if u know the oil level was filled to the correct level initially, and if oil level drop after rides. few thing can be sure is oil is either burned off or it is leaking out of the engine. from my engineering experience if engine oil was to leaked out of the engine, it will be very obvious bcos its leaves dark stain leaking line that can only washed off by diesel or soap. For a bike u can look at these common leaking areas: oil cap, dipstick, crank case cover, clutch plate cover, drain plug...etc. if all these areas looks clean doesnt have oil stain that traps road dirt, the only way for oil to disappear is burned off.

Engine oil in a way are burned off in a very limited amount for a 4 stroke engine. but it do varies according to the style of riding. especially a bike with constant high rpm will burn off more eo than one with average of 6krpm.

if u r constantly whckin to hi rpm that will explain the excess loss of eo, if u ride gently, and eo looses at a substancial amount, its time to check ur engine compression pressure. it might be leaking thru the piston rings.

wow so chim.. better let the shop take a look.. but atm dont see any stain nor drip on the ground.. as my home car park is sort of cement/plastic stick kind of ground..

thx for ur help.. avg speed is 110-125 (125 not that often) on top gear..

• Replies 29.8k

Don waste time trying to set the stock rebound for the fork. it does not work. :sian:

spidey.. i noe u have oredi mentioned dis thousand of times regardin the fork rebound.. but i juz wanna confirm it.. u mean not matter how we turn the dial we arent gettin any sort of rebound damping on the forks ?

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

wow so chim.. better let the shop take a look.. but atm dont see any stain nor drip on the ground.. as my home car park is sort of cement/plastic stick kind of ground..

naruto-kun.. y dun go juz go n check the oil level wif the dip stick.. and pls consult ur manual on how to check it properly becos thr r things to do in order to get an accurate reading

ohhh ok ok thanks for da important info.aiyooo afraid later cannot start sia.feel so down if the bike hv sum troubles :(

dun wori bro.i live in wdls rite?i can help u push start.hehehe:cheeky:

Don waste time trying to set the stock rebound for the fork. it does not work. :sian:

speaking abt fork n suspensions,i nid to set mine too....

ur engine neva 'plead' for higher rev/speed huh?

your riding style ans your question..

battery nid more than 4k rpm(riding) to be charged.a mere 20km per day i think is not sufficent...try to ride more.dun forget to blast once a while...instead of once every 3 mth riding to MW or mezzo,y not go for a long ride once every 2 week..??

haha...i only travel from bukit batok to clemeti, dont have a chance to go so far leh...but if got the chance to travel on express way, normally i will wack...maybe should organise some outing with your once a month so get a chance to travel more...haha...wat do your say? :angel:

guys..

do u get the same symptoms when ur batt is dying.. push the starter button.. the engine cranks n fires up but dies off immediately..

normally if your bat dying, your will feel your bike starting no power (as the cranking sound is not strong, can hear its weak) if you dont change your bat soon, maybe still can start for another 5 times (about 11volts), but once it become really low (about 10.5volt) than haha....you push start also no use...

do u commute on ur r6 or only take it to track? Wat is ur riding style?

All these ans will be ur ultimate goal for setting the sus.

Sag is the first to tackle, next rebound, then fast compression damping and lastly slow compression damping.

In general front sus setting affects the swiftness at turns, the dives which relates to ur braking styles, the rebound which relates to ur throttling style and the road bumps feedback to ur hands.

E.g. to make ur bike more agile at corners and chicane, increase preload

if u have agressive braking style, increase ur fast compression damping or preload if neccesary.

if u have agressive throttling style, balance ur rebound setting such tat it wont feel as like riding a see saw, oso not too much rebound damping that will affect bike stability or lifting front wheel at ease( can also be affected by stiff rear shock)

if u think its too harsh on the front, feeling every shallow bumps or white strips, reduce ur slow compression damping.

thanks for the infor...i have done alot of setting, so far i can only tell the bad setting but dont really know which is a good setting...

when on the straight rd, i throttle about 70-80%, if i felt my rear shock deep too much what should i do? i know when throttle i should feel alittle deep from my shock but some how i think is too much. please advise.

haha...you told me before...but have you found any way to improve on that?

http://i838.photobucket.com/albums/zz301/8570665/SNC00207.jpg?t=1268215466
naruto-kun.. y dun go juz go n check the oil level wif the dip stick.. and pls consult ur manual on how to check it properly becos thr r things to do in order to get an accurate reading

i agree wit bro wayang...most daily user level check n service guide can d read fr d owners' manual.it is very useful for riders.can do ur own check n service which at d same time can help cut down cost n time.a bit of knowledge is gd.:thumb:

ur engine neva 'plead' for higher rev/speed huh?

dun understand the part about plead ? cant feel it i guess.. i dun rev very high one..

as for the dipstick thing, i know how, but its abit hard to maintain the bike at upright position. scared drop the bike mah.. lagi worse..

haha...i only travel from bukit batok to clemeti, dont have a chance to go so far leh...but if got the chance to travel on express way, normally i will wack...maybe should organise some outing with your once a month so get a chance to travel more...haha...wat do your say? :angel:

u sure u wana folo him?he travels frequently to indonesia jakarta.:p

myb for a start,u can orgy meetup go pump petrol at jb via 2ndlink.

dun understand the part about plead ? cant feel it i guess.. i dun rev very high one...

as for the dipstick thing, i know how, but its abit hard to maintain the bike at upright position. scared drop the bike mah.. lagi worse..

haha.seriously u hv alot to learn i guess.:angel: u can do it bro.alone sure can handle one.slowly n carefully....where u live bro?myb 1 day orgy bikewash day,we can meet up n share tips.:cheers:

u sure u wana folo him?he travels frequently to indonesia jakarta.:p

myb for a start,u can orgy meetup go pump petrol at jb via 2ndlink.

oic...

so who wan to organise the trip?

Prefer mon-thru, fri or sat and sun?

http://i838.photobucket.com/albums/zz301/8570665/SNC00207.jpg?t=1268215466

thanks for the infor...i have done alot of setting, so far i can only tell the bad setting but dont really know which is a good setting...

when on the straight rd, i throttle about 70-80%, if i felt my rear shock deep too much what should i do? i know when throttle i should feel alittle deep from my shock but some how i think is too much. please advise.

haha...you told me before...but have you found any way to improve on that?

i think firstly check ur sag on ur rear shock. if its correct jus increse ur fast compression damping. if sag too much increse preload can liao.

haha.seriously u hv alot to learn i guess.:angel: u can do it bro.alone sure can handle one.slowly n carefully....where u live bro?myb 1 day orgy bikewash day,we can meet up n share tips.:cheers:

haha cos my this is my 2nd bike only.. plus my previous was first hand cbr150.. well that bike is even much more maintenace free..

stay pasir ris side, currently nsf in a camp up north haha.. used to be from rp near where u stay wdl..

dun wori bro.i live in wdls rite?i can help u push start.hehehe:cheeky:

hahaha dun say tat uh.dun want sey kena push start.bike heavy then push start...fuhhhh confirm 'rabak'!

spidey.. i noe u have oredi mentioned dis thousand of times regardin the fork rebound.. but i juz wanna confirm it.. u mean not matter how we turn the dial we arent gettin any sort of rebound damping on the forks ?

U can say that. Maybe u try taking the fork out and try compressing it with full rebound and without rebound then see if u can see any diffference in the rebound speed. If that does not convince anyone then its ok.

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

i think firstly check ur sag on ur rear shock. if its correct jus increse ur fast compression damping. if sag too much increse preload can liao.

Are u sure in this case should increase the high speed compression damping?

Care to explain y?

haha cos my this is my 2nd bike only.. plus my previous was first hand cbr150.. well that bike is even much more maintenace free..

stay pasir ris side, currently nsf in a camp up north haha.. used to be from rp near where u stay wdl..

pasir ris ? same la bro.. maybe can wash bike together , then can help u hold up ur bike while u check the eo.. hahaha

did u just do, wat i think u did ? :nono:

Are u sure in this case should increase the high speed compression damping?

Care to explain y?

wats the reccomended solution ? aftermarket forks ? or springs ? wats a good aftermarket fork, if there is any ?

did u just do, wat i think u did ? :nono:

pasir ris ? same la bro.. maybe can wash bike together , then can help u hold up ur bike while u check the eo.. hahaha

yeah pasir ris side.. btw the EO issue settle le.. was told by bikeworkz ah beng r6 eo is like that de.. so phew..

anyway back to the plug thingy for our bike..

juz change my plug today, the oem given is ngk cr10ek ( non iridium) no doubt on that.

all my things done at bikeworkz, 1 thing i found that was quoted by the forum for much higher price as the thing i paid to his shop retail price is lower.

4 ngk cr 10 iridium plug @ 18 *4 = 76

engine ice = 35 ( juz saw on advertiser board republic motor having promo @ $28 )

motovation heavy balancer = 60

either way juz gona say the above listed product r cheaper than what i asked through advertiser board dealer. engine ice was quote 80 (including flushing), but it was foc at bikeworkz maybe this should be the norm ?

not sure on republic motor though on the flushing part n the final price for engine ice.

U can say that. Maybe u try taking the fork out and try compressing it with full rebound and without rebound then see if u can see any diffference in the rebound speed. If that does not convince anyone then its ok.

roger tat.. anyway i no longer have the r6.. hahaha.. my current scooter dun even allow me to adjust anything.. :D

wats the reccomended solution ? aftermarket forks ? or springs ? wats a good aftermarket fork, if there is any ?

solution to wat? If u are toking about rebound then got a few options. Depends on how much u are willing to spend actually, From revlaving to changing piston kit to change the whole cartrigde system.