Dear fellow bikers/drivers

After 2 years of passing, I'm thinking of upgrading my 2B to 2A but still couldn't make up my mind. main reason is the impeding high petrol consumption of most 2A bikes & bigger bikes.

So can any kind soul enlighten me (or perhaps motivate me to upgrade) on which 2A bike is the most fuel economical & easy-to-maintain (cheap to maintain too) 2A bike around Sg?

This is partly also due to my work as I travel around on bike claiming mileage so too high a fuel consumption= lugi hard earned $ in every trip! (on some busy days I travel more than 100Km!)

I'm riding phantom now which gave me average 35Km/l mileage but tell u the truth I gave up on this bike due to its high maintenance cost- I overhauled 2 times consecutively in 2 years!!! (cost me $1k plus total!) the savings I earned in my past yrs thru claiming mileage all went to the overhaul!

Guys/gals pls list down the recommended bike's make/model & most importantly its average km/l mileage clocked (must be more than 35km/l hor).

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 122

if u wan save money on petrol and use the bike for transport ... i suggest u stick on 2b.. i feel that the best FC 2A is super4. but ur phantom is having a better FC then a s4.

i don't think u can find a Class 2A bike with come close to this 35km/litre. Btw , how did u manage to overhaul your bike so many time .

thanks guys but sorry cb250 is out... my bike overhaul 2 times mainly is due to my riding style which i think at least 2A bike den can tahan my riding style. im currently running-in my phantom after overhaul so hopefully can overhaul my riding style together (now riding very gently)

so most probably i should give up on 2A upgrading huh?

thanks guys but sorry cb250 is out... my bike overhaul 2 times mainly is due to my riding style which i think at least 2A bike den can tahan my riding style. im currently running-in my phantom after overhaul so hopefully can overhaul my riding style together (now riding very gently)

yes. get a wave.. good FC. easy to maintain. who know next year the cost price of a wave also increase since it is under such high demand.

actually u wan power n speed fc sure high but actually cb250 is still quite gd althought it does not have much speed but 2 piston is better than u 1

want to look big with the 2B? get the vara 125. look like class 2. :thumb:

yes. get a wave.. good FC. easy to maintain. who know next year the cost price of a wave also increase since it is under such high demand.

wave roughly wat's the f/c ar? pulsar ard 70km/L wat abt wave's average f/c? also wave got several versions which one the best in terms of f/c & less maintenance? ty

dude.. getting a bike best suited to you.. also needs to cinsider the purpose youre getting it for. Since youre getting it for a job which also requires high milage, 2B would be a better choice. Riding style is also proportional to the respective FC. A suggestion is to keep a 2B for work purpose, and later on get a 2A (a 2nd bike) for your leisure riding. NSH is a more suitable place to ride hard, as compared to the heavy traffic on S'pore roads these days..

its your call.. and good luck.:thumb:

The best way to console a depressed girl: Offer your shoulder.

The best way to console a depressed guy: Suck Thumb la Brother.

1998 Suzuki GSX 400 Impulse - June'07 to ?

2001 Phantom TA200 - Aug'06 to June'07

2b bike lah... cheap and good...

most 2B bikes under 150cc can fit into your category of 35km/Litre....

if FC is your main concern... got bike can move can liao mentality... get a cub...

i think u stick to 2b. get a pulsar.

2a i think best u can get is 23-25km/l n tat is super4 n its powerful enough for normal riding.

the higher the cc, the higher the fc. so no way a 2A bike is going to get 35km/l. unless u ride at 60km/h all the way. can u tahan?

for transport, a cupkia will do a good job. fc is good, easy to squeeze ard the traffic. only bad point is highway riding sure got bullied by the bigger cc cars n bikes.

y not tdm? 900cc(i know is cl2) yet best fuel comsup is 26km/l.. even better than s4

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

but i think if ride hard 2b bike very fast need to over haul like me i every year also over haul my bike until sian so change 2a bike better

bro i think we facing the same problem leh... but now i overhauling my riding style too hopefully can still stick to 2B alrdy lar cos $$$ issue... so it's either wave/pulsar/cbf alrdy

Bro, can have a look at the CBX250, I almost got it after trying it at Boon Siew, single piston, minimal maintenace, 30+km/l and its quite a beauty too (find the design nicer than S4 but thats subjective). But in the end I still got myself a 2B bike hehe :p

If getting new bike better do it quick cos the period from mid Dec till CNY is the worst time to get a new bike (people getting bonus = money to spend + eager to get new vehicle for CNY = pushing COE prices up )

dude.. dont forget to check out the maintenance costs.. sa change of EO, how many ltrs would make a diff to your pocket. With high milage, change of EO will be often in your case.

A small comparison:

S4 EO needs 4 ltrs.. and that is more than some class 2 bikes sa Fazer 1000cc which only needs 3ltrs. Therefore.. think about these costs as well when eval a bike.

ya hor maintenance costs... anyway have decided to stick to 2B lar no choice... if kenna ToTo den buy 2A la haha... most probably after CNY den change bike alrdy now still enjoying my new overhauled engine

dude, like you said.. overhaul the riding style would be the ultimate choice. Leave the hard riding to NSH. :)

pulsar ard 70km/L

that's 50km/h on a factory dyno

actual road conditions range from high 30s to low 40s

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg

A small comparison:

S4 EO needs 4 ltrs.. and that is more than some class 2 bikes sa Fazer 1000cc which only needs 3ltrs. Therefore.. think about these costs as well when eval a bike.

S4 change eo 3 litres, not 4

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

pulsar has the best mil at the moment for 2b which is tested full stock with good setting can get you 45-50L/km

wave is also one of the best which it wont spoilt down easy and FC is good too.