• Replies 76

Some finding about the spec of the Aquila 125

Aquila 125 (2005 model)

http://www.bikez.com/bike/21679/index.jpg

Engine and transmission

Displacement: 125.00 ccm (7.63 cubic inches)

Engine type: Twin

Stroke: 4

Power: 14.75 HP (10.8 kW)) @ 10300 RPM

Torque: 10.00 Nm (1.0 kgf-m or 7.4 ft.lbs) @ 1000 RPM

Compression: 11.2:1

Bore x stroke: 44.0 x 41.0 mm (1.7 x 1.6 inches)

Valves per cylinder: 4

Starter: Electric

Physical measures

Dry weight: 163.0 kg (359.4 pounds)

Seat height: 665 mm (26.2 inches) If adjustable, lowest setting.

Chassis and dimensions

Frame type: Steel

Front suspension: Telescopic

Front suspension travel: 120 mm (4.7 inches)

Rear suspension: Swingarm

Rear suspension travel: 80 mm (3.1 inches)

Front brakes: Single disc

Front brakes diameter: 275 mm (10.8 inches)

Rear brakes: Expanding brake (drum brake)

Rear brakes diameter: 130 mm (5.1 inches)

Speed and acceleration

Top speed: 110.0 km/h (68.4 mph)

Power/weight ratio: 0.0905 HP/kg

Other specifications

Fuel capacity: 14.00 litres (3.70 gallons)

Color options: Red/black, Silver/black

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA homepage

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA Forum

My Computer

My Photo Album

http://www.geocities.com/sean_toh/signature1.JPG

Hi Guys, :smile: I am still deciding which one to get.. *sigh*? Phantom(2005), Daystar, Intruder, Aquila... *sigh* too many choices.. can somebody share their experience when buying their first bike. Thanks for the reply "shortie" "farhanshah" "Dragstar" "Snowman". :smile:

If you are going to stay for a short duration on you 2B bike, then get the one which i the cheapest and have the best market value. Simply as that. E.g. Phantom

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Snowman : Thanks for the Webby

farhanshah : FYI the macpherson shop is no longer the agent, now it's Ban Hon or something in AMK. I service my bike in macpherson too, but find them a little expensive ...

Darkknight2004: Like what shortie says, the Aquila is rather slow (I managed 110 tops, 120 downslope). However, she's a big girl, weighing in at about 160 kg (dry). So it's the biggest 2B cruiser around, along with the Daystar. Good things about the Aquila: It's big; it's stable at high speed; beautiful v-twin engine; true twin pipes (note that 1 of daystar's twin pipe is a fake); hope this helps!!

Originally posted by WE300B@Feb 25 2005, 09:22 AM

farhanshah : FYI the macpherson shop is no longer the agent, now it's Ban Hon or something in AMK.

ban hon @ ang mo kio industrial?? if it's tt shop, i wun advice you guys to go. the boss trying very hard to rip me off for pair of 2nd hand signal lights. :mad: but the mechanics i muz say are very friendly and pretty gd. juz the boss... :sian:

DarkKnight2004>> i was at your stage 4 mths ago. 2 ways to look @ it. by budget or by look and feel.

for budget, try walking ard and see wat price every shop offer you for the bikes and see which suits ur budget.

as for look and feel, walk ard motordiam too, and try riding on one. like the look and like the feel of riding it, get it. of course, gotto see exterior and engine condition. :smile:

best to walk ard places with a lot of motordiams so you can slowly browse. who noes, you might end up with a bike you never expect. (i started browsing for scooters and end up with a cruiser)

on top of all, try get someone with experience to go with you. 1) to check bike. 2) to make sure ur dun get ripped off frm the shop via insurance and all misc fees. (i've learn my lesson there) if you do not have anyone...ask ard forum. some of us will be kind enuff to assist u in our free time.

gd luck for ur search! oh yeah..read ard the forum to for bike/shop(why pay more) recommendation. dun end up like me...walked into an "orh diam" without noeing it. :nono:

Originally posted by WE300B@Feb 25 2005, 09:22 AM

Darkknight2004: Like what shortie says, the Aquila is rather slow (I managed 110 tops, 120 downslope). However, she's a big girl, weighing in at about 160 kg (dry). So it's the biggest 2B cruiser around, along with the Daystar. Good things about the Aquila: It's big; it's stable at high speed; beautiful v-twin engine; true twin pipes (note that 1 of daystar's twin pipe is a fake); hope this helps!!

As far as I have to explain numerous time to some ignorants who have heard of rumour about Daystar, do allow me to explain again.

The twin pipe on Daystar is definitely REAL! I owned the bike before and even did modification on both pipes to know that. I will spare everyone on the details.

Do allow me do a comparison between Daystar and Aquila to explain why Daystar is still range as the biggest size 2B bike.

In term of dry weight, Daystar is 160kg while Aquila is only 148kg (Info obtain from official website)

In term of tank size, Daystar have 17.3L and Aquila 14L (Info obtain from official website)

In term of chassis LxWxH, Daystar - 2,240 X 790 X 1,150 and Aquila - 2,270 X 800 X 1,090 (Info obtain from official website)

Perhaps other then chassis size, Aquila have some slight longer length and width, had a v-twin engine, I really dun see how anyone could rate it as the biggest 2B bike along with a Daystar.

In term of economical aspects, Daystar is using single cylinder collaborate design between Daelim and Honda achieving 46.8Km/L and Aquila a V-Twin doing 30Km/L (ok, we all know that V-Twin definitely consume more fuel than a single cylinder engine)

In term of speed, both is 125cc so difference is almost min. Based on WE300B giving evidence of his achieving speed, Daystar can achieved 115kph on flat and 145kph on downslope (Regarding this part, it was tested on NSHW with a Guilera Runner rider as witness) I believe WE300B bike was tested on Spore road thus may achieve the same downslope speed as I am.

I hope the above will helps to give some true insight oo both Daystar and Aquila.

Originally posted by nights@Feb 25 2005, 07:28 AM

If you are going to stay for a short duration on you 2B bike, then get the one which i the cheapest and have the best market value. Simply as that. E.g. Phantom

well said !

I have same thinking too, if you plan to change bike within short period eg. 1 year, then buy phantom.. you will not lose much

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

Guys, If my questions are too stupid, please let me know ok? lol... :D Let say if I get a 1st hand Phantom, and use for 1-2 years then sell away, how much will I lose? BTW I'm taking my 2B TP test in March, sianz... this is my fourth time liao. Rather Demoralising. How many times did you guys take to pass your 2b? And Yes I'm taking my time to browse around at some motorshops already. :smile:

Originally posted by DarkKnight2004@Feb 25 2005, 02:39 PM

Guys, If my questions are too stupid, please let me know ok? lol... :D Let say if I get a 1st hand Phantom, and use for 1-2 years then sell away, how much will I lose? BTW I'm taking my 2B TP test in March, sianz... this is my fourth time liao. Rather Demoralising. How many times did you guys take to pass your 2b? And Yes I'm taking my time to browse around at some motorshops already. :smile:

1) if you intend to get 2A in 1-2 years time and change bike, then dont buy a first hand phantom. Buy a second hand will do, unless you can afford the lost, and is ok for you. I bought my phantom at $3600.00 and after 6 months, i sold at $3200.00. Beside the basic consumption of petrol and maintainence and interest on loan, I waste on principal $400 for 6 months. I am not sure how much the new phantom, but i belive 2 years old phantom can sell at $3600 to private and a bit low to shop.

2) I did not take 2B in Singapore, I taken my 2A and i passed at 2nd time. I rather understand your feeling and is rather demoralising. Please keep it up and dont give up, you will surely get your license one day. No one will fail at the end, unless you give up yourself.

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

Originally posted by WE300B@Feb 25 2005, 02:06 PM

Nights: Thanks for the clarification on the Daystar. Apologies for the misinformation on the pipes ...

Cheers!!

No problem. Hearsay and unaccurate info from unofficial sites always lead to rumour easily.

hey... i just saw an Aquila on the road today... quite impressive... its look quite nice from the back.. haha.. i thought it was a dragstar or what but turned out to be a nice Aquila with nice paint work... :thumb:

i still got eat DayStar b4!!:cheeky: but mt aquilla does get some attention everywher i go....... all my frens tot i ridin 2a bike.... but to me phantom quite ex lehh........sure got power... but settle for daystar or hyosung betta lah....biased:cheer: anyway me gonna stop ridin my aquila soon...:cry: on to my vespa n tzm~~~~!!!!!!:lovestruck:

Bike is fer Point A to B, but fer me its fer point Z.. to get to point Z faster, use these --> http://skeptictoriches.com/

Originally posted by R.C@Feb 25 2005, 08:40 PM

hey... i just saw an Aquila on the road today... quite impressive... its look quite nice from the back.. haha.. i thought it was a dragstar or what but turned out to be a nice Aquila with nice paint work... :thumb:

Yea I agree too. :smile: It seems like many ppl are riding phantom in singapore, rather than Daystar, aquila, Intruder and so forth.. for the class 2b crusiers.. . .

Originally posted by Dragstar@Feb 25 2005, 03:54 PM

1) if you intend to get 2A in 1-2 years time and change bike, then dont buy a first hand phantom. Buy a second hand will do, unless you can afford the lost, and is ok for you. I bought my phantom at $3600.00 and after 6 months, i sold at $3200.00. Beside the basic consumption of petrol and maintainence and interest on loan, I waste on principal $400 for 6 months. I am not sure how much the new phantom, but i belive 2 years old phantom can sell at $3600 to private and a bit low to shop.

2) I did not take 2B in Singapore, I taken my 2A and i passed at 2nd time. I rather understand your feeling and is rather demoralising. Please keep it up and dont give up, you will surely get your license one day. No one will fail at the end, unless you give up yourself.

Thanks for the reply man. :smile: but if get second hand, the trouble is, we have to bear the risk of having a problematic bike, which also means to spend money repairing the damages rite?

Originally posted by nights@Feb 25 2005, 04:16 PM

No problem. Hearsay and unaccurate info from unofficial sites always lead to rumour easily.

Nights, how much did you mange to sold off your Ex Daystar? :sorry: I saw from your previous posts that you seems to have some problem disposing it when you are upgrading to your 2A.

Did you carry over your Saddle bags to your new bike? :smile:

PS: But your Ex Daystar was nicely done up.:smile:

I've been riding my 250 version for the past few days..was ok..power wise it's jus a litttle shy of a 400..rear suspension a little bouncy tho..rear brake a little mushy..changed the batt also cos the one it had was a cheapo taiwan type..changed oil,esso gold..cos i can only fing Esso and Mobil for 10W/40..plugs changed to NGK G-power..it's rather strange for a cruiser to be so hi rev(redline 13K!)..but the low end was still pretty good,I could jus be at 5th gear wif pillion and still pull hard from 50km/h..anyone wanna buy crash bar??i have a pair..Mine comes wif platform rider footrest..if anyone wanna exchange regular footpegs wif me let me noe..I'll prob give u the crashbar as well..i dun like the large classic style mudguards/fenders too..hope to change the to those from 125..and the stock bars have to go for me...will prob go shop for a aftermarket bar next payday..hope to see u guys soon!!if anyone wanna exchange the platform sms me at 91730603..take care!!

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

Originally posted by DarkKnight2004@Feb 26 2005, 08:18 PM

Nights, how much did you mange to sold off your Ex Daystar? :sorry: I saw from your previous posts that you seems to have some problem disposing it when you are upgrading to your 2A.

Did you carry over your Saddle bags to your new bike? :smile:

PS: But your Ex Daystar was nicely done up.:smile:

There was a lots of buyer viewing the bike but they find the price I'm letting to be ex as it is the same price phantom are being sold at the same number plate. Though I have explained the price different for a Korea made and Thailand made, not many are interested after they are able to find a phantom at a same price I'm offering for my Daystar but lucky one buyer was smart and found all my accessories and modification to be worthwhile and buy over from me without any hesitation.

Its always take time to sell off bike so have to be patient. I have had actually waited near 3mths to get the bike off, which is why I recommend those who are staying short on 2B bike to get a phantom instead for easy to sell off. However if you intend to look for a transport bike or dun intend to upgrade to 2A, then get a Daystar for it economical fuel consumption features.

PS: Thanks for the compliement for my Daystar.