What do you think of this traffic advisory sign?  

149 members have voted

1. 1. What do you think of this traffic advisory sign?

• Discrimination on bikes! The word "m/cycles" shd be removed
    • Agree, this is a very good piece of advice for motorcyclists
    • Neutral. You can't change any gahment signs, can you?

Hi.

When I travel along PIE, I come upon a sign "Motorcycles and slower traffic, keep left unless overtaking". I feel that the word "motorcycles" on the sign is redundant. Just "Slower traffic, keep left unless overtaking" will suffice.

Putting the sign with the "motorcycles" word, though harmless, is giving other road users the impression that bikes should not travel in extreme right lane, is this the reasons why some cars tailgate us!!??

Modern big cc motorcycles come with better braking efficiency and stability, can travel safely on the S'pore expressway at the speed limit. so why the sign??

Please give your comments/feedback.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

• Replies 73

does it mean that we are compared to thoes big buses and vans that are slow and hogging the traffic? i dont realli quite like that signboard also...

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

I wouldn't say it was discriminatory, just very outdated. Motorcycle technology has advanced since then, and most motorcycles are able to maintain the speed required to travel smoothly on expressways nowadays.

I agree that they should replace the sign with: "Slower vehicles keep left unless overtaking" or "Please do not road-hog, keep left unless overtaking"

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

yeah.. tell that to e gahment then... but seriously i dun think they give a crap abt us... btw u do u feel that we bikers are 2nd class road users?? or am i the onli 1 feelin this way...

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

It's not uncommon, even in some European countries they face this kind of problems.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Man ya so i agree with this.

Onces during my attachment time i was coming back home on CTE, right most lane as others lanes were hardly going at 50 right most lane traffic was going at abt 80 so i was following this car infront barely 3 car lenght. Then came this Space Wagon n started horning at me. as he was over takking me from the left he open this window n shouted motorcycles cannot go right lane!(like if i m not in the way he wld have been so far infront) i shout back Who said?? he jus slam his accelerator to the floor board n cut in n jam brake i was prepared so i didn't kiss him la. i over took him n now purposely hog n keep real safe following distance(as in wat we are thought in theory) from the front car this time.

HALO WATS YAR PROBLEM.

by right most lane is only for overtaking n for emergency vehicle not suppose to drive in tht lane la. Sometime i see cause of all this fellas, poor ambulance have to cut through road shoulder as the right lane is all taken up by this inconsiderate drivers hogging right lane. N WHO ARE THEY CALLING SLOW!!!!

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

with or without the sign, anti-biker drivers will always bochap us.

at least mata dont enforce the rule like they enforce this rule on trucks/van/buses. they said before its not an offence for bikers to travel there.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by rAjOaNa@Mar 31 2005, 06:04 PM

Man ya so i agree with this.

Onces during my attachment time i was coming back home on CTE, right most lane as others lanes were hardly going at 50 right most lane traffic was going at abt 80 so i was following this car infront barely 3 car lenght. Then came this Space Wagon n started horning at me. as he was over takking me from the left he open this window n shouted motorcycles cannot go right lane!(like if i m not in the way he wld have been so far infront) i shout back Who said?? he jus slam his accelerator to the floor board n cut in n jam brake i was prepared so i didn't kiss him la. i over took him n now purposely hog n keep real safe following distance(as in wat we are thought in theory) from the front car this time.

HALO WATS YAR PROBLEM.

by right most lane is only for overtaking n for emergency vehicle not suppose to drive in tht lane la. Sometime i see cause of all this fellas, poor ambulance have to cut through road shoulder as the right lane is all taken up by this inconsiderate drivers hogging right lane. N WHO ARE THEY CALLING SLOW!!!!

maybe he was in a hurry?

Originally posted by cb1300@Mar 31 2005, 09:08 PM

maybe he was in a hurry?

yup, he was in a hurry to hell..

was on CTE some time back, this car on the right lane was hogging @ 40-50km/h though the traffic condition was quite smooth. i was wondering wat the heck as i was behind a few cars/taxis following behind tat car. one by one, the cars/taxis & me overtake him while giving a slight horn besides & GUESS WAT???

he(driver) and his passenger(male oso) stared @ me when i was overtaking with tat 'buey song arh' face...

wats wrong with pple nowadays???

Some countries have a designated lane on the left for bikes right?

I presume that this sign is becos of this, even though Singapore don't have a 'bike lane'.

Charlie's Angels

Originally posted by jingle@Apr 1 2005, 10:34 AM

Some countries have a designated lane on the left for bikes right?

I presume that this sign is becos of this, even though Singapore don't have a 'bike lane'.

unless u give 1 lane, just for bikes...no other vehicle can use... then makes sense to keep left... now keep left must fight with trucks..i rather stay right and fight with cars...@ least better view pt

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

hi everyone, dun think too much la...at first i also feel that bikers are looked down... But if u think back at it....It is safer for us to travel in centre lane or left lane...It does not means that bike are slow...

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by Blue@Apr 2 2005, 02:24 AM

but sometime vans ,lorry truck they go second lane...so we no choice got to go 1st lane...preventing carbon build up mah

carbon will still build up no matter which lane you travel at la.... *walaneh*

What sign?? I don't see a problem, really.

Actually I don't really give a flying fark abt those signs. And I don't give half a rat's ass abt the arrogant drivers who try to "enforce" those signs either.

One twist of the throttle, and these kind of ppl usually end up in the rear mirrors anyway... or they can't follow me thru other cars.

So, what's the problem here again?

Originally posted by LongLifeBikers@Apr 1 2005, 10:23 PM

hi everyone, dun think too much la...at first i also feel that bikers are looked down... But if u think back at it....It is safer for us to travel in centre lane or left lane...It does not means that bike are slow...

I have to disagree.. I travel on the first lane most of the time, it's usually just maintaining your throttle or closing abit when cars from the left are trying to lane change.

After my skid, balls shrunk.. Went to try centre lane, turned out it was alot more stressful, cars joining your lane from both directions and if you're on a 3 lane e-way, cars that just joined the e-way might not be able to see you when blocked by trucks in the 3rd lane and just swerve into your lane (2nd lane, centre lane).

Even when being tailgated on the first lane, just signal left and let them past then continue..

Just my 2 cents. :smile:

actually ah .. vans without load can go pretty fast

i brought one to 140 before i saw a police car hahaha

totally freaked out

luckily he wasn't paying attention :D

eveytime i see dat sign....

i'll be thinking....

"Slower vehicle, keep left. The rest, try to catch up!"

kidding kidding....i slow rider.. :cheeky:

Riding With Passion, Kruzer Club Singapore

www.kruzer.sg

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/5359/bikeypulaumawar.jpg

Originally posted by redridinghood@Apr 7 2005, 05:01 AM

i've seen vans tt are supposed to be at 60/hr on extreme right lanes on xpressways leh.. sometimes even during rush hours.. hmmph! :mad:

they dnt reali give a fish,coz they pay their road taxes.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

why bother?

as long as you are not hogging nor really riding recklessly, just go with the flow of the trafiic.

haha, quite true tt bike always kena bully, especially taxI!!! try travel on BKE every morning towards PIE, u'll c different story, the malaysian 'Cub kia' always bully the car driver, they come in swarm, like bees!!.haha sometime i think it's much 'safer' to travel with them coz they open the road for u..hee juz my 2cent..:bouncefire: :cheer:

someone from LTA called me

he will be viewing this thread soon

u can do ur part by listing down the locations of this board

1. ECP (CITY) before Bedok Exit

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg