Sprockets & Chains

phatish

• Replies 304

MERGED THREAD

Topic : Rubbing sound coming from chain area

Description : Juz noticed today

I noticed like the chain rubbing on sumthing when moving.

When on mainstand i turned the rear wheel forward, no sound. But when i turned the rear wheel backwards, the sound seems to be coming from the chain slide area.

I juz changed to DID O-ring chain 2 days ago.

Is it true that the O-ring chain is a bit thicker than the normal chain? which then rubs on the side of the chain slide plastic?

Is there anyone who might have had same experience?

Linux User #463727

2007/06 - 2009/01:Suzuki GSR400

2009/01 - 2013/12:BMW F800ST

2013/12 - Current:Yamaha FJR1300A

We don't stop riding because we get old, we get old because we stop riding.

Originally posted by realdean@Mar 2 2006, 11:59 PM

I noticed like the chain rubbing on sumthing when moving.

When on mainstand i turned the rear wheel forward, no sound. But when i turned the rear wheel backwards, the sound seems to be coming from the chain slide area.

I juz changed to DID O-ring chain 2 days ago.

Is it true that the O-ring chain is a bit thicker than the normal chain? which then rubs on the side of the chain slide plastic?

Is there anyone who might have had same experience?

R u using the original chainguard? The one cover everything one? If u r pls open both and check your chain slider. The rubber that protects your chain from rubbing the swingarm. :goodluck: in trying.

if its metal sounds...

it'll probably be ur chain rubbing against the chain guard...

the nearest section which will cause the rubber is near the rear suspension side...

check there..

also, to confirm, check the links of ur chain, and should be able to see some scratching marks...

this is as far as i know..

cos i oso dun understand malay.. :sorry:

hope it helps.. :smile:

Riding With Passion, Kruzer Club Singapore

www.kruzer.sg

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/5359/bikeypulaumawar.jpg

if u're rich, dats fine. can change everything.

I believed he jus changed the chain?

428 should be a bigger chain, thus, when on the move, the tension and slacks in the chain will haf the probability of rubbing against certain sections of the chain guard, causing the sound.

this is jus a suggestion.

u can always check for any scratch marks first b4 doing any parts changing.

no point wasting money to rectify a wrong problem. :smile:

Riding With Passion, Kruzer Club Singapore

www.kruzer.sg

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/5359/bikeypulaumawar.jpg

Originally posted by beary@Mar 4 2006, 11:28 AM

if u're rich, dats fine. can change everything.

I believed he jus changed the chain?

428 should be a bigger chain, thus, when on the move, the tension and slacks in the chain will haf the probability of rubbing against certain sections of the chain guard, causing the sound.

this is jus a suggestion.

u can always check for any scratch marks first b4 doing any parts changing.

no point wasting money to rectify a wrong problem. :smile:

No scratch marks on the chain. its confirmed the outer side of the chain is rubbing the chain slider. i apply some grease at that point to reduce the rubbing noise.

The guy working @LAB told me that my chain slider is still new(in fact about a month old). The sound will diminish as it wears off. I need to monitor so that the metal part dont also wear off

Thanks guys for all the suggestions. Will update here. :cheer: o_O

Linux User #463727

2007/06 - 2009/01:Suzuki GSR400

2009/01 - 2013/12:BMW F800ST

2013/12 - Current:Yamaha FJR1300A

We don't stop riding because we get old, we get old because we stop riding.

MERGED THREAD

Topic : wad is the standart price for chain n sproket set?

Description : Nil

hi hi, i've been lookin for chain n sprocket set to change wit my present ones..but i'm looking for max speed range. i went to thye teck yesterday n he quote me 100bucks for osaki racing chain n sproket set. i was surprise cuz i bought a norm set for onli 18( i tink or less than 25bucks) at bukit merah..

so ny of u guys hv any place?state the address n estimated price range..thanks, bros.

Be a safety rider,

keep left always;

but once opportunity comes to race,

keep focus sit tight n turn the trottle...

let the race begins..

chase the X-1 GTR

Normal PRices are around $20--$30plus...chain and sproket.....

Unless its better quality....

but i think normal ones will do.....

the size of the sproket is the one that matters too...

Accident Reported @ 17/12/05 9.15pm AMK ave 10

Storage List..........VACum PAcked....

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

2004-???? Honda Wave R 125

MERGED THREAD

Topic : Chain Care!

Description : Share on Chain Maintenance!

hey peeps,

just bought Maxima Chain Wax recently..

couldnt find Chain Guard so no choice just bought this for $11 bucks..

what are the benefits of a well-taken chain besides the looks(shiny and glittering)?

i guess its a prolonged life-span... huh?

now the smell is solid around my chain(cuz of the wax)..and its quite shimmy too..

what maintenances you guys do?

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

Originally posted by I_Ride_A_Bike@Aug 24 2006, 03:59 PM

couldnt find Chain Guard so no choice just bought this for $11 bucks..

is the Chain Guard u mentioned a brand of chain wax or a real chain guard?

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

try Maxima Chain Lube... Its better

Combo with GT85... Much better...

Just my 2cent... btw.. been using the combo for 5 months now...

hope tis helps............

Life is unfair.. It is fair.. Coz it is unfair to everybody..

Life's too short to waste..

Enjoy every moment as if it was your last..

Originally posted by I_Ride_A_Bike@Aug 24 2006, 03:59 PM

what are the benefits of a well-taken chain besides the looks(shiny and glittering)?

i guess its a prolonged life-span... huh?

what maintenances you guys do?

Better fuel consumption and smoother ride.

Use kerosene to degrease,soap to wash and chain wax to lube.

Cheers !

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b12/Ah_Hia00/Thai/MaeSod.jpg

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

25th Dec 2005 to 9th Jan 2006

Singapore - Malaysia - Thailand

Total Distance Covered ~ 7000+ km

Originally posted by Thai_R@Aug 25 2006, 01:09 PM

bro, do you acually remove the whole chain and wash it in a bucket or something?

And how many km can a chain last? I dunno whether I should change my chain..

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Originally posted by Thai_R@Aug 25 2006, 01:09 PM

bro, do you acually remove the whole chain and wash it in a bucket or something?

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

commonly if u are free to do dat ah

use kerosene to wash the chain but be careful not to leave the keorsene on the chain too long as it will damage the chain especially those with O rings

after u use kerosene to clean the dirt make sure u use the soap water to wash thoroghly

den lubricate it with wax or lube.

this could take a long time if ur bike got no mainstand...

http://www.mototriti.gr/jpg/mtr/390/NEWS/1809093.jpg

my chain doesnt really look any different from afar off but when u go nearer, can see its 'wetter' than chains which arent manintained...

hope the chain is good to last 20k...dunno why it is necessary to maintain a good chain..maybe mentally can rest better..smoother ride and improved mileage still yet to experience..

Two Wheelers By Choice!

Ride Right to Live.

Originally posted by bubu@Aug 26 2006, 03:10 AM

can use engine degreaser also......my worker use mine to spray on his bike chain..........clean clean swee swee no need take out :cheeky:

Most/Almost all engine degreasers contain harmful chemicals which may/will corrode the soft rubber O rings inside the chain links.

Chain manufacturers strongly reccomend the use of kerosene to clean the chain.

After all, they know what's best for the chain right ?

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

Originally posted by Thai_R@Aug 26 2006, 03:16 AM

Most/Almost all engine degreasers contain harmful chemicals which may/will corrode the soft rubber O rings inside the chain links.

Chain manufacturers strongly reccomend the use of kerosene to clean the chain.

After all, they know what's best for the chain right ?

haha...easy way mah.........anyway we gonna change the chain soon mah....not that exp also.....can save time go shopping with wife.....but ho in the end spend more :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y34/boychs/417781_52-1.jpg?t=1190092662

SHare some secrets.

Those who don have main stand, can get the manual car jack at hardware shop. Jack up ur bike can liao.

Next, i don't use kerosene, coz very troublesome, have to buy a metal tin from petrol kiosk, then pump in, in the end can get quite very messy.

My secret is use zippo lighter fluid refill oil. Squeeze some fluid onto any oily or greesy chain, swingarms, or rims, and wipe it off like magic. And its cheap, one small bottle 2-3 bucks only. Can use many times.

After that can do the washing and waxing liao. :cheer:

Originally posted by na3r1@Aug 25 2006, 04:05 PM

U dun remove the chain to clean it.

1) Pour kerosene into a small container

2) Use a soft bristle brush ,eg. paint brush

3) dip brush into kerosene and brush throughout the chain links

4) use bike wash shampoo to wash off kerosene after cleaning

5) take the bike out for a short 5min ride to warm up the chain

6) chain lube/wax adheres to warmed up chain/links/o rings

7) spray evenly on the outside links, top and inner links

8) remember even coats and not douse the chain in lube/wax

Cheers !