Nice to have those chinese version that comes with a tachometer. Would definitely help us in engine idling adjustments as well as gear changing. Now just agar-agar by feeling only. The meter also looks more sophiscated as compared to sg version.

Visited that chinese forum and the guy was actually doing a mod to the lightings in the meter unit by replacing the conventional bulbs with super bright LEDs. Interesting. Maybe Merboy may wanna try it for your blown fifth gear lamp. One thing is that the forum connection is rather slow. Need to have some time to wait for the pages to load.

• Replies 4.2k

Nice to have those chinese version that comes with a tachometer. Would definitely help us in engine idling adjustments as well as gear changing. Now just agar-agar by feeling only. The meter also looks more sophiscated as compared to sg version.

Visited that chinese forum and the guy was actually doing a mod to the lightings in the meter unit by replacing the conventional bulbs with super bright LEDs. Interesting. Maybe Merboy may wanna try it for your blown fifth gear lamp. One thing is that the forum connection is rather slow. Need to have some time to wait for the pages to load.

btw, i've fixed my blown gear bulb, nid to tk out the whole front fairing. my mandarin is nt tt gd, maybe some of the well versed rider can help us all to enquire abt the china head display in the chinese forum.

Think it will be quite ex to order in the China version of the meter ($200 maybe?), if really keen to get a tachometer, may be cheaper to just fix an after-market tachometer at JB Ah-boy.

Darn! We should have gotten that original meter for free!

Hey Merboy - u tune the air-fuel screw of the cab? or did u open it up and adjust the needle?

CBF riders & place of residence

Delusi0n - Bedok

theforce - Ang Mo Kio

imzf - Chua Chu Kang

Yeoman - Jurong East

i saw one cbf150 at block 210 there.. is it urs?? hee

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

Think it will be quite ex to order in the China version of the meter ($200 maybe?), if really keen to get a tachometer, may be cheaper to just fix an after-market tachometer at JB Ah-boy.

Darn! We should have gotten that original meter for free!

Hey Merboy - u tune the air-fuel screw of the cab? or did u open it up and adjust the needle?

i play ard wif the two screws. all by feeling. nw while riding my bike, it feel lighter...
i saw one cbf150 at block 210 there.. is it urs?? hee

Nope, I am staying near to jurong east central. :)

btw, i've fixed my blown gear bulb, nid to tk out the whole front fairing. my mandarin is nt tt gd, maybe some of the well versed rider can help us all to enquire abt the china head display in the chinese forum.

I am quite ok in chinese but the problem is that the forum website is slow in loading. I am thinking of finding my ex china suppliers to enquire on the meter unit. Any outcome will let u guys know. :)

After reading some of the posts in the chinese forum, I am really impressed by the thread starter Mr Canon for his DIY works. It really inspire me alot. DIY tasks ranging from meter LED light mod, air filter and spark plug replacement to more challenging internal engine oil filter gauze replacement and cam timing settings using feeler gauge. OMG... making my hand so itchy... hee hee...

CBF riders & place of residence

Delusi0n - Bedok

theforce - Ang Mo Kio (Blue)

imzf - Chua Chu Kang

Yeoman - Jurong East (Black)

Jaggy - Sengkang (Red)

Merboy - Jurong West Ext (Black)

i play ard wif the two screws. all by feeling. nw while riding my bike, it feel lighter...

ok thanks, think thats the air intake screw u are fiddling with, I'm itching to try some tuning too, but too lazy and busy lah. So will bug Boon Siew to tune for me hehe ...

Btw just for info - I rode untill I hit reserve today, hit 354km afterwhich I had to switch to reserve. Later pump about 9.3L of Mobil 92, so that works out to be around 38+km/L for my bike ...

Anyone else tried riding till you hit reserve?

After reading some of the posts in the chinese forum, I am really impressed by the thread starter Mr Canon for his DIY works. It really inspire me alot. DIY tasks ranging from meter LED light mod, air filter and spark plug replacement to more challenging internal engine oil filter gauze replacement and cam timing settings using feeler gauge. OMG... making my hand so itchy... hee hee...

Hey Yeoman I read some parts of the forum. The internal of the CBF engine and gearbox certainly looks well-designed, very 'clean' layout which is suitable for DIY. But we'll have to get the neccessary gasket first before we start opening up.

I think its still too early for us to open up the crankcase, gearbox etc since our bikes are so new. Think at 8-10,000 km mark will be a good time, at least got something to clean or adjust. Be sure to jio me!

Nope, I am staying near to jurong east central. :)

which part of central? me stay near imm.. looking at a few bikes to buy.. cbf 150 is one of them.. if stay near near, was thinking of meeting u up to ask u abt ur bike.. hehe

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

guys, i'm willing to order the complete head display with RPM. my next servicing will be at 5500km at boonsiew. any1 had already installed SCOTOILER. i would like to install also.

Scotoiler is gd but I feel that our underseat compartment maybe not enuff space to put... :sian:

Today I heard a disturbing rattling sound from my bike, a thousand thoughts float through my mind "Is the made-in-China quality finally showing up? Did I have too much faith in Honda's engineering" I made several stops to find the source of the sound to no avail. I checked every screws, felt every bracket, basically check everything that could have possibly came loose. When I found nothing, my imagination ran wild, I though since the sound did not come from the exterior, it must have came from within the engine. Super sianz, felt my world crashing down, a bad omen, this could be the first sign that the CBF will be a problematic bike.... Then I saw that my erp unit cover was not closed, I had previously took out my cashcard halfway through my journey as I have a tendency to forget it. Shut the cover properly.... the rattling sound vanished... Silly me, its just my unclosed ERP unit cover. hehehehe sorry guys, had to write some nonsense :p but its a true story k

Ha Ha...I had the same experince with my Super 4. Stopped at the junction and pushed bike to the pavement to check.

------------------------------------------

1996-1999 Hurricane 400cc

2000-2007 CB400 Vtec 1

2007- CB400 Vtec 1 / CBF 150

my bike haven start for 1 wk ++ liao... shld i take out the batt?? :sian:

1-2 weeks should be no problem. Not necessary to take out battery unless if it is more than a month.

which part of central? me stay near imm.. looking at a few bikes to buy.. cbf 150 is one of them.. if stay near near, was thinking of meeting u up to ask u abt ur bike.. hehe

I am staying near cpf building. Feel free to drop me a pm with ur contact no. to arrange for a meet up.

Hi bro,

Sorry for being frank but I find that you are a bit too gan jiong over ur CBF liaoz... keke... Just relax and take it easy. CBF is one of the easiest maintenance bike in the market. However, any machine will encounter problems upon usage. It can be manuafacturing faults as well as user's error. Nevertheless, problems that CBF encounters should be able to resolve easily thanks to its simple design. Be confident of CBF. Please dont have that mentality thinking that China produces inferior products. You will be amazed by how advance their technology is. I believe that Honda also dont wish to ruin their reputation and definitely there will be stringent quality control in their plants in China.

As for DIY, I dont think I will go to the extent of opening up the engine case due to lack of proper work area to perform it. Most probably I will leave that task to a trustable bike shop. I will DIY for more manageable tasks like engine oil, spark plug, air filter and battery replacements.

Hi bro,

Sorry for being frank but I find that you are a bit too gan jiong over ur CBF liaoz... keke... Just relax and take it easy. CBF is one of the easiest maintenance bike in the market. However, any machine will encounter problems upon usage. It can be manuafacturing faults as well as user's error. Nevertheless, problems that CBF encounters should be able to resolve easily thanks to its simple design. Be confident of CBF. Please dont have that mentality thinking that China produces inferior products. You will be amazed by how advance their technology is. I believe that Honda also dont wish to ruin their reputation and definitely there will be stringent quality control in their plants in China.

As for DIY, I dont think I will go to the extent of opening up the engine case due to lack of proper work area to perform it. Most probably I will leave that task to a trustable bike shop. I will DIY for more manageable tasks like engine oil, spark plug, air filter and battery replacements.

Wah lau, not kan chiong lah, don't take my post too seriously bro .. just find the incident to be quite funny so just decide to share with you all, if not the thread very boring, keep talking about technical stuff hehe :p Btw I have full faith in China engineering, my ancestors also from China mah, their boats also never sink halfway (kidding!) haha

Anyway if got noise from my bike I will sure investigate one, had unforgettable experience, my front cowling on my ex-bike almost flew off on the highway due to loose bolts, I used one hand to hold it for a distance of 200m on the N-S highway before I managed to brake safely, think of it also want to laugh man haha

For DIY I meant maintenance tasks like open up engine case to do block-cleaning which I did for my RXZ b4, its not that difficult actually although very time-consuming. but of course if its something like engine overhaul I would prefer to leave it to Boon Siew lah. from the way I look at the HK site, seems that other simpler tasks like adjusting tappet clearance and cleaning the internal filter mesh also requires opening parts with gaskets, thats y I mention that we need the relevant gaskets before opening up anything. I know some pple (esp some motoshop mechanic) just use back the old gaskets but I always change lah, its a personal preference. Anyway gaskets are usually quite affordable ...