I need some help. i just recently bought a 2nd hand wave. There are some mods done on the bike by the previous owner not sure wat they r for but certainly not to add speed.

My bike can only go 80km/h. More than that there wld be like a piston jammed sound. I saw many other kups overtaking me with ease. If anyone ever encounter this problem before, kindy share. Thank you. :)

• Replies 584

Wad do u mean by piston jam sound????

Anyway, I usually travel at 70 or 80km/h on my Wave...

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg
  MilkMen said:

I need some help. i just recently bought a 2nd hand wave. There are some mods done on the bike by the previous owner not sure wat they r for but certainly not to add speed.

My bike can only go 80km/h. More than that there wld be like a piston jammed sound. I saw many other kups overtaking me with ease. If anyone ever encounter this problem before, kindy share. Thank you. :)

You must find out wat parts the previous owner mod to your bike then you can find out the problem.

Overhaul your Wave...

Naz said:

80km/h only? :faint:

My wave can go up to 273km/h at 5600rpm. :thumb:

Bro, think your piston ring / piston / con-rod etc. gone already.

Check these things, if you are hearing heavy metal knocking from your engine.

  conspiraC said:
My wave can go up to 273km/h at 5600rpm.

Naz said:

  conspiraC said:

Honda Airwave also cannot go so fast lor... haha

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg

not sure if it's the piston coz i asked a shop before and he said it the carburator. Btw is there any effect if an air filter is fitted? Many people have many different views. U guys ever experience this before?

  conspiraC said:

273km/h at 5600rpm??? Yours must be the renowed ''Tidal Wave"...

Class 3 - 22/11/1996

@ Kampong Ubi Driving Centre

Class 4 - 19/11/1999

@ Pan Country Driving Centre

Class 2B - 28/01/2005

@ Singapore Safety Driving Centre

Class 2A - 15/02/2011

@ Comfort Driving Centre

Class 2 - 17/02/2014

@ Comfort Driving Centre

  MilkMen said:
not sure if it's the piston coz i asked a shop before and he said it the carburator. Btw is there any effect if an air filter is fitted? Many people have many different views. U guys ever experience this before?

if dats da case, try to get da mechanic to chk it out, ask them to svc, setting and tune it back for u. The air filter is part of the breathing apparatus for the engine. Its sumthing like ur noes la, it filter the air dat goes into ur carb and ur engine lor.

Live To Ride, Ride To Live

In Fast Out Very Fast

Speeding Is My Hobby, Racing Is My Passion,

Zig-Zagging Is My Profession, Cornering Is My Game

So, Bring It On And Kip On Rolling....

yEAPP....tats ryt. Juz go for serv........see what can be done. It may turn out to be a serious Prob to yr Cub.

CheerX

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-YVDXr9jL_tY/TWF8NSTK0gI/AAAAAAAAAcs/qYJoFu19XWY/s320/DSC00549.JPG

I've actaully check wif a workshop. They told me it wld coz abt 250-300 to redo everything to orig. But i just wanna check wif u guys if u've encounter this same problem, maybe there's a cheaper method to solve it.

  Ashcroftx said:
Cheaper solution ====> Enter jb shops and ask them to do for u. would be

200 to 300 RM not sgd!

Hmmm. sounds like a good idea. But personally r they reliable? Never been to any in Johor before so not too sure. And do they always have ready stocks. Coz don't want later they say need to leave it there for a few days. I'll end up walking back. Hehehe. :p

Most of the time they have. Just ask them if they say need to leave for afew days. Its better to tell them that once they have stocks then u come in lor.

Servicing wise if u know afew of ur friends that go jb shops, ask them intro u lor

WARNING:do not leave ur bike to the mechanics if don really know them.from 1 problem to many problems.ok let me help u.

if no power already check piston

check the valve

check carburator(change or not)

check sprocket

last time my original wave can go 120-130

Jb.....is Where Cubs stocks can be easily gotten. No worry...they shall hav the stocks for ya. If one shop dun hav....try goin to next wann, No waste bro. They shall help you to solve yr problem...

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-YVDXr9jL_tY/TWF8NSTK0gI/AAAAAAAAAcs/qYJoFu19XWY/s320/DSC00549.JPG

maybe shld try put hamster inside and let it run, like dat i tink sure can go fast haha

Live To Ride, Ride To Live

In Fast Out Very Fast

Speeding Is My Hobby, Racing Is My Passion,

Zig-Zagging Is My Profession, Cornering Is My Game

So, Bring It On And Kip On Rolling....

Wat siaaaa put Hamster....U nonsense no. 1 laaa broo. Ppl talking seriously.....later kena put out by Moderators den u noe....Lost yr post.

hahahahha.........CheerX

gtet it checked..my giess is ur piston ring..is ur petrol high now??

wats ur FC

  MilkMen said:

You did say earlier, you heard these knocking sound as if piston jam. So could the fault be on the carb?

In JB, try not to leave your bike there.

If you know ppl who ever service there, ask them along. If not, like any other shop in singapore, just prepare your throat to be slit.

  Flaky_Boi said:

Honda Airwave also cannot go so fast lor... haha

I never say the honda wave as in honda wave the bike.

It's only 'honda wave decal' on a Gixxer 750.

So ... ok wat ... can go 273kmh ... the sticker only.

Anyway, i lied about the rpm being at 5600. hehe ... forget already. Dun ask. At 273, dun dare to take my eyes off the road.

hmm... got no more balls to open throttle further ... coz the road coming to an end. eerrppps :eek:

seriously how long can anyone hold at full throttle on the road. maybe on main stand can ah ....

Dynoed with yoshi only, at ... hmm ... also can't remember, dun think it hits 299km/h. ard 280-290 perhaps.

Gixxer 750 can go up to 299 meh? Like that gixxer 1000 can go to 435km/h? hehe