[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by camel.com@Apr 25 2006, 12:57 AM

okok.. thanks for de advice.. where can get cheapest chain lubricate.. LAB ar..

Your used engine oil.

No, I am not joking.

if you dont mind dirty, grease are the best

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by camel.com@Apr 24 2006, 09:41 PM

haha.. maxima i use very good.. i like.. super easy to change gear.. more power... but i now try fuchs silkolene... engine alot more quiet den no more tesonier problem.. but change gear not as smooth.. btw fuchs i try de 10w50.. maxima i use 10w40.. maybe next time i go find de maxima 10w50

btw.. if nv oil/wax/lubricate de chain.. wat will happen???? i already 3 mths nv lubricate my chain lao.. will something happen??

thanks..

A thicker oil will always mask engine noises better, but it doesn't really eliminate the source of the noise (problem). If you have an overly loose tensioner, then you need to get it sorted out, the mechanical problem of it exists even with a thicker oil although you do not hear as loud a noise. I generally recommend Extra 15W50 or Synblend 20W50 for TA. Glad you like the great shifting qualities that comes with Maxima :thumb:

Originally posted by theyasman@Apr 25 2006, 12:14 PM

Can we or can we not lube our chain using WD40?

Better not if you are using O-Ring chains. WD-40 might damage the rings. Anyway, chain lube is pretty cheap, can get a decent brand one for ~$10 nia, so its worth the investment to buy a dedicated ORing safe chain lube.

Originally posted by theyasman@Apr 25 2006, 02:23 PM

Anyway Kiamh, where'd you do your Plate Number and how much? How long must we wait?

My number plate? I dun remember the shop name but its opposite the Ducati showroom (Minerva Motors) on Lavender Rd, same row as 219.

About $22 I think. 1 day lead time. Order today, collect tomorrow.

Guest Inked 2 Skin

Hi guys...

Have a prob here... My ta200 has white smoke coming out from the exhaust! How?

Originally posted by Inked 2 Skin@Apr 25 2006, 03:27 PM

Hi guys...

Have a prob here... My ta200 has white smoke coming out from the exhaust! How?

Piston and piston ring problem. :nono:

My formula for living is quite simple. I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night. In between, I occupy myself as best I can.

Guest Inked 2 Skin

Need to overhaul?

Originally posted by Inked 2 Skin@Apr 25 2006, 04:07 PM

Need to overhaul?

yup. :help:

My formula for living is quite simple. I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night. In between, I occupy myself as best I can.

Guest Inked 2 Skin

But my mechanic says there is nothing wrong with the engine leh... Only the part where the exhaust come from...

Originally posted by Inked 2 Skin@Apr 25 2006, 04:23 PM

But my mechanic says there is nothing wrong with the engine leh... Only the part where the exhaust come from...

Then i dun know liao. :nono:

haha.. thanks thanks..

i jus got a can of GT85 and a can of MAXIMA chain wax.. usin both on my chain... but is bloody smelly.. i use soap n wash my hand.. have dinner still gt de smell.. like eatin de wax like tat.. hope it realli do wonder for my chain..

btw maxima dealer.. planet motor got de engine oil u mentioned above??

thanks..

Hi!!! I would like to ask, any one out there knows how much does it cost to install those long handlebars and also where??? Thanx!!!

Guest Inked 2 Skin

LAB or infamous auntie shop... But needa extend hoses/cables i think! Having this prob here too

Originally posted by Vuitton@Apr 25 2006, 03:43 PM

Piston and piston ring problem. :nono:

What can cause that? Riding style? Or wear and tear? :giddy:

I have the best signature.

hi bros....

why issit that when i start engine, it has no prob..

but when i pull trottle abit, it went dead.. i restart again, it started...

but it doesnt happen all the time...

been quite a few times while at traffic light...

and a few times while warming up... :giddy:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/herculie/Valky_Siggy.jpg
Originally posted by Herculie@Apr 27 2006, 08:24 PM

hi bros....

why issit that when i start engine, it has no prob..

but when i pull trottle abit, it went dead.. i restart again, it started...

but it doesnt happen all the time...

been quite a few times while at traffic light...

and a few times while warming up... :giddy:

It seems like the idiling is too low. Don't because of save petrol, then tune low idiling. It will be quite pressure when you are able to move off from traffic then eng die off. Sometimes, cars behind will keep horning. I encounter it last time, no more low idiling for me.

Originally posted by kokping@Apr 27 2006, 10:39 PM

can someone explain to me wats the term "overhaul" means?

Simplistically, it means opening up the engine to service/replace the parts inside.

Very labour intensive...

but i didnt tune the idling for along time...

but this happen since my last service last month...

i changed spark plug and full service only...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/herculie/Valky_Siggy.jpg
Originally posted by camel.com@Apr 25 2006, 10:13 PM

haha.. thanks thanks..

i jus got a can of GT85 and a can of MAXIMA chain wax.. usin both on my chain... but is bloody smelly.. i use soap n wash my hand.. have dinner still gt de smell.. like eatin de wax like tat.. hope it realli do wonder for my chain..

btw maxima dealer.. planet motor got de engine oil u mentioned above??

thanks..

Planet stocks Extra 15W50 only. Maybe you guys can ask Ah Chong to stock some Maxima Semi. I feel the semi is really the right choice for phantoms because you guys lack an oil filter and will need to replace the oil to get rid of the solid impurities.

I need urgent HELP !!!!!

I parked my TA 150 in a multi storey carpark and not touched it for 2 weeks ..... Now got problem starting ....

anyone here care to guide me along ????

URGENT URGENT

Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.

I am Disciplined, BUT sometimes I have Wild sides

I parked my TA 150 in a multi storey carpark and not touched it for 2 weeks ..... Now got problem starting ....

anyone here care to guide me along ????

Did you try the choke?

I have the best signature.