[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

I would get burning smell when i stop at traffic lights, if i spray WD-40 at the header before the ride. Other than that, I dont recall any other burning smell. But seriously at high speed I dont think its possible to smell anything from your own bike. You would be so far in front before the smoke/smell even rise to your nose level.

Maybe there are others with similar problems that could share?

• Replies 7.2k

Hi... Where can i get the phantom-knights polo-T???

when the big ones have decided to do a MO for it.

Originally posted by ttays_2000@Feb 16 2006, 02:01 AM

I would get burning smell when i stop at traffic lights, if i spray WD-40 at the header before the ride. Other than that, I dont recall any other burning smell. But seriously at high speed I dont think its possible to smell anything from your own bike. You would be so far in front before the smoke/smell even rise to your nose level.

Maybe there are others with similar problems that could share?

It is quite common to get a burning smell after riding high speed for a while...that is because your engin and exhaust will be so hot that even touching it can burn you and scare you for years.

WD40 is a lubricant and antirust chemical....you spray to lubricate the parts. But the header???? :confused:

Sorry, don't mind, be more specific can? I spray WD40 too, but not at all the hot parts such as exhaust & engine....No point what?

DISCLAIMER

The comments made here are my own personal opinions and experiences.

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

where can i get the spark plug tool? can't seem to find, bike did not come with a set of tools. tightening by hand seems a scary thought although the mechanics seem to do it all the time.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

just collected my bike... change my piston @ planet motors.... but weird thing is i ask ah chong have to use mineral oil for EO rite for running in... he say don use... use gd quality de.... :confused: he say if use mineral oil.... the block will spoil.... is it cos i change piston nia so don need run in using mineral oil ??? :confused:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Phantom TA200 Dec'05 - June'08

Originally posted by fleaz@Feb 16 2006, 07:15 PM

where can i get the spark plug tool? can't seem to find, bike did not come with a set of tools. tightening by hand seems a scary thought although the mechanics seem to do it all the time.

There's a bag of tools inside a black compartment in your right side cover. It may be inside..

My name is not Stephanie

I am a GUY

But you can call me YAN

Originally posted by biaoming@Feb 17 2006, 12:19 AM

hi a noobie here i just want to ask what is the pressure to pump for the front and back tire

You can check out several pages before this. we we're talking about it.. :smile:

My name is not Stephanie

I am a GUY

But you can call me YAN

:confused: no1 can help me out on my qns???

don wanna my bike to have any probs later... hope any PKs who knows why ah chong advise me on the other method... thanks...

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by Phantom Stephanie@Feb 17 2006, 12:42 AM

There's a bag of tools inside a black compartment in your right side cover. It may be inside..

Hmmm. i bought a 2nd hand too. is there tools in that compartment? maybe i try to open it during weekends. but if there is, there should be knocking sound while we are riding right?

Originally posted by Keenguy@Feb 15 2006, 09:53 PM

Hehe... the notice has been there for beli long and now at last got someone want it liao! :sweat:

Baby, its small size, for yourself or pillion? :sweat:

pillion

my head need XXL

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

:cry: no1 can advice me on why ah chong's method is of a different 1 as compared to the 1 used for running in new bike??? wanna know wat's the difference between the two and what are the pros n cons of it...

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

listen to ah chong's method

cos wrong or got problem u can go back find him :D

Originally posted by nivleK1985@Feb 17 2006, 10:52 AM

listen to ah chong's method

cos wrong or got problem u can go back find him :D

-.-" ok lor... but i know why cannot use mineral oil liao.... now only not sure bout the speed i should maintain.... but still oke lar... usually i also on travel more then 80km/h then now maybe just maintain 60km/h... :cheeky:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Originally posted by kaikai83@Feb 17 2006, 01:44 AM

Hmmm. i bought a 2nd hand too. is there tools in that compartment? maybe i try to open it during weekends. but if there is, there should be knocking sound while we are riding right?

nope. there won't be knocking sound coz the tools are so tighly packed into the small black compartment. just note how it's packed when taking out, coz might be difficult to pack it back in :smile:

My name is not Stephanie

I am a GUY

But you can call me YAN

Originally posted by adhlk@Feb 16 2006, 09:59 AM

It is quite common to get a burning smell after riding high speed for a while...that is because your engin and exhaust will be so hot that even touching it can burn you and scare you for years.

I just bought my first bike from Mah Motor @ Jalan Besar, the new Phantom 200cc model and collected it on thursday.

On the way back to work from the shop , I hit about 70km/h and changed to gear 6. Everything started to go downhill from there. Speed plummeted to 50km/h even though I opened full throttle. Worse thing was the burn smell! :giddy: So i quickly kicked back to lower gear and fortunately didn't explode under me... :sian:

When I parked in a basement carpark later, my colleagues (a phantom 150 rider and a shadow rider) said that the burn smell is much too strong even for a new bike and the engine too hot! :giddy:

I'm going back later to get it checked out but dunno if I should ask for a 1-to-1 exchange! Experts here can comment if there is any perm damage??

:help: :help: :help:

:giddy: So sad my new $6.5K bike :giddy:

http://www.rovyx.com - Affordable Web-based ERP Applications for SMEs

ask em to do a check for u. that's v weird

Originally posted by Smart Bet@Feb 17 2006, 05:17 PM

Sounds like there was little or almost no EO in the bike to begin with....

But I called the shop and the boss's son came down personally to take a look... He checked the dipstick and even sniffed at the EO... :confused:

Then he ran up/down the slope near my company (slope up to SLF at Toa Payoh Lor 1) and there was no burning smell.. so concluded that nothing was wrong. I didn't know that time that it was gear 6 problem. only this morning when i tried again then it happened again... SIGH

Originally posted by Lormee@Feb 17 2006, 05:35 PM

But I called the shop and the boss's son came down personally to take a look... He checked the dipstick and even sniffed at the EO... :confused:

Then he ran up/down the slope near my company (slope up to SLF at Toa Payoh Lor 1) and there was no burning smell.. so concluded that nothing was wrong. I didn't know that time that it was gear 6 problem. only this morning when i tried again then it happened again... SIGH

Your bike is having problems. Better hv a 2nd opinion....like me 1 yr ago....:smile:

If you don't settle now...you will get constant problem in the future....it is not common for a new bike to hv burning smell...espcially running only at 70.....if you are so sure you only run at 70 and not 120.

Don't drag you gear 5, the engine oil will dry up easily......

For 2nd opinion, go to Planet Motor down at Ubi.

Planet Motorcycle Service Centre

Blk 3007, Ubi Road 1 #01-430 Singapore 408701

Tel: 67474740

DISCLAIMER

The comments made here are my own personal opinions and experiences.

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Originally posted by adhlk@Feb 17 2006, 05:42 PM

If you don't settle now...you will get constant problem in the future....it is not common for a new bike to hv burning smell...espcially running only at 70.....if you are so sure you only run at 70 and not 120.

Don't drag you gear 5, the engine oil will dry up easily......

For 2nd opinion, go to Planet Motor down at Ubi.

Planet Motorcycle Service Centre

Blk 3007, Ubi Road 1 #01-430 Singapore 408701

Tel: 67474740

I'm dead sure i wasn't runnin at 120km/h. cos i'm still a 1 week old P Plate rider... :smile:

Does that 2nd opinion cost money? If yes typically how much? Dun wanna burn a hole in my pocket so early...

Originally posted by Phantom Stephanie@Feb 17 2006, 12:42 AM

if only if it came with a bag of tools, like i already said the bike did not come with the tools :cry:

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Juz went there for the mechanic to check it out and he took my bike out for a spin. Analysis Inconclusive because "there was too much traffic and couldn't reach a decent speed to try out gear 6. come back tomorrow and test again..."...

Sigh... :giddy:

Another sleepless night worrying about my bike... :nono:

i read abt the tools in the manual bk...

but i didnt know that time when i buy, and i've checked recently, but dun have le..

must be the shop kapo...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/herculie/Valky_Siggy.jpg