Southern Motors

• Replies 167

Originally posted by Pierrot@Mar 10 2005, 08:41 PM

*sigh* why do people still make purchases with these shops after reading the motor tiam rating thread? not to forget the posts on other threads about unhappy after sales service. PEOPLE! STOP BEING CARROTS!

:sian: My previous bike from there too, but its before i came to know about this forum, totally agree, wanna get chop also go other place, kena chop abit but still happi, but for this, :faint:

True.. i just came to know this forum a week ago. I was telling a close friend of mine.. how regretful i am.. If only i had read up this thread before.. i definitely am not stupid enuff to go and sign that HP document with them.

Like i said. This is gonna be the first, and the last time i ever deal with them. :cry:

The disappointing thing is, SYM Service Centre, which i called up b4 purchase recommended Ah-Tiong from Southern Strongly saying that he is someone nice to talk to, and someone who can explain things better to me.. Upon recommendation from them only, did i went to approach southern. Their sales is great, just that they shud improve more on their customer service and their company's representative.. The staff there all are just plain lazy idiots and that sucks.. They dun bother rendering any assistance or giving better explanations, and there are soo many hidden charges imposed, which is soo unfair.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v470/abdulhadi/avatarsignature.jpg

Guest quizesilver

guy let me share my exp abt southern

well they are quite gd to me at least

buy my spec 3 from them

with 4% interest

add up to 14k+

include all erp insurance rd tax or watever lar to get the bike on the rd

got my spec 3 then notice some scratch. tell them abt it they say nvm one. u ride 1st i will get a new set for u

my rear and front mud guard got the scratch live on the trust so i go off

take abt 2-3wk before change. awaiting for shipment. agreeable anyway change liao

then fix up volt meter then not the one i wan so i ask them to change lucky is also the meter got something wrong ... then tell ah tiong nt rite lei ... i wan this voltmeter but i am nt gett it and i show my frd volt meter to ah huat and ah huat also blur how come agent say only tis type and now totally different... let ah tiong know and he say nvm i will get for u ... did that for me also.

i feel they are overall gd and i do hope maybe try asking before commit anything

Guest quizesilver

btw all bike shop would not include the iu in the price cos it is cost by the lta not the bike shop earn.

so u go where all the same

150 + 3 (bracket) + 5% gst.

Originally posted by quizesilver@Mar 12 2005, 01:43 PM

btw all bike shop would not include the iu in the price cos it is cost by the lta not the bike shop earn.

so u go where all the same

150 + 3 (bracket) + 5% gst.

But at least they can / must explain to me during purchase. Instead of telling me Everything is inclusive.. transfer.. bla bla bla. I was under the impression that everything is everything lah. Cos when i bought my bike @ Mah.. they put on everything for me.. even my p plate was sticked on the bike during collection.

Nevertheless, thank god things went smoothly today. Went Southern this morning, and managed to settle the lost key issue. I spoke to them regarding the free box, and they said will call me again once the bracket is ready. (funny rite) i told them, wah.. bracket took soo long to arrive? two months already leh.. and guess what? they make a call, and told me to come on tuesday. Maybe its just a call away.. but they just dun bother to do it. Lucky i asked them, otherwise? When will i ever get the box anyway? Next year? or once i full-settled my instalment?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v470/abdulhadi/avatarsignature.jpg

Originally posted by varadidie@Mar 13 2005, 12:56 AM

But at least they can / must explain to me during purchase. Instead of telling me Everything is inclusive.. transfer.. bla bla bla. I was under the impression that everything is everything lah. Cos when i bought my bike @ Mah.. they put on everything for me.. even my p plate was sticked on the bike during collection.

Nevertheless, thank god things went smoothly today. Went Southern this morning, and managed to settle the lost key issue. I spoke to them regarding the free box, and they said will call me again once the bracket is ready. (funny rite) i told them, wah.. bracket took soo long to arrive? two months already leh.. and guess what? they make a call, and told me to come on tuesday. Maybe its just a call away.. but they just dun bother to do it. Lucky i asked them, otherwise? When will i ever get the box anyway? Next year? or once i full-settled my instalment?

use ur mei ren ji lah.....

Status update. Fixed the nut lose problem ald. At Planet, ah beng tried to remove the nuts inside the housing but it's sort of stuck (think it's too old?) and i told him to try lah, he very good tried best effort to help me, got a blow torch and burn it and dig n try remove it till he sweat so hard but to no avail. In the end they say bo bian have to change and help me order on the sopt and got one of their guys to go get it. For all this they charged me $80 for it. So luckily to get a new one at this price as Ah choon told me his done earn from this.

Althought they r unable to fix it for me, the new parts is so much cheaper than wat Southern quoted me.... :sian:

If dunno what i'm talking abt, refer to my earlier post.

28th Jan 05 - 16th April 06 Honda NSR SP150 (Pro-arm)

1st Apr 06 - Nov 06 Honda CB400SFYJ HyperVTEC, 17th Oct 06 - ???? Honda TA200 Phantom, Nov 06 - Apr 07 Honda Wave-R, Apr 07 - ???? Subaru Impreza AWD

<u>Official Road Trips</u>

7th-8th May 05 - Malacca (460km round)

2nd April 06 - Mersing (240km round)

6th-10th July 06 - P.Pinang ; Hatyai, Thailand (1900km round)

Southern Motor is the last shop i would go to.. Hidden cost everywhere.. + GST. + document fees, + transfer fees + extra $300 if you trade in ur bike to other shops without finishing all the instalments.. hiaz.. one more thing, they say all ok, change this change that but to me, all talking but no work done to the bike..

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

quote from SM

k5 22800 OTR 31yrs old interest @ 4.5% yrly

that's another 2% if i loan for 4yrs...

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

2005 Honda CBR1000RR5 FZ9xxxZ

2007 Honda Fit 1.5 Vtec SGU2xxxR

2008 Mitsubishi Colt Version R SJF9xxxG

guys, u know why u pay so much for the interest in southern. Go take your receipt and see. they times the interest 1st b4 minus the down payment u paid. so add up of cos lots more. how can they do that.

I find out these when one day i took out my receipt to calculate, find out paying few hundreds more for a phantom.

Thats y i dun buy bikes from them anymore. but the problem is, they got lots of big bikes like R1 which i wanna get. But still NO to them.

Guest vsgbike
Originally posted by jae_guan@Mar 19 2005, 04:21 PM

guys, u know why u pay so much for the interest in southern. Go take your receipt and see. they times the interest 1st b4 minus the down payment u paid. so add up of cos lots more. how can they do that.

I find out these when one day i took out my receipt to calculate, find out paying few hundreds more for a phantom.

Thats y i dun buy bikes from them anymore. but the problem is, they got lots of big bikes like R1 which i wanna get. But still NO to them.

Wa like that how can! Tot there's some sort of Hire-Purchase Act to follow ???

Juz brought my CBR 400 at southern the price was ok. But i could not test the bike as they cliam the batt is spoil cannot start. They said tat they will give mi 1month if any problem i juz push back they will change for free. I feel insucure now becos i am afriad that the bike might have problem. So any advice from ppl here? They took my IC for the transfer of bike. I did not pay them any $$ and also my trade-in bike log card i did not pass to him yet. But i sign all those doc already. If i wan to withdraw from the deal can i do so?

Originally posted by arsenal83@Apr 24 2005, 11:33 AM

Juz brought my CBR 400 at southern the price was ok. But i could not test the bike as they cliam the batt is spoil cannot start. They said tat they will give mi 1month if any problem i juz push back they will change for free. I feel insucure now becos i am afriad that the bike might have problem. So any advice from ppl here? They took my IC for the transfer of bike. I did not pay them any $$ and also my trade-in bike log card i did not pass to him yet. But i sign all those doc already. If i wan to withdraw from the deal can i do so?

u have sign already and pass them ur ic there no way u can back up .

those or tiam bikeshop just sweet tok u into paying deposit then will come out hideing price.then say give 1 mths warrenty ,got thing spoilt wheer will change free of charge hahaha,they will say u bring to other shop servicing make spoilt all kind of craps.

even if u are caution u also will kana carrot by them ,once pay deposit they can say still got the paper work fee ask u to pay

http://sticker.eepz.org/albums/digital-print-album/lap_top.sized.jpg

Originally posted by jae_guan@Mar 19 2005, 04:21 PM

there r alot of shops with big bikes beside tis

go look ard.. dun jus stay at 1 place

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by arsenal83@Apr 24 2005, 11:33 AM

dun worry lar... if they say give u one month warranty then shld not have any problem... i personally bought few bikes from them, they did give me their words... btw, u buy ur bike from who?... new southern or southern?...

speed is nothing without control!...

with greater power comes greater responsibilities!...

If u noe them well,this kind of problems wont surface..i got my current ride from them,they write down the prices in black and white before i sign the documents so no extra cost or things like they calculate the interest first before they minus ur downpay..

yeah basically if anyone wants to make a safe deal, list everything out in black and white. if the boss tells u verbally, tell him his word is not good enough (don't be afraid to offend them, YOU are the paying customer. YOU can always take your purchase elsewhere) and get him to put it in writing plus company stamp and his signature. calculate everything out properly before you do so and make sure the final costs are inspected by you and countersigned by the boss.

if anyone wants to save all this trouble and misunderstanding, hong leong and boon siew are always open. there are other official dealers as well so don't be suckered in for 'cheap' prices that accumulate in the long run.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

anybody got bike under finance from southern and they allow to coi + tranfer ownership?

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

2005 Honda CBR1000RR5 FZ9xxxZ

2007 Honda Fit 1.5 Vtec SGU2xxxR

2008 Mitsubishi Colt Version R SJF9xxxG

anyone recommend southern for major bike repair?? like complete overhaul??

or izzit better to go to JB as i got a fren living there and cud recommend me his mechanic..

im in 2 minds as in to go for singapore parts or JB cheap prices..

riding SP btw..

a good friend once said to me, "You will only be truly happy if you give your best in everything you do..."

and i thought to myself...

how true...

Woh , i was Just Thinking Of GettinG bike from them and I asked them to quote the price. (when i was there to survey )

The guy was pretty friendly he just play the calculator but nv write out in black and white which i could really refer to . :confused:

But after survey there found they gt a better price. so was wondering:giddy:

Ride saFe - PlaY haRd

heyy peeps! i recently bought my bike from them...i jus got one piece of advice for u guys...if u r getting a small bike lyk me...pay in full..lyk tt no way to kenna chop by e high interest...one more thing.. if u cant test ride e bike..check out EVERYTHING else then...check e fork oil seals, e chain worn out or too tight or too loose, any oil leaking aft u sway the bike from side to side, if can start e bike hear e sound..is e pipe cut, does e engine sound different from any of ur fren's bike of e same model, r e lights on e speedo n rpm meter working, brake lights signals n headlight working n not illegal, any loose fittings tt rattle about..when engine started jus clutch in n kick down to 1st gear then go back to neutral a few times...is it smooth or muz u drink red bull first then can shift..hahaha.. if any of these dun meet ur satisfaction then tell e guy tt u wan ALL these changed b4 u collect e bike or no deal... tts wad i did on my bike n i paid in full..for e 1st month to honour e requirement of e warranty jus go to them for servicing n other stuff...then aft tt if u feel tt they're hopeless feel free to go to other shops n it wont affect u cos u paid full..noone can say anything cos e whole damn bike belongs to u mah!!

jus my 2 cents worth to my fellow rider friends! pls feel free to comment...

Nov '06 - Mar '08 -------> '01 NSR150SP [Red/Black Honda Wings]

Mar '08 - Feb '10 -------> '07 CB400SF 'SuperFour' Spec III [Gun Metal Grey]

Nov '10 - current --------> '08 CBR1000RR 'Fireblade' [Candy Red/Black]