Prefer without windshield or with windshield?  

171 members have voted

1. 1. Prefer without windshield or with windshield?

Based on your experience, which wind shield is the best for Super 4 VTEC series, in terms of looks, wind blast reduction and price (value for money)?

Pls share your experience with the rest. Thanks.

• Replies 377

Originally posted by PaLmEr@Sep 11 2005, 07:30 PM

i like the a770 :smile:

Know that is the biggest Givi windscreen but only come in black. Not in the S4 compnent listing lei.

Btw, where did you install and how much does it cost?

Originally posted by roytanlk@Sep 11 2005, 09:55 PM

Know that is the biggest Givi windscreen but only come in black. Not in the S4 compnent listing lei.

Btw, where did you install and how much does it cost?

$260 from 219

Regina selling PUIG products.....if you choose to install it, do sent a pic to let me see how nice. :cheeky: and tell me how much it cost.

::TranZ ition::

http://www.sugarshark.com/img/vstrom-sunset.jpg

GIVI one is better...

2001 - 2002: Yamaha TZR125

2002 - 2005: Honda Phantom 150

2005 - 2005: CBR400RRS

2005 - 2005: Piaggio Typhoon 125

2005 - ?? : Honda CB400 VTEC 2

2006 - ?? : Harley Davidson Sportster Custom 1200

2006 - ?? : Mazda 3 SP 1.6

Originally posted by legend07speed@Sep 13 2005, 09:35 AM

GIVI one is better...

I went to LAB the other day to see the PUIG shield. Doesn't seem that nice also. I think I still prefer Givi as well, but LAB seems to be more expensive than 219 Motor. Anyone knows where can I find the lowest price?

For those thinking of buying, fyi below:

QUOTE (royston76 @ Sep 12 2005, 03:21 PM)

If you buy this windscreen, ask Darren for special kind of nuts to screw it in, it takes a special tool to unscrew it one. The usual ones are just size 13 nuts, very easy to steal one, I heard.

where to get Givi A755 do u now much guy thanks :bouncefire: :bounce:

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a254/gate999/splee.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a254/gate999/IMG_1696.jpg

remember...

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take,

but by the moments that take our breath away

ani WS tt has 4 mounting pt ?

so far all i hav seen are 2 mounting pts @ the headlight.

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

ah boy ex???

i got my givi a750 at $140 in yellow colur

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Sep 28 2005, 01:37 AM

ah boy ex???

i got my givi a750 at $140 in yellow colur

I was quoted $160 leh.

Anyway, on second thoughts, I think the PUIG windshield may be better becos it's made of more durable material than that of GIVI. Was told of that by Ah Boy's brother.

I had tried without windshield for about 6000km and 38500 km with it on my spec II. A lot of different. With windshield, i felt more relax and as I can say..160km/hr with it is equavelant to 130km/hr without. Hard wind against ur chest (without) especially during morning or with heavy rain was very much hectic and fatique. I am a long distance tourer and normally speed more than 140km/hr average.

Depending on how u ride and the distance. As for me..i prefer with.

I prefer with too. Been riding bikes with windscreen all along. Really not used to it snice I started riding s4. Still thinking of which one to get?

Windshield.. .Bigger is better.....

But I rode NSHW 190 without windshield.. I would say its very tiring.... "Pi Chia" all the way.. .Tmd......

Oh and yes.... the height of the rider also affects. The taller you are... the more u find windshield useless ... cos too tall.. the line of air flow comes in your face rather than passing by your helmet.... so if there's rider like HondaXR4 aka Mark. Think windshield is a waste of time. Unless riding STX! hehehehe

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

I've tried two different type of wind shield before. 1 type is tinted with rainbow color got it from Chong Aik, the height is slightly more then 1 feet. the other one is about 2 feet in height.

The 2nd 1 give a better wind shield at normal riding. but i've tried going up til 170km/h at NSHW with both (higher speed for the smaller shield). When speeding up, no problem. the problem is when closing of trottle for the bigger shield. the handle begin to wobble violently. It did not happen to the smaller shield.

So i suspect it is either the cross wind that caught my wind shield or the sudden reduce in speed that cause the tublent.

So in this case, bigger does not mean better for me.

IMHO

PUIG

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a254/gate999/japan%20cb400/894.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a254/gate999/japan%20cb400/25.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a254/gate999/japan%20cb400/49.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a254/gate999/japan%20cb400/897.jpg
Originally posted by roytanlk@Sep 26 2005, 12:40 AM

QUOTE (royston76 @ Sep 12 2005, 03:21 PM)

If you buy this windscreen, ask Darren for special kind of nuts to screw it in, it takes a special tool to unscrew it one. The usual ones are just size 13 nuts, very easy to steal one, I heard.

I thought of this. Instead of installing the special screw on the headlight bracket, can actually get a plastic cap or something to cover the nut. Just like how we protect the suspension. Anyone done this before?

Guest quizesilver

i would strongly support puig. cos i am using it and i noe it is good. those who know me would know why.

Originally posted by quizesilver@Oct 30 2005, 09:06 PM

i would strongly support puig. cos i am using it and i noe it is good. those who know me would know why.

U bought liao? same as mine? how much he charge u? :thumb:

http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/294/yoshi1dg.th.jpg
Guest quizesilver

haha nt yet...

no time to go yet

bt thinking of getting the bigger version.

Originally posted by quizesilver@Jan 17 2006, 08:17 PM

haha nt yet...

no time to go yet

bt thinking of getting the bigger version.

okok... thot u bought liao... mtg di and turbo for frog legs, wana cum let us noe.. cya!

http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/294/yoshi1dg.th.jpg
Guest quizesilver

i noe but i got class 2 lesson else i will be there

thur go kulai ai mai?

see west side

Used Puig before 3 yrs back when juz gotten ma bike. Used to hav a fully round one but tink tat was a old model liao. Good material n worksmanship.

Then changed to A770 for quite some time. Its definitely the biggest of the Givi range for S4 but the oni con which I feel is tat the tip of shield will tend to vibrate unless additional improvised brackets r used to secure to your handle bar.

Juz ma 2 cents worth. :cheeky:

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m200/wsrider/DE_MOD.jpg

Honda CB400 SF Hyper Vtec & Suzuki K6 Hayabusa GSX1300R