Lam Chee to develop Tuas plot for motorcross racing

July 12, 2007

Lam Chee to develop Tuas plot for motorcross racing

THE Singapore Land Authority (SLA) recently awarded Lam Chee Development Pte Ltd a plot of land at Tuas West Drive for motorcross training and racing.

This is the first time state land has been awarded for motorcross activities. Currently, two-wheeler motorcross enthusiasts have to travel overseas to enjoy the sport.

The 25,000 square metre plot about the size of three football fields is next to Tuas Bus Terminal.

Lam Chee which is venturing into the motorcross business for the first time, will invest at least $250,000. The tenancy is up to December 2009.

Construction work began in June and it is expected to be ready by early 2008. There will be a race track, spectator stand with a capacity of 100, a car park for 60 lots, a cafeteria and some retail shops

Lam Chee hopes to attract mainly local racing enthusiasts for motorcross activities on both two-wheel and four-wheel vehicles. It is also negotiating for tie-ups with private motor clubs and associations.

In selecting the winning bid, SLA said in a press release that it considered among other factors, the tendered price, concepts, proposed uses, track record and financial health of the bidders.

Of the 2 bids received, Lam Chee submitted the higher bid of $8,521 per month, about 13.6 per cent more than the guide rent.

Lam Chee's Director, Mr Oh Keh Yew William, sees a huge potential in the motorcross industry. He said: 'In recent years, there has been a growing number of racing enthusiasts in Singapore. This is evident by the strong turnout of competitors and spectators at our Kallang Carpark races.'

'However, they want much more. They travel regularly to the Pasir Gudang racetrack in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, to sharpen their skills and test the performance of their vehicles.'

Mr Oh believes that with Singapore's recent successful bid of the Formula One race, there will be positive interest generated for motor sports in Singapore.

Lam Chee is also mindful of the noise impact on the environment. The company will engage specialists to manage noise and traffic conditions so as to minimise any adverse impact.

SLA's Director of Land Operations Simon Ong, said, 'This site at Tuas West Drive is a very good location for motorsports as it is away from the city and will minimize the noise and dust dis-amenities to surrounding land users.

Excerpted from: http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/STIStory_138274.html

track1.jpg

• Replies 37

it looks like a track and field stadium with a different color contrast.

then gonna have events like 400m, 800m, 3000m endurance?!?!?!?!?!

absolutely suX!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?nsdg;jkosdhg;oshad go;hsdao;ghwad;f

It's just like what we have in them bike training centres...that "mini" circuit for first-timers attending practical lessons :D

it looks like a track and field stadium with a different color contrast.

then gonna have events like 400m, 800m, 3000m endurance?!?!?!?!?!

absolutely suX!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?nsdg;jkosdhg;oshad go;hsdao;ghwad;f

I think the developers screwed up coz it is the wrong picture.

That looks more like the plans for Ama Keng Institute of Higher Learning sports complex. :faint:

it SG 1st ever official track....mean for motocross.

but atless it a small step for SG but a huge step for motorsport.

hopefully the car/bike track will come soon too...... :)

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

just to note....

a motocross track only captures motocross riders as well, for kids.

but a tarmac race track, will capture car and bike and high money regional motorsports. just look at sepang this year. apart from land issue(which i already found for them), what else can it be?

dun worry pal.....good news will comes(in mths)....for a tarmac 1.:cheeky:

Be happy for the dirtriders....dun complaint so much cuz it's a dirt track. We also can play dirt once in awhile for the heck of it too!

Tarmac track, also will have dirt riders cursing and swearing they build wrong track :lol:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

i think singapore race track will be multi functional.

1) whole track will be built underground with air conditioning.

2) under tarmac heating for tyres heat up....(sun heat stimulation)

3) underground track will serve as a bomb shelter.\

4) since underground, track will be open 24 hrs since got proper interior lighting

5) inside hospital which will be useful not only for track emergency, but during war crisis.

propose location, beneath CBD......every other country build taller and taller towers......while singapore build deeper and deeper tunnels

i think singapore race track will be multi functional.

1) whole track will be built underground with air conditioning.

2) under tarmac heating for tyres heat up....(sun heat stimulation)

3) underground track will serve as a bomb shelter.\

4) since underground, track will be open 24 hrs since got proper interior lighting

5) inside hospital which will be useful not only for track emergency, but during war crisis.

propose location, beneath CBD......every other country build taller and taller towers......while singapore build deeper and deeper tunnels

Ha, then monsoon period I dare not use SG underground track cuz I worry I get flood title for my bike :lol:

Let's hope they built the Tuas dirt track, then later they built the Tarmac track around the dirt track, and we have 2 tracks in 1 location....you can then watch the race from inside the track almost like a pit's view, not bad.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

we have 2 tracks in 1 location....you can then watch the race from inside the track almost like a pit's view, not bad.

sadly...it not that near....but not too far away for the tarmac 1.

as for proper 1.....even more far away.:cheeky:

u seem to know something mr melandri...........

care to share more

Wah.... ROV and TP will standby outside the track and TUAS area once its ready..... Big money, big money!!!!!

Dis kinda NEGATIVE remarks are usually from ppl who does not support motorsports..

Please leave ur NEGATIVE comment elsewhere NOT here.. :cool:

http://photos-519.friendster.com/e1/photos/91/53/29333519/29650247456167l.jpg

care to share more

Mr Pink Rossi......two works are in the pipeline.thats de max i could disclose.

but fear not...within 3mth...show heard 1....then maybe next yr can hear the grand one.

by then....dun need to go pg for quick fix liao.of course...sepeng still have to go la...cos local "standard" not there.:cheeky:

end of day.....it good news for tarmac lover.:thumb:

Wah.... ROV and TP will standby outside the track and TUAS area once its ready..... Big money, big money!!!!!

like that thinking...then take Bus,mrt better.dun even RIDE or drive lor.

want to play dun think of kanna caught.scare kanna...then dun play.:angel:

Mr Pink Rossi......two works are in the pipeline.thats de max i could disclose.

but fear not...within 3mth...show heard 1....then maybe next yr can hear the grand one.

by then....dun need to go pg for quick fix liao.of course...sepeng still have to go la...cos local "standard" not there.:cheeky:

end of day.....it good news for tarmac lover.:thumb:

you bring delightful news

Dis kinda NEGATIVE remarks are usually from ppl who does not support motorsports..

Please leave ur NEGATIVE comment elsewhere NOT here.. :cool:

if never put here, than put where.

not every singaporean RICH enough to transport their machines by van or lorry.