[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by fleaz@Jan 4 2006, 10:45 PM

hi, got a question to ask.

how often needed to change air filter?

think about 6 months..

the manual got put the recommended changing times..

and tat's if u r using stock air filter lah...

if k&n.. different again~

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11337/tri_daytona675.jpg

counting down again to the final class of license..

riding.. freedom.. it comes together..

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 3 2006, 11:24 PM

oh okie...

btw... is it a must to change the fork when oil is coming out from it ??? :confused:

asked ah chong he say fork spoiled le but can don change just that it will feel soft...

is it ok if i never change it ???

i think it safer and will feel safer if u change the spoil parts..... sometime when someone say still tahan but there is also chances of it becoming bae tahan anytime?and imagine u wanted to do a ebrake and the fork give way. wat will happen? juz my 2 cents point of view.....to change or not it still up to u.....

Take good care of your bike and your bike will take good care of u.....

:thirsty: :thirsty: :thirsty:

Life is a Journey.

Take a Joy ride.

17/04/03-10/12/04 Yamaha Rxz 133cc

10/12/04-25/03/08 Honda Phantom TA200

25/03/08-Till now Piaggio X8 200cc

Don't Quit Cos Every Obstacle Is A Stepping Stone To Success!!!

Originally posted by ForumGod@Jan 4 2006, 11:16 PM

i think it safer and will feel safer if u change the spoil parts..... sometime when someone say still tahan but there is also chances of it becoming bae tahan anytime?and imagine u wanted to do a ebrake and the fork give way. wat will happen? juz my 2 cents point of view.....to change or not it still up to u.....

Take good care of your bike and your bike will take good care of u.....

:thirsty: :thirsty: :thirsty:

yah i noe... wanna change but now tight on cash leh...

just bought helmet and change the rear tyre so not tat much cash for changing of fork...

will wanna change the fork also.... don wanna compromise my safety... think maybe try and hunt for cash and change it asap lor...

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Phantom TA200 Dec'05 - June'08

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 4 2006, 11:57 PM

yah i noe... wanna change but now tight on cash leh...

just bought helmet and change the rear tyre so not tat much cash for changing of fork...

will wanna change the fork also.... don wanna compromise my safety... think maybe try and hunt for cash and change it asap lor...

Payday coming soon rite? Bear for awhile more lor... :sweat:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

Has clutch pad has anything to do with poor alcceration? Went to ah koon, the tech ride my bike for a few rounds and says my bike might to replace that. Any idea what the good brands are?

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 5 2006, 12:02 AM

Payday coming soon rite? Bear for awhile more lor... :sweat:

still got 1 more wk to tahan till pay day... but i nsf nia...

so pay a bit here n there... maybe nt even enuff to pay fork bah...

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

is changing front fork a major maintenance ??? if its only oil seal is it considered a common prob for phantom ???

just got my 2nd bike 2 wks ago.... its only last week that i went ah chong to ask him to test the bike then he say that front fork got prob....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 5 2006, 12:20 AM

is changing front fork a major maintenance ??? if its only oil seal is it considered a common prob for phantom ???

just got my 2nd bike 2 wks ago.... its only last week that i went ah chong to ask him to test the bike then he say that front fork got prob....

Every fork has this prob... no matter its phantom, any bike, car, forklift... which ever has a fork with oil and oil seal in it, will have this prob...

But I advise that you shld double check to see if you really need to change the whole fork. Maybe you wanna go my frnd's shop at Changi Rd and have it check first...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 4 2006, 01:37 PM

Change the whole fork? Serious bo... your fork rusty or dented? If not, shouldn't be changing the whole thing... that's quite ex...

My fork leak once >1yr back, changed the oil seal in it only. Or maybe you wanna try asking other shops... :thumb:

if your fork seal spoil but your fork tubes are still ok, then change the seals will solve the problem.

If your seals are leaking because your fork tubes are spoilt, then changing your seals will NOT help. It may be ok for a while, but your tubes will damage the seals again & again....

I guess Kel^83's fork tubes already damaged liao, that's why Mr Planet Chong say need to change the whole set.

Originally posted by kaikai83@Jan 5 2006, 12:06 AM

Has clutch pad has anything to do with poor alcceration? Went to ah koon, the tech ride my bike for a few rounds and says my bike might to replace that. Any idea what the good brands are?

Your clutch transmits power from your engine to the rear wheel (via gearbox & chain) so worn out clutch pads will result in poor power transmission & also acceleration.

reagrading brands... when in doubt, just insist the motordiam use the original Honda spare parts.

Originally posted by kiamh@Jan 5 2006, 07:20 AM

if your fork seal spoil but your fork tubes are still ok, then change the seals will solve the problem.

If your seals are leaking because your fork tubes are spoilt, then changing your seals will NOT help. It may be ok for a while, but your tubes will damage the seals again & again....

I guess Kel^83's fork tubes already damaged liao, that's why Mr Planet Chong say need to change the whole set.

my fork dont seems to be dented or bent so not sure if is it fork tubes spoil...

will gonna check with him later....

hopefully onli fork seal spoil.... if not have to change the whole fork.... :giddy:

anyway, i'll be getting it rectify soon....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by kiamh@Jan 5 2006, 07:20 AM

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by kiamh@Jan 5 2006, 07:22 AM

Your clutch transmits power from your engine to the rear wheel (via gearbox & chain) so worn out clutch pads will result in poor power transmission & also acceleration.

reagrading brands... when in doubt, just insist the motordiam use the original Honda spare parts.

Do you know how much does it cost? In case need to change in future, at least know the price is ard how much... :sweat:

God Bless all riders...

changed my left fork le.... paid total $150 for 1 fork n 2 fork seals as my right fork seals rusty le... then when collecting bike, ah chong say my right fork actually got some probs but he fixed for me le....

then when going off, he check my bike then say no money to earn from me.... can go le...

he's 1 funny guy...

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 5 2006, 04:00 PM

Do you know how much does it cost? In case need to change in future, at least know the price is ard how much... :sweat:

paiseh... I oso no idea :sweat:

Never change b4

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 5 2006, 09:25 PM

changed my left fork le.... paid total $150 for 1 fork n 2 fork seals as my right fork seals rusty le... then when collecting bike, ah chong say my right fork actually got some probs but he fixed for me le....

then when going off, he check my bike then say no money to earn from me.... can go le...

he's 1 funny guy...

Hmm... still got no choice but to change the whole fork... anyway, as long as its fine now, then ok lor... :thumb:

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by kiamh@Jan 5 2006, 10:34 PM

paiseh... I oso no idea :sweat:

Never change b4

Hehe.. its okie... :cheeky:

God Bless all riders...

Ya Ah Chong is a veri funny chap. He is a nice guy too...

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jan 5 2006, 10:43 PM

Hmm... still got no choice but to change the whole fork... anyway, as long as its fine now, then ok lor... :thumb:

yah... he showed me why must change whole fork le...

cos at the fork seal thr... there's 1 part i think sort of kana scraped like tat... so think becos of that the fork oil will tend to leak out.... so no choice change lor...

at least i know he's trustworthy...

for $150 he changed 1 fork, 2 fork seals and change EO(my own bottle though) for me....

think price wise should be ok lar...

ah chong realli :thumb:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 6 2006, 12:03 AM

cos at the fork seal thr... there's 1 part i think sort of kana scraped like tat... so think becos of that the fork oil will tend to leak out.... so no choice change lor...

for $150 he changed 1 fork, 2 fork seals and change EO(my own bottle though) for me....

Then its dented inside... maybe you hit something hard and caused it to be dented inside ba...

Ya, at least you get to know he's :thumb:

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 6 2006, 12:03 AM

just took over the bike and something like that happens :sweat:

kel kel, at least it's fixed now :thumb:

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

my bike fell when i was turning to the parking lot after turning into the mscp... it landed on the throttle side and now the throttle seems to be able to throttle on its on.... any advise on what can be done to rectify it other then going to bike shop? :confused:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

no1 can advise on how to rectify it??? :confused:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

not really, just make sure your throttle not stuck

after being soaked (the bike, not me) in the rain for the entire day, i started my bike as usual and headed for the petrol station. after pumping petrol and paying up, to my horror, i was unable to start the bike.

the problem was, i was able to insert the key into the ignition. however unable to turn the key therefore unable to start the bike. after consulting a very wise friend, i managed to start the bike and rode the bike home.

i just tried starting the bike however same problem. i just lubricated the keyhole with GT85. i am starting to wonder is it because of the rain that caused the problem and caused the keyhole to "harden" or is it because the ignition is spoilt?

anyone has any solutions? how much would it cost to replace?

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR