Originally posted by hideyoshi13@Oct 8 2006, 12:19 AM

hi guys. heard tt cbr 150 is expensive/troublesome to maintain cos of the fairings and the complexity of the 4 stroke engine. is tt true?

also. anyone noes a gd place to buy 2nd hand bikes?

hello,

cbr 150 is not that ex i think and is fairly easy to maintain.

there's nothing much to do except the occasional change in engine oil plus changing of lever for me :cheeky: ( coz i always drop bike :sweat: )

other then that i don't think there's much to do =)

but i'm a noob so maybe there's more :cheeky:

CNY Resolution: Work hard and get promoted, study hard and pass all exams, Save more $$, Lose weight without cutting down on food intake, Exercise more *grinz*

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

Originally posted by hideyoshi13@Oct 8 2006, 12:19 AM

hi guys. heard tt cbr 150 is expensive/troublesome to maintain cos of the fairings and the complexity of the 4 stroke engine. is tt true?

also. anyone noes a gd place to buy 2nd hand bikes?

Hmm. no such thing la. CBR 150 is less expensive to mantaince then most of the 2b sports bike. Only need to change the Eo and filter often nia. The rest nothing and no 2T.

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

hi again. i think what he meant was tt altho u maintain less often, when u do have to repair it costs alot more den 2stroke. anyone done any major overhauls/repairs?

im not so sure abt the shop tho. he offered me a cbr 150 for 1k flat. abit too good to be true.

Originally posted by blurger@Oct 8 2006, 02:28 AM

hello,

there's nothing much to do except the occasional change in engine oil plus changing of lever for me :cheeky: ( coz i always drop bike :sweat: )

drop bike? ahha. cbr v.heavy ah?

Originally posted by hideyoshi13@Oct 8 2006, 02:21 PM

Hii, hideyoshi.. B.t.w, cbr 150R can be considered to be the lightest among the 2b sport bikes most commonly available in singapore (KR 150, NSR 150).. :smile:

Trust me.. There are times when u really wish ur bike was not heavy, especially when trying to reverse back manually using ur feet up a slope.. Pweehh!! :sweat:

And especially when you lose ur balance, when coming to a slow stop at the traffic light..

It happened to me a couple of times when i juz started riding this bike 4 months ago.. Easy to push urself back to balance using ur feet.. :sian:

Other than the 2T part, the great thing about the bike is the electric start.. As new riders like us tend to stall engine easily.. We can straight away kick down gear quickly, pull clutch in then, electric start back... :dot:

Its even greater when u stall while moving too slowly.. Juz freewheel while u pull ur clutch in, then electric start.. hahaha.. Save you a lot of face... You won't want to be trying to kick start when u stall at the traffic light.. Very embarassing.. :slapforehead:

*Be adviced* (Remember not to panic, control ur speed using ur brakes and keep ur balance while free wheeling) :goodluck:

hey guys!!! im been reading this thread since page 1. LOL!! and yes i get mix up here and there.. hahaha!! :cheeky:

It seem some of you have know each other for over a year already.. :smile:

anyway, i was wondering, where to change the CBR150 footrest to racing footrest?? and how much it cost?

and i guess i can join you guys for mass wash or outing once i get my bike, should be very very very very soon!! :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

and what should i do for the run-in period? can explain? :cheeky:

anyway THANKS!!!

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c99/fluzzy_flu/Junkies/bff.jpg
Originally posted by blurger@Oct 8 2006, 02:28 AM

hello,

Blur............... talking abt levers - your brake levers are here pls collect b4 i leave town again ...........

HP: 93891138 :angel:

Originally posted by fluzzy@Oct 9 2006, 01:19 AM

hey guys!!! im been reading this thread since page 1. LOL!! and yes i get mix up here and there.. hahaha!! :cheeky:

It seem some of you have know each other for over a year already.. :smile:

anyway, i was wondering, where to change the CBR150 footrest to racing footrest?? and how much it cost?

and i guess i can join you guys for mass wash or outing once i get my bike, should be very very very very soon!! :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

and what should i do for the run-in period? can explain? :cheeky:

anyway THANKS!!!

hello.. i changed my yoshi racing footrest at LAB. cost me $100 ($85+$15 worksmanship).. so far haven failed me after 6mths of changing it :cheer:

hmm for running in? i just not drag my gear till after 6rpm(others say 5.5rpm but i oways overshot :cheeky: ), n frequently change the engine oil. must choose cheap2 one cos u'll b changing frequently.. after finish running in then can buy those good ones, like Castrol R4 :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/aman47/SNC001921.jpg

Honda CBR 150R (Mar 2006-Mar 2008)

Yamaha X1-R (Mar 2008-?????)

Originally posted by hideyoshi13@Oct 8 2006, 02:18 PM

hi again. i think what he meant was tt altho u maintain less often, when u do have to repair it costs alot more den 2stroke. anyone done any major overhauls/repairs?

im not so sure abt the shop tho. he offered me a cbr 150 for 1k flat. abit too good to be true.

i overhauled the bike before...

that was after one major accident..

i change the whole set of fairings...

the tank...

respray...

basically everything change...

except for engine...

it didnt cost a bomb..

and its considered the cheapest to overhaul if compared to other sportsbikes..

The tree-lined avenue

Begins to fade from view

Drowning past regrets

In tea and cigarettes

But I can't seem to forget

When you came along

Ingenue, I just don't know what to do

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/joe_007/bikerchick2.jpg

-KENANGAN MOTO TERCINTA-

Originally posted by Aman47@Oct 9 2006, 09:10 PM

hello.. i changed my yoshi racing footrest at LAB. cost me $100 ($85+$15 worksmanship).. so far haven failed me after 6mths of changing it :cheer:

hmm for running in? i just not drag my gear till after 6rpm(others say 5.5rpm but i oways overshot :cheeky: ), n frequently change the engine oil. must choose cheap2 one cos u'll b changing frequently.. after finish running in then can buy those good ones, like Castrol R4 :smile:

ohh.. so i can go at any speed but the rpm should stay lower than 5.5rpm?

how long does the run in period last? 1000km?? then EO change every 2000km?

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c99/fluzzy_flu/Junkies/bff.jpg
Originally posted by hideyoshi13@Oct 8 2006, 02:21 PM

hello

the bike is not heavy as compared to others. i often drop bike coz i'm very blur n at times for dunno wat reason drop it or 4get to kick side stand down at time and then u know wat happen :cheeky:

CNY Resolution: Work hard and get promoted, study hard and pass all exams, Save more $$, Lose weight without cutting down on food intake, Exercise more *grinz*

Originally posted by limbat@Oct 9 2006, 11:11 AM

Blur............... talking abt levers - your brake levers are here pls collect b4 i leave town again ...........

Hi Richard

when will u be leavin town again?

this few wks i'm kinda busy with work coz its exams, i'll try to arrange to make a trip down k :cheeky:

Originally posted by fluzzy@Oct 9 2006, 11:04 PM

ohh.. so i can go at any speed but the rpm should stay lower than 5.5rpm?

how long does the run in period last? 1000km?? then EO change every 2000km?

erm, tts wat i heard frm ppl n the threads. shld b like tt.. usuall 5.5rpm also not fast. if at gear 6, i tink less than 80km/hr.. shld ask the more experienced ones for their views cos im not tt really sure :)

for mine, i run in till 1500km, just to b safe :sweat: erm, i changed engine oil durin running in at 500, 1000 and 1500km.. after that for fully synthetic, as recommended by some, is change every 5000km. and 2500km for semi synthetic engine oil..

Originally posted by blurger@Oct 10 2006, 07:37 PM

Hi Richard

when will u be leavin town again?

this few wks i'm kinda busy with work coz its exams, i'll try to arrange to make a trip down k :cheeky:

Mi leaving next week for a short holiday then again the following week for work -

do call b4 U comeby ......... cheers ... how abt this Sunday -

jilleen is coming over to collect her timing chain as well .... :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by boy_genius@Oct 8 2006, 11:34 PM

Hii, hideyoshi.. B.t.w, cbr 150R can be considered to be the lightest among the 2b sport bikes most commonly available in singapore (KR 150, NSR 150).. :smile:

Trust me.. There are times when u really wish ur bike was not heavy, especially when trying to reverse back manually using ur feet up a slope.. Pweehh!! :sweat:

And especially when you lose ur balance, when coming to a slow stop at the traffic light..

It happened to me a couple of times when i juz started riding this bike 4 months ago.. Easy to push urself back to balance using ur feet.. :sian:

Other than the 2T part, the great thing about the bike is the electric start.. As new riders like us tend to stall engine easily.. We can straight away kick down gear quickly, pull clutch in then, electric start back... :dot:

Its even greater when u stall while moving too slowly.. Juz freewheel while u pull ur clutch in, then electric start.. hahaha.. Save you a lot of face... You won't want to be trying to kick start when u stall at the traffic light.. Very embarassing.. :slapforehead:

*Be adviced* (Remember not to panic, control ur speed using ur brakes and keep ur balance while free wheeling) :goodluck:

haha. good to hear. i need a really simple bike as its mostly for transport.

cbr is a plus cos its sportsbike so looks a *little* more cool. haha.

wadya guys use for storage though? i saw a few sports bikes w/box ard my neighbourhood... damn ugly lehs..hahaha. need to find a way to hide my bike n helmet from my parents sia.

FuLL of SoRRoW:

how much didja spend on everything? sounds ex man. hope ure alrite fro the crash!

overhaul the exterior shd be the same as other sports bikes mah. is the engine tt (i think) wud be more complex to repair.. 2 stroke very simple from wat i heard. thx anyway! :)

blurger... park bike 4get to put stand...lol.

Originally posted by Aman47@Oct 9 2006, 09:10 PM

u better not ride it until 5000km then change.. what i tried before 4k/5k or so i think your eo will go lower(sort of evaporate to nowhere)? that what i experience unless wont happen on u..

Originally posted by NaRuTo13@Oct 11 2006, 08:56 AM

u better not ride it until 5000km then change.. what i tried before 4k/5k or so i think your eo will go lower(sort of evaporate to nowhere)? that what i experience unless wont happen on u..

whoa... engine oil can evaporate meh? or issit ppl steal frm ur bike :sweat: just kidding..

so how to check the engine oil level?

Originally posted by Aman47@Oct 11 2006, 10:17 PM

whoa... engine oil can evaporate meh? or issit ppl steal frm ur bike :sweat: just kidding..

so how to check the engine oil level?

No la. Sometime the t he engine will "eat" the engine oil one. But after changing to another brand then will be alright liao.

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Originally posted by limbat@Oct 11 2006, 12:24 AM

Mi leaving next week for a short holiday then again the following week for work -

do call b4 U comeby ......... cheers ... how abt this Sunday -

jilleen is coming over to collect her timing chain as well .... :smile: :smile:

I might be going Sentosa this Sunday. i confirm with you again sorry ah:cheeky:

then maybe with Jileen can chit chat

Originally posted by hideyoshi13@Oct 11 2006, 03:11 AM

haha. good to hear. i need a really simple bike as its mostly for transport.

cbr is a plus cos its sportsbike so looks a *little* more cool. haha.

wadya guys use for storage though? i saw a few sports bikes w/box ard my neighbourhood... damn ugly lehs..hahaha. need to find a way to hide my bike n helmet from my parents sia.

FuLL of SoRRoW:

how much didja spend on everything? sounds ex man. hope ure alrite fro the crash!

overhaul the exterior shd be the same as other sports bikes mah. is the engine tt (i think) wud be more complex to repair.. 2 stroke very simple from wat i heard. thx anyway! :)

hehe :cheeky: i blur ma.. sometimes talk to much or thinking abt things so i 4get abt it :smile:

but recently abit more conscious of it will look first b4 i get down

oya, although putting box might not look that cool but it is very convenient esp if u have ur helmet to 'hide'. Useful when you go shopping too :cheeky:

Originally posted by blurger@Oct 12 2006, 07:25 PM

I might be going Sentosa this Sunday. i confirm with you again sorry ah:cheeky:

then maybe with Jileen can chit chat

U can onli chit chat wif Jilleen if U turn up ok ??

Originally posted by hideyoshi13@Oct 11 2006, 03:11 AM

FuLL of SoRRoW:

it was a long time ago...

it was a year after i got my cbr150..

so it was 4 years back..

anyway i also got discount at that time..

the shop belongs to my so call god uncle.. hehe

so i roughly paid for only 200 plus onli.. :cheeky:

The tree-lined avenue

Begins to fade from view

Drowning past regrets

In tea and cigarettes

But I can't seem to forget

When you came along

Ingenue, I just don't know what to do

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/joe_007/bikerchick2.jpg

-KENANGAN MOTO TERCINTA-