Originally posted by comics00@Jul 1 2005, 06:04 AM

i will be back in sg ~6-7weeks time n serously considering FJR1300. b4 i place my order for the '05 model have a few questions.

1) does the heat really "ding dong" cooking hot? normal riding, during slow traffic & jams at c'way?

2) is the pinners fragile/unsercure? if yes can it be re-inforce?

3) wat's the avg. mileage per tank?

4) any specific thing to look out for during break-in? when to switch from minerial oil to fully syn oil?

5) recommended position for the IU?

6) recommendation back rest for pillion (without top box)?

7) recommended suspension setting n tire pressure for riding up NS 140-200km/h?

8) wats the diff btween '05 & '04 model? is '05 model worth the couple thousand $$ or should i go for the '04 model? if so where can i find a new '04 FJR1300?

thk u in advance :smile:

btw i was riding TDM900 for the past 3yrs so i m likely to comparison btween this 2 bikes.

1.) The heat wun cook ur ding dongs.. but ur inner thighs wun be spared.... Slow traffic, super high speed, super hot weater and fuel level low are attributes to the heat probz..

2.) The panniers are rigid enuf... made of tougher material den Honda panniers... onli itz locking mechanism are made of plastics.. so easy to break by theft.... Reinforce no use.. 'coz moi fren repaired his at sengkwang after kena pried open... yet.. kena pried open again.... Best dun keep expensive stuff in it... n always keep it covered..

3.) Average mielage till reserve shud be around 340 - 360km.... Reserve anoth 80km+ (trial n tested by out fellow fren :lol: :lol:)

4.) juz follow to the manual's reccomendation.... i change 1000km mineral oil, 2000km mineral oil... 3000km semi-syn.. 5000km full-syn... will be switching back to semi-syn at 10,000km...

5.) usualli pple put it in the middle or at the side... but middle will block the key position (learn by experience... damn~!) Best put it at the side..

6.) till now... no backrest for pillion... unless u wana spend a fortune on corbin seats (order n impott from US) FJR is not realli meant for for pillions... unless she's small size n light..

7.) Suspension setting.. moz of us put to HARD.. coz the soft is too limp.. tyre pressure is always put 250kpa(front) 290kpa(rear) But the manual reccomends 250kpa for high speed riding.. dats for riding one up i guess.. no feedback from anyone who tried 250kpa for both...

8.) '04 n '05 models are the same... onli '05 model got the 2-Tone Fairing... rest all the same.... there shudn't be anymore "new" '04 model in market now.. Unless u r buying 2nd hand.... 1st hand wun matter much diff in terms of $$..

Jilt the TDM bro... haha.... FJR is the one if ya lukking for performance of a sports bike.... and minimum comfort of a tourer... onli TDM got a few perecnt of Off-Road characteristics in it... but perfromance wise... nuthing beats an FJR....

Hope u join us soon~!

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

• Replies 16.5k

Do allow me to start off with knowing each other better. This column is dedicated to know and identify FJR fellowship names thru bike number, when happen to meet on the same road. (You may opt not to post your bike number if you're not comfortable.)

So as to eliminate, "Oi, what's your name?"

1.) AshenZ (Galaxy BLue) aka BG, AY9999R

2.) Tealm (Storm Silver) aka Denrick Liew, FZ18S

3.) Glenn (Storm Silver) aka Glenna Cheah, FU7A

4.) FJRider (Galaxy Blue) aka Jason, FY8668T

5.) Rahman (Galaxy Blue)aka Rahman FG786H

6.) Terry (Techno Jade) aka Terry FY2997H

7.) Chung ('05 Silver_Blue)

8.) Cheekozer (Galaxy Blue)

9.) Omnislash (Red) aka Chua, 8437

10.) Sonic seed (Silver) FU6008A

11.) Rebornbiker (Techno Jade) aka Marcus, FX2055G

12.) Vara (Galaxy Blue) aka Tamhid, AF242A

13.) Sper (Storm Silver)

14.) deanz4(maroon) FD23S but goin changed no as it belong to shop

15.) Tincan (going-to-be FJR rider)

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

sat top up petrol at 2nd link???

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Originally posted by deanz4@Jul 1 2005, 03:23 PM

sat top up petrol at 2nd link???

errrr.....how abt tonite? i'll be going in late nite prob aft midnite...anyone wanna come along????

This morning just fill up at Mobil,

they giving 15% plus 5% discount :lovestruck:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

guys i think tmr need to see a qualified mechanic.. my bike really having problem.. recommend pls... i tought goin loois like ashenz recommend.. anyone wanna go??

hey guyz.. we will be at LC food court after 10pm.. vara n deanz4.. pls come if u guyz r free... u noe moi no rite?

wun be toppin up.. coz moi bike still at HL... will be down to collect it tmrw morning...

also... we will be going into Msia for a ride on sunday... so hehe tink will pass on sat top up~ :thumb:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

sunday into malaysia? wat time will it be and how far the distance... :cheeky:

me still in the forces so... chop chop in chop chop out... unless pre apply leave.

Mmm... me don have those touring suits or pants.. so jeans plus gortex boots ok? :cheeky: if I were to go on future trips (not too far)

Ride Safely, NoT BlInDlY

Originally posted by deanz4@Jul 1 2005, 02:07 AM

guys i realy need yr gys help.. to day i bring the bike out for riding..

first the bike in 1st gear wanna pick up to move of suddenly the bike stall. den i pull cluth to start again den cannot. all the trip reading start to zero...

second riding at PIE ride slowly at 80 km/h suddenly the bike to jerk like dats no fuel dat kind. my fuel tank still at half tank. it jerk a few time leh..den when i exit to CTE on expressway i drop to first gear coz got road wrks den it die again...

im very worried eh guys help me pls.. wat can happen to my new bike huh...

have this happen to u guy not huh??? den i think the trottle very hard is not very normal and the cluth is damn hard too/.... help help

Like ash has said, trip go to zero is probably the battery.

As for jerky, i feel its either ur plugs or the throttle bodies out of syn...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by deanz4@Jul 1 2005, 06:55 PM

guys i think tmr need to see a qualified mechanic.. my bike really having problem.. recommend pls... i tought goin loois like ashenz recommend.. anyone wanna go??

I go to Perfection Motors. Its run by Alan, who is the only mechanic cum boss there anyway. He does my synchro and plugs. I dunno whether is he better than others but my 2+ yr bike hasnt been giving me any problems in terms of engine performance.

Its at Eunos Ave 4, block 1044. Just give u in case u wan to go.

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jul 1 2005, 09:23 AM

1.) The heat wun cook ur ding dongs.. but ur inner thighs wun be spared.... Slow traffic, super high speed, super hot weater and fuel level low are attributes to the heat probz..

2.) The panniers are rigid enuf... made of tougher material den Honda panniers... onli itz locking mechanism are made of plastics.. so easy to break by theft.... Reinforce no use.. 'coz moi fren repaired his at sengkwang after kena pried open... yet.. kena pried open again.... Best dun keep expensive stuff in it... n always keep it covered..

3.) Average mielage till reserve shud be around 340 - 360km.... Reserve anoth 80km+ (trial n tested by out fellow fren :lol: :lol:)

4.) juz follow to the manual's reccomendation.... i change 1000km mineral oil, 2000km mineral oil... 3000km semi-syn.. 5000km full-syn... will be switching back to semi-syn at 10,000km...

5.) usualli pple put it in the middle or at the side... but middle will block the key position (learn by experience... damn~!) Best put it at the side..

6.) till now... no backrest for pillion... unless u wana spend a fortune on corbin seats (order n impott from US) FJR is not realli meant for for pillions... unless she's small size n light..

7.) Suspension setting.. moz of us put to HARD.. coz the soft is too limp.. tyre pressure is always put 250kpa(front) 290kpa(rear) But the manual reccomends 250kpa for high speed riding.. dats for riding one up i guess.. no feedback from anyone who tried 250kpa for both...

8.) '04 n '05 models are the same... onli '05 model got the 2-Tone Fairing... rest all the same.... there shudn't be anymore "new" '04 model in market now.. Unless u r buying 2nd hand.... 1st hand wun matter much diff in terms of $$..

Jilt the TDM bro... haha.... FJR is the one if ya lukking for performance of a sports bike.... and minimum comfort of a tourer... onli TDM got a few perecnt of Off-Road characteristics in it... but perfromance wise... nuthing beats an FJR....

Hope u join us soon~!

thank u bro ashenZ. i'll be back between late aug - oct'05. any1 knows wats the machine price for the '05 model? any news abt '06 model? wait i buy on oct'05 then on nov'05 they release news on '06 model :faint:

btw guess i'll be going for new 2 tone '05 FJR1300 :smile:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

yoz bros!! then over at looi's can solve my problem?? no one wanna go with me ah???? :bouncefire: :cry:

also..... if the EFI got problem will cause the problems that i mentioned earlier??? :confused:

sorry need to ask soooo many qns..... :sweat:

Originally posted by omnislash@Jul 1 2005, 11:18 PM

Like ash has said, trip go to zero is probably the battery.

As for jerky, i feel its either ur plugs or the throttle bodies out of syn...

oops i wud like to add...

if ur trip odometer reset to zero..... dats means the total mileage is zero.... there maibe a problem with ur FJR's CPU.......

dats the worse case lahh....

hey deanz4.. i msg u.. u no reply...

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by deanz4@Jul 2 2005, 12:13 AM

also..... if the EFI got problem will cause the problems that i mentioned earlier??? :confused:

sorry need to ask soooo many qns..... :sweat:

hi bro....wat time u going down loois?

mayb can meet u there....

i think the best thing you can do.....get back to where you get the bike from...

anyway, msg me if you going loois later

good luck dude :goodluck:

Originally posted by deanz4@Jul 1 2005, 11:52 PM

yoz bros!! then over at looi's can solve my problem?? no one wanna go with me ah???? :bouncefire: :cry:

Does the shop that you bought your bike from offers you any form of warranty when you sign the papers?

If they do, you should bring it back to them as soon as possible without dragging your feet too long.

If they offer no warranty, you should bring it to Looi's motor like what the others members suggested( I don't have any dealing with them, so I dont know how good is their troubleshooting skills ) or can try Bikes & Scooter, look for Apollo Ng the boss and talk to him about your bike's problem. I am sure he can solve your problem, but it might cost you a little bit more $.

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

got my bike back today... HL change the whole front assembly (triple clamps, left right forks, steering cone)..

juz now was testing it out.... it still doesn't feels like those other FJRs i tried.. n they feelz similar except mine.....

But got abit of improvement........ yet.... i got a bad feeling... tmrw gona test it out in msia w/o panniers...

Wait for my news.... hopez itz good news...

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

ashez how was the trip?? mine still having the problem think goin back to micheal or i should go to meng tong???

Originally posted by deanz4@Jul 3 2005, 12:14 PM

ashez how was the trip?? mine still having the problem think goin back to micheal or i should go to meng tong???

issit the same problem?? best is if u go to michael again.... since u fix it there..

if still persist... n michael cun fix it... try looi's .... meng tong n michael is one of the few best mechanics around...

The ride was wonderful~! finalli the front assembly feelz sound n smooth.... but the tyres still get buttery @ high speed... was told i over-pump the tyre pressure... may try another time to see if itz realli true... if not...... :weep:

FINALLY!~~!~! I hit over the 200kmph barrier~!~!~! huurrayyy~ :cheer: :cheer:

Managed to keep up with Teamlm.. for the 1st time.... or maibe he "let water" :sian: Managed to clock 240kmph.. n slightly above abit.... but dats full throttle liaoz.... at 8.5K rpm...

Any guyz managed to hit higher speed??? the meter is set 290kmph max.... wud realli wana try hit at least to 280kmph just once..... but seems like kena power cut.... unless muz drag all the way up at 4th gear?? :confused:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jul 3 2005, 08:07 PM

issit the same problem?? best is if u go to michael again.... since u fix it there..

if still persist... n michael cun fix it... try looi's .... meng tong n michael is one of the few best mechanics around...

The ride was wonderful~! finalli the front assembly feelz sound n smooth.... but the tyres still get buttery @ high speed... was told i over-pump the tyre pressure... may try another time to see if itz realli true... if not...... :weep:

Managed to keep up with Teamlm.. for the 1st time.... or maibe he "let water" :sian: Managed to clock 240kmph.. n slightly above abit.... but dats full throttle liaoz.... at 8.5K rpm...

Any guyz managed to hit higher speed??? the meter is set 290kmph max.... wud realli wana try hit at least to 280kmph just once..... but seems like kena power cut.... unless muz drag all the way up at 4th gear?? :confused:

the road condition usually wont allow u... U have to have a long stretch of straight road and no cars... If u go at 250km/h, ur relative vel with the passing cars will be approx 150km/h.

Imagine one of them decides to turn out, u wont have time to react..

haha.. maibe dats y no one reply if any reach higher speed...

itz all good~ :thumb:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

the tyres still get buttery @ high speed... was told i over-pump the tyre pressure... may try another time to see if itz realli true... if not...... :weep:

Congratulation.

What about try balancing both tyres and think tyres pressure should go according to manual, guess mech will advise back tyre not necessary to balance, pls insist, just an hr job and should cost you less than $30 for peace in mind.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

I think FJR not possible to hit 280 km/hr lah.. Not unless it is chain and sprocket. Imagine Yamaha R1 is shalf driven (Just like FJR), it will perform almost the same top speed as our ride.

Not convince? Try using a Lexus 300 (3000C.C, Full time 4 wheel drive) car to outrun a 2000cc Honda integra Type R.. Lexus just can't do that, due to wind dynamic, product design, application and weight.

It 's a different make after all.

But think of that, at the speed of 240km/hr. not many bikes can upkeep the momentum.. Cause FJR comes with a wind cheating and award winning wind shield! :cheer:

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

Originally posted by Teamlm@Jul 4 2005, 12:35 AM

I think FJR not possible to hit 280 km/hr lah.. Not unless it is chain and sprocket. Imagine Yamaha R1 is shalf driven (Just like FJR), it will perform almost the same top speed as our ride.

Not convince? Try using a Lexus 300 (3000C.C, Full time 4 wheel drive) car to outrun a 2000cc Honda integra Type R.. Lexus just can't do that, due to wind dynamic, product design, application and weight.

It 's a different make after all.

But think of that, at the speed of 240km/hr. not many bikes can upkeep the momentum.. Cause FJR comes with a wind cheating and award winning wind shield! :cheer:

base on spec shouldn't be a prob to hit 280km/h for FJR1300 having 145hp. was riding TDM900 that weighs >210kg with onli 86hp can reach 220km/h (power cut) u r rite abt the wind, riding my TDM it at ^180km/h quite siong :giddy:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone