Yamaha FJR1300

mini-dero

Originally posted by Bluesky@January 22, 2007 05:55 pm

These few days riding around on the cub, made u addicted to clutchless bike liao huh?

OoOhh.. I forsee one FJR coming out eh..! :lovestruck:

Go get it bro!! :cheer:

P/s: I'm always available, should u need a sub rider.. :D

Another FJR coming on the way, provided I pass my TP test on 13th Feb... Newbie here... Please do give me your guidances, advices, help, etc..., FJRians... Thanks! :smile:

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

• Replies 16.5k

Manufacturers like to be very careful in case they get sued for not telling you that something may not be safe.

If a top box could make the bike unstable a passenger would be far worse!

I am old enough to remember when bikes were dangerous and sex was safe.

Cars & Bikes, classifieds, forums, etc in Hong Kong

http://carsalesasia.com/images/CSA.jpg

Originally posted by cheeko@January 23, 2007 10:25 am

:nono: yes,i fully agree with u on sengkwang price nowadays, really duno how they derive the prices sometimes, cos price of metal only goes up by 40%, but the price they quote usually much much more then 40% o_O

i guess is because he do not have competitors for biking market..Mayb that's why he takes advantage of it.Is there any other metal/stainless steel/ shop doing bike fabrications?

My dream bikes...:thumb:

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o183/new_surfer/At-Fjr-Concours.jpg

Originally posted by Dragon Rider@January 23, 2007 12:44 pm

Manufacturers like to be very careful in case they get sued for not telling you that something may not be safe.

If a top box could make the bike unstable a passenger would be far worse!

is only recommendation by Yamaha. follow or not is up to the owner. :smile:

anyway any rider can try to ride a FJR with top box & 2 side box. But personally i think it shouldn't for hi-speed riding. :smile:

Yup, no high speed riding with top box. I've tried the most 140 - 160km/hr should be safe/comfort highway traveling speed. Any speed faster not stable. The handle will start to wobble.

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e54/quincy77/MONSTERENERGY.jpg

It is when power is wedded to chronic fear that it becomes formidable.

Originally posted by Cybernation@January 24, 2007 05:46 pm

Yup, no high speed riding with top box. I've tried the most 140 - 160km/hr should be safe/comfort highway traveling speed. Any speed faster not stable. The handle will start to wobble.

Thanks. Ok, I understand now. It is okay to put top rear box. Just take it out and travel with only the two side boxes when we go for high speed travelling.... Right?? :smile:

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

Originally posted by seahmh@January 24, 2007 06:42 pm

Thanks. Ok, I understand now. It is okay to put top rear box. Just take it out and travel with only the two side boxes when we go for high speed travelling.... Right?? :smile:

We told u that a thousand times u still ask.. sign.... :giddy: :giddy: :help:

http://motorride.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/2012-Kawasaki-D-Tracker.jpg

hey guyz....

so long dun hv a FJR 1day trip liao.... due to the weather and others' committments...

anyone got any place to suggest to ride to.. avoid the flood areas.. maie catch some durianss????

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by ashenZ@January 26, 2007 05:30 pm

hey guyz....

so long dun hv a FJR 1day trip liao.... due to the weather and others' committments...

anyone got any place to suggest to ride to.. avoid the flood areas.. maie catch some durianss????

DurianS... Yum Yum! :hungry: Like e tastes, dislike e smell... :faint:

Enjoy ur wkends FJRians!

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l510/OtaIrwan-EllyCinta_Iryandy/IMG_04771.jpg

"You live more in five minutes on a bike like this than some people live in a lifetime."

Burt Munro, The World's FASTEST INDIAN 1967

I'm keen to do a Day-Ride to say.... Malacca???

BUt will not prefer a Sun, cos that place always tends to jam like crazy on a Sun...

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Heyz guys, just curious which grade you feed your baby with. :confused:

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

i die die stick by 10w40......

2brands i tink i s good...

1.) Royal Purple Maxcycle 10w40 (too bad it onli come in quarts)

2.) Maxima Ultra 10w40 (not mani place hv this grade.. usual is 15w50)

w50 grade i feel is to sluggish n thick... hotter for me n slower acceleration... muz drag mre to pick up...

2 cents worth!

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

:cheeky: Pai say I mean the petrol grade :cheeky:

cheeko: that1 is wildcat izzit? :lovestruck:

Ashenz: u alwys want royal purple, think sooner or later ur good good fren will bring in. :smile: as he is now bringing in the Delphi :lovestruck:

Casper4XXX: don't blame Ashenz, he is always like that.. as 4 me, i always pump m'sia Petronas, but later on found that M'sia Esso is more powerful. but yet the best is the Singapore Caltex Techcron Platinum..but 1 liter is 2dollar+ :giddy:

Reason why I'm asking bout the petrol grade is becos wondering if higher octane level is required for our bikes. Owner manual says 95 but in thailand where got 95? Then how? What are the effects if we use lower octane etc blah blah blah...:cheeky:

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@January 31, 2007 12:36 pm

Reason why I'm asking bout the petrol grade is becos wondering if higher octane level is required for our bikes. Owner manual says 95 but in thailand where got 95? Then how? What are the effects if we use lower octane etc blah blah blah...:cheeky:

Can ar... me go to and fro thailand twice liaoz my bike still running fine.. 92 also can...that time saw 1 ang mo also go up and he said he never pump more den 92 even in sg. The bike also dun look/sound like it's dead when i was beside him...

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v125/247/42/657192074/n657192074_214221_7245.jpg

My Rides :

Galaxy Blue FJR1300A ABS ( 27th Jan 06' - 15th Jul 07' )

Grey GT200 ( 15th Jul 06' - )

Ya, mine's working perfectly too .... anyway, i think its seriously pointless to pump more than '95' for our bikes.... unless u intent to try top-speed all the way on the NSH....?? jus change to Castrol 10W50 yesterday.... feels good...

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Originally posted by n@kan0@February 01, 2007 08:34 am

Ya, mine's working perfectly too .... anyway, i think its seriously pointless to pump more than '95' for our bikes.... unless u intent to try top-speed all the way on the NSH....?? jus change to Castrol 10W50 yesterday.... feels good...

Maybe once in a while pump spore vpower to clear off all the stubborn carbon deposits. Vpower rocks! :thumb:

Hi guys, a few qns to consult the owners here with your experience on the fjr.

1) any one know of any 2nd hand headlight protectors from anyone, and what's the price for a new set, and from where? asking for a 01' model anyway

2) from i what know, the stock resin rack will have to be removed and replaced by another rack if i intend to fix a rear box (some call it top box), depending on which brand u are getting. Assuming that i intend to put a typical Givi rear box o nthe fjr, any recommendations on who i can go to ( other than sengkwang-mura?

:sweat: appreciate any replies man.

Originally posted by furbykong@February 01, 2007 05:14 pm

Hi guys, a few qns to consult the owners here with your experience on the fjr.

1) any one know of any 2nd hand headlight protectors from anyone, and what's the price for a new set, and from where? asking for a 01' model anyway

2) from i what know, the stock resin rack will have to be removed and replaced by another rack if i intend to fix a rear box (some call it top box), depending on which brand u are getting. Assuming that i intend to put a typical Givi rear box o nthe fjr, any recommendations on who i can go to ( other than sengkwang-mura?

:sweat: appreciate any replies man.

ventura comes as one piece.

motovation two piece. Used to be $45 per set but now dunno whether got become cheaper. U can find their contact in the advertisment board i think.

U can get the givi rear rack specially for FJR from chiap lee. About $220. Den the base plate at $75. But if you buy as a set can get $30-$40 discount.

Yamaha rack is $380 and box is $1200.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by Cybernation@January 24, 2007 05:46 pm

well..gotta to agree with u bro bout the top box issue...newae, i have a qn here...i mounted my topbox to the original rack of the bike...any harm to the bike???

im using a small e33 box..was thinking to change to a bigger box..as normally i ride w/o the 2 sidebox when in sg...only fix the sidebox together with the topbox when going on touring....

Originally posted by asalbole_09@February 01, 2007 07:21 pm

well..gotta to agree with u bro bout the top box issue...newae, i have a qn here...i mounted my topbox to the original rack of the bike...any harm to the bike???

im using a small e33 box..was thinking to change to a bigger box..as normally i ride w/o the 2 sidebox when in sg...only fix the sidebox together with the topbox when going on touring....

how did you do that? can show us? without any mod?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...