What do you think of this traffic advisory sign?  

149 members have voted

1. 1. What do you think of this traffic advisory sign?

• Discrimination on bikes! The word "m/cycles" shd be removed
    • Agree, this is a very good piece of advice for motorcyclists
    • Neutral. You can't change any gahment signs, can you?

for me i juz ride in the lane wif the least traffic.. and normally its the right lane.. sometimes i switch to the centre lane if i feel like it.. :smile:

btw i feel its easier to look out for traffic when i'm on the right lane.. u noe the cars wil come from the left.. but when u travel on the centre lane.. wa liao.. left right centre up down.. who noes man.. :giddy:

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

• Replies 73

>

> Dear Mr Ng,

>

> First and foremost, please accept my apologies for

> these late reply as I was away for an oversea

> assignment.

>

> The mentioned signs were placed some years back as

> part of the road safety education programme initiated through the

> Traffic

> Police.

> The intention is to encourage slower and vulnerable road

> users, such as motorcyclists to use the slow lane.

> This is because the slow lane will experience less

> over-taking/filtering, and thus safer for

> motorcyclists and slower drivers.

>

> We are currently reviewing signs along our roads. We

> have taken note of your feedback and we will study it

> together with the Traffic Police.

>

> Please do not hesitate to contact me at Tel: xxxxxxx

> if you have any queries. I will be happy to assist

> you.

>

> Tan Tee Nee

> Assistant Manager (Traffic Operation)

> Traffic Management Department

> Land Transport Authority

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg

Why not change the sign to remind ALL motorists that the right lane is to be used for overtaking and emergency vehicles... and not for cruising/hogging.

Studies have also shown (in the UK) that travelling at too low a speed will often result in driver/rider showing a decrease in their attention/concentration/awareness on the roads.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by william_liu@Jun 9 2005, 01:13 AM

Why not change the sign to remind ALL motorists that the right lane is to be used for overtaking and emergency vehicles... and not for cruising/hogging.

Studies have also shown (in the UK) that travelling at too low a speed will often result in driver/rider showing a decrease in their attention/concentration/awareness on the roads.

You're talking about the "keep left unless overtaking" sign? I vote for that one, too!

Driving too slow or artificially limiting speed on a road which should have higher speed also causes accident rates to go up.

Montana, USA does not have speed limits, by the way. And the accident rate there dropped more than 30% since the limits were lifted.

Even with this sign put up does the motorist follow the instruction.. "NOT REALLY"!! So why bother..

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg
Originally posted by CivicR@Jun 17 2005, 10:40 AM

Even with this sign put up does the motorist follow the instruction.. "NOT REALLY"!! So why bother..

its one of the steps to curb discrimination to motorcyclists on the road

given yur mindset might as well we jus bite the bone, sit back n do nothing

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg

Ever got tailgated by a 323, he even tried to bang me from the left.

Luckily I sped away. Later on we stopped at the same red light. Asked him for the reason why he did that. He said bikes are not supposed to occupy lane one, wanted to challenge me to the police station.

I believe modern technology has made bikes stable enuff to travel beyong 100km/h on normal roads. So there shouldnt be a problem.

Originally posted by ah_tee@Jun 20 2005, 01:17 PM

its one of the steps to curb discrimination to motorcyclists on the road

given yur mindset might as well we jus bite the bone, sit back n do nothing

True, I agree with you.

It may be not a big deal to most, but it's small things like this that contribute (whether sub-consciously or not) to the "Bikers are just 2nd class road users" mentiality that a lot of other road users seem to have.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by GiantValk@Jun 20 2005, 01:30 PM

Ever got tailgated by a 323, he even tried to bang me from the left.

Luckily I sped away. Later on we stopped at the same red light. Asked him for the reason why he did that. He said bikes are not supposed to occupy lane one, wanted to challenge me to the police station.

I believe modern technology has made bikes stable enuff to travel beyong 100km/h on normal roads. So there shouldnt be a problem.

LoLx

Go with him to police station and tell the TP he trying to bang u :lol:

Then he got it liao :p

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

I dont like the idea of following big buses and lorries on the 3rd lane. Obstructing my view. Prefer the 2nd lane.. all to my favour... herh.

MUSIC IS LIFE. LIVE A FUN ONE. LISTEN TO SKA

i hate that sound....lets burn it down

Its not about hard you can hit, its about how many times you can take a hit and remain standing

sometimes i play the vice versa role of tailgating slow cars who hog the extreme right lane. i purposely dun want to change lane at the centre lane, high beam the car in front, driver stil acting blur, stubborn to either step on the accelerator or signal left change lane. What's with their attitude? Dun he feel SHAMEFUL to be asked to give way to a SMALLER yet FASTER yet CHEAPER vehicle ?

if i go NSH, its different, the drivers r more courteous, becos they know wat is fast and wat is not. I'm toking abt the drivers/riders and not the vehicle, tats is FAST. Singaporeans r too pampered, law protect them too much.

Class 2bHonda TA150, Yamaha RXZ135, SYM Magic110, Kawasaki KSR110, SYM GTS200, Paijifa F150, Yamaha Cygnus Z125

Class 2aHonda CB400 Project Big 1, Version S, Honda Shadow 400

Class 2Yamaha Vmax1200, Honda CBR1100XX, Honda Deauville650, Honda CB1300, Yamaha FZ6S, Honda Varadero1000, Suzuki Hayabusa GSX1300R

If there is someone behind wanting to go thru'

We should move left & let him thru'

At what ever speed u are at.

I don't see much bikers hogging the right lanes.

But taxis... always!

With the LTA reply posted earlier...

Am sure road signs asking "Motorcyclist to keep left"

will eventually be removed.

Doesn't really apply here.

Maybe "Taxis & Slower Traffic keep Left"

This would apply here in Spore.

Yeah, paste a sticker "Taxis over Motorcycle" ha ha...

I normally go for the space...

Nothing in front & nothing Behind.

No need to E-brake or worry about anyone tailgating...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

for my case, i have to suck thumb. L L. cause my bike is light weight ( including me). Anyway fast moving vehicles passing me or those 5-tones heavy duty car my bike tend to feel the suction very strongly worst still wobble side to side.

scare the sh*t out of me. PLUS scare that my bike engine die again. :weep:

If there were dreams to sell, what would you buy?

Originally posted by Spectrum@Feb 27 2006, 12:38 AM

If there is someone behind wanting to go thru'

We should move left & let him thru'

At what ever speed u are at.

I don't see much bikers hogging the right lanes.

But taxis... always!

With the LTA reply posted earlier...

Am sure road signs asking "Motorcyclist to keep left"

will eventually be removed.

Doesn't really apply here.

Maybe "Taxis & Slower Traffic keep Left"

This would apply here in Spore.

Yeah, paste a sticker "Taxis over Motorcycle" ha ha...

I normally go for the space...

Nothing in front & nothing Behind.

No need to E-brake or worry about anyone tailgating...

the taxis here cant go faster than 120km/h. at 100km/h they start to stress, guess its power cut for the 3000cc toyota crown:nono:

Class 2bHonda TA150, Yamaha RXZ135, SYM Magic110, Kawasaki KSR110, SYM GTS200, Paijifa F150, Yamaha Cygnus Z125

Class 2aHonda CB400 Project Big 1, Version S, Honda Shadow 400

Class 2Yamaha Vmax1200, Honda CBR1100XX, Honda Deauville650, Honda CB1300, Yamaha FZ6S, Honda Varadero1000, Suzuki Hayabusa GSX1300R

Taxis can't go faster than 120km/h??? A taxi once hi-beamed me for going tot slow while I was already travelling on 110km/h at the 1st lane. But I gave way to him anyway since he was faster.

After giving way to him I followed behind him to see how fast he was going, and he hit more than 140km/h. Slow? I beg to differ.

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg

that sign should be banished!!!

they think we rider are riding some kinda of world war two bikes huh???

Even my vespa runs at 120km/h not to say big bikes.....blackbirds, haya, R1 and all.....

1995-1996: Yamaha TZR125

1996-1997: Kawasaki KIPS150

1997-present: Vespa Sprint Veloce

2001-2003: Honda CBR400RL

2005-2005: Honda CB400Vtec2

2005-2007: Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

2013-2014: Harley Davidson Nightster

2014-present: Harley Davidson Fatboy

Actually from their official reply, they seems to think it's "safer" for bikes to travel at the same lanes as the buses and lorries and large trucks most who seem to enjoy tailgating you very closely, and not to mention survive all the encounters with the many drivers who filter onto the expressways without ever looking out for motorcyclists....

Originally posted by LongLifeBikers@Apr 1 2005, 10:35 PM

hi everyone, dun think too much la...at first i also feel that bikers are looked down... But if u think back at it....It is safer for us to travel in centre lane or left lane...It does not means that bike are slow...

Safer in the centre lane? I don think so. I was in the centre lane in PIE last month when a stupid F nissan car driver cut into my lane from the left lane and throw me to the right lane? Sianz. :sian:

• 9 months later...

certainly there is a reason behind it.. no doubt TP nor ROV will not take much action against this.. but bikers be forewarned, do not ignore this sign.

if happened u met an accident on expressway, these signs might be certainly been brought up during investigations.

so up to our own discretion.ride Safe and Smart

aiyah u know lah.. our Road Traffic always emphasize safety as their main concern. thats why they jus put dis sign up.. anyway its not a mandotory sign. i guess an info rite.

neway no harm going the 2nd or 1st lane. so far i havent heard anything from this issue. so Jus Ride On>>>