[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by farish@Apr 16 2006, 11:29 PM

any one installed a fuel meter on phantom? roughly cost about how much?

Hasn't been done & I don't think it can be done

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by Novacat@Apr 16 2006, 11:43 PM

Should I use synthetic or organic oil for the bike?

So does it mean that when I get a brand new bike, my first servicing will be at the 5000 km? or should I do servicing at 1000 and then 5000 and every 5000 henceforth?

New bike? First service @ 5000km should be fine. But EO change should be according to run-in procedure

(if u don't know the run-in procedure, do a search in the forum, its too lengthy for me to repeat here.

Hi pple.. Got a Qns here.. If u have noticed, there are some numbers stamped on the fork (or izzit chasis).. This morning, while making my pre-ride inspection, I noticed the stamped numbers are getting rusty, most probably due to continuous riding in the rain..

Will the rust continues to eat into the black paint, thus makin the body of my phantom weaker as time goes by?

If it will, any ways to recommend to minimise or prevent the rust from spreading?

Thank you guys..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Originally posted by Technician III@Apr 17 2006, 04:49 PM

Hi pple.. Got a Qns here.. If u have noticed, there are some

Will the rust continues to eat into the black paint, thus makin the body of my phantom weaker as time goes by?

highly unlikely

Originally posted by kiamh@Apr 17 2006, 05:23 PM

highly unlikely

I see.. Then wat bout my exhaust header? I washed and polished it with turtle wax once every week.. Tink it will be fine hor?

Originally posted by Technician III@Apr 17 2006, 05:49 PM

I see.. Then wat bout my exhaust header? I washed and polished it with turtle wax once every week.. Tink it will be fine hor?

Sounds good.

Originally posted by kiamh@Apr 17 2006, 05:52 PM

Sounds good.

I see I see.. Thanks man.. For ur replies.. :cheer:

Hmm.. thinking of buying a 2nd hand bike from a pte owner and get loan from motodiam.

did a search within e forum but can only find info like hw much a certain motodiam interest rates are for 2nd hand bikes or wat questions shld i ask when enquiring about e loan rgd-ing interest.

From e reading, it seems tat the steps would be to get

1) Insurance

Then i do not noe abt e next step.

Izzit go do transfer of ownership then to motodiam to settle e loan thingy

or izzit vice versa?

For loan, does it need a guarantor? *will call up a motordiam to ask rgding this, but just add tis in, in case someone noes*

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v397/zelot/fighterplanenEarthsig.jpg
Originally posted by Technician III@Apr 17 2006, 06:14 PM

I see I see.. Thanks man.. For ur replies.. :cheer:

no problem :thumb:

I got question~

• Can i make a complaint or wadsoever to TP of a really bad attitude/ dangerous DRIVER?
  • If yes, how do i do?
  • Do i need his plate number + time/date + venue?

Really fed'up cos when travelling in a tiny small rd, infront got an SBS bus + a lorry. Den just for "in case" i keep myself 5sec lag behind. Den tis s-ho|e just over-take me and cut into my space w/o signal.... fast! spd somemore.

I could have "chua tio" and peng sia.... but i zai~ lolz

But seriously, tis is no sh|t.... Life we're talkin'~

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3500/3231271904_c48f0f3d36_m.jpg

Recently bought a 2nd Hand TA200 ... seemed ok when i got it... however after a few days started giving problems ...

1. After starting bike , (normal not choke) it would stall unless u open throttle and warm it up ... say abt 1-2 minutes... once warm it would work ok , otherwise stall.

2. Engine idle sound not very consistent , goes up and down

Initially thoughts it some idling tuning so i set it to higher but not much help.

Recently had changed EO(1week) and spark plug(last owner abt 1 month back)

So i went to Ah Koon for general servicing , he didnt do much ... except change brake pad ... then said that the engine sound is funny he doesnt know why but when i have time should bring it to him , he will open it up completely to see if can find anything :(

I have been wondering if this could be due to Carburetor problems ... dirty air filter or things like that ?

Any ideas ?

Also should i goto some other shop for second opinion ?

Originally posted by aChris@Apr 17 2006, 10:08 PM

I got question~

• Can i make a complaint or wadsoever to TP of a really bad attitude/ dangerous DRIVER?
  • If yes, how do i do?
  • Do i need his plate number + time/date + venue?

Really fed'up cos when travelling in a tiny small rd, infront got an SBS bus + a lorry. Den just for "in case" i keep myself 5sec lag behind. Den tis s-ho|e just over-take me and cut into my space w/o signal.... fast! spd somemore.

I could have "chua tio" and peng sia.... but i zai~ lolz

But seriously, tis is no sh|t.... Life we're talkin'~

Yes, you can make a complain with the person number plate, time and place of incident.

But if there is no accident, then there will not be any action taken.....:sian:

I make such report a few times before, till date, after so many years, still no action taken.....:sian:

DISCLAIMER

The comments made here are my own personal opinions and experiences.

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Originally posted by KT1@Apr 17 2006, 11:56 PM

I have been wondering if this could be due to Carburetor problems ... dirty air filter or things like that ?

Any ideas ?

Hi KT1,

There could be due to alot of problem. Air filter could be one of them or battery might be weak.

You can try Planet for 2nd opinion.

Planet Motorcycle Service Centre

Blk 3007, Ubi Road 1 #01-430 Singapore 408701

Tel: 67474740

DISCLAIMER

It is entirely dependent on the readers' discrepancy and understanding of the information posted.

南无阿弥托佛

Originally posted by adhlk@Apr 18 2006, 09:20 AM

Hi KT1,

There could be due to alot of problem. Air filter could be one of them or battery might be weak.

You can try Planet for 2nd opinion.

Planet Motorcycle Service Centre

Blk 3007, Ubi Road 1 #01-430 Singapore 408701

Tel: 67474740

Thanks , i think i would definately want to give planet a try !

Yea , i checked the past owner had made no change/check of battery....

can u tell me what other symptoms does a weak battery have ?

read on the forum that start problems can be due to battery. However headlight brightness on throttle cannot tell much about battery.

a weak battery seems like a really bad thing for phantom since there is only electric start option :(

Originally posted by aChris@Apr 18 2006, 01:11 PM

Nv see body lie there they not happy sia...:mad:

Sometimes life is as such lol.......:smile:

Just smile and Walk Away. Just wish that fellow :goodluck: ......

I have learnt to live with it already......:cheeky:

DISCLAIMER

南无阿弥托佛

Originally posted by KT1@Apr 18 2006, 10:33 AM

Thanks , i think i would definately want to give planet a try !

Yea , i checked the past owner had made no change/check of battery....

can u tell me what other symptoms does a weak battery have ?

read on the forum that start problems can be due to battery. However headlight brightness on throttle cannot tell much about battery.

a weak battery seems like a really bad thing for phantom since there is only electric start option :(

other symptoms inculde headlight and signal light not as bright as b4.

Originally posted by KT1@Apr 17 2006, 11:56 PM

Recently bought a 2nd Hand TA200 ... seemed ok when i got it... however after a few days started giving problems ...

1. After starting bike , (normal not choke) it would stall unless u open throttle and warm it up ... say abt 1-2 minutes... once warm it would work ok , otherwise stall.

2. Engine idle sound not very consistent , goes up and down

Initially thoughts it some idling tuning so i set it to higher but not much help.

Recently had changed EO(1week) and spark plug(last owner abt 1 month back)

So i went to Ah Koon for general servicing , he didnt do much ... except change brake pad ... then said that the engine sound is funny he doesnt know why but when i have time should bring it to him , he will open it up completely to see if can find anything :(

Any ideas ?

Think many 2nd hand buyers encounter these probs... :nono:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

wanna ask whether phantom can pump petrol 92 or not....

There is no secret recipe..... To...... Inner Peace.......

http://www.latimes.com/media/photo/2008-06/39664259.jpg

can, will suffer performance drop.

Originally posted by gohkm@Apr 19 2006, 08:08 AM

wanna ask whether phantom can pump petrol 92 or not....

Shell 92 is good and economical.

No problem for Phantom.....But as for Performance wise.....

Personally, I don't find much diff btw 92, 95 & 98 leh......except.....pump 98 my wallet will get burn....so change to 95...later change to 92.....

DISCLAIMER

南无阿弥托佛

so only suffer in performace right?? but will it affect our phantom engine, what i scare is that the engine cannot take in 92 petrol and overtime, need to overhaul the engine...

There is no secret recipe..... To...... Inner Peace.......

http://www.latimes.com/media/photo/2008-06/39664259.jpg

Gd day, I wish to ask about the bike shop- Team HKL racing. Is it good and reliable?

i wish to change my tyre-IRC(phantom stock) as it is quite dangerous(encouter fishtail quite a number of time .. or maybe my skill is at noob level)

I also wish to ask... any advise wat tyre to get??

Metzeler or Pirelli, or Dunlop or any other brand.

I ask this shop.. they tell me whole set(front and back) for $140.

if that exp??

Originally posted by icewolf@Apr 19 2006, 10:50 AM

Gd day, I wish to ask about the bike shop- Team HKL racing. Is it good and reliable?

i wish to change my tyre-IRC(phantom stock) as it is quite dangerous(encouter fishtail quite a number of time .. or maybe my skill is at noob level)

I also wish to ask... any advise wat tyre to get??

Metzeler or Pirelli, or Dunlop or any other brand.

I ask this shop.. they tell me whole set(front and back) for $140.

if that exp??

last change of tires at HKL ...

130 bucks for front & back Metzeler ...

shop's not bad ...

can bargain abit ..

den must check the age of tires before changing ...

den all should be alright ...

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY