[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by Santiago@Feb 27 2006, 11:13 PM

I spent the whole afternoon read thru this thread but only managed to go to pages 15. It's like reading user manual, can never finish. In order to cut short time, did anybody mentioned the difference between the usual Phantom or Phantom Custom? I heard from yr 04 onwards, it's already Phantom Custom 4. Is this true? Is it an upgraded version of the older version Phantom? Can anyone point out the different and the improvement or disadvantages of the Phantom Custom 4?

Tks pal.

Best Regards,

well, i know the handle bar for C4 is more wider than TA200.

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by Santiago@Feb 27 2006, 11:13 PM

I spent the whole afternoon read thru this thread but only managed to go to pages 15. It's like reading user manual, can never finish. In order to cut short time, did anybody mentioned the difference between the usual Phantom or Phantom Custom? I heard from yr 04 onwards, it's already Phantom Custom 4. Is this true? Is it an upgraded version of the older version Phantom? Can anyone point out the different and the improvement or disadvantages of the Phantom Custom 4?

Tks pal.

Best Regards,

Most of the C4 upgrades are aesthetics only.

More details in this previous thread

Custom 4 vs TA200

Problem: My engine is leaking EO. Should be due to gasket spoilt liao.

Question: I'm quoted $100+ to do a servicing including cleaning. Is that price reasonable?

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Keenguy@Mar 1 2006, 12:45 AM

Problem: My engine is leaking EO. Should be due to gasket spoilt liao.

Question: I'm quoted $100+ to do a servicing including cleaning. Is that price reasonable?

which gasket?

IF its the one on the magnet (left) side, then $100 is WAAAAAAAY overboard... should be around $20-$30 only

The EO is leaking onto the part where there's many horizontal cool-strip... is it called the engine? Or the so called top overhaul?

Hope this pic can help...:sweat:

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

God Bless all riders...

Anyone has done his/her rewiring of signal lights before? plan to do that for installation of sidebox. was told by friend that shop charges $70 for installation and rewiring. find it rather ex, is this the market price?

Originally posted by Keenguy@Mar 1 2006, 01:17 AM

The EO is leaking onto the part where there's many horizontal cool-strip... is it called the engine? Or the so called top overhaul?

THAT gasket.... that will be more expensive for sure, but I can't give u a price range on that, coz my bike not done top overhaul before... :sweat:

Originally posted by kaikai83@Mar 1 2006, 03:24 AM

Anyone has done his/her rewiring of signal lights before? plan to do that for installation of sidebox. was told by friend that shop charges $70 for installation and rewiring. find it rather ex, is this the market price?

I did mine for $25 at Koons.

Originally posted by kiamh@Mar 1 2006, 06:53 AM

THAT gasket.... that will be more expensive for sure, but I can't give u a price range on that, coz my bike not done top overhaul before... :sweat:

Icic... if that's the so-called top overhaul, then the price quoted should be reasonable la...

Gd day at work, thanks bro! :thumb:

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Keenguy@Mar 1 2006, 07:47 AM

Icic... if that's the so-called top overhaul, then the price quoted should be reasonable la...

Gd day at work, thanks bro! :thumb:

$100+ for top overhaul? can PM me the name of the shop?

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by Keenguy@Mar 1 2006, 01:17 AM

Are u very sure that there are leakage at the gastket? Doesn't sound like EO to me. More like petrol.

Since Phantom is a 4-stoke system. It will take 4 stoke to complete a cycle. There are 2 valves hiding inside the Gasket. One controling the airflow and the other control the petrol intake. As usual, due to tear and wear, the valve might create a small opening for the inlet and outlet...therefore causing sipage and loss in power.

You can do top overhaul to adjust the valve and at the same time, check the air/fuel mixture.

DISCLAIMER

The comments made here are my own personal opinions and experiences.

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Originally posted by adhlk@Mar 1 2006, 10:39 AM

Are u very sure that there are leakage at the gastket? Doesn't sound like EO to me. More like petrol.

Since Phantom is a 4-stoke system. It will take 4 stoke to complete a cycle. There are 2 valves hiding inside the Gasket. One controling the airflow and the other control the petrol intake. As usual, due to tear and wear, the valve might create a small opening for the inlet and outlet...therefore causing sipage and loss in power.

You can do top overhaul to adjust the valve and at the same time, check the air/fuel mixture.

hmmm, beg to differ adhlk...

there are indeed 2 valves in a 4-stroke engine, but one valve is for fuel-air mixture intake (from the carburetor) & the other is for exhaust gases to be expelled from the combustion chamber.

EO & petrol is quite different in terms of 'texture'. Just by feeling it with your fingers, you should be able to distinguish between the two. Even the colour of EO vs petrol is significantly different.

Originally posted by kiamh@Mar 1 2006, 11:21 AM

there are indeed 2 valves in a 4-stroke engine, but one valve is for fuel-air mixture intake (from the carburetor) & the other is for exhaust gases to be expelled from the combustion chamber.

EO & petrol is quite different in terms of 'texture'. Just by feeling it with your fingers, you should be able to distinguish between the two. Even the colour of EO vs petrol is significantly different.

Thanks for the correction....:smile:

Early morning, brain still not working....have a late night last night....

Anyway, wrong choice of words as well....You hv pharse exactly what's on my mind....Thanks.

DISCLAIMER

The comments made here are my own personal opinions and experiences.

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Sorry to interrupt the current topic.

May i know Phantom's erm.. How do i say it.

Say i'm to fix a saddlebag bracket, what's the length between the 2 screw compartments?

I have the best signature.

Originally posted by harvested@Feb 26 2006, 08:31 PM

I thought my 2T must be added in proportion to my amount of petrol.

I poured about 500ml of 2T with my petrol tank about 7/8 full (slightly more than 75% filled)

I think should be ok since so long already and nothing happen.

ur TA150 got a separate 2T containter at the side .... jus top u to full.. top up 1 every week or 2 weeks...when its ow, the oil light led will light up on on meter..the 2T will mix by itself...to play safe oso, add 1 or 2 capfull direct to the tank whenever u top up full tank oso

Originally posted by theyasman@Mar 1 2006, 12:32 PM

Sorry to interrupt the current topic.

May i know Phantom's erm.. How do i say it.

Say i'm to fix a saddlebag bracket, what's the length between the 2 screw compartments?

bro.... measure with a ruler lah.... :cheeky:

Originally posted by kiamh@Mar 1 2006, 01:12 PM

how can use ruler.... use measuring tape...

just use a good size one will do .

just dont try to use small knife to saw down a big tree :lol:

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

Originally posted by kiamh@Mar 1 2006, 01:12 PM

Haha.. Will be getting my Phantom only next week or so...

Thinking of getting saddles and the guard. Can't measure with ruler or measuring tape because i don't have a Phantom to do so :faint:

I have the best signature.

find one park in the car park to measure bro :D

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

hi guys....recently i notice my exhuast got this "POK POK" sound when i lower down gear to go down slope... is there anything wrong? intermittently i will hear it... at first i tot might be due to my box...but this time i'm cfm it's my exhaust...

Originally posted by winthur@Mar 1 2006, 07:17 PM

hi guys....recently i notice my exhuast got this "POK POK" sound when i lower down gear to go down slope... is there anything wrong? intermittently i will hear it... at first i tot might be due to my box...but this time i'm cfm it's my exhaust...

its just a backfire, go through the Phantom's Knights Directory for more information and also others useful information.

winthur: U've realised a mis-firing system in TA200! Hooray for ya!

Nah, juz joking. It's actually abt e air-fuel ratio. Ur fuel ratio is too rich. Tune down e idling spd, n it may help. Others hav reported tat using a better spark plug may help too, eg: NGK Platinum G-Force. (",)

sky_vinz

Originally posted by fleaz@Mar 1 2006, 09:48 AM

$100+ for top overhaul? can PM me the name of the shop?

Mmm... that's my frnd's shop, so he charge me diff from others... :sweat:

God Bless all riders...