[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

harden?

the ignition didn't harden la...the locking mechanism probably rusted.

Try squirting WD40 or RP7 in...push ur key in and out a few times...if cannot put some on ur key itself also and put in...

don't force it, you may damage the pin that keeps your keys in the ignition when its switched on

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by Metalfyre@Jan 12 2006, 09:52 PM

harden?

the ignition didn't harden la...the locking mechanism probably rusted.

Try squirting WD40 or RP7 in...push ur key in and out a few times...if cannot put some on ur key itself also and put in...

don't force it, you may damage the pin that keeps your keys in the ignition when its switched on

i already tried something like that. squirt in the keyhole, apply on key then push in pull out. so i presume it's spoilt? anyway if still cannot start then i think i get it towed to motordiam bah.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by fleaz@Jan 12 2006, 09:34 PM

after being soaked (the bike, not me) in the rain for the entire day, i started my bike as usual and headed for the petrol station. after pumping petrol and paying up, to my horror, i was unable to start the bike.

the problem was, i was able to insert the key into the ignition. however unable to turn the key therefore unable to start the bike. after consulting a very wise friend, i managed to start the bike and rode the bike home.

i just tried starting the bike however same problem. i just lubricated the keyhole with GT85. i am starting to wonder is it because of the rain that caused the problem and caused the keyhole to "harden" or is it because the ignition is spoilt?

anyone has any solutions? how much would it cost to replace?

What's that idea that your 'wise frnd' has that helped you to start the bike?

Can't you use that idea again? :sweat:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by fleaz@Jan 12 2006, 09:57 PM

i already tried something like that. squirt in the keyhole, apply on key then push in pull out. so i presume it's spoilt? anyway if still cannot start then i think i get it towed to motordiam bah.

yup, just as metalfyre said, just spray lots of WD40 can liao :smile:

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

thanks guys! i will give it another go, hopefully it can work out.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by fleaz@Jan 12 2006, 09:34 PM

after being soaked (the bike, not me) in the rain for the entire day, i started my bike as usual and headed for the petrol station. after pumping petrol and paying up, to my horror, i was unable to start the bike.

cover your bike bro... cover your bike

:sian: tried doing u-turn but couldn't do it well....

always go super wide.... do u guys lean with or lean away when doing u-turn ah???

phantom weight distribution diff as compared to ssdc's 1 so not sure about using lean with or lean away to balance the weight....

any tips from you guys???

thanks....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Phantom TA200 Dec'05 - June'08

practice makes perfect.

:p i still cannot do 2 lane u-turn :X

3 lane can, but 2 lane i :giddy:

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Jan 13 2006, 10:16 AM

practice makes perfect.

oh... i think i never bank enuff bah....

cos the weight heavier so i bank a bit nia... :sweat:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

so many banks u nv not enough... jialat...

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Jan 13 2006, 11:33 AM

so many banks u nv not enough... jialat...

si nivlek.... :gun: :box:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

haha how's ur ride ?

this sunday u no come tt y i also :gun: u :p

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Jan 13 2006, 11:38 AM

haha how's ur ride ?

this sunday u no come tt y i also :gun: u :p

my ride ok lor.... still getting used to it lor....

ay.... u know what screws to get if i wanna change all the screws to stainless 1???

mine rusty le....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

ask madman/kiamh ? i not v sure

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Jan 13 2006, 11:53 AM

ask madman/kiamh ? i not v sure

i've saw a post by madman on the screws he wanted to get... but no reply from him in that post le....

so dono still can ask who.... :sian:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 13 2006, 12:08 PM

i've saw a post by madman on the screws he wanted to get... but no reply from him in that post le....

so dono still can ask who.... :sian:

pm or call him la

Originally posted by Kel^83+Jan 13 2006, 08:40 AM-->
QUOTE (Kel^83 @ Jan 13 2006, 08:40 AM)
:sian: tried doing u-turn but couldn't do it well....

always go super wide.... do u guys lean with or lean away when doing u-turn ah???

phantom weight distribution diff as compared to ssdc's 1 so not sure about using lean with or lean away to balance the weight....

any tips from you guys???

thanks....

:cheeky: [/b]

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Jan 13 2006, 10:16 AM

practice makes perfect.

Originally posted by KeV1143@Jan 13 2006, 01:38 PM

Rmber we nid to do a mini "s" before U-turning when we are learning biking in schools?

That helps abit, keep yr eye view to yr designated turn location, handle bar fully lock or unlock pending on situation. Maintain throttling, unless feeling underpowered, rev abit(+ slightly release clutch) to prevent falling. Best to slightly "bank"(or "throw" as they say) è bike more to smoothly negotiate è turn.

Hope this helps. :smile:

"mini s" - u mean S course ???

i guess its becos of the weight of phantom that affects my u-turning cos still not quite used to the weight thus i nvr bank as much as compare to the time when i'm learning....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

my skill not at home, lol...

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 13 2006, 02:00 PM

"mini s" - u mean S course ???

i guess its becos of the weight of phantom that affects my u-turning cos still not quite used to the weight thus i nvr bank as much as compare to the time when i'm learning....

Not S course.

When upon reaching the U-turn, trainess are required to Q up in twos, è trainee nearer to è curb has to do a mini "s" so as to get a better position to turn. È 1 further away to è curb has a better turning position so nid not to do so.

Phantom are 1 of è most heavy rear bikes ard.

As Nivlek said, practice mks perfect, "bank" for better turning effect.

Else, enrol yrself @ BBDC or SSDC for è ½ day defensive riding course.

Teaches u more on cornering, skid E-braking & lots more for yr benefits.

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Jan 13 2006, 02:02 PM

my skill not at home, lol...

Illang(Missing) inside yr boxes or somewhere along è roadside.

Originally posted by KeV1143@Jan 13 2006, 02:18 PM

Not S course.

When upon reaching the U-turn, trainess are required to Q up in twos, è trainee nearer to è curb has to do a mini "s" so as to get a better position to turn. È 1 further away to è curb has a better turning position so nid not to do so.

Phantom are 1 of è most heavy rear bikes ard.

As Nivlek said, practice mks perfect, "bank" for better turning effect.

Else, enrol yrself @ BBDC or SSDC for è ½ day defensive riding course.

Teaches u more on cornering, skid E-braking & lots more for yr benefits.

think different centre bah.... :confused:

didn't do that before.... thanks for ur advice....

will be trying to bank more.... still need to practise... just got bike not long ago... :sweat:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Kel^83@Jan 13 2006, 02:55 PM

think different centre bah.... :confused:

didn't do that before.... thanks for ur advice....

will be trying to bank more.... still need to practise... just got bike not long ago... :sweat:

Ur welcome. :smile:

Do not be afraid to "bank" more, but wif limitations please.

Footpeg's è limit to è grd.

Originally posted by KeV1143@Jan 13 2006, 03:07 PM

Ur welcome. :smile:

Do not be afraid to "bank" more, but wif limitations please.

Footpeg's è limit to è grd.

yah i noe.... i wont wanna grind my footpegs...

just wanna bank enuff for u-turning.... but still couldn't get use to the weight for banking.... kept feeling like the rear tyre will skid out after banking.... :cheeky:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04