Like I have said before....

If riding on the roads is like going to war with other road users, requiring you to use flipping fingers, swerving and accelerating techiques to escape attack, requiring the frequent use of your overly loud aftermarket horn in your crusade against the other road users... and if it happens everyday you get on the bike...

Something is very wrong with the way YOU are riding. You are either very poor at reading traffic and forseeing situations, have very low situational awareness or just plainly possess poor road etiquette.

Really, its time to do some self reflection.

Yup, reviewing my AAR (After Action Review) on the road... just require me to keep improving my daily riding. Well our education on the road don't just stop in BBDC/CDC/SSDC, we're acquiring it daily and improving it. Just be more patient, it can minimise problem.

Today while riding,

Some joker in a cage decided to spray water onto their windshields @ 90km/h on the expressway. it's not even raining and wth are they squirting the water on the expressway. even if got birdshit also no need on the water for the whole 2-3km...

Damn faggots..made my suit wet.

encounter it before.... sprinkling "holy water", "blessing" on the road :p FOC

Even most idiots do not attempt the apparently impossible, such as changing lane when another car is directly beside them. So a part of predicting is reading the traffic and what each car can do (or rather, what the driver may think they can pull off).

Next is observing his lane discipline and speed. If the cars seems fidgetty and restless, most likely the driver is impatient for whatever reasons and may do something normal drivers will not do. Give it wide berth, especially if its a sporty type with a young one behind the wheels or a large expensive luxury car with those i-can-afford-any-lawsuit type of uncles.

Basically this two factors will help alot in determining when to pass safely and when to watch out. Others like relative speed and position, visibility, road conditions, etc will generally help in giving a feel of whats to come.

If all else fails bring a crystal ball. :lol:

EDIT: oh, of course, and make sure the path to overtake is clean and direct, and you dun dilly-dally in executing it. Once determined safe, don't wait for other drivers to change their mind and foul your path again.

will take note of it, thanks 4 sharing!

there's a caucasian dumba$$ lady who couldn't care less and EVERYDAY driving her SUV in the bus lane all the way from Singapore Poly to i dun noe where (i nid to turn halfway) during morning peak hours. Either she is so stupid that didn't realise that it is an offence or she is so rich that $100 fine per day is peanuts to her. :faint:

wah u bump into her almost daily? Lots of Ang Moh and big cars around that area... especially when I hit holland area.

• Replies 25.1k

yesterday while driving..

near this vivo city area going to town ,

i was about to filter out , the bus in front of me also wanting to filter out as someone blockig his way.

me intending to stop to let the bus go first .

who knows as i was filtering out , this wish with number plate , E onli came so fast , and horn horn cum flash flash ,

i hump ji and go back bus lane..

maybe ride bike too much la , scared he knock me thats while i filter back in .

Edited by wait4me

these drivers think they big shot, wif special number plate

what to do ..

some more i half way le ..

see him like that

go back bus lane ..

but good thing is , my mind still on riders mode

what to do ..

see him like that

go back bus lane ..

Good thing also cant really say good. What if your still in rider mode and tried to lane split?? :faint:

Hahahahaha

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v652/IZECUBEZ/Motivational/Determination.jpg
U get worked up quite easily, don't you.

Pls don't point 3rd finger at me too. I scare easily.

Wait I cry, u noes.... :cry:

Yawn....I am worked up?....easily?? You can see me and feel my emotion as I typed? Wow Internet has reached a level where people can do wonder already. Come on it ain't even concern you at all. What's with you? I can't read mind as you could though. Pardon my childishness by ah. I am afraid of fierce ADULT ah

wah u bump into her almost daily? Lots of Ang Moh and big cars around that area... especially when I hit holland area.

Yup. always ride along there to go to my work place. she w/o failed will drive in bus lane. worse than those bangla workers who are uneducated. when i turn, must careful abt her cos she speeds as well... :sian:

come to think of it, maybe she got diplomatic immunity... to driving offence. :faint:

Edited by ThePole

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

Hmm.. I actually like AYE/ECP more than PIE... lanes feel wider, and the driving style of the road users are more predictable. But's just me I guess.

But.... what are u doing riding alongside a car? o_O

It simply puts you at the mercy of the other driver's lane keeping skills.... Better to either pass him/her completely and keeping him/her behind you, or just stay back...

Drivers "can see" us doesn't automatically mean they will surely "give a F" about us. :sian:

but to be stucked in a jam and lane splitting from almost before jurong town hall exit all the way to fort road is just so exhausting for me ... so i ditched AYE/ECP during peak hours ahah ...

i was lane splitting cum trying to change to the left most lane and that was when the bugger seems to be inching closer and closer .. huhu ... and got lorry infront blocking, cannot siam him heheees

i rarely use my horn, use it only when in critical situation rather. i just got a cheap piece of junk. a Yamaha DT125 rather. too poor to afford a wr400 right now. but i'm still loving the feel of this 2 stroker. orgasmic feel whenever i accelerate away!! :angel: nice power when the valve open. maybe now i know why all those super 4 riders seem 'hostile' to me. maybe they are just too high enjoying their ride till they see me as non-existent. :cheeky:

i've yet to meet with F-up cls 2 riders though. most seem to take their time to move off from the traffic lights. it's usually the kupchais that accelerate away!

my favourite expressway has got to be TPE and SLE and my least favourite will definitely be AYE and KJE!!! how often do you see big trailers/lorries or buses driving on lane 1 or 2? ALWAYS!! scary!

and i think there's more sightings of them due to the enforcing of the new law of the passengers thingy on lorries.

wah ... another bike to get to know and get used to it inside out eh ... enjoying your new ride i see ! so fun !:angel:

i think u dun really come across f-ed up cl2 riders coz there arent as much of them as cl2a riders? i think la ... but usually i'll get this cl2 chap zip past me on PIE usually ard 7.40 am, and fuhh ~ i really admire tat chap xia ... lane split like an expert, nice full face, nice bike, seem so smart coz he's in his uniform ... :cheeky:

yah laaa, big trailers n lorries around, some drive like crazy. i'm seldom on TPE, but the only one time i had to pass through TPE, so empty i can test how daring i am. hehes .. "tested" how fast my bike can go before i chicken out, but cant go so fast coz my parents are in my uncle's car behind, watching the way i ride.

so yaa, when i reached home, my father said, "wah, now dare to go 100+km/h" already ah ?:faint:

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

yesterday while driving..

near this vivo city area going to town ,

i was about to filter out , the bus in front of me also wanting to filter out as someone blockig his way.

me intending to stop to let the bus go first .

who knows as i was filtering out , this wish with number plate , E onli came so fast , and horn horn cum flash flash ,

i hump ji and go back bus lane..

good good, let those buggers go... but sometime giving way to them they think we scare of them (give them a inch, they want metres)

Yup. always ride along there to go to my work place. she w/o failed will drive in bus lane. worse than those bangla workers who are uneducated. when i turn, must careful abt her cos she speeds as well... :sian:

come to think of it, maybe she got diplomatic immunity... to driving offence. :faint:

careful, my time around the area especially knock off timing saw quite a lot of ladies n aunties (with frog eyes sun shades) drivers around there... scary X 2.

but to be stucked in a jam and lane splitting from almost before jurong town hall exit all the way to fort road is just so exhausting for me ... so i ditched AYE/ECP during peak hours ahah ...

Hmm.. I used to lane split all the way on AYE/ECP, from clementi to Changi, every morning during peak hours around 8am, usually riding at about 100+km. That's something i don't dare to try on PIE... not with a 2-stroker phantom with long wheel base and below-desirable braking capabilities. Guess i am so used to that road i am biased. :lol:

i was lane splitting cum trying to change to the left most lane and that was when the bugger seems to be inching closer and closer .. huhu ... and got lorry infront blocking, cannot siam him heheees

I may sound naggy, but please do not stay beside a car while lane splitting. If you want to be going at the same speed as the car, go either in front or stay at the back of the car. Otherwise go faster than it when you lane split.

Staying between two cars (or worse, bigger vehicles) is just inviting them to drift towards you simultaneously and ping pong you around. o_O

And... you're just blocking those who wanna lane split faster. :cheeky:

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

what to do ..

see him like that

go back bus lane ..

Please remember you're driving when you want to park... i dunno about the others, but i will get a heart attack when i see a car charging onto the pavement to park beside a tree...

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

GRR.... COMPLAINING!!!

TOOPIG KIA DRIVER... xx6477x!!! Gave way to him with signal already still insist to cut me like F1 driver.. TO HELL WITH YOUR DRIVING... @rS3h0|3!!!

DONE COMPLAINING..

sorry guys...

"A government afraid of its citizens is a Democracy. Citizens afraid of government is tyranny!"

— Thomas Jefferson

:eek: :eek:

last night while riding home at around 12+, got pissed off by this knnccb taxi along Bukit Batok Ave 1 turning into Bukit Batok Central. i was behind him and suddenly at the turning into the slip road, he just on his hazard light and brake to pick up a stupid passenger (another idiot for hailing a taxi at the slip road!). where's the blind spot chk? where's the traffic rule? got money, all fly out of window. basket ppl.

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

Today while riding! :faint:

Really wanted to confront this driver at traffic light (red), but decided 2 heated heads ain't gonna solve anything...

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0LiEnyy3mA[/yt]

Please help to make this guy famous, else he's gonna harm one of us sooner than later.

Hey, I'm really happy to hear that you have contained your temper. And yes, you are right. It will be up to no good.

Anyway, this is what I face almost everyday. Drivers are always cutting in front of me. Do try to anticipate that they are going to cut you. Drop your speed by dropping gear. Try not to drop speed too rapidly. This way you will appear more predictable and the driver will be able to cut you and you will be able to keep yourself safe & sound! :thumb:

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

last night while riding home at around 12+, got pissed off by this knnccb taxi along Bukit Batok Ave 1 turning into Bukit Batok Central. i was behind him and suddenly at the turning into the slip road, he just on his hazard light and brake to pick up a stupid passenger (another idiot for hailing a taxi at the slip road!). where's the blind spot chk? where's the traffic rule? got money, all fly out of window. basket ppl.

One very good reason to keep clear, at least a safe distance, from taxis! I almost rear ended a cab once, due to haphazard stopping to pick up of passengers + slippery road surface due to drizzle. Nowadays, when I see empty cabs, I'll definitely steer clear of 'em!

good point... beware of their incredible stunts too... last min turn... mis a turn, reverse and go.

Rememeber to look far, not just for the hazards like taxis, but also for buggers who are trying to flag a cab at stupid places... then u can better anticipate crazy manuveurs from taxis. o_O

wah ... another bike to get to know and get used to it inside out eh ... enjoying your new ride i see ! so fun !:angel:

yah laaa, big trailers n lorries around, some drive like crazy. i'm seldom on TPE, but the only one time i had to pass through TPE, so empty i can test how daring i am. hehes .. "tested" how fast my bike can go before i chicken out, but cant go so fast coz my parents are in my uncle's car behind, watching the way i ride.

so yaa, when i reached home, my father said, "wah, now dare to go 100+km/h" already ah ?:faint:

of cos i'm enjoying my ride!! but the irritating part is that now i need to send the bike for servicing. not sure if it's the settings or just the carb. the throttle needs to be given more twist to get rid of the bogginess while cruising and also just before opening the valve.

then you should ride the TPE more often. and the road!! it's so much better than the other expressways. :thumb:

Rememeber to look far, not just for the hazards like taxis, but also for buggers who are trying to flag a cab at stupid places... then u can better anticipate crazy manuveurs from taxis. o_O

Good point!

Situational awareness is not limited to input from the vehicles around you, but also other factors that will affect how they drive. :thumb:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Like what DeusEXmachina mentioned in his earlier post... be more wary of taxis that are empty than one with passenger.

Those empty ones would do suddenly lane changes and stops even illegal U turns just to pick up a passenger.

As for me... I just stay away from them... or overtake them ASAP.

today while riding.... i have 3 interesting encounters to share 2 involving taxis and one involving a m'sian kup.

1st encounter: i as riding along kaki bukit ave 1, it is a 2 lane road and i was on the right lane. Taxi infront of me straddling both lanes then started to switch lane to the left so i picked up speed... suddenly it swerve back to the right lane again! i brake hard! then it started swerving back to the left again, then i quickly opened throttle to get out of this potential murderer's way before it can swerve back into my lane... knn...

2nd encounter: travelling along hougang ave 2 just after CDC. traffic was coming to a standstill ahead so i got into a lane splitting position then i noticed this idiot m'sian on a c70 lookalike tailgating me and appearing on my left and right mirror, tried to get ahead of me so he can be ahead of me while lane splitting. i prevented him from doing so by speeding up. a few junctions later now at AMK ave 3 just after serangoon north ave 1, saw this bugger again behind me... it was red light. a few hundred metres after the light turned green, i was riding around 90kmh then i saw this idiot picking up speed behind me and tried to overtake me, was already quite pissed with his earlier act of stupidity so i whack throttle and sped till around 110-120kmh to shake him off. :mad:

3rd encounter: another stupid taxi... this time approaching the junction of amk mrt station and amk hub. the light infront was red, traffic was coming to a standstill. i was lane splitting to the front, my left was a bus lane as it was empty so i filter into the bus lane, this knnccb taxi suddenly swerve into my path w/o signalling at all. i sped up to avoid him and gave him a hard stare and rev hard to show him my great displeasure...:nono::angry:

what a day, taxis and m'sian kups sure are making their way to the top of my hate list...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

it was only about 10-15 metres before i was officially lane splitting between 2 vehicles and he want neh neh lai overtake me so it was a little irritating, im not hogging yet he want to play punk so i decided not to let him thru lor. that stretch of road every morning and evening full of irritating msian kups. never let him thru he started his acts of stupidity by tailgating and he keep on appearing on my left and right mirror alternately. i rev my throttle hard a few times as a warning to him to buzz off.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???