Hi there,

I always seem to have a problem staying awake while riding long distances at night, and end up having to make frequent stops to catch a wink or 2. i tried coffee, eucalyptus essential oil in my helmet, listening to mp3, anti-glare yellow glasses, but these only do so much to keep me from wanting to doze off. BTW i only have this tendency riding at night, comes dawn and my biological clock takes over and I feel alright to ride. Anyone with any advice?? :help:

Slow Rider

• Replies 44

maybe try listening to music while riding??

listen to hard core muic..just make sure u dun get carried way and it affects u riding.

maybe try listening to music while riding??

listen to hard core muic..just make sure u dun get carried way and it affects u riding.

Originally posted by iceangel@May 21, 2007 12:08 pm

Hi there,

I always seem to have a problem staying awake while riding long distances at night, and end up having to make frequent stops to catch a wink or 2. i tried coffee, eucalyptus essential oil in my helmet, listening to mp3, anti-glare yellow glasses, but these only do so much to keep me from wanting to doze off. BTW i only have this tendency riding at night, comes dawn and my biological clock takes over and I feel alright to ride. Anyone with any advice?? :help:

usually happens to me especially when i'm driving

when i feel this way, i will speed up a little, and try to, for instance, catch up with the next car infront.

its something like finding some "excitement" or finding something to do while driving

hahaha, i tried that too, ut after awhile, i run out of songs to sing to myself, and at the next R&R, i found i had a sore throat on top of that:giddy:

Slow Rider

Hook up the camel bag, pour or mix 100plus or pocari...sip it along the way.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x26/virusx11/Avatar/LMCDArthVader.jpg

It doesn't matter how good your bike is, but how long you can ride it

Performance doesn't lie on the bike, it boost when the ego broke!!

It doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile...winning's winning..

Put a big spot light over your head, shine yourself downwards machiam its daytime brightness. Then your biological clock will think its day time and keep you awake.

I am lucky. I am the type whereby no matter how tired I am, once I get into my car or sit onto my bike. I wake up 100%. I am super enthu into driving or riding. So it wakes me up.

X1R for sale: Fully stock Oct 2010 mileage 20k $6.5k

vfrT's method worked on my longest trick, but I used 1 tablet of chewing gum instead.

aiya4's method works until I ran out of songs

N@kan0's method of alternating MP3's from one stop to another and screaming into your full face helmet has NOT yet been tested by me but he told me it works for him.

use 2 matchsticks to keep your eyes open..:cheeky:

2006 - NSR SP

2009 - Spec III

2011 - R6 '08

http://image.automotive.com/f/newsandupdates/racing_news/122_1103_progress_for_ducati_marlboro_team_as_qatar_test_kicks_off/32274961+soriginal/122_1103_03_o+valentino_rossi_ducati_marlboro_q

MP3 quite dangerous. I got a fren fell a sleep along NSHW. Until he ride nearer and nearer to road shoulder, then goes in. I quickly go beside him and horn real loud until he wake up. Then we stop at next rest point for smoking break. Imagine he never wake up.

The scary part is, he heard song A before he sleep. He woke up is Song B. The put random shuffling mode. So in between duno got how many song. Maybe he slept for few songs already.

X1R for sale: Fully stock Oct 2010 mileage 20k $6.5k

Originally posted by futsal123@May 22, 2007 02:02 am

your friend so fierce? extremely dangerous. popping chewing gum will make the jaws numb...

No it doesn't. Ok, maybe with full face it'll be harder to chew, but you can time yourself to chew and it'll ok.

Timing can be

"A one! (chew) A two! (chew) A three! (chew)......"

Keep up the timing and counting to take your mind off the fatigue 'til you reach your destination. That's how I did it from Rawang R & R to Tapah R & R at 6 am

for long distance riding, one has to prepare oneself by having sufficient rest both mentally and physically, how you do, it's personally. Whatever the situation, if you feel tired, it's best to just stop somewhere safe to rest rather than to push on. That applies to both rider and pillon.

On my Mayday trip, one pillion on a Harley fell off the bike because she :sleep:

Originally posted by Demon@May 22, 2007 10:57 am

On my Mayday trip, one pillion on a Harley fell off the bike because she :sleep:

Omigosh. .she fell off while bike was in motion or stationery ? :giddy:

Originally posted by kaozie@May 21, 2007 09:38 pm

open your visor... allow wind to blow onto your face...

always works for me... :smile:

allow the wind to blow will make ur eyes even more sleepy leh.

this is what i feel laa.. :smile:

but i will sing loud since no one can hear me.. wahahah... :cheeky:

~ The Most Dangerous Practice - Tailgating. Accidents can be avoided if drivers Know how to Tailgate ~

me no touring.. but when i shag... i open and close my legs...

kiap and release the tank... kiap and release...

after a while... try doing with your hands.. like chicken flapping...

worth a try...

allow the wind to blow will make ur eyes even more sleepy leh.

this is what i feel laa.. :smile:

but i will sing loud since no one can hear me.. wahahah... :cheeky:

I dun think this is sound advise but when i sleepy, i let wind blow my eye until dry. Stings alittle. jolts me up. then i close visor then blink blink blink until tears come back.

who like self torture can try =x

http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg123/illa19/ParkEunKyung3.gif

why dun u try to tail someone infront at least there's someone for ya to follow so it makes u stay focus.. that helps me.. unless ur the leader den bo pian la no other bike to follow..

skazuz

bro frankly all the best advise i can give u is not to do night riding if u cant stand the sleepyness.....

all this advise that we stated is up to individual.... for me personally if u are tired then get sleep... i have gone throught this fatigue before.. i went melaka for one whole day ride.. reach there early eat all that then then evening went to the hot spring for a bath...

tell u after that hot spring bath i was so tired that i got halucination...

on the way back while riding and ita only 9 and i feel shack like ****...

saw lots of things.. while riding saw a big trailer was in front of me but in fact there nothing... then at the side saw factory along NSHW...

at that moment i know i was tired.. next exit had power nap for 10 min only.. and i felt so fresh... ride back to singapore all the way..

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif

Actually if u begin to MicRo-sleep and progress to Auto-sleep,

its time to park at R&R to sleep.

There is no alternative.

Trying to endure mean u start making a bigger and bigger gamble on ur life.

Me ish do countless 17hr ride one short...sometime nearing

13-15th hour i stone until auto sleep...I also auto find a place zz awhile

Anyway, Ive tried chewing gums, standing up on bike, shake

leg ..sing song also no use :lol:

Honda ..................and nothing else

Actually if u begin to MicRo-sleep and progress to Auto-sleep,

its time to park at R&R to sleep.

There is no alternative.

Trying to endure mean u start making a bigger and bigger gamble on ur life.

Me ish do countless 17hr ride one short...sometime nearing

13-15th hour i stone until auto sleep...I also auto find a place zz awhile

Anyway, Ive tried chewing gums, standing up on bike, shake

leg ..sing song also no use :lol:

Ya agree with you. Why take risk since your life is more important? Go to the nearest RnR, get a quick power nap. If all else fail, wash you face and drag a can of redbull.

I've experience it myself especially when riding at night. Bloody sleepy. 3 cups of coffee will do me no good. Power nap does. And my advise is, have a good sleep before you start your journey. Dont force yourself. The harder you push it, the worst it gets. Cheers!