As per topic..

Post ur valuable comments please..

Tyrian

• Replies 55

cos they earn more from cars mah , per entry n per hr charging basis , which one will ppl choose .:sian:

I thk this is a matter of $ and sense.

If the shopping centres can make money from m/cycles parking, I don't see a reason they ban m/cycles into their car parks.

But to ask them to give free m/cycles lots, I thk no shooping centres will, no money no talk. Those who give free parking eg, causway point does that out of compassionate reasons, probably they had made enough from car owners or they have some funny shape or size areas which cannot be used for car lot so give u free loh. And in fact Causeway Point has a relatively high car parking charges, even on weekends it is per hour basis (compared to other shoppingcnetres, usually $2/entry on weekends). So car owners r subsidising bikers.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

the reason why i came up with this topic is that, since there muz be some handicapped parking lots in HDB parking lots, (i duno about private property such as shopping centres), i believe that there should be no reason why they dun allow bikes inside too..

Originally posted by Tyrian@Feb 16 2005, 02:15 PM

the reason why i came up with this topic is that, since there muz be some handicapped parking lots in HDB parking lots, (i duno about private property such as shopping centres),

there is no law that says shopping centers must have handicap lots. even if there is, this is very different from making it a law to have bike lots.

i believe that there should be no reason why they dun allow bikes inside too..

no offence, but u've got it backwards. anything that is not a direct move to increase safety or to prevent unscrupulous activities etc etc, nobody will see a reason to make it compulsory. it remains the shopping center's management's choice.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Feb 16 2005, 06:26 PM

there is no law that says shopping centers must have handicap lots. even if there is, this is very different from making it a law to have bike lots.

no offence, but u've got it backwards. anything that is not a direct move to increase safety or to prevent unscrupulous activities etc etc, nobody will see a reason to make it compulsory. it remains the shopping center's management's choice.

First of all, i didn't say that shopping centres muz have handicapped lots.. i'm saying that all URA aka HDB parking lots muz have handicapped lots for handicapped drivers.. if u dun believe me, go down to any HDB parking lots n u will find handicapped lots for them..

as for shopping centres, i have no idea if there is such a requirement for them to have compulsory handicapped lots..

what i was trying to encourage is to have m'cycle lots for us, be it free or for a fee..

regarding the safety aspects of it, i do not want to go into detail.. all i believe is that it's better for us to park inside proper parking lots than parking at pavements which may endanger pedestrians safety.. even if it does not increase safety inside shopping centres, it does definitely increase safety of the pedestrians/commuters/walkers or whatever u term them as u wish..

my ultimate aim of this post is to encourage m'cycle lots made available for shopping centres so that we do not need to worry if there allow motorcycles..

Talking about this. I've noticed many similar things at almost every carpark. When they do make bike parking lots, they really SQUEEZE everything out of it.

What's even more funny at MULTI storey carpark is, they put some single bike lots RIGHT beside a CAR PARKING lot. If you were to park your car right beside the motorcycle lot, its different for a passenger to get down from the door facing the motorcycle. And and!!! Bikes who parks at legit bikes lots beside car's parking lots risk being knock down by drivers who aren't skillful enough. My friend is one of the victim.

Seriously, i just hope those people who designed the carpark use some brains! YES, we may be "SMALL". but stop squeezing us at bike lots till its so difficult for us to get out of the lot of its fully parked.

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by Tyrian@Feb 16 2005, 08:46 PM

First of all, i didn't say that shopping centres muz have handicapped lots.. i'm saying that all URA aka HDB parking lots muz have handicapped lots for handicapped drivers.. if u dun believe me, go down to any HDB parking lots n u will find handicapped lots for them..

i didn dispute the issue bout handicap lots in hdb/ura lots. i know sure have. no need to make it law even, because the gov themselves build these carparks.

i said there was no law when it came to other such areas.

what i was trying to encourage is to have m'cycle lots for us, be it free or for a fee..

i quite agree. but u said something like "since there must be handicap lots in HDB, then there must also be bike lots in shopping centers". i agree the first part; my point is the first part does not have strong link to the second.

regarding the safety aspects of it, i do not want to go into detail.. all i believe is that it's better for us to park inside proper parking lots than parking at pavements which may endanger pedestrians safety.. even if it does not increase safety inside shopping centres, it does definitely increase safety of the pedestrians/commuters/walkers or whatever u term them as u wish..

i agree too. but the obligation here lies in the gov, not private managements. the gov shd provide adequate bike lots for us, which is why i dam pissed that holland village bike lots disappeared, but i digress. but when private managements dun wanna do us this favour, and the gov provide us ample bike lots within walking distance, then we LL. but no hdb/ura bike lots within walking distance then perhaps we have right to be upset.

my ultimate aim of this post is to encourage m'cycle lots made available for shopping centres so that we do not need to worry if there allow motorcycles..

i think the miscommunication here is whether you trying to make it compulsory, as in law or something, or are you trying to encourage? your title and the post i first quoted seemed to suggest compulsory, hence my disagreement. they're not the same things. encourage then i fully agree; but compulsory i feel very difficult.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

why not just pay car rates and park into a car slot if u want a proper lot.

i dun believe the management will say anything either.

probably some car owners will make noise lor

Originally posted by R3sistor@Feb 16 2005, 09:48 PM

Talking about this. I've noticed many similar things at almost every carpark. When they do make bike parking lots, they really SQUEEZE everything out of it.

What's even more funny at MULTI storey carpark is, they put some single bike lots RIGHT beside a CAR PARKING lot. If you were to park your car right beside the motorcycle lot, its different for a passenger to get down from the door facing the motorcycle. And and!!! Bikes who parks at legit bikes lots beside car's parking lots risk being knock down by drivers who aren't skillful enough. My friend is one of the victim.

Seriously, i just hope those people who designed the carpark use some brains! YES, we may be "SMALL". but stop squeezing us at bike lots till its so difficult for us to get out of the lot of its fully parked.

Hi.

I totally agree w u.

Though we r small, we also need space to park and to get out.

U may laugh at my skill, I ride a Honda Silverwing, 2245mm in length (accuartely longer b cos I have a rear box) and 221kg in wt. I sometimes take 5 min to park my bike when the m/cycle lots are full, just left 1 for me to manoevre in. :sweat: and take another minute to dismount.

Sometimes I worry I cannot come out, sometimes I worry car doors (or worse still, car itself) may bang me if I park beside a car. Some times I'm parked between 2 crusiers (which do not have mainstand), I nearly torn my shirt when I walked sideway to mount my bike on one occasion.

Perhaps bike lots need to be larger as ppl r buying bigger bikes now....hee.

Originally posted by Keynes@Feb 17 2005, 11:56 AM

Perhaps bike lots need to be larger as ppl r buying bigger bikes now....hee.

Right, needed especially for maxi-scoots. ;)

2011-Present: SilverWing SW-T400

2003-2011: X9 Evo

Originally posted by josean@Feb 17 2005, 01:03 AM

why not just pay car rates and park into a car slot if u want a proper lot.

i dun believe the management will say anything either.

probably some car owners will make noise lor

haha... gd idea! sometimes must put attitude over $$$!!! but must make sure you lock your bike's handlebar! even if the drivers complain abt you, you have carpark ticket to show for!

all i can say is after bugis charged motorcycles for entry, very few motorcyclists come to bugis liaoz~

For shopping centres, the bottomline is if you are paying, you get a lot. If you not paying, you don't get a lot OR you get a lot that's far from the lifts or you get some unmarked space before the carpark gantry surrounded by a string. Afterall, cars got so much boot space to fill up on groceries and big $ items mah.

that's what i did once, when i was riding my PC800. since per entry for cars was $2. i paid and took 1 car lot. cant remeber where this was but i know i did it becos the parking for bikes was horrendous.

guess what happen?

another 2 bikes came and parked beside me, bloody hell.

Originally posted by Throttle@Feb 18 2005, 11:49 AM

that's what i did once, when i was riding my PC800. since per entry for cars was $2. i paid and took 1 car lot. cant remeber where this was but i know i did it becos the parking for bikes was horrendous.

guess what happen?

In actual sense...you are not wrong. They charge the fees for space and you "bought" that space for that time frame and since there is no bike slots, its perfect sense to take the car slot which u paid for.

Bikers in other countries have a whole car slot to themselves. Iz thier goddamn given right. RIght here is different. Just a wee bit difference la.....no biker rights. You park at a car slot in a public place here, you are viewed as exceeding your rights, overconsumption of your limited privileges as a biker.

But pity the other 2 bikes that came along also la, bikers must help each other in this 'no-biker-rights' country. But lucky u all didnt kenna WHeelclamped! Becoz even if you paid for the lot, if they put a notice at the entrance stating NO BIKES PARKING, you will have no rights in there anymore. whew!

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by jacQinthebox@Feb 18 2005, 12:55 PM

so u paid $2 and they get to park for free la?!

:lol: :lol: ..... tis what's called a good deed! :cheeky:

2011-Present: SilverWing SW-T400

2003-2011: X9 Evo

Originally posted by Throttle@Feb 18 2005, 11:49 AM

Nevermind lah Share share lah......., u also didn't lose much by letting them park w u lah, they also pitiful, no place to park, they'll sure appreciate u.

Next time go shopping center with other biker friends just share cost lah. 1 car lot can easily park 2-3 bikes (4 side-by-side 2B bikes also can).

Originally posted by mechwira@February 16, 2005 11:44 pm

i didn dispute the issue bout handicap lots in hdb/ura lots. i know sure have. no need to make it law even, because the gov themselves build these carparks.

i said there was no law when it came to other such areas.

I don't think so...

I believe building laws require all new/refurbished buildings have to be wheelchair friendly i.e. it is necessary to have lifts to every level (or ramps) and handicapped parking.

It seems that no one here is familiar with the LTA Handbook on Vehicle Parking Provision.

This is a huge 11MB file that you can find here:

http://www.corenet.gov.sg/eInfo/docs/vehicle.pdf

A shopping centre has to pay for the Gross Floor Area if they want to allocate a parking space.

Why should you expect the building owner to pay for floor area and then let you use it for free? Especially when he can convert it to space that he can lease.

Places like Raffles City have reduced carpark space to make more retail space, because carparks make far less than retail space.

He who hesitates is lost!

Originally posted by Shay@February 18, 2005 01:51 pm

Bikers in other countries have a whole car slot to themselves. Iz thier goddamn given right. RIght here is different. Just a wee bit difference la.....no biker rights. You park at a car slot in a public place here, you are viewed as exceeding your rights, overconsumption of your limited privileges as a biker.

But pity the other 2 bikes that came along also la, bikers must help each other in this 'no-biker-rights' country. But lucky u all didnt kenna WHeelclamped! Becoz even if you paid for the lot, if they put a notice at the entrance stating NO BIKES PARKING, you will have no rights in there anymore. whew!

Get this right: the right to use real estate belongs to the property owner.

Visitors whom he allows on his property has as much rights to use his property as he would allow them.

In the other developed countries, motorcycles form about 5% of the vehicle population. Here it is 19%.

He who hesitates is lost!