hi all. have u seen those special lanes for motorcycles in m'sia highways? probably further up near kl region? they will be like a small road shoulder lane meant onli for bikes.

i feel that if we implement this it would be a good idea.

1 - bikes dun really keep in lane. we try to sqeeze whenever safely possible cuz car are very tat lor.

2 - even if we keep in lane, cars will try to tailgate us to force us out or to go faster or they simply sqeeze past us.

3 - a motorcycle lane makes the rest of the road safer. (cars wun haf to wori abt bikes sqeezing past them, we wun haf to wori abt sqeezing in between cars)

4 - quite hard for the bike lane to jam up.

wat do u guys tink? pls comment

mayb can even lower insurance and road tax if it pulls thru.. (since we use less of the roads??)

• Replies 30

My humble opionion:-

If there is a bike lane, and bikers can choose to use bet bike and car lanes, then I thk it will be good, But if bikers can only use bike's lane and not car's lane, then I'm reluctant to support this proposal because some big bikes r difficult to manouver in bike's lane.

Abt ur points:-

1) Bikers tends to squeeze - agree but w bike lanes I dont thk they will not squeeze,

2) This is a behaviour issue. We shd address this issue instead of avoiding it. By building bikes lane, I can foresee no car will tailgate u, but I cannot garantee no Goldwing or ST1300 (just eg of big bikes, don't flame me, ok) will not tailgate u.

3) Yes, it'll make car drivers less worry abt knocking us down when we squeeze or having bikers at their blind spot, this pt I agree.

4) I don't really agree. Look at the causeway at weekends, all bikes jammed up at bike lanes too. How abt slower bikers, big bikes will overtake them from car lanes? (I assume bike lane only one lane).

In Malaysia NSHW, big bikes r appealing to the authority to let them ride on wider car lanes, they ACTUALLY WANT to ride on car lanes, in fact it is true b cos, car lanes has less debris and sand, and more even ground.

Just my humble opionions.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

hi all. have u seen those special lanes for motorcycles in m'sia highways? probably further up near kl region? they will be like a small road shoulder lane meant onli for bikes.

i feel that if we implement this it would be a good idea.

1 - bikes dun really keep in lane. we try to sqeeze whenever safely possible cuz car are very tat lor.

How would this be safer? what makes u think that bikes do not squeeze between bikes when there is space available

2 - even if we keep in lane, cars will try to tailgate us to force us out or to go faster or they simply sqeeze past us.

didnt driving school teach u to give way to faster vehicles?

3 - a motorcycle lane makes the rest of the road safer. (cars wun haf to wori abt bikes sqeezing past them, we wun haf to wori abt sqeezing in between cars)

im more worried abt other bikes in my blindspot rather than cars as they are bigger and easier to spot with my mirror. with the arguement above, a motorcycle lane MAY NOT be as safe as what u think

4 - quite hard for the bike lane to jam up.

have u seen the jam over at the SG customs before?

even if entering JB side where the motorcycles dun need to queue also experience jam. moreover what do u think when the car lanes are jammed and the motorcycles lane is empty. i would say its a waste of road space.

wat do u guys tink? pls comment

with the limited land resources, not possible. we dun have as much land mass as malaysia. do consider the motorcycles/other vehicles percentage. is it worty 25% of a 4 lane carraigeway?

mayb can even lower insurance and road tax if it pulls thru.. (since we use less of the roads??)

Cars will just use our motorcycle lanes to overtake.. Just a possibility..

Normally at the highway is 3 lane

Lane 3 is normally for lorries and other moving giants

so we left with 2 lanes

Lane 1 is for emergemcy as priority

So worst case is having ony lane 2.

If thats the case, how to allocate a single bike lane for usage?

And I think no riders will follow the rules. can squeeze mah

I am quite OK with the current situation though a bit more hostile. If suay suay some big machine lose control and land on u (touch wood) before u can react then its down to fate..

But such chances are unlikely to date:cheeky:

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

i frankly think the authorities will never consider us important.

cos bikes hardly make up 1 quarter of the no. of cars

So watvever we voice out it has to be very strong.

I wld prefer riding in a bike lane on expressway(sick of drivers thinking 100 is road hogging on lane 2 or 3 n sqeezing me) n those who wan to go faster can use the main lanes. But wat i fear is if this comes true the so called bike lane the speed limit might be something like 60.

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

the only place that i have seen having a bike lane is taiwan.... but looking at the way singapore roads are already built, it would not happen in the first place... furthermore bike lanes would not be effective in a sense that since bikes are the minority of road users, it would be used to it's maximum potential usage capacity.... it would then cause more traffic jams for the remaining lanes....

if u find that u are being squeezed thenwhat about changing lanes or sliding in between them (not advocating this although as most bikers we do this) ???? that's why we ride bikes right.......

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/numbergames-1096510755_turesblack.jpg

not to mention the road tax for bikes will go up up up... way up... cos it costs alot to maintain roads...

then when we need to turn, we will still need to use the regular roads...

not feasible lah... haha.. sorry to be a wet blanket... but good idea!

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

I used to ride in KL many years ago. It has its advantages as well as its downside. My bicents worth, better not. Because you'll have a hell of a time getting out into junctions and filters. Very confusing.

If anyone wanna experience this ... can try the highway to PTP. (take the exit before GP Esso/Petronas). There will be a sign indicating motorbike lanes. "Sila Gunakan Laluan Motosikal" .. I think. Have fun! .. try it at night . .even more fun! :)

You can make a u turn at the traffic lights .. and return back to the petrol stations, south bound.

have bike will travel . . . . .

www.kruzer.sg

Can drop the idea totally. The gahment will not enlarge roads or build lanes for a machine that has 2 wheels

yeah.. taiwan is a safe heaven for motor bikers. there have lotsa motor lanes. and in front of each junction acorss major roads, there is a legalised yellow box for bikes.. thus bikes sqeezed to the front, have samples of rooms to themselves, instead of finding themselves between cars. (but won't that make motorcycling too pampered and boring??) but then, you dun even have to take practical test to own a bike license in taipei, the smallest 50cc is only a thoery test away...

I don't like to ride on bike lanes if there is one, moreover, I prefer to have practical test and lessons before we are on the road, I feel safer and more confident after the rigorous training at the training centres.

To ride a 50 cc bike on a road without practical training and test is like looking for death.

If S'pore implement "don't need practical lesson and test can ride bike", I'll be the first one to object.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

Originally posted by Keynes@Mar 31 2005, 08:17 AM

I don't like to ride on bike lanes if there is one, moreover, I prefer to have practical test and lessons before we are on the road, I feel safer and more confident after the rigorous training at the training centres.

To ride a 50 cc bike on a road without practical training and test is like looking for death.

If S'pore implement "don't need practical lesson and test can ride bike", I'll be the first one to object.

To have a narrow bike lane the size of a typical expressway road shoulder??

Forget it. Waste of time. The speed limit of that narrow bike lane will be what?? 50kph? 30kph?? :slapforehead:

Waste of time. I don't have that much time to waste CRAWLING at that kind of speed. I'll stick to expressway speeds and take my chances with the car.

Thank u weli weli mush.

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Apr 4 2005, 04:34 PM

To have a narrow bike lane the size of a typical expressway road shoulder??

Forget it. Waste of time. The speed limit of that narrow bike lane will be what?? 50kph? 30kph?? :slapforehead:

Waste of time. I don't have that much time to waste CRAWLING at that kind of speed. I'll stick to expressway speeds and take my chances with the car.

Thank u weli weli mush.

i agree man.. i tink it would crawl lik causeway bike lane lik dat lo.. den sure to haf sum mad ppl squeeze and speed lik nobody business n passing lik 2mm away from ya handle bar.. dangerous IMHO..

Road Shoulders to be used as Motorcycle Lanes:

- Mondays to Fridays : 7.30am to 9.30am and 4.30pm to 7.00pm

- Saturdays : 7.30am to 9.30am and 11.30am to 2.00pm

- except Sundays and Public Holidays

ai yah don;t waste time with trying to make "a safer place for riders" coz it's not going to happen: y malaysian can have motorcylist lane even when the NE expressway is only 2 lanes while s'pore expressway is 3 or sometimes 4 lanes?????????

SIMPLE: other countries like malaysia care about ppls safety IE lives are precious to them even if u don;t earn lots of $$$$ IE u own just a humble bike

HERE: our godforsaken "leaders" care only with $$$$$$$$$$$ no $$$$ ride bike go & die lah seems to be their attitude!

Originally posted by konsandy@Aug 14 2005, 11:56 PM

ai yah don;t waste time with trying to make "a safer place for riders" coz it's not going to happen: y malaysian can have motorcylist lane even when the NE expressway is only 2 lanes while s'pore expressway is 3 or sometimes 4 lanes?????????

SIMPLE: other countries like malaysia care about ppls safety IE lives are precious to them even if u don;t earn lots of $$$$ IE u own just a humble bike

HERE: our godforsaken "leaders" care only with $$$$$$$$$$$ no $$$$ ride bike go & die lah seems to be their attitude!

:angry: it is not that they do not care. the conditions of singapore roads just do not warrent another motorbike lane. quoting from you, why malaysia ns can afford to have only 2 lanes and a bike lane, just look at the traffic on ns. if they listen to pple like you and dedicate 2 lanes and 1 bike lane on every expressway in singapore, you are going to get one hell of a f***ing long jam. and bikes are still going to squeeze anyway. why? just look at the amount of vehicles traversing our expressways lah!

Originally posted by Jorn@Sep 6 2005, 05:54 PM

:angry: it is not that they do not care. the conditions of singapore roads just do not warrent another motorbike lane. quoting from you, why malaysia ns can afford to have only 2 lanes and a bike lane, just look at the traffic on ns. if they listen to pple like you and dedicate 2 lanes and 1 bike lane on every expressway in singapore, you are going to get one hell of a f***ing long jam. and bikes are still going to squeeze anyway. why? just look at the amount of vehicles traversing our expressways lah!

another thread revive from the the dead?

konsandy's post very funny. i'm actually wondering he goes on nsh at all.

nsh has 1 dedicated bike lane, any of us actually use that lane? i don't. the reason, its so damn slow! not to mention, the sand, the stone, the pebbles on that lane. care abt safety? yah, their govt do. and when s'pore dedicates a bike lane and ask all bikes to use it, and make u travel at a 'slow and stead' speed. trust me, they care as much as well. oh, juz don't complain if u need to move at 60km/h.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

questions to ponder on.........

1) is our expressway as long as m'sia's NSH ?

* if not : it will means that u will have to turn off to another road in a short distant eg. maybe a few km?

2) For NSH they do not have kerbs thus will lessen the chance of bike hitting kerbs incase bike was force to leave the road. eg. squeezed off by another bike or veh or to escape a misjuged veh. In sg can we do away with the kerb ? if not it will be a KILLER factor(blame it on the LTA) or write into the forum fault will lies in them... where does the $$ comes from ? if all kerbs were to be removed for safety?

3)AT the BKE with m'sian bikes coming in daily(tens of thousands) and the amt of sg bikes going south, east,west.... WILL every BIKE follow the keep on the BIKE LANE RULE ?

4) in a jam will cars not use the bike lane (again that can be seen in KL if u drive or ride there) bikers were infact forced to used pavements n pesdestrain walk coz bike lane becomes car lane.... :giddy:

4) lowe tax ? i think it wld be higher coz gotta maintain bike lanes n driver wld says biker have to pay for their own lanes n their own tax lowered...

Originally posted by Keynes@Mar 31 2005, 08:29 AM

man,

This rule was long long ago removed,the last time once U apply for L plate license

U can ride on the road no body will stop U from riding, & tha accident rate is high.

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h247/Gallantnice/Phantom200.jpg