Just wanna ask experience racers...

Moving off from the starting point... would you guys drag the 1st gear or hit the highest gear ASAP?

http://images.neopets.com/pets/shoyru_blue_baby.gifhttp://images.neopets.com/pets/poogle_purple_baby.gifhttp://images.neopets.com/trophies/109_1.gifhttp://images.neopets.com/trophies/170_1.gifhttp://images.neopets.com/trophies/216_1.gif

http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l145/e_erzan/license.jpg

• Replies 17

Harrow,

I novice only hor... just my 2 cents.

I will assume that you are referring to a race situation.

Drag every single gear to it's peak horsepower point, which is NEVER at redline. It is typically about 1000 rpms before the redline. To find out exactly, go for a dyno run.

But, if the bike wheelies, shift into the next higher gear until:

A) You run out of gears

B) You realise that there is a Traffic Cop behind you

C) You crap your pants cos you overshot you braking marker

D) Piston jam

E) Girlfriend slaps you on the back of your head

F) Girlfriend falls off

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

For riders, by riders, NOT SOME GREEDY F*CK OUT TO MAKE A BUCK

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=23316&dateline=1271137474&type=profile

1 more.. and if ur front happens to settle down on the boot of a car!!

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/3593/e0fs0995lj4.jpg

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

jun 04 - mar 05------>Yamaha Wr200 FQ3550Z

jun 05 - sept 06------>Honda RVF 399cc NC35 FP 658 Y

sept 06 - may 08------>Yamaha R6 600cc '06 FBA8609M

may 08 - dec 08 ----------> Honda CBR600RR '08 & Honda Wave I

i once read from drag racing, 1st gear launch, hold at peak torque....then drag to peak horse.

ermm, please allow me to comment on Hart's points..

for point F, no need to slow or stop. keep going. as hard as you can.

but seriously, all points without alphabets are correct tho IMO

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg

but if wife better stop.....wait kena nag non stop

MARYJANE!! I THINK AMBA IS REFERRING TO U!!! :cheeky:

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

always set ur priorities right.

1. bike

2. race

3. track

4. tyres

5. performance parts

10. life partner

always set ur priorities right.

1. bike

2. race

3. track

4. tyres

5. performance parts

10. life partner

so i guess now u r at stage 5?

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

forgot to add a few more.

1. bike

2. race

3. track

4. tyres

5. performance parts

6. lesbians/bisexual mates

7. threesome

10. life partner

Amba's sexual fantasy is bike lah.....he gets withdrawal syndroms when ppl get rides he dreams of, lol....

But he's sure a sex symbol in his shorts, singlets and Spidi Lacing boots during dinner time :lol: Not to mention his unshaven chin and all....

Wahahahaha!!!

So back to topic, to have a good start, you need to look sexy like Amba.....and maybe forget to bring something so you ride lighter....

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

and maybe forget to bring something so you ride lighter....

yeah man......nowadays i make list already

Hey Amba,

I like your style and priorities man!!! You ROCK!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHA!

As for the topic, I myself think that the ultimate launch usually starts of with PEAK TORQUE. Torque pushes a bike better than Horsepower.

BUT, if you have ever tried this, you will notice that the bike will wheelie VERY easily and the clutch has to fed out very precisely. Which I find very difficult, resulting in a common "hit & miss" affair.

That is why, I use VERY little revs, usually around 4000 rpms. I let the clutch out and feed it in till it is all out, then WOT (Wide Open Throttle), short shifting when the front comes up.

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

For riders, by riders, NOT SOME GREEDY F*CK OUT TO MAKE A BUCK

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=23316&dateline=1271137474&type=profile

ohhhh .. now i drop to number ten oready .. neh mind dehhhhh .. hmmpphh ....

i would like to dedicate the song "IRREPLACEABLE" by BEYONCE KNOWLES to my "life partner"

PS: Applications for the position of MJ's BOYFRIEND now open .. Pls email your resumes .. hard copies will not be entertained