• Replies 18.3k

• VidaK

• kmax

• Kevs

• jtzx

:cheer: nikon :cheer:

P90 picture lose Olympus and Fujifilm.

Hmm other than the Panasonic LX3, I hear that the Canon Powershot G10 is pretty good too. Then again, really need to research and see which one suits your liking and your budget. Also depends on what you really need eg: picture quality, zoom, macro, aperture etc..

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing." Helen Keller

www.kruzer.sg

:cheer: nikon :cheer:

Ups for #1 camera reowned brand :thumb:

not enough zoom for my liking.

Telephoto lense for you Sir? :deal:

:lol: you mean what you see on the small display screen from the camera? There's no way Nikon will lose to Stepped up Olympus :lol:

i need a DC leh...if not my ah_girl still cant get over her pixon...den no photos to be taken....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

The one that got pillion lor...

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

paiseh.. i just saw lunloon calling for me... erm..

before i start going into whatever camera etc etc...

ask yourself what is your needs first..

maybe can give more details like what you be using it for.. etc etc so i can better advise you..

MP aka mega pixel - having more mega pixel not equal the camera damn zai..

most point and shoot (p&s) camera has a very small sensor but bump up to huge mega pixel.. (i can safely tell you my dslr 8mp produce better photos than my samsung p&s 12mp)

zoom - yup if you are looking for all in one with good tele zoom.. i rather you get a prosumer camera (which i believe is those listed above) will look out for you if any of them has any anti-shake function alike thingy

colors - i see this as most impt factor for me.. coz its a choice between spending more time taking photos with accurate colors vs spending time behind my mac and adjusting the color to acual scene

video - i always see videos on camera as good to have function.. but not critical. if you want to do video, you should be looking at video cams.. using video mode on camera body are not too good for the camera sensor as they might overheat and stuff.. (i have no facts but was told by a friend who works in a camera shop)

just food for thought.. sometimes when some female friends ask me what camera to buy and which is the best.. i was like thinking if i recommend her a dslr.. as if she will bring it out.. in the end sometimes i just recommend her some PINK so*y camera and she is already over the moon.

i will follow up with another post after i checked out the 4 camera listed above coz i believed you already done some research and narrow down liao.. :D

(\__/)

(='.'=) This is Bunny. Paste bunny into

(")_(") your sig to help him gain world domination

just to add.. i realised you wasn't looking at canon sx10is in which is a super telezoom prosumer camera.. so i added in and give an analyze on these camera

my 2 cents thought on:

oly 590

zoom 26x zoom (26 - 676mm)

megapixel 12MP (43 MP/cm²)

weight 413g

aperture F2.8 - F5.0

video 640 x 480 mono audio 30fps

continuous shooting mode 6fps at 5mp

clean at iso 100 (higher better)

sensor-shift image stabilisation system

sharp centre, corners distorted with chromatic aberration

battery 4x AA

strength - strong flash at 9m iso800

nikon p90

24x zoom (26 - 624mm)

12MP (43 MP/cm²)

400g - wins but..

F2.8 - F5.0

640 x 480 mono audio 30fps

1.5fps (5fps limited to 3mega pixel)

iso 200

sensor-shift image stabilisation

sharp centre, corner sharpness quite good, has distortion control function

nikon li-ion

strength biggest lcd, but pixel is the same..

camera itself has function to edit photo on the spot inside camera

excellent in terms of picture quality and color reproduction

canon sx10is

20x zoom (28 - 560mm)

10MP (35 MP/cm²)

600g

F2.8 - F5.7

640 x 480 stereo audio 30fps

0.7fps at 10MP

iso 200

lens-shift image stabilisation system

best sharpness at centre, and corner sharpness, lens has minimal distortion

4xAA

strength

best in terms of picture quality and color reproduction

tilt-able lcd (good for cam whoring or difficult angles)

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare_post.asp?method=sidebyside&cameras=canon_sx10is%2Cnikon_cpp90%2Coly_sp590uz&show=all

-------------------

summary:

zoom - if you wanna take at 600mm, you at least need a 1/600 shutter speed to be sharp, even with IS, but limitation of a not so bright aperture f5.0, i would say its a challenge to get a sharp and clean, usable picture.

high chance, you will prob have a sharp, but noisy picture in which the noise make your pic looked fuzzy and you are back to square one. what i am trying to say here is not much diff beyond 20x zoom.. they are nice on paper, but photos not so usable

megapixel - given the same sensor size, canon sx10is has the lower MP among them, which translate to possible picture quality. normal usage for us, either keep in computer or print 4r.. unless you are thinking of printing it poster A1 or A0 size, then megapixel and raw photos file come into play.

weight - all 3 are built with good quality plastic with metal on the lens barrel

aperture - smaller number = more light can come in = better

f2.8 - f5 means at your widest (zoom out) you can use f2.8

while when you zoom to 20+x zoom, you can only use f5

video - more or less abt there.. except canon uses stereo audio input

continuous shooting - unless you take sports or fast action stuff.. otherwise i dun see a need. btw, this continuous shoot doesnt focus after each shot, so if you have a guy running towards you, probably only the first photo is sharp..

iso - iso simply means to make your sensor more sensitive to the lights coming in, resulting noise on the photo. in short, both canon and nikon has better noise control over oly

anti-shake - only canon has image stabilizer on lens while the other 2 has it on sensor.. hmmz i think for prosumer case.. i dun see much diff.. but it makes a big diff in the world of dslr which i shall not go on

sharpness and color - as expected.. i would have guess canon and nikon has better sharpness and color.. compare yourself here

http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-cameras/review/2009/04/09/Olympus-SP-590UZ/p6

http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-cameras/review/2009/04/30/Nikon-Coolpix-P90/p6

http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-cameras/review/2009/01/23/Canon-PowerShot-SX10-IS/p6

batteries - AA rechargables are much easy to get and esp if you go overeas trip.. can just get AA from any and everywhere..

final conclusion - i would recommend canon sx10is based on its better picture quality as well as color reproduction. hard for me to imagine that the extra zoom is a need as i highly suspect that the picture wun turn out as good as you imagined it to be..

in case you use until sian and wanna upgrade in future.. i believe canon and nikon has a higher resale value...

i often like to categorize the camera brands..

can*n & nik*n - can't go very wrong with them

so*y - stylish and ex

fujifi*m - best vivid colors (and noise control on some of their p&s camera.. great for late evening/night photos without flash)

oly* - better as sports camera (waterproof.. shock proof etc etc) as other maker dun offer them.

cas*o - they really got a lot of fun template in their cameras..

ok thats about it.. sorry for the long 2 cents.. time to sleep liao..

if i post or quoted any info wrongly just let me know or share with everyone here.. we all here to learn

Edited by [Wizard]

(\__/)

well.. i am not sure about compact models.. but definitely i'd choose nikon if i were to spend on camera..

anyway.. i am using this

http://www.olympusimage.com.sg/products/compact/sw_mju_series/mju1050sw/

only option of toughness, can take picture in rain, water, beach.. drop also no problem.

but image quality ... :sian: my sony ericsson handphone got better quality than olympus..

not enough zoom for my liking.

I'm using the Panasonic Lumix FZ28.

"A Super-Versatile Digital Camera 10.1-Megapixel DMC-FZ28 with 27mm Wide-Angle and Powerful 18x Optical Zoom Lens* Featuring Easy Manual Operation"

My photography needs are pretty much point-&-shoot. So far so good.

Sample photos are in my FB albums (NZ vacation) if you interested to see.

I'm using the Panasonic Lumix FZ28.

"A Super-Versatile Digital Camera 10.1-Megapixel DMC-FZ28 with 27mm Wide-Angle and Powerful 18x Optical Zoom Lens* Featuring Easy Manual Operation"

My photography needs are pretty much point-&-shoot. So far so good.

Sample photos are in my FB albums (NZ vacation) if you interested to see.

u have a excellent camera...

i am using the Panasonic lumix DMC FZ1.....only 2 mp....hahhaha still take good pictures..this one is the grand cho kong of ourrent FZ series.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Yes man! You're the pro camera here in our PK.

CS, I wanna ask you the brother of camera. VIDEO CAMERA.

These are what I wanted:

- Cheap

- Capture decent video while riding daily. ( Night time optional )

- Able to record at least 30mins of recording.

- It have to be small

I hesitate to pay for a Creative Vado less than 300 just to film my ride.

I bump to this thread here http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=237725&page=2&highlight=creative+vado

I use my lousy cell and record, it aim the ground instead. Heh heh.

Learning how to ride upright position.

Any recommend for these cheapo devices?

;5484640']paiseh.. i just saw lunloon calling for me... erm..

before i start going into whatever camera etc etc...

ask yourself what is your needs first..

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

Hmm other than the Panasonic LX3, I hear that the Canon Powershot G10 is pretty good too. Then again, really need to research and see which one suits your liking and your budget. Also depends on what you really need eg: picture quality, zoom, macro, aperture etc..

that's what i am doing, catch me on Clubsnap and SBF hobby thread

Basically G10 also same like LX3, no enough zoom.

Ups for #1 camera reowned brand :thumb:

Telephoto lense for you Sir? :deal:

:lol: you mean what you see on the small display screen from the camera? There's no way Nikon will lose to Stepped up Olympus :lol:

Yes way,

Looking at pictures on computer screens made a lot of difference between richness of colours.

Fujifilm thrash all btw. if the S100FS aint so big I also wont need so headache.

At least give me a 12x zoom. like the Panasonic TZ7.

;5484645']just to add.. i realised you wasn't looking at canon sx10is in which is a super telezoom prosumer camera.. so i added in and give an analyze on these camera

my 2 cents thought on:

ok thats about it.. sorry for the long 2 cents.. time to sleep liao..

if i post or quoted any info wrongly just let me know or share with everyone here.. we all here to learn

Haha you got my page.

Thanks for the input on the additional contender. Shall look into it as well.

Basically what I want from this camera is...

Dun wan to be too big (S100FS is too big)

A bit of zoom for versatility (LX3 only 5X, good for close, not good else)

Noise control at higher ISO

Can sneak into concerts

Would be good with low light photo taking (which is a common ire for many i think)

Of cos colours must be nice la, red must be red and not orange.

BTW, which one would you suggest that can comply with the above conditions of mine?

May be looking at the Panasonic Lumix TZ7 in the end.

hey, morning all

anybody going down to planet tmr?

will it be pack in the morning?

"We all have ability. The difference is how we use it."

Wah CS you spent 2 1/2 hrs typing that out. Is there a photography club in SMU?

yes there is.. smusaic.sg

we got a little studio along the concourse.. sometimes you can find me there :)

(\__/)

hey, morning all

anybody going down to planet tmr?

will it be pack in the morning?

hmmz if you go down at abt 9 or 930 it wun be packed

(\__/)

Yes man! You're the pro camera here in our PK.

CS, I wanna ask you the brother of camera. VIDEO CAMERA.

These are what I wanted:

- Cheap

- Capture decent video while riding daily. ( Night time optional )

- Able to record at least 30mins of recording.

- It have to be small

I hesitate to pay for a Creative Vado less than 300 just to film my ride.

I bump to this thread here http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=237725&page=2&highlight=creative+vado

I use my lousy cell and record, it aim the ground instead. Heh heh.

Learning how to ride upright position.

Any recommend for these cheapo devices?

ay laoda.. actually i have no knowledge of video cams.. cause i dun own one myself.. but looking at your req.. you thinking of mounting onto bike? if thats the case you may want to look at those small stalls along simlim sq.. aka china made video cams.. that always boost small and powerful one..

but that being said.. paiseh i nv touch nv video cams b4 so i really got no idea..

(\__/)

;5485473']hmmz if you go down at abt 9 or 930 it wun be packed

okay. thanks. they do accept nets right?:angel:

"We all have ability. The difference is how we use it."