any pilot's here?

Know your EFIS to your Standby Altimeters? How about where the TO/GA switches are?

This 3-year old girl knows the 777 cockpit like she knows her ABC's.

Somebody sponsor her flight training now! :cheeky:

That's amazing! Her father must have been talking to his wife's tummy about flight instruments ever-since she was pregnant.

• Replies 931

That's an understatement. You have not seen the worst accidents yet.

Best part is, it all happened on short final.

Fancy a minute to do the emergency checklist before the wheels touch the ground?

How about the pax? :giddy:

Any idea what they would do to the aircraft after its been removed from the area?

Condemn and sell the metal for scrap/recycling?.. Seems the damage is quite severe and may affect the airworthiness of the aircraft.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Any idea what they would do to the aircraft after its been removed from the area?

Condemn and sell the metal for scrap/recycling?.. Seems the damage is quite severe and may affect the airworthiness of the aircraft.

I heard from people working in that line that it's either replacement parts, or an aircraft write-off.

Much like how a person decides whether it's profitable to keep his bike after he buangs it, or to just scrap it.

My workplace airs CNN; I have seen pictures of that 777...newscaster said the landing gear "tore off", and when I looked at its starboard side engine.... seems to me it had taken a lot of the scraping from the rough ground as the nacelles (panels) are broken off.

I'm guessing it'll return to service since the damage was done to just to one of the engines and the bottom fuselage.

wah.. seems like all the pilots here have left for international flights..

nobody left to post any aviation stuff:)

wah.. seems like all the pilots here have left for international flights..

nobody left to post any aviation stuff:)

Waaah....i wanna free flight and cockpit jumpseat :weep:

my uncle told me he travelled cheaply the last time (donkey years back) by coming on board cargo airliners as dunno wats the term... they carry the package on board instead of their luggage in exchange for a free seat.

i doubt it's still available now with what the 9/11 paranoia and shyt

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

my uncle told me he travelled cheaply the last time (donkey years back) by coming on board cargo airliners as dunno wats the term... they carry the package on board instead of their luggage in exchange for a free seat.

i doubt it's still available now with what the 9/11 paranoia and shyt

wow.. that's interesting. But im not quite clear what you mean.

Is it something like this?: I go to the cargo airline company and say I wanna be a 'pillion' in one of their flights?

btw folks, seems that the weather is causing some distress to the aviation industry.

Floods at Jakarta and I think the snow and ice in China is also causing some flight delays.

I wonder how much the turnarounds for the 2 SQ flights which headed back to Changi cost the airline. Apparently the Jakarta airport closed while the flights were already en-route.

And in today's paper, an SQ B772 also had to turn back to Changi after the pilot sensed a loss of cabin pressure. Read in an airline interest forum that the plane made a rapid descent from 36000 to 10000ft.

was en route from qatar to SG turbulence was bad. but qatar airways the landing was super smooth... sorry but comparing to SQ is still rough :D

ah i got the term... u fly for courier companies by accompanying their luggage to the destination city as its faster to clear customs... and cheaper.

http://beatthemonkey.com/cheaptickets/

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

anybody's kind enuff to lend me the fsx dvd? or fs2004 will do as well.. i miss flight-simming badly..

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg
anybody's kind enuff to lend me the fsx dvd? or fs2004 will do as well.. i miss flight-simming badly..

Dude,

Microsoft FS X's discs come with anti-piracy techniques in which you need to keep the DVD (or CD's) inserted in your computer for you to play the game. It won't work anymore if you were to return it to your friend.

Moreover, I'm not sure whether there's online activation for this game...I know all other Microshaft products do...

P.S.: I also have stopped since 2007 because of my busy schedule...totally forgot about it. I probably will resume when i get a powerful Dual-Core computer that's beefcaked :pray:

anyone plan to go on the 6th?? think its walk in bah....

Ride safe, or else urs will be the one I'm looking at, at work!!!! :cool:

http://www.visualsunlimited.com/images/watermarked/992/99279.jpg

ah chua u going ah? msn me... but i dont think this is for ab initio people leh... more like seasoned pilots who wanna make the switch over?

btw... if the issue is leaving the DVD in the drive "physically"... i think can try to circumvent by making an ISO of the DVD and then mounting the ISO as a "physical" DVD drive in the PC :D

unless u cant even make a copy of the ISO then too bad :S

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

tat's wat i tot too.... but will go down on sunday... wan to come along?!

Ugh...I wanna tag along but i can't go. Leaving the country. Shucks. :(

Anyways, doing FSX the emulation way (i.e. ripping the CD/DVD onto ISO and then running the ISO as a virtual CD) is a 50/50 kinda thing.

It *may* fail when the disc itself physically has embedded "hidden" data track(s), or purposely scrambled data.

The former won't get copied to the ISO so it's like a useless virtual disc that can't start FSX, whereas the latter case the disc copying *may* fail and again, a useless virtual disc.

However, some disc ripping/emulation software do have techniques to circumvent this anti-copying techniques but you have to tell it what kind of disc was inserted. Trial and error from hereon.

**Not trying to promote piracy here, but this is for knowledge and FYI only.

darn y is fsx so advanced... any of u used to join virtual airlines? i used to fly with Cathay Pacific Virtual..

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg

Jus went there this morning... See the poster, I u-turn liao... they are looking for QUALIFIED PILOTS only.....

darn y is fsx so advanced... any of u used to join virtual airlines? i used to fly with Cathay Pacific Virtual..

SIA VA, Mesa Airlines VA.

But I didn't stay long as I didn't understood and didn't benefit from their pilot rosters and requirements.

Jus went there this morning... See the poster, I u-turn liao... they are looking for QUALIFIED PILOTS only.....

:D thanks for making the effort to go down

i think normally lah... ab initio program is to help the airliners own countrymen be introduced into the industry... unless too desperate like SQ :D

is there really a short pool of qualified people for SQ ab initio that they have to look elsewhere in now... as far as hongkong? just makes me wonder... every tom, deek and harry has a degree anyway these days

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

mocca, when u taking ppl?? shucks, now those flying club got new rules about completing the course. Jus check with them a mth ago, they say have to complete within 9 mth....

To budget-constraint ppl like us, I think its bad news.......

mocca, when u taking ppl?? shucks, now those flying club got new rules about completing the course. Jus check with them a mth ago, they say have to complete within 9 mth....

To budget-constraint ppl like us, I think its bad news.......

Like this, I'd sell my expensive bike to pay for my lessons can liao :giddy:

can lar... take a bank loan lor... is not the money its the time. how many hours u supposed to clock and also clear those theory papers? remember u only have the weekend man...

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...