only every 20,000km

so effectively only $40 every 5,000km 10,000km & 15,000km $70 at 20,000km

as for the shaft oil i bought a 1L for $10 used 3 times still has ~1/2 bottle left.

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by comics00@Jun 17 2006, 02:37 PM

change filter (original honda) only every 20,000km

Can Yamaha FJR use honda filter :confused:

mctan

Originally posted by iliew@Jun 16 2006, 01:45 AM

I think you don't even have to remove the plastic panels to replace the headlight on the left. Just reach in with dextrous hands and pull off the cover. Then there's a metal clip which holds the H4 bulb in place. I replaced both my bulbs with high intensity 4300K bulbs and did this...

Thanks for the advice, bro iliew.

Will try that out. :thumb:

Originally posted by mctan@Jun 17 2006, 05:03 PM

Can Yamaha FJR use honda filter :confused:

Heard not advisable by the previous owner.

:confused: Maybe comics can enlighten us further. :confused:

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Jun 17 2006, 05:30 PM

Heard not advisable by the previous owner.

:confused: Maybe comics can enlighten us further. :confused:

Threads and diameter are the same. Regina shop said I could, but I didn't want to cos the Honda filter is much shorter. Since the filter in inset quite a bit, it would be harder to get a grip on it to take it out. But more importantly, the filtering surface area of the Yamaha's filter is much longer which would seem to make a difference to me. Price difference is hardly anything for something you change only 20K kms so why bother?

i ever read in the vfr forum that some of them even use the mazda filter.. cant remember his nick but he even say the fjr too can use

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif

during my last svc the mech told me they onli have honda filter which have same diamension as yamaha's so i give him the green light to change it thinking there shouldn't be too much a diff :sweat:

think on the 20,000km svc i will insist on the orginal.

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

I always stick with originals... and used fully syn EO.... change EO n Shaft oil every 5000km

Cost of Self-Service :

1.) 4btls of Full-Syn - $18x4 = $72

2.) Shaft oil - $10 (used 4-5times per botl)

3.) Oil Filter - $17

Total = $89 tentatively per service

Neva realli like the feel of semi-syn oil.... dun tink wud wana compromise on the condition of the engine by saving on the oil or filters lahh.. though.. can get cheaper rates better lahh~

Comics00 : did u return frm msia via 2nd link on Sunday ard 3pm+?? saw a '06 blue FJR with black riding jacket coming back on opp. lane when im goin for a quick petrol run...

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Hey guyz...

Anyone interested for a mass local meet-up.. long time we since we have the numbers liao....

Agenda : Share tips n knowledge of FJR, Take pix and get to know fellow FJRians better

Time/date : TBC

Attendees :

1.) ashenZ

2.) Teamlm

3.) FJRider

4.) Glenn

5.)

6.)

8.)

9.)

10.)

11.)

12.)

13.)

14.)

Time and date will be set once we got the numbers... since lotsa postings by fellow FJRians.. lets meet-up and know each other better~

So pls add in ur names if interested. :D

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Agenda : Share tips n knowledge of FJR, Take pix and get to know fellow FJRians better

Time/date : TBC

Attendees :

1.) ashenZ

2.) Teamlm

3.) FJRider

4.) Glenn

5.) Casperians

6.)

8.)

9.)

10.)

11.)

12.)

13.)

14.)

Time and date will be set once we got the numbers... since lotsa postings by fellow FJRians.. lets meet-up and know each other better~

So pls add in ur names if interested. :D

Hi Casper4XXXX!

The gatherings of FJR riders look interesting.

Can I join?

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/cycleTP.gifhttp://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/FJRlogo.jpghttp://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/cycleTP.gif
Originally posted by cheeko@Jun 14 2006, 09:51 AM

:lol: Maybe both of u carrot face, next ask omnislash go down to try on the filter & washer :lol: wana see how much he get b4 i post price up :lol:

Pai Seh, mia for damn long.. Been real busy with my work...

Anyway, last time i got from them at $16.. But i think later oso rise to $17... I still got one spare filter, using it for the next engine oil change... Just need to find time to go down and get some washers... Time, something which i really dun have...

@Ash - paiseh, will try to join the next meetup if not working... By den, get my plugs from you...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Jun 14 2006, 05:32 PM

Step 1

Pull out the electrical connectors. (they can be pretty tight)

Step 2

Remove the dust cover. (the black rubbery cup, try to pull, can be done)

Step 3

Depress one side of the retaining clip, move it down and release. (the other side is a screw, dun ever remove that)

Step 4

remove and replace bulb

Step 5

Install by reversing the steps.

Alternative

Go bike shop

The dash board panels need not be removed. But i strongly advise you to if you are doing this for the fist time. Otherwise, you'll have a hard time accessing and getting a clear view of what ur doing. Oso, do this during the day time.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by Teddy@Jun 19 2006, 08:46 PM

Hi Casper4XXXX!

The gatherings of FJR riders look interesting.

Can I join?

:cheeky: Sure why not? But I'm not the organiser though :cheeky:

FJR Iron On Patches.

I was recently being called up by some FJRfellowship to re-indent some of our previous project. I only ordered 10 pieces. Each patch is only at S$7.50 nett. I would appreciate if interested fellowship can minimun take 2 pieces. (My job will be easier) Thanks!

Please include your name as i will reserve it for you.

1) Mutant sheep x 2 pcs.

I will handover to the confirm buyer in our upcoming mega meet up. Enclosed the picture of the iron on patch. Please note that jockey cap not included. Ride safe all!

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

Originally posted by omnislash@Jun 19 2006, 10:44 PM

Step 1

Pull out the electrical connectors. (they can be pretty tight)

Step 2

Remove the dust cover. (the black rubbery cup, try to pull, can be done)

Step 3

Depress one side of the retaining clip, move it down and release. (the other side is a screw, dun ever remove that)

Step 4

remove and replace bulb

Step 5

Install by reversing the steps.

Alternative

Go bike shop

The dash board panels need not be removed. But i strongly advise you to if you are doing this for the fist time. Otherwise, you'll have a hard time accessing and getting a clear view of what ur doing. Oso, do this during the day time.

:clap: :clap: :clap:

Thank you thank you...will try that.

Worst comes to worst go bike shop if cant fix it myself. :cheeky:

:cheeky: Another question - Does the front light buld blow very often? Or is it due to me having a headlight switch? This switch tends to get hot whenever it's turn on. Anyone experiencing the same? :confused: