My parents, though divorced, each threatened to break my legs if I rode. I went for lessons during army. Also getting roughly $400 a month, but eating army food for free. Used driving school's smelly helmet all the way. Saved up for another couple of months and bought my first RXK. Rode for half a year, saved up some more and changed to NSR150. Helmet always locked to bike. Nobody at home knew about me riding until one year later when I got more audacious and started bringing helmet home and claiming that I hitched rides from friends. Naturally my mother wasn't stupid, made me confess and asked to see my bike. Turned out she used to ride during kampong days. Now she makes me pillion her to places. Father freaked out when i confessed 2 years later when I was riding 400cc CBR. Thereafter made me run errands for him too.

But of course I played my part by riding like a ***** after my first accident. No point freaking your parents out really. Guess not every parent is as tolerant as mine. But hiding from them is definitely possible. And my case is not unique. Most of my friends did the same.

• Replies 124

Phew, seems like most of you guys here parents didn't allow.

Mine is different case man. At first dad said a guy should learn everything, which made me have the courage to tell him I'm gonna apply for 2b. They then started to ask me learn class3 first. But then I told them I'm more interested in bike and they didn't object! =D

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg

very hard to hide one la. So many letters, e.g. road tax, insurance, season parking and etc. If u kena summon then lagi more letters

its common for parents to object to learning bike. after all its really dangerous.

i also dun recommend my frens to learn. esp when they got car liao..

my turn to share story..

when taking license i already bring helmet home. my mom was like "stop learning la! learn car so much better!"

then i poke her back "learn car also no car.." cuz i know she won't buy me car so she diam diam. after awhile she went "learn bike got bike meh" i just diam diam smile :cheeky:

after i bought my bike, i change helmet. then my mom was "pillion ppl bike need so nice helmet ar" i just smile then go out

next day she went "you bought bike ar?" i just smile and go out again :cheeky:

and again the following day she went "ride safe. dun speed dun drink hor"

and i say "ok i very safe de"

wahahaha.

get parents to consent is good. cuz when my bike need repair i short cash can borrow. somemore in accident parents know better wad to do.

http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg123/illa19/ParkEunKyung3.gif

one true story from my fren...

my fren rode an sp for about 6mths without his family knowing. he always check his letterbox for LTA, insurance, season-parking related letters.

then one fine day he was not at home, his friendly neighbour, an uncle who rode an RXZ came knocking on his door... wif a few bottles of 2T. he jus sold his RXZ and bought a 4-stroke bike. he want to give those leftover 2Ts to my fren. guess who received them on his behalf?

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg
  allen key said:

my fren rode an sp for about 6mths without his family knowing. he always check his letterbox for LTA, insurance, season-parking related letters.

then one fine day he was not at home, his friendly neighbour, an uncle who rode an RXZ came knocking on his door... wif a few bottles of 2T. he jus sold his RXZ and bought a 4-stroke bike. he want to give those leftover 2Ts to my fren. guess who received them on his behalf?

hahahaha, it must be one of his family members..

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

some parents are just that strict.. :giddy:

  allen key said:

lol.

Dun know whether ur fren should scold or thank the frenly uncle. :cheeky:

  shelin said:
hahahaha, it must be one of his family members..

its his mum,

morale of the story... no matter how careful u r in hiding frm ur family, they will know one day. there's a chinese saying.. paper can never wrap fire.

best is assure them that u will ride safe

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

well.. my friend who just died did just that - not letting his parents know until..

He got his Honda Varadero about March '07

He passed 2B on 22/06/07,

Happily ride his Varadero in Changi Coastal Road, i'm not sure what exactly he did, but he self-skidded, had a serious head injury and was in Changi General Hospital for 2 days of ICU in coma.

Passed away on 26/06/07 tuesday morning 2 a.m.

I missed the chance to see him the last time for his funeral.. but i do hope at least your parents would have a chance to educate you before you try to do a stunt like that..

I am rebellious until now, at least i tell them that i was going to buy a bike, like it or not, unless they buy me a car.

I'm now a happy rider of a 180cc Bajaj Pulsar that runs 48 km/litre lol.

Rainy days try not to order pizza/kfc/macdonalds.

sorri to hear about ure friend bro...

its better to not undertake risks and not let ure parents know nuthin...

in these type of situations its better to talk to the parents and tell them ure realli interested in 2 wheels..maybe..juz maybe they will understand and let u in the end..you are their child aniwae..

and im sure every parent wanna see their child happy...

anithing involving a human life,its more appropriate to have parent's consent..they are the one who gave us life in the first place... juz my 2 cents man.. :thumb:

Carving Up The Competition

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff18/sTraZe/onepiecenakama1024gc6.png

yah.. jus try talkin to them more often jus tell them u r careful de.. & make sure u r..

last time my parents dun let mi learn bike.. i tell them.. if fated to die.. walkin/sittin in bus stop oso die leh.. not telling u to tell them that.. jus diff parents gt diff ways to accept.. my frene told his mom he wanna learn bike .. his mom reply wanna die go early !!! i was stunt.. up till today 5 yrs.. both our parents saw us riding.. & nv call tow truck to tow our bike away :)

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

Yeah I feel if life is about choices and living it just once, we tend to live it FIERCE.

But you also only have 1 set of parents.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

hmm my parents gave me absolute freedom, never objected to me doing anything, except for their violent objections towards riding.

maybe forbidden fruit taste sweetest, or maybe the passion for riding was consuming me, but whatever the case, i just had to do it.

i drive, so after buying my shiny new learner helmet, it found a permanent place in my boot, and i went home claiming its my friend's property, he forgot to take it home the other day.

i put aside all needless thoughts until after i passed my 2b, telling myself, maybe after passing i'll find out if i really love riding. and i realised i did. very much.

so after i got the coveted slip of paper, i was in a fix. i was way past adolescence and rebellion, and i didn't want to start a war at home (trust me my parents are as fiery as parents come), but i really wanted to ride.

again, i decided to ignore the problem and i bought my bike. it was unbelievably painful to live with a secret like that. i had originally planned to tell them after 8 weeks, but i didn't last 2 days, lol.

i racked my brains to find a win-win solution, and i did what i did best, write. 11 pages of pure feeling, reason after reason, reassurances aplenty, of why i really needed to do this, and how much i wanted their blessings.

i got it =)

what really warmed my heart was when my dad said, it's raining, bring the bike into the driveway, i'll move the car out.

whoever is facing the same problem, perhaps you should take a little time to find out what makes your parents tick, find out their reservations pertaining to riding, and address them. most important of all, show them that this is what you really want.

good luck!

ps: i thought i had all my bases covered, ie. no letters to my home. and guess what, one week after i told them, i got a big a4 manila envelope from mitsui, complete with company name and logo. talk about conspicuous. laughed to myself as i saw my father bring it in.

  mervyn_lee said:
hmm my parents gave me absolute freedom, never objected to me doing anything, except for their violent objections towards riding.

maybe forbidden fruit taste sweetest, or maybe the passion for riding was consuming me, but whatever the case, i just had to do it.

i drive, so after buying my shiny new learner helmet, it found a permanent place in my boot, and i went home claiming its my friend's property, he forgot to take it home the other day.

i put aside all needless thoughts until after i passed my 2b, telling myself, maybe after passing i'll find out if i really love riding. and i realised i did. very much.

so after i got the coveted slip of paper, i was in a fix. i was way past adolescence and rebellion, and i didn't want to start a war at home (trust me my parents are as fiery as parents come), but i really wanted to ride.

again, i decided to ignore the problem and i bought my bike. it was unbelievably painful to live with a secret like that. i had originally planned to tell them after 8 weeks, but i didn't last 2 days, lol.

i racked my brains to find a win-win solution, and i did what i did best, write. 11 pages of pure feeling, reason after reason, reassurances aplenty, of why i really needed to do this, and how much i wanted their blessings.

i got it =)

what really warmed my heart was when my dad said, it's raining, bring the bike into the driveway, i'll move the car out.

whoever is facing the same problem, perhaps you should take a little time to find out what makes your parents tick, find out their reservations pertaining to riding, and address them. most important of all, show them that this is what you really want.

good luck!

ps: i thought i had all my bases covered, ie. no letters to my home. and guess what, one week after i told them, i got a big a4 manila envelope from mitsui, complete with company name and logo. talk about conspicuous. laughed to myself as i saw my father bring it in.

guess not all as lucky as u, so u shld treasure ur parents even more for respecting your decision. :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

yeap tru...my mother didnt let me at first..but i reminded her that my dad also rode a bike and fetched her to and fro!

so yah lah..my mum was at loss for werds and looked at my dad..my dad dunno where to put his face oredi..harhar..

daz was 1 major big step last time!!

as respond to topic, possible to get license and buy a bike without letting parents know, but impossible for parents not to know forever... It's just matter of time.

it went smoother than i thought it would, but i tell you, that letter was the bomb. a few of my friends read it and shed some tears *grin*

anyone need a template? i only ask for a small fee =P

adhering strictly to the topic, yes its do-able, but where possible, i think they deserve to know.

oh nvm..got my license long time ago..heehee but it may be useful to sum!!

What if... Like my father's case, he has high blood pressure, semi-senile, is a stroke patient, cannot move much without help, on constant medication... And my family keeps every bad news from him, in case he worries for the night and next day blood pressure shoots up... as my brother monitors his pressure everyday. How am i supposed to build my happines from riding on his constant worry each time it rains. If one of those times, he worry himself sick and goes... will i ever put on a helmet again? knowing that... i contributed to his passing? And how do i convince my mum... that riding can be safe, and that i will be a safe rider... when my mum prayed for my safety during my school days, because.. i was playing soccer often for my school and she thinks that soccer is a dangerous sport? Its been more than a year... I can only counter the guilt by knowing that its in their interests... especially my dad. I can emphatize with thread starter.. parental objection can make getting a bike difficult.. Its not too hard to keep them from knowing, just need the mailbox keys and standby for letters, and use helmet bag when bringing the helmet home... But kok... do you feel you have enough reasons to not tell them? Like in my case?

If you really go ahead without parental objection.. Make sure you don't die from an accident. They will really feel hurt from shock and betrayal. And wear the right gear.. riding jackets... FF... you have to be able to cover your injuries froma accident. I had a self skid 2 months after passing. Was only wearing windbreaker... Managed to cover... and no more incidents after that.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

at 1st i also want to learn bike 1st but my father ask me go learn car 1st so after i got my car licence then i go ask my father now can i learn bike already he still sald cannot:sian: but i still go learn then now waiting for tp on aug16:cheeky:

actually while i was selling my nsr a month or 2 back... i realised that many youngsters nowadays, like myself, ride without parents knowing, or plan to do so without parents knowing. I gather this from the fact that almost all the chaps who came to view my bike said their parents dun know, and some offered to subrider my bike and installment to me so that letters will be directed to me. Of course.. i declined.. cause my parents also dun know i riding. LOL

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

sometimes it's their reaction that freaks u out.. but somehow, i guess they will eventually give in, just like my mum.. my bro is a rider too and he forbids me to get a bike.. but i already reserve 1, planning to get it aft i pass my tp..