[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by KeV1143@Oct 23 2006, 12:15 PM

12V - 5/18W

Unscrew the red cover, carefully retrieve the bulb to a DIY shop & ask for a replacement.

OR

Jus go to any of the bike shops & ask for a change of rear bulb.

ok thanks... actually i wanna to change to those LED type.. anyone know where can i get it and how much?

by the way.. is there any bulb that will blink if i press on to the brake?

I.E: when i didn;t press the break, it will be like normal light, but will i press on the break, instead of brighter the brake light, i wanna it to blink so as to make it more obvious to driver behind.

any blub got this function? of i need to do special circuit?

• Replies 7.2k

Hmm what engine oil should i use? and spark plug? Wanna know what is the more popular brand and model amongst phantom riders, so can be more assured of its performance... Thanks, as i'm going to change engine oil and spark plug soon... :sweat:

Hi every1 newbie here , not sure if my ques had been ask b4, :sorry: sry if its already been asked :sorry: My phantom200 always gives me problem when kickin to neutral. It either gets me to gear2 or back to 1. But when i off the engine its easier to kick to N. The worst thing is that at every traffic junction, when its red light, i cant rest as i cant kick it up to N :giddy: ... I've been riding it for 2weeks ++ liao and i find it really tiring of the clutchin in durin red light ... So i really hope u guys can giv me some good advices...

Cheers~ :thumb:

The greatest ENEMY is YOURSELF

Originally posted by Ah_pui@Oct 23 2006, 05:18 PM

ok thanks... actually i wanna to change to those LED type.. anyone know where can i get it and how much?

by the way.. is there any bulb that will blink if i press on to the brake?

I.E: when i didn;t press the break, it will be like normal light, but will i press on the break, instead of brighter the brake light, i wanna it to blink so as to make it more obvious to driver behind.

any blub got this function? of i need to do special circuit?

Er... Was a bit lost while reading yr post. :sweat:

Ok, I believe there's such a gadget to get yr requirements done.

U into electronics?

Cos if I rmber, u'll have to pre program into a chip for the LED to function the way u wanted.

Might cost u $$ & time if u find for someone to do it for you, DIY cheaper.

Go to sim lim tower, ask the uncles downstairs if they have any circuits for your purpose. They have many circuits for different applications. Hope it helps :smile:

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by mercurius@Oct 23 2006, 08:05 PM

i just changed today sia.... mine is ELF fully syn, spark plug i think is Gpower or smth, cost me 23, 15 for oil n 8 for plug.

where u get your ELF E.O?

is it good?

Originally posted by Garcia10@Oct 23 2006, 10:33 PM

Hi every1 newbie here , not sure if my ques had been ask b4, :sorry: sry if its already been asked :sorry: My phantom200 always gives me problem when kickin to neutral. It either gets me to gear2 or back to 1. But when i off the engine its easier to kick to N. The worst thing is that at every traffic junction, when its red light, i cant rest as i cant kick it up to N :giddy: ... I've been riding it for 2weeks ++ liao and i find it really tiring of the clutchin in durin red light ... So i really hope u guys can giv me some good advices...

try tapping down from gear 2 to neutral, is easier. :smile: just a gentle tap will do.

i had face the problem you face now, but is solved.

CHeers..

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

Originally posted by Garcia10@Oct 23 2006, 10:33 PM

My answer is the same as quiet guy. Remember to sent it for regular change of EO, it helps as well

Dec 1994: Class 3

Feb 2006: Class 2B (TA200)

where u get your ELF E.O?

is it good?

ELF i think can get from many shops, i not very sure cos i normally go to this shop in tampines near the ITE there to change, i would say its not bad since my mileage is not bad too.

05 Phantom 200 Custom 4

Erm guys i need help in checking whether my bike has enough engine oil. I ride a phantom TA200. Okay my procedure is to let the engine idle for a while, then cut the engine off and check the oil. I will let the bike stand upright, then remove the dipstick, then wipe it and put it back without screwing in, and remove. If the oil is between the upper and lower mark its okay right?

But the problem is this. When my bike is on my side stand, i put my dipstick in (without screwing), there is no oil on the dipstick, its like empty. Is it okay or i must top up? Now i don't dare to ride my bike :cry:

Originally posted by velo@Oct 24 2006, 06:42 PM

Erm guys i need help in checking whether my bike has enough engine oil. I ride a phantom TA200. Okay my procedure is to let the engine idle for a while, then cut the engine off and check the oil. I will let the bike stand upright, then remove the dipstick, then wipe it and put it back without screwing in, and remove. If the oil is between the upper and lower mark its okay right?

But the problem is this. When my bike is on my side stand, i put my dipstick in (without screwing), there is no oil on the dipstick, its like empty. Is it okay or i must top up? Now i don't dare to ride my bike :cry:

or maybe u might wanna check when is the last time u changed your EO ...

if it's really a long time already ... :giddy:

u might wanna try changin it for a peace of mind ... :smile:

TA200 got the clear window at the side to check the level of EO ? :confused:

if got also can use that to check ... :smile:

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

Phantoms have no EO viewing window. Your procedure is correct but screw the dipstick in(don't need to be tight). 1L of engine oil covers the whole crisscross area of the dipstick I think...

edit: I didn't see the part where velo said he left the engine idling. There's no need to do that. A cold engine would be more accurate IMHO.

Just call me Eno.

8 Sep 2004 - ??? : Honda Phantom TA200

4 Oct 2005 - Feb 2006 : Honda FireBlade CBR400RR

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

Originally posted by Ah_pui@Oct 22 2006, 10:51 PM

anyone know for phantom TA200 Brake light uses what type of bulb?

1157 pin bulb

As long the bulb is 1157 pin it will fit

God in his wisdom will protect you

:pray:

Originally posted by Enotsol@Oct 24 2006, 07:35 PM

Phantoms have no EO viewing window. Your procedure is correct but screw the dipstick in(don't need to be tight). 1L of engine oil covers the whole crisscross area of the dipstick I think...

i didnt know we must screw it in!!! :giddy:

I have the best signature.

Originally posted by theyasman@Oct 24 2006, 10:19 PM

i didnt know we must screw it in!!! :giddy:

if it would make you feel better. I never screw in the dipstick when I check my EO, BUT I hold my bike upright when I'm checking.

My EO regime is simple:

1 bottle (1 liter) every 2000km or so, top up another ~200ml after 1000km.

Don't really need to check EO level... everything has been fine so far.

Originally posted by PhantomGhost@Oct 23 2006, 08:22 PM

any1 can confirm wif me?? Coz i dun wana waste $$ going down and then fail...

they dont inspect speedometer, dont think they will ride your bike one round :confused: .

CHeers..

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Originally posted by velo@Oct 24 2006, 06:42 PM

i thought it should be cold engine.

the bike should be up-right.

wipe dry drip stick first than insert.

screw in or not up to individual preference.

or am i worng ... o_O

Regardless whether you screw the dipstick in or not, just make sure you can see oil on the dipstick because it will still be above the minimum level.

Just call me Eno.

8 Sep 2004 - ??? : Honda Phantom TA200

4 Oct 2005 - Feb 2006 : Honda FireBlade CBR400RR

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

Thanks guys, feel better now, but i'll send it to Ah Koon for full servicing as i need him to fix some other problems too. Like my odometer which lost its lighting. Subsequent engine oil changes i'll try to do it myself :smile:

Btw what engine oil should i use? There are many types, 15w40, 15w50, 20w40, 20w50. I ride a TA200. Any particular brands to buy? I am new to this so i'll just stick to what you guys use first haha.

According to Koon, if you travel long distances frequently or travel at speeds around 100+km/h everytime, getting a thicker mixture of EO will be good, as the engine tends to heat up excessively and cause thinning of the EO.

Anyway, i thought if you screw in the dipstick, it'll go further down, hence the level of EO might be higher than when unscrewed. Heh. Okay i get it, it doesnt matter much.

I have the best signature.

Thankz Quiet Guy & whiskey for the reply . . .

Quiet Guy thankz for the advice... Yup its easier to kick for 2 gear to N but i want to solve the problem... If not at traffic junction will haf hard time kickin to N... By the time i manage to kick N already GREEN LIGHT LOL!!

So for my understanding if nv change EO the gears and clutch lever will have problem right??? :confused: :confused: but i just got my bike 2 weeks++ ago and the bike shop uncle told me say no need to change so fast ... He say 1 month ++ change once... But since day 1 i got the bike i already got problem kickin to neutral...:giddy: :giddy: Thankz in advance!!!

CHEERZ :thumb:

The greatest ENEMY is YOURSELF