Today while riding (erm make that yesterday since its 12 midnight) had 2 near misses both of which I would either have wound up with serious injuries or 6 feet under. I am a despatch rider and the first near miss occured at Ang Mo Kio Industrial Area 2. 2 lane road opposite directions and I am going one way and a massive lorry the other. Lorry wanted to make a right turn into a building on my left. I continued going straight because to me, I had the right of way. Lorry apparently didnt see me and continued to make the turn. I dont like to use the horn and I thought the lorry would eventually see me and give way. I was wrong, in the end I swerved left onto the pavement and continued on my way.

The next incident happened in the afternoon, I was riding on the lane markings at Serangoon when suddenly I heard "beep, beep BEEEEEEEEPPPPPPPP", I glanced over to my right and this bloody ccb white taxi SHB5289(forgot the last letter) was within touching distance of my bike, I stretch out my right leg sure touch the taxi liao. Damn pissed off, I gave the "What the **** you trying to do sign" and almost show middle finger but didnt la :cheeky:

Haiz Singapore drivers ar.. :faint:

u ride on lane markings and u still feel u no wrong ah? damn good la which sch teach u that one ?

• Replies 25.1k

Nope school didnt teach me that, but after riding out on Singapore roads for about 5 months, I'll be damned if I go at constant 60 or less behind cars during peak periods. Then maybe with the pittance I earn from despatch I drink teh-o for breakfast, lunch and dinner?

Granted I am not supposed to be riding on lane markings, but dont tell me you have never done that before? Please remember I am rushing for time to make deliveries not going for leisurely cruises with sponsored petrol

Nope school didnt teach me that, but after riding out on Singapore roads for about 5 months, I'll be damned if I go at constant 60 or less behind cars during peak periods. Then maybe with the pittance I earn from despatch I drink teh-o for breakfast, lunch and dinner?

Granted I am not supposed to be riding on lane markings, but dont tell me you have never done that before? Please remember I am rushing for time to make deliveries not going for leisurely cruises with sponsored petrol

the good thing is...u r safe..so next time pls practise ur horn when u feel something not right...

learn to read i didnt say i dun ride on lane markings b4.. im just stating u are not in the right in the first place but still dare to say until its the cab's fault.. maybe sch didnt teach u that way but wonder where u learn it from?

So you are saying, because I ride on lane marking, hence its my fault that taxi tailgate until so close to me? So you are saying that riders that ride on lane marking are in the wrong hence whatever mishap happens it becomes their fault?

In my following post I already admitted that riders are not encouraged to ride on lane markings so I suggest you also learn to read before preaching to others to do so.

Where did I learn it from? Okay, next time you ride on Singapore road, just open your eyes, countless riders are riding on lane markings. Therefore to make a living for myself, I do so so as to make some money from despatch when my daily earnings is how fast I can do deliveries (not on hourly wage).

I glanced over to my right and this bloody ccb white taxi SHB5289(forgot the last letter) was within touching distance of my bike, I stretch out my right leg sure touch the taxi liao.

So you are saying, because I ride on lane marking, hence its my fault that taxi tailgate until so close to me? So you are saying that riders that ride on lane marking are in the wrong hence whatever mishap happens it becomes their fault?

In my following post I already admitted that riders are not encouraged to ride on lane markings so I suggest you also learn to read before preaching to others to do so.

Where did I learn it from? Okay, next time you ride on Singapore road, just open your eyes, countless riders are riding on lane markings. Therefore to make a living for myself, I do so so as to make some money from despatch when my daily earnings is how fast I can do deliveries (not on hourly wage).

look like u dunno how to express urself? first u said the cab was so near that by sticking ur right leg out u can touch it right? so i "assume" u mean he is in the right lane of ur bike and u are in the lane spliting of both right and left lane right? if that is so then yes if accident happen u are in the wrong. i suggest u read up the rules first b4 u post without thinking... and i didnt preach... im just kindly ask u to read my post b4 u post again "rubbish" without reading..

chill bro im in the same boat as u im a mac rider i know how u feel

but all fufu wanted to say was to discourage you from riding on lane markings,

don't take it soo hard chill bro, btw i know money is hard to earn from despatch but will riding on lane marking make any difference other than saving a few minutes or maybe even seconds while putting yourself in danger?

think about that bro........:p lastly ride safe:thumb:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

Yup, guess I was unable to express myself properly but then again my command of the English Language is not the best. You are right in assuming I am splitting between lane 1 and 2. That is if lane 1 and 2 is the left most and middle lane. You are right in assuming that the taxi was in the middle lane. But what I do not understand is when there is ample space in the lane for the taxi to overtake why must he do what he did? My right leg can easily touch the left side of his bumper while I saw that there was enough space for him to go through?

I already admit I must shoulder part of the blame but from what I see, I think the taxi also should shoulder part of it. Its still not going to keep me from lane splitting though.

I dont want to bear ill intention to bro fufu. Last sentence edited out.

Today while riding, I was exiting to the wrong way of the carpark and went into the housing estate. There was one female walking as if it's her dad's road and she didn't even hear my bike coming when my bike's a 2-stroke.

I then horned at her and she turned back. Oh what a pretty office lady. I felt bad. :(

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
Yup, guess I was unable to express myself properly but then again my command of the English Language is not the best. You are right in assuming I am splitting between lane 1 and 2. That is if lane 1 and 2 is the left most and middle lane. You are right in assuming that the taxi was in the middle lane. But what I do not understand is when there is ample space in the lane for the taxi to overtake why must he do what he did? My right leg can easily touch the left side of his bumper while I saw that there was enough space for him to go through?

i riding on the lanes properly itself n quite fast already but still got taxi tailgate me super close n keep horning at me, ppl like these likes to disturb bikers as if i stupid

Today while riding.. d guy on this kupcai bike FS plate..u raised ur hand to thank me wen i gave way to u while lane splitting.. u really made my day.. .. coz u were so courteous :D

Two near accidents just now on d way back home. .that was close.. phew... my heart still beating so fast .. haiz.. next 2 days no riding for me.

Today while riding.. d guy on this kupcai bike FS plate..u raised ur hand to thank me wen i gave way to u while lane splitting.. u really made my day.. .. coz u were so courteous :D

Two near accidents just now on d way back home. .that was close.. phew... my heart still beating so fast .. haiz.. next 2 days no riding for me.

why next 2 days no riding ah?:cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

Today juz now riding my bike n saw the white ghost car on the opposite side along tamp ave 10... Take note those riding exiting to tamp ave10 from tpe.:thumb:

-"It's not about how fast u can travel from 0-100km/h, but it's about how fast u can stop from 100-0km/h"-:thumb:

Yamaha RXZ- 2005

Kawasaki KRR- 2006

Honda Super4 PB1- 2007,2008,2009,2010,2011

Today juz now riding my bike n saw the white ghost car on the opposite side along tamp ave 10... Take note those riding exiting to tamp ave10 from tpe.:thumb:

by the time they saw ur post they are already getting a free tp voucher! lol

I already admit I must shoulder part of the blame but from what I see, I think the taxi also should shoulder part of it. Its still not going to keep me from lane splitting though.

I dont want to bear ill intention to bro fufu. Last sentence edited out.

well, by lane splitting, u take 2 full lanes. Careful drivers would not risk overtaking u on either lane for fear of hitting u. That taxi driver, was just a normal driver who wanted to overtake u on the right. He horned to warn u he coming to overtake u. Guess nothing wrong with that. :p

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

raining nowsdays.

ride safe

this afternoon was raining.. wanted to turn into a left minor road slightly last minute, and was travelling a little fast.. accidentally jammed my front brake, lost control, and bumped into a car waiting at stop line to enter major road. kept apologising to him lah.. offered to let him take down my particulars so that i could pay for the damages, since it's entirely my fault.

the driver is very nice lah. he felt that it's prolly not a big damage, so he didnt really persue, and don't even want to take down my particulars for follow up in case theres any damages..

by the time they saw ur post they are already getting a free tp voucher! lol

Haha... At least i tried helping...:angel: Voucher tat needs u to use ur own money!:giddy:

-"It's not about how fast u can travel from 0-100km/h, but it's about how fast u can stop from 100-0km/h"-:thumb:

Yamaha RXZ- 2005

Kawasaki KRR- 2006

Honda Super4 PB1- 2007,2008,2009,2010,2011

this afternoon was raining.. wanted to turn into a left minor road slightly last minute, and was travelling a little fast.. accidentally jammed my front brake, lost control, and bumped into a car waiting at stop line to enter major road. kept apologising to him lah.. offered to let him take down my particulars so that i could pay for the damages, since it's entirely my fault.

the driver is very nice lah. he felt that it's prolly not a big damage, so he didnt really persue, and don't even want to take down my particulars for follow up in case theres any damages..

gd for u sia, some drivers abit will kpkb, but ride safe n careful dude

hard to come by this type of drivers :thumb:

wat car he driving? i seen alot of driver care alot for their car . and seen alot don even mind their car de . can park on pavement with 1 side on tree roots .. like e car fallin down lidat lolz

no idea. i dun take note of car models. haha. it's a lime green coloured car though. he bothered about his car.. he still told me that it would be very expensive to repair his car.. but i think after seeing that it's just a light bump, all he did was just to push back the frame (don't know what it's called.. bumper?) in and just compared both sides to see if theres any dents.

yesterday was driving along ecp at 100km/h on the centre lane then one big lorry behind me high beam me then i look at my speedo its 100km/h and theres a car 2 car distance away from me so i wasnt road hogging at all then he high beam again i was getting pissed so i look back the lorry started tail gaiting me closer and closer,my gf was behind and she say she scared so i kick on gear down go right lane and wack till i pass 3 or 4 cars then i go back to the centre lane and guess wad the lorry chased me and tailgate me again and this time he go left lane and i stared at him real hard but he didnt care and look straight then cut my lane sharply,that moment my blood was boiling and my gf was really scared ready. The lorry went back to left lane so i pick up then he purposely try to cut my lane again that moment i was too pissed i just pointed my middle finger to him. WAHHHH buay tahan.. He cut my lane then i wanted to chase him but the lorry swerve in and out to run away. Lucky my gf tell me cool down and dont chase .. OMG what was that lorry thinking? If he drive liddat everyday one day sure die..

gd for u sia, some drivers abit will kpkb, but ride safe n careful dude

the first few weeks i got my bike i kissed a car cuz he suddenly jam his brake when i was checking blindspot he oso never ask me to bear the repair charges.. think is lucky de..