[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

zero_degrees

wow!

i nvr thought spark plugs and the cable could give me such problems.

But y do the cable give high resistance? Izzit bcoz they expand sideways?

I will try to source out for new plug n cable and c how it goes.

Thanks bro

Nway, my avatar is the thing that swims inside the two balls :cheeky:

resistance goes up..most probably as a result of corrosion, sometimes in a multi cored cable one or more strands may be broken..

wow...pinp pong ball on a string...the other reminds me of a pepper shaker..:cheeky:...yes one swim in our balls...the other in a more interesting place..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

• Replies 7.2k

hi bros,

wanna ask smth regarding engine knocking...if left unserviced what will happen ar??engine piston jam?or piston break or smth?

Knocks and pings are typically caused by using petrol with low octane levels. Try using a higher grade petrol and see if the knocks go away.

engine knock will result in a big hole in your piston...as well as in your pocket

???? How to get hole in piston????

my bike recently start to have minor hiccup when going at high rpm, the bike will have a single jerk (forced the bike to slow down like engine braking) for just a moment less than a sec... will get it if I'm trying to pick up as fast as I can fm stop position or when running at above 100km/hr on gear 6.. not always, but only at times...

any idea wats wrong? could it be the chain as I dont really know how to maintain the chain tension and rarely lube it.. or is it a sign of something more serious?

Nothing to do with the chain, although it's recommended you lube it at least once a week, or after each time it rains.

It could be your carb floats or air filter.

yes that could be the problem...tension not right, maybe worn out chain/sprocket....

sound like the chain is skipping...over a the gear tooth ..:sian:

Don't anyhow pom answer leh. If the chain skip over a gear or sprocket tooth, you think his engine brake will be smooth also meh? Come on la...I know you wanna help out and I applaud your enthusiasm, but don't mislead others. Instead of helping them save $$ they become carrot instead.

Hi Bros,

my spark plug sort of exploded. Changed to a new one but this is when the problem arise

My bike start giving all sorts of weird noises ( and oso some annoying high freq noise when idling)

i tot it was due to untightened screws. But after tightening the spark plug and the screws, again the noise is still there.

Wat could be the problem ar?:cry:

Where is the noise coming from? What you mean by ur plug exploded?

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

Metalfyre saying if upgrade octane still like tat how?does it means muz overhaul?

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

Knocks and pings are typically caused by using petrol with low octane levels. Try using a higher grade petrol and see if the knocks go away.

please read query..just to refresh you..in case u ask aagain..

"wanna ask smth regarding engine knocking...if left unserviced what will happen ar??engine piston jam?or piston break or smth?"

do you need me to answer why get hole in piston???i will oblige with answer. i am sure u know ...

Nothing to do with the chain, although it's recommended you lube it at least once a week, or after each time it rains.

Don't anyhow pom answer leh. If the chain skip over a gear or sprocket tooth, you think his engine brake will be smooth also meh? Come on la...I know you wanna help out and I applaud your enthusiasm, but don't mislead others. Instead of helping them save $$ they become carrot instead.

ya carrot so easy...just check and u will know...

QUOTE]

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Metalfyre saying if upgrade octane still like tat how?does it means muz overhaul?

that is the standard way of overcoming the knocking problem..

if after you use super duper grade and still have problem....

my favorite answer is your engine is running too hot..IMHO

IMHO= institute of mental hospital Onswer:cheeky: :faint:

to all concern...what ever i post is IMHO...please see last post for definition..

please verify with your favourite mechanic ..after considering all suggestions offer (including mine IMHO) to whatever problem u have...

off course there will be different solution suggested here

i may like to remind all of us here that we are arm chair mechanic..to put it bluntly Queks of the trade...

So you want real amnswer??? come down to the Clinic...

this consultation..with you (note not consult me and other specialist who cares to help and all who walk the talk) and lets discuss the problem and trouble shoot problem at ground zero..off course there may not be any solution...but at the end of the day..we learn and hopefully get to know each other better...

this is once again IMHO

for those who seek help,,and various solutions offered...please let us know what is the actual problem and solution.. when you have sorted out the problem..this will be much appreciated..

thats the way for improvement..ask and ask..

unless a genius then dont need to ask

if thats the case this forum will be to boring for geniuses..

thats the way for improvement..ask and ask..

unless a genius then dont need to ask

if thats the case this forum will be to boring for geniuses..

Hahahahaaa well said .............. i remembered long loong time ago my son alway said sorry when he did sumthing wrong ............... so i asked wahhhhhhhh everytime u jus say " sorry " when r u going to stop saying " sorry " . The little boy said - " daddy i wan to say sorry forever ". I was so dumb-fold, but that young man latest "sorry" was when he fractured his hand doing bike stunt ............... haiz ............ whatelse do we want them to say ............ I happily hv to bring him to the hospital lorrrr .............. wat to do ...................... :cheeky: live & let live laaaaaaaaaaa :cheeky:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

means to adjust the air/fuel ratio... tt's the most common (only?) thing to tweak on Phantoms lah that's related to how the bike will respond... if u more garang, can try change the whole carb... :lol:

idle setting will not affect anything, except the engine RPM at idle lor...

means to adjust the air/fuel ratio... tt's the most common (only?) thing to tweak on Phantoms lah that's related to how the bike will respond... if u more garang, can try change the whole carb... :lol:

idle setting will not affect anything, except the engine RPM at idle lor...

I see...I see. :) How to adjust air/fuel ratio, can do it myself or best to go shop?

p.s. Hope your Kuryakyn grips are selling well! :)

Hahahahaaa well said .............. i remembered long loong time ago my son alway said sorry when he did sumthing wrong ............... so i asked wahhhhhhhh everytime u jus say " sorry " when r u going to stop saying " sorry " . The little boy said - " daddy i wan to say sorry forever ". I was so dumb-fold, but that young man latest "sorry" was when he fractured his hand doing bike stunt ............... haiz ............ whatelse do we want them to say ............ I happily hv to bring him to the hospital lorrrr .............. wat to do ...................... :cheeky: live & let live laaaaaaaaaaa :cheeky:

ya..words of wisdom from mouth of babes...

Congratulations...you have a very sensible boy and must be very proud of him..:cheeky:

Knocking can be prevented by the use of a fuel with higher octane rating, richening the fuel/air ratio, reducing peak cylinder pressure by increasing the engine revolutions (e.g., shifting to a lower gear), decreasing the manifold pressure by reducing the throttle opening, or reducing the load on the engine.

Looks like someone got riled. And whatever for...when all I am pointing out are the loopholes to your answers. Don't you keep saying that you, like everyone else here, are her to learn? I am not saying I know more than you, neither am I saying I know everything...it's just that...it's not the first time I've noticed these loopholes, and it's just the first time I'm pointing them out in your face. I've half a mind not to explain these loopholes, since there is every chance you may take this as an affront (which is not intended) and escalate this into a pointless argument. But for the benefit of all, and because I believe you are old enough to rise above all that, I guess I'll proceed.

knock, detonation or spark knock, in spark-ignition internal combustion engines occurs when combustion of the air/fuel mixture in the cylinder starts off correctly in response to ignition by the spark plug, but one or more pockets of air/fuel mixture explode outside the envelope of the normal combustion front. The fuel-air charge is meant to be ignited by the spark plug only, and at a precise time in the piston's stroke cycle. When spark knock occurs, two or more combustion fronts will exist and their collisions produce a sudden rise in cylinder pressure, and a shock-wave which will reverberate around the cylinder[1]. The peak of the combustion process no longer occurs at the optimum moment for the four-stroke cycle. The shock wave creates the characteristic metallic "pinging" sound, and cylinder pressure increases catastrophically. Spark knock can range from inconsequential to completely destructive.
From Wikipedia

Firstly, while you are correct in naming 'hole in piston' as a consequence to knocking, it is just one of the things that may happen. It's basically a range from particle wear to having a hole knocked in your piston. This is where I took issue with your reply, because you used the term 'will'. It's not an absolute certainty, and of my years of riding I've not seen or heard of a single instance of that happening.

You, having been a new rider before yourself would know the mentality of any other new rider now, and just dropping this worst case scenario as an absolute certainty on their laps will have them scrambling in panic to fix a problem that may not be terminal. The very likely result is they go to a motordiam...and because they already have the mindset that serious damage is in store, they are easier to chop. For instance, by your first response to this query, the rider with this problem could have brought his bike down to a motorshop and be charged with a full overhaul, when this problem could be solved by changing octane ratings. We need to help prevent this by fully educating our fellow riders as to the full range of extent, so they fully know what is going on, and hence only pay for what needs to be fixed. That's why whenever someone asks for a solution to a problem, it's best to list the cheapest possible solution first, then go up in severity levels if that does not fix the problem.

Secondly, the experience of the chain slipping will not be accompanied by 'engine braking'. Even if the chain snaps and flies off, the feeling will be akin to clutching in and 'free-wheeling'. All these I experienced first hand before, so I'm sure enough of this to eliminate the chain as a problem. Again, if the fellow goes to change his chain, and it's not the problem, how? Waste money again. You get what I mean?

Neither you nor I gain anything out of this, except the satisfaction of knowing you helped someone else save that bit of hard earned cash. That's why it's good to be absolutely sure that the advice you give is as precise and accurate as possible. That's why I ask you don't anyhow pom...to you may be a small matter...and you can simply use your 'imho' to shrug it off...but to the person in question it's his/her hard earned money. I hope you understand. If you don't...I'll just leave the answering of questions to you then, since you seem like you're checking everything and knowing everything.

Postman Eating Inc*

to believe or not to believe is up to you...knocking must be sorted out...or may end up like this..see picture..

TYPICAL DAMAGE APPEARANCE

1. A hole has formed in the piston crown after a relatively short running time.

2. The upper third of the hole has formed by melting, the remaining two thirds, where the hole opens out in the downward direction, by breakage.

3. The piston skirt and undamaged part of the piston head often show no sign of thermal overload, and the hardness relaxation is within normal limits. In many cases scuffing has not even occurred.

ASSESSMENT

Holes in the piston crown form mostly in high compression engines with predominantly hemispherical combustion chambers. Specific combustion defects cause such rapid local overheating that material in the affected area becomes pasty. The inertia forces due to the axial piston movement and the fast flowing combustion gases cause removal of the soft material. As a result of the loss of strength in this area, the combustion pressure then causes mechanical failure of the remaining two-thirds of the piston crown thickness. This lower part of the hole opens out downwards. Such a rapid local overheating of the piston crown to a pasty condition can only be caused by pre-ignition. Combustion is initiated some time prior to the actual spark enabling the flame to operate on the piston crown much longer than usual. Tests have shown that the piston crown heats up locally to the melting point within a few seconds under continuous pre-ignition.

With pre-ignition, combustion is initiated by a glowing area in the combustion chamber when the mixture self-ignition temperature is exceeded. Probable sources are the sparking plug, the exhaust valve and deposits adhering to the combustion chamber walls.

POSSIBLE CAUSES

1. The fuel quality must match the compression ratio of the engine, i.e. the octane rating of the fuel must cover the engine octane requirement at all operating conditions

2. Diesel fuel in petrol.

3. Oil in combustion chamber due to leakage past piston rings or valve guides.

4. Sparking plugs with incorrect heat range.

5. The ignition timing and advance/retard characteristics and the distributor condition.

6. Leaking exhaust valves.

7. Combustion chamber deposits (hard and soft carbon).

8. Inlet temperature too high. This can be considerably raised by a faulty or incorrect exhaust, particularly with uniflow scavanged cylinder heads.

9. High engine or inlet temperature due to inadequate under-bonnet ventilation.

10. General overheating.

unable to post picture..

for those interested..the article is imported from the site of a piston manufacturer..the URL..http://www.kb-silvolite.com/feature.php?action=read&F_id=42.

happy reading

gentlemen..to believe or not to is up to you......whether it is true or not..have your favourite mechanic solve the problems and let us know the outcome..

in this way everyone can learn from all the money that we spent on repairing our beloved bikes:cheeky:

gentlemen..to believe or not to is up to you......whether it is true or not..have your favourite mechanic solve the problems and let us know the outcome..

in this way everyone can learn from all the money that we spent on repairing our beloved bikes:cheeky:

You haven't actually read my post carefully, have you? The point isn't all about whether I believe a piston will have a hole in it; if you read carefully, you'll see I agreed in my second post. Never mind. I'm not going to bother anymore. You can go on doing your stuff here, since you seem to have so much to prove.

Postman Eating Inc*

its coming from the engine area

was travelling along xpressway, pull throttle but no power...then pull to the max and got a loud sound "Boom" then the engine dies. Im not sure if exploded is the correct term..but ya bike only works after changing to a new plug which in turn gives me the weird noises.:cry:

ya..thank you...for damning me and agreeing with me...

good luck to your exam....i believe you are a smart chap and will do well in it..

but please dont do the above...it only make others piss off...unless that is your intention, u have done a marvellous job of pissing me..

S-class citizens should be able to rise above all this. Why get pissed off? You're still missing out on/ignoring something, but never mind. Thank you for your well wishes. This floor is now yours.

Postman Eating Inc*

was travelling along xpressway, pull throttle but no power...then pull to the max and got a loud sound "Boom" then the engine dies. Im not sure if exploded is the correct term..but ya bike only works after changing to a new plug which in turn gives me the weird noises.:cry:

is the plug intact after the boom??i expect the plug to be cracked..ie the porelain cracked.. get it fixed fast.whatever the reason..it may happen again..:sian:

There may be debris from the 'explosion', which is causing wear and tear in your combustion chamber. Check if the sound gets 'faster' when you rev your engine. Other than that, in future direct your queries to mr mepkoh. He's more zhai.

Postman Eating Inc*