any pilot's here?

i think you think too much... it's like riding... what pushed you to take up riding... i thought i love flying before i started flying... now after flying for 3-4 years... i come to know that i really love flying... just like riding... FREE... VERY FREE in the air..

Yah loh flying cessna is fun.:cheer:

We R One!

• Replies 931

I am not an SIA pilot, but a struggling undergrad. Different people may define passion for flying in a different manner. But to me, someone with such a passion:

*thinks that the aircraft is such a beautiful object

*looks upwards at the sight/sound of a passing aircraft

*is amazed by the flight deck

*appreciates the fact that such a big piece of metal can overcome gravity

*most importantly, enjoys working with the machine. With all the challenges that come with it.

And doesnt give a **** about high pay, SIA girls, inflight entertainment, food and whatever ****

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

I suppose you folks read about the Air India pilots who 'fell asleep' en-route to mumbai? :cheeky:

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Sunnyday is the only one here so far i can be sure is either an sia pilot already or still in training.

I can confirm retro is a ATPL/IR rated pilot. He has lots of flying hours bro.

I am not an SIA pilot, but a struggling undergrad. Different people may define passion for flying in a different manner. But to me, someone with such a passion:

*most importantly, enjoys working with the machine. With all the challenges that come with it.

And doesnt give a **** about high pay, SIA girls, inflight entertainment, food and whatever ****

I wanted to say "Amen" to that, but apart from money, other commitments don't allow me to take up flying. :sob:

Can i ask a question to any sia pilots here?

What are the similarities between riding a bike and a plane in a practical sense.

While I'm not an SIA pilot (or one that holds a PPL at least; I only had some simulator time), the similarities in both is in that both have to have increased concentration while operating their vehicles.

The only difference? You'll be in intense concentration mode monitoring your cockpit's instrumentation and turning/adjusting more switches and controls more than when one simply and easily checks his speedometer/RPM/Engine temperature whilst shifting up/down gears on his motorbike.

Im not referring to paper aeroplanes retro. :D

you asked for opinions and now i gave you mine... i am totally not amused with the reply... thanks

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

I can confirm retro is a ATPL/IR rated pilot. He has lots of flying hours bro.

still short of hours for ATPL... now only CPL.... anyway my IR expired... sigh.. no need for daily operations... unless i pay for flight test to revive it!!!

i am sad to say nowadays not many ppl are like this... some joined SIA cos they happen to see the recruitment notice and so happen to get thru the interview and onto the course without even knowing wat ailerons, elevators rudders are... they are here for the glamour, lifestyle and of course $$$$... not the best paying job out there but still one of the top...

And how did u comfirm that?

i can confirm..

those who know him will confirm :sian:

still short of hours for ATPL... now only CPL.... anyway my IR expired... sigh.. no need for daily operations... unless i pay for flight test to revive it!!!

How long does it take for an IR to expire?

Just curious, what is the remuneration of a SQ pilot?

Went to the airport recently and suddenly I thought being a pilot is really an interesting job!

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
i am sad to say nowadays not many ppl are like this... some joined SIA cos they happen to see the recruitment notice and so happen to get thru the interview and onto the course without even knowing wat ailerons, elevators rudders are... they are here for the glamour, lifestyle and of course $$$$... not the best paying job out there but still one of the top...

Yah loh... and these people know how to market themselves and networking also...become high flyers. :dot:

We R One!

May I ask, do flying clubs in Malaysia allow public to rent a small plane and an instructor for a trial flight just so that I can get a taste of flying in a small prop plane? what's the rate like?

yeah!!! i think can lah...

check this out!!! my friend used to work there...

http://www.eliteflyingclub.com/AircraftRental.htm

Hiz!

Juz asking is it a requirement to learn Morse code for ATPL?

How many of u guys know?

Hiz!

Juz asking is it a requirement to learn Morse code for ATPL?

How many of u guys know?

not anymore... dee dah... :cheeky:

Need meh?

was it taught anyway?

it was taught for military flying but doesnt emphasise on it a lot.

no need already? :gun:

no need liao....

Need meh?

was it taught anyway?

it was taught for military flying but doesnt emphasise on it a lot.

was taught lor... a-z only mah.. lots of program online to help you learn.

Hi guys!

Juz asking why is Magnetic North preferred over True North when it comes to navigations and instrument displays?