[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Hi Pui,

OK

check what wires are needed and the cost.

God in his wisdom will protect you

:pray:

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by thcheong@Nov 14 2006, 06:44 PM

1)ur phantom weight is at the rear not the front..

2)rear brake is more power than ur front..

3)no matter how good a tyre is, on a wet road or mscp ground will oso slip or skid

No offence but I would like to challenge this statement. Probably take a phantom any day, and try using the front brakes alone, then repeat using the rear brakes alone. Check out the best braking distance. :)

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by jchsoon@Nov 14 2006, 11:53 PM

Hi Pui,

OK

check what wires are needed and the cost.

sure man...

Dear newbie knights,

I am a newbie too. I would like to share a problem that me and my friend's TA200 experienced.

The problem goes like this. Firstly, our piston is a little spoilt so EO start leaking into the piston. Then, because we did not check EO so often, too little EO is left for other parts to operate smoothly. In the end many parts spoil so have to overhaul. The overhaul cost me $580 and my friend $700.

So, please check your EO level more often. If you notice EO drop like 500ml per 500km, send it for repair quickly. You may end up with perhaps only a gasket or piston ring change which cost less than a hundred or worser, only a top overhaul of $300plus. I think EO usually only drop like 100-200ml per 1000km.

BTW got a question, is it normal for my TA200 to have little noises in the engine just after overhaul?:confused:

i was wondering where do i go to to chrome back my exahust pipe? and how much it would roughly cost?

also, i was wondering if it's normal for the headlight to be not so bright? and if there's any way to make it brighter. cos i have changed the bulb but it's still rather dim.

thanks for the info.

Hi, juz wanna ask.. My phantom skidded and I was thrown to the ground last mth.. To my surprise, my rear box didn't flew off and it was still attached to my bike..

Can I know izzit the box gd or the rack is gd? Can the box still be used assuming tat it didn;t break open?

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Originally posted by tourer84@Nov 15 2006, 03:41 AM

No offence but I would like to challenge this statement. Probably take a phantom any day, and try using the front brakes alone, then repeat using the rear brakes alone. Check out the best braking distance. :)

i think no need to try.. i rode a phantom for 2 yrs..

u try using front brake to stop.... u bike will stop after a while..

then now try using rear brake... u wheel will lock and the tyre will jus skid..

i usually suggest u use the front brake first for slowing down then use rear brake when coming to stop at very low speed

Originally posted by tourer84@Nov 15 2006, 03:44 AM

3)no matter how good a tyre is, on a wet road or mscp ground will oso slip or skid

I lifted my rear on a wet condition. The setup of your bike and condition of your tyre does matter.

what u mean by "setup of your bike and condition of your tyre does matter."???

as i said, no matter how good a tyre is, phantom dun really have very good tyre like sports bikes or other that can really keep tractionon raining days or wet ground, ur rear tyre will give way in a sense that slip abit to the side or worse, u might skid

Originally posted by scarr@Nov 26 2006, 11:10 PM

i was wondering if it's normal for the headlight to be not so bright? and if there's any way to make it brighter. cos i have changed the bulb but it's still rather dim.

thanks for the info.

phantom using only a 35w/35w bulb

dun expect too much.. if u want brighter, change to a super 4 headlight and use a 55w/60w H4 bulb

I've been riding TA200 for less than 1 week :cheeky: so

Noob question here:

How i know if the bike going to low fuel soon? since phantom has no fuel indicator

Thanks for the help!

1985 - 22 Nov 06: SBS/TIBS/SMRT/COMFORT

23 Nov 06 - Present: TA200

GTO: 鬼塚英吉 22歳 夜露死苦

Originally posted by acb@Nov 28 2006, 09:26 AM

Noob question here:

How i know if the bike going to low fuel soon? since phantom has no fuel indicator

Thanks for the help!

When I first started riding, I asked my bikeshop, they told me to sit, rock my bike and check if the petrol is a lot or otherwise.

After which, I make an effort to note down my miles traveled and then I did the calculations.

E.g

Date Litres Distance Difference

01-Oct-06 7.55 894655

05-Oct-06 8.70 896467 181

09-Oct-06 8.65 898291 183

13-Oct-06 8.08 900300 201

18-Oct-06 6.97 901884 158

21-Oct-06 8.85 904086 220

24-Oct-06 7.45 905832 175

28-Oct-06 7.55 907617 178

31-Oct-06 7.81 909501 189

So approximately 180 km or 3 to 4 days, I’ll top up.

You can try out this method or perhaps someone else has a better way…

You have to wait for someone else to reply, which I’ll always get my questions answered by the experts!!! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Noob question here:

Thanks for the help!

I got a suggestion.. Take note of the mileage when u pumped a full tank of petrol.. U can write the mileage on ur receipt.. Then ride until u feel the "low fuel" effect and switch to reserve.. Take note again of ur mileage at the time of hitting reserve.. No nd to remember all the figures..

Since urs is a TA200, I wld expect the mileage to be 300km aft ur top up.. Let's say u top up at 10000km for example.. Ur mileage hitting reserve shld exceed 10300km.. Of coz u hav to try to confirm this..

Therefore, aft this experiment, u can find out wat is the safe limit of ur fuel level.. For myself, everytime i top up my petrol, i dun hav to worry bout low level until I've travelled 300km.. Aft the limit has reached, I wld go and top up..

This is how I cope riding my phantom without the use of fuel gauge.. Use mileage to gauge instead..

Noob question here:

Thanks for the help!

i use to ride tw 200 too.... wart i use to do i jus let it run till reserve lor... i try b4 reserve tank can go frm bedok to JB SHELL... so when u hit reserve should not be a problem for u to find a pertol station.....

CHEER

Vince

I top up every 10 days.

Clock about 30 km per day

God in his wisdom will protect you

:pray:

Hmm.. Has anyone change bike yet retain ur number plate b4? Meaning u change new bike but still retain ur old number plate.. Must pay how much extra huh?

Originally posted by thcheong@Nov 27 2006, 12:22 AM

i think no need to try.. i rode a phantom for 2 yrs..

u try using front brake to stop.... u bike will stop after a while..

then now try using rear brake... u wheel will lock and the tyre will jus skid..

i usually suggest u use the front brake first for slowing down then use rear brake when coming to stop at very low speed

as i said, no matter how good a tyre is, phantom dun really have very good tyre like sports bikes or other that can really keep tractionon raining days or wet ground,

1)ur phantom weight is at the rear not the front..

2)rear brake is more power than ur front..

'

I was probably reflecting on these 2 points that you've mentioned. " Rear brake is more power than the front? " Maybe I have misunderstood your intention, but your messages do seem abit contradicting to me. Especially that now you've pointed out that front brakes are more effective, which is different from what you mentioned earlier.

My theory of most effective braking is infact in total opposite as opposed to yours. Rear brakes should be utilised probably in a distribution of 50 Front/50 Rear in the very early stage of braking (probably the 1st second) when the weight is still settling on the rear. When weight has shifted completely to the front, all the pressure applied to the brakes should be directly only to the front and minimal on the rear. This applies to hard braking.

I admit that I was playing around with the hypothesis of Phantom using better/sporty tires... Hehe.. But anyway, my point simply was, tyres do make a difference. Maybe because you made it sound as if no matter how good the tyres are, it would lose traction on wet at the slightest mistake, which proposes alot of ambiguity to me. Difference in quality of tyres could easily mean shortening braking distances by at least a quarter. Besides, if the bike was really meant to fall due to a mistake, it doesn't matter whether it's wet or dry.

Hope I make sense, cheers. :)

Thanks guys!!

All your replies sure are useful.

erm. Can i also ask what happens if your tank hit reserve? how do you know?

Sorry but i reali v.noob :sweat:

1985 - 22 Nov 06: SBS/TIBS/SMRT/COMFORT

23 Nov 06 - Present: TA200

GTO: 鬼塚英吉 22歳 夜露死苦

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by acb@Dec 4 2006, 06:19 PM

Thanks guys!!

All your replies sure are useful.

not sure what you mean what happen when you hit reserve tank...

if you mean from main tank, and how you know u need to swtich to reserve, then there two way....

1) when you ride until your bike like no power... you full throttle but still like "dieing" mean your main tank is empty.. then is time to switch to reserve...

2) when you ride for a period of time.. you can roughly gauge your fuel consumtion... basically as what mentioned.. ta200 can hit 300km before turning to reserves...

P/S: if you want to know what is feel like when you bike is running low on fuel and practise your fuel knot changing while on the move...

you can try this:

go to MSCP, turn your fuel knot to off and start riding up the carpark and down until you sense that your bike have the situation i mention in (1) then you can turn the knot to main or reserves while on the move, this can also help you to practise your knot changing while on the move next time.. in case next time you panic, dunno what to do or happen.

just my little piece of info. hope it help.

anyway practise that with caution.. cos when other change the knot while on the moves, they tend to move left and right and end up bike controlling not stable..

Originally posted by Technician III@Dec 3 2006, 06:33 PM

Hmm.. Has anyone change bike yet retain ur number plate b4? Meaning u change new bike but still retain ur old number plate.. Must pay how much extra huh?

i did intend to keep my old beauty of a plate but dropped the idea when i read about its cost.

I cant remember that well, but here's what my memory tells me:

Retain for a 1st Hand bike - $1,200.

Retain for a 2nd (onwards) hand bike - Five figure sum.

i THINK it's an insane price of $12,000.

Should be on the OneMotoring site.

I have the best signature.

Originally posted by acb@Dec 4 2006, 06:19 PM

Your bike 'coughs'. There will be distinct jerking of the bike if youre on the move, or when youre approaching a stop, the bike dies.

Great to switch the Fuel knob to Reserve as soon as the bike 'coughs' so it doesnt disrupt your journey. You might need some practice :smile:

I have the best signature.

Originally posted by scarr@Nov 26 2006, 11:10 PM

i was wondering where do i go to to chrome back my exahust pipe? and how much it would roughly cost?

also, i was wondering if it's normal for the headlight to be not so bright? and if there's any way to make it brighter. cos i have changed the bulb but it's still rather dim.

thanks for the info.

not worth it to re-chrome :sweat:

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

Noob question here:

Thanks for the help!

play safe, reach every EVEN # as in 200kn, 400km, 600km, 800km in the speedometer, just pump lor ....

pua wun mai pua lun :cheeky:

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.