me, bike seems to be ok now....i hope

after washing the carb, it was still shuting down..

well apparently piaggio said it was leaking coolant, they fix that

the speedo could just be loose connection

running back to normal....till the next break down that is

any way what coolant do u guys use?

i just use water,ok or not ah

• Replies 4.1k

Originally posted by nor_man@Oct 6 2005, 11:41 PM

Better buy proper coolant or redline or water wetter or liquid that's similar.. Cos water causes the internal of the rad to rust...

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5600/kuantan049596tc9.jpg

Hmmm,

Water should be ok I guess? But most people would use actual radiator coolant, not that expensive too. Plus I think it is better? Gotta check with the experts, Spider and Stroker where are u!

Cheers...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg
Originally posted by nor_man@Oct 6 2005, 11:23 PM

give chase and invite them to the forum lah, why didnt you

the more the merrier,!!!!

Actually I guilty of not doing that.. haha.. There's a couple of times I saw a few fella dna, but never bothered to talk to them.. Must 'gek seh' abit ma... hahaha... So never 'lower' myself to go jio them here lor...

Originally posted by danielburgess@Oct 6 2005, 11:53 PM

Hmmm,

Water should be ok I guess? But most people would use actual radiator coolant, not that expensive too. Plus I think it is better? Gotta check with the experts, Spider and Stroker where are u!

Cheers...

Hmm...i use water as a coolant for my car....

But then again, is 13-yr-old to be scrapped this month.,... :sian: :offtopic:

guys just saw a dna fy plate for sale in yahoo classified,did only 12000km

do u guys reckon the fy plate is the last for the dna, dying breed ya

should be more of a protected species,

dont trade in endangered species, keep them man,,must call wwf report liao

dont think there is an fz?????

Originally posted by Miguelle@Oct 6 2005, 11:51 PM

dont think it ok to just use water.. cos i think it will kind of rust the inside.

Hi YM and Nor Man, you folks attending the oct 15 meet up?? Venue should be kallang kfc (centralised, made it easier for everyone)

Originally posted by nor_man@Oct 7 2005, 12:18 AM

guys just saw a dna fy plate for sale in yahoo classified,did only 12000km

do u guys reckon the fy plate is the last for the dna, dying breed ya

should be more of a protected species,

dont trade in endangered species, keep them man,,must call wwf report liao

dont think there is an fz?????

You'll never know.. As I believe there still is some leftover stocks in some bikeshops somewhere.. When they get registered for the road, you'll get fz or newer lor..

Originally posted by stroker@Oct 7 2005, 12:31 AM

Hi YM and Nor Man, you folks attending the oct 15 meet up?? Venue should be kallang kfc (centralised, made it easier for everyone)

if nothing comes up at the last minute,should be able to make it,i guess.

anyway i stay west.

Originally posted by stroker@Oct 6 2005, 02:09 PM

Hey man, where you'd been to?? haven't heard from you for ages!! Ha. Busy tuning yr 250?? Me really going crazy setting my bike right.. Cos just added a few more gadgets to my bike... Hence the previous setting with the BB kit gone out of the window liao... Now start trying to jet and set it right—again..

ya i have been so busy lately... 15 oct have a sailing somemore so might not be able to make it for the meet up... see wat time will be back lor... have been jetting the damn bike with a big ram air tube... the mainjet 560/600 with pilot 40 and needle 2nd leanest.... power till 11.5 is good but after tat not so... then i try not using the ram air tube and reset my jetting and start again... wanna try which is better.. sigh... wanna die already lah... wat have u add to yr bike?

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Originally posted by nor_man@Oct 6 2005, 11:41 PM

actually water is ok if there is no parts tat will rust in yr coolant system but to be safe just use normal coolant... can get it any petrol station...

Originally posted by spiderman@Oct 7 2005, 03:43 PM

actually water is ok if there is no parts tat will rust in yr coolant system but to be safe just use normal coolant... can get it any petrol station...

The radiator will rust. Period. That mech ( I shall not say whom) used water in mine, rusted its guts out...

Changed rollers, cdi, gear up kit, and a set of high speed traniission bearings.. How's that sound? But damn it man.. Haven't been able to set it right...

Pressurized ram air or just blowing at the opening of airbox? With or without filter? Airbox divider got remove? If that ramn air of yrs is blowing at the entrance, i will not affect yr jetting much with or without it.. Doesn't do much really.. But just supply slighlty cooler air...

If pressurized, then you're opening a can of worms for yourself.. There is potential to be had.. But.. Its super tricky to do and setup correctly.. And stock airbox size is not big enough to be pressurized as well.. Should give another 1-2hp up at the top if done up properly... In my opinion, too much hassle for so little gain..

Originally posted by spiderman@Oct 7 2005, 03:39 PM

ya i have been so busy lately... 15 oct have a sailing somemore so might not be able to make it for the meet up... see wat time will be back lor... have been jetting the damn bike with a big ram air tube... the mainjet 560/600 with pilot 40 and needle 2nd leanest.... power till 11.5 is good but after tat not so... then i try not using the ram air tube and reset my jetting and start again... wanna try which is better.. sigh... wanna die already lah... wat have u add to yr bike?

In my opinion, the power sign-off right after peak is caused by the too rich mains. A leaner main will give you more overrev.. Although the mains you're using should be giving you a stronger pull right up to 11.5krpm..

Originally posted by stroker@Oct 7 2005, 04:58 PM

The radiator will rust. Period. That mech ( I shall not say whom) used water in mine, rusted its guts out...

Changed rollers, cdi, gear up kit, and a set of high speed traniission bearings.. How's that sound? But damn it man.. Haven't been able to set it right...

Pressurized ram air or just blowing at the opening of airbox? With or without filter? Airbox divider got remove? If that ramn air of yrs is blowing at the entrance, i will not affect yr jetting much with or without it.. Doesn't do much really.. But just supply slighlty cooler air...

If pressurized, then you're opening a can of worms for yourself.. There is potential to be had.. But.. Its super tricky to do and setup correctly.. And stock airbox size is not big enough to be pressurized as well.. Should give another 1-2hp up at the top if done up properly... In my opinion, too much hassle for so little gain..

that should be good... how much can the cdi over rev? high speed bearings cost how much? i have a set for my 250 also but have not put in yet...

believe yr jetting should be easier to get than mine..

the tube is from the front of the head fairing hole directly into the air box with a hole cuted.... divider is out and so is the filter... super duper hard to jet... keep banging into walls man... :sian: so now i just use back the original air box cover and try again.... hopefully it is easier to get....

eh stroker wat u doing at beach rd in the aftnoon ard 2pm??....saw u goin up ECP n at airport leh..goin to work ah??

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

Heyz,

I just realised one thing, it is actually quite scary to pillion on a DNA! The foot rest are really high, and in my case I sit alot higher then the actual rider, plus when you are negotiating a sharp turn, the DNA thens to give you the impression she is going to slide as it wobbles!

He he he, guess I am too used to the fact of driving a DNA and not pillioning behind one. Anyway was at Tai Hin yesterday, now my engine starts up really beautifully as they cleaned my carb, and changed the carb manifold, it had a huge crack in it. I also changed the rear tire, front brake pads and the petrol filter, and can feel the difference in my bike now, and SO CAN MY WALLET!

Cheers...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg
Originally posted by danielburgess@Oct 8 2005, 11:25 AM

Heyz,

I just realised one thing, it is actually quite scary to pillion on a DNA! The foot rest are really high, and in my case I sit alot higher then the actual rider, plus when you are negotiating a sharp turn, the DNA thens to give you the impression she is going to slide as it wobbles!

He he he, guess I am too used to the fact of driving a DNA and not pillioning behind one. Anyway was at Tai Hin yesterday, now my engine starts up really beautifully as they cleaned my carb, and changed the carb manifold, it had a huge crack in it. I also changed the rear tire, front brake pads and the petrol filter, and can feel the difference in my bike now, and SO CAN MY WALLET!

Cheers...

not only with u lah, anybody who pillons will actually sit higher than the rider.

care to share how big a hole your pockets got burnt

a breakdown of the charges will be good, i think it would have in excess of $250 ya

Originally posted by spiderman@Oct 7 2005, 10:31 PM

that should be good... how much can the cdi over rev? high speed bearings cost how much? i have a set for my 250 also but have not put in yet...

believe yr jetting should be easier to get than mine..

the tube is from the front of the head fairing hole directly into the air box with a hole cuted.... divider is out and so is the filter... super duper hard to jet... keep banging into walls man... :sian: so now i just use back the original air box cover and try again.... hopefully it is easier to get....

By that, I suppose you're saying ram air tube without filter and cover right? This mod doesn't do much to yr horsepower.. I used to run the exact setup before... No problem with mine at all... But If yours is getting too hard to jet, just revert back to the cover lor.. That gives you more bottom and midrange..

Originally posted by spy622@Oct 8 2005, 02:53 AM

eh stroker wat u doing at beach rd in the aftnoon ard 2pm??....saw u goin up ECP n at airport leh..goin to work ah??

Oh, I went TH with daniell.. Headed towards airport for some photo shoot...

Originally posted by danielburgess@Oct 8 2005, 11:25 AM

Heyz,

Cheers...

Ya bro, you mind giving us a breakdown, so that we'll know how much to expect??

I paid, in total $215 for all the stuff done to my DNA.

1)$100 for a rear tire (Gold Standard)

2)$115 for -Carb cleaning

-change carb manifold "huge crack in it"

-New petrol filter and tubing

-New front brake pads

Performance wise I feel a great improvement, especially with engine starting. Not much "morning sickness anymore". Petrol consumption too decreased. Used to get 24km/L, now slight improvement.

Anyway, new pipe coming on monday, so will give an update on that, BTW, stroker, remove the baffles is tough right? He he, care to teach?

Cheers...

Originally posted by stroker@Oct 8 2005, 03:41 PM

By that, I suppose you're saying ram air tube without filter and cover right? This mod doesn't do much to yr horsepower.. I used to run the exact setup before... No problem with mine at all... But If yours is getting too hard to jet, just revert back to the cover lor.. That gives you more bottom and midrange..

no lah... with cover... the hole is cut on the cover...

Originally posted by danielburgess@Oct 9 2005, 05:28 AM

I paid, in total $215 for all the stuff done to my DNA.

1)$100 for a rear tire (Gold Standard)

2)$115 for -Carb cleaning

-change carb manifold "huge crack in it"

-New petrol filter and tubing

-New front brake pads

Performance wise I feel a great improvement, especially with engine starting. Not much "morning sickness anymore". Petrol consumption too decreased. Used to get 24km/L, now slight improvement.

Anyway, new pipe coming on monday, so will give an update on that, BTW, stroker, remove the baffles is tough right? He he, care to teach?

Cheers...

It DEFINITELY is tough!!! Especially so if there's no one to point you in the right direction...

I will be the one to enlighten you and point you towards the 'way'... ha. But meanwhile, Suggest you dun do it that soon.. Just enjoy yr brand spanking new zorst first before hacking her up... I can tell you its no fun hacking up a near 700bucks beauty.. hahaha

Originally posted by spiderman@Oct 9 2005, 06:32 AM

no lah... with cover... the hole is cut on the cover...

No wonder you had so much hard time trying to jet her... You hardcore cr\@#$zy! ha!

A pressurized airbox has got to be larger than the stock box. The stock box not big enough. And if its to be pressurized, its gotta be fully sealed. No leaks acceptable.. Plus you ghotta vent yr carbs and tank to the airbox, if not, it'll cause high-speed lean-out, and blow yr engine. You had all these done? (ps: maybe you've done it already, n im nagging too much.. ha! old already)