Originally posted by Zechz@May 10, 2007 11:59 pm

oh bird park~~~~~

i only go there to bao bao cais only leh didnt knw that there is a scrap yard

hehehe~~~~:sweat:

Dun tin u will notice anitin loh, tat time u focusing in sometin extremely interesting infront of u wor... :angel:

• Replies 3.3k

Originally posted by CBR379@May 10, 2007 03:58 pm

sorri i had lost the detail of the scrap yrad , definately u need go down to approach tthem ,n let them know wat bike spare parts u looking for...

btw it near bird park....:smile:

ok thanks for the info! definitely will come in useful next time (although I hope not)!

Originally posted by CBR379@May 11, 2007 10:10 am

who else?..:cheeky:

how i know??? anyway i though funky is the organiser for this kind of events??

funky , where r u???

Originally posted by @lvin@May 11, 2007 10:28 am

sure got lor...dun say 929......if not wrong....954 also got scrap afew liao....

u sure???

Hi folks,

I just got my 2001 929 a couple of weeks ago. I noticed that my bike runs pretty hot - 89 degrees when I'm on the expressway. When I'm stuck in traffic, it can go up to 110-115. Is this normal?

I was browsing through the forum on fireblades.org, and most people report temperatures in the 80s. So that's got me pretty worried!

What temperatures do you see on your bikes?

Originally posted by glug@May 11, 2007 04:00 pm

Hi folks,

I just got my 2001 929 a couple of weeks ago. I noticed that my bike runs pretty hot - 89 degrees when I'm on the expressway. When I'm stuck in traffic, it can go up to 110-115. Is this normal?

I was browsing through the forum on fireblades.org, and most people report temperatures in the 80s. So that's got me pretty worried!

my bike run at 81 on expressway in the afternoon..

76~79 during nite time..

the highest is 104 during jams..

yr case sound like u need to do a coolant flush..

is the radiator fan on when it hit 103??

or sometimes the fan on at diff temp??

Originally posted by glug@May 11, 2007 04:00 pm

Hi folks,

1) First check your coolant level is ok.

Ok->goto 2.

Not OK-> Top up and try again

2) Check your radiator fins. Are many of them bent or damaged?

Yes->Use a small screwdriver and patiently straighten all the fins. Remove all dirt and bugs and give it a good wash.

No-> Goto 3.

3) Remove fairing and fuel tank, check that all hoses are running ok, and not kinked. Are hoses kinked?

Yes->Remedy it and try again

No-> Goto 4

4) Bring your bike to good bike shop and drain the coolant, then ask the mechanic to do a cooling system flush to flush all the scale and aluminum rust out from the system. Then replace with fresh coolant using 50% coolant, 50% distilled water (not tap water). I recommend K&T @ Ubi. :D

While you have everything apart, check that the termostat is working.

How to check?

Do this when bike is cold. Put bike on stand so it's level. Remove radiator cap. Make sure coolant is fully topped up. Shine a light at the liquid inside the radiator.

Put a good thermometer into the coolant, making sure it doesn't touch the sides of the radiator. Start the bike. Note the temperature at which the coolant liquid starts flowing inside the radiator. This is when the termostat opens.

The better way to test the termostat is to remove it from water pump assembly and put into water and heat. But this is very mafan, so I teach you easy way.

Also check the radiator cap holding pressure. Boon Siew should have the equipment to check. If your coolant boils at low temperature you can be pretty sure it's the cap.

The steps I give u go from easy to harder, so you save your money once you identify the problem. All the best!

One more thing I forget, if the mech is able to do a pressure test of your system to make sure the coolant is flowing sufficiently, do it.

It could be there are either blockages in the system, or the water pump fins have rusted and one could have fallen off and is not pumping coolant through the system at the necessary speed.

I see pictures of water pump without fins before, so this can happen, although very rare! (Because of using hard water instead of distilled water in coolant)

And what the other poster said, check the radiator fan is turning on at low speeds/high temperature.

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@May 11, 2007 06:05 pm

1) First check your coolant level is ok.

Ok->goto 2.

Not OK-> Top up and try again

2) Check your radiator fins. Are many of them bent or damaged?

Yes->Use a small screwdriver and patiently straighten all the fins. Remove all dirt and bugs and give it a good wash.

No-> Goto 3.

3) Remove fairing and fuel tank, check that all hoses are running ok, and not kinked. Are hoses kinked?

Yes->Remedy it and try again

No-> Goto 4

4) Bring your bike to good bike shop and drain the coolant, then ask the mechanic to do a cooling system flush to flush all the scale and aluminum rust out from the system. Then replace with fresh coolant using 50% coolant, 50% distilled water (not tap water). I recommend K&T @ Ubi. :D

While you have everything apart, check that the termostat is working.

How to check?

Do this when bike is cold. Put bike on stand so it's level. Remove radiator cap. Make sure coolant is fully topped up. Shine a light at the liquid inside the radiator.

Put a good thermometer into the coolant, making sure it doesn't touch the sides of the radiator. Start the bike. Note the temperature at which the coolant liquid starts flowing inside the radiator. This is when the termostat opens.

The better way to test the termostat is to remove it from water pump assembly and put into water and heat. But this is very mafan, so I teach you easy way.

Also check the radiator cap holding pressure. Boon Siew should have the equipment to check. If your coolant boils at low temperature you can be pretty sure it's the cap.

The steps I give u go from easy to harder, so you save your money once you identify the problem. All the best!

Great job..

explain far more detail than mi..

if u ask mi to type that length, my finger will break..

hey every1 i`m back from TaiwaN liao, Wee U wee~

u guys mus be tinking whether i got knock down down by the TaiwaN air forCE ah ?

No worries i still in 1 piece riding my beloved 954 ~

except i`m still getting use to sG road. cos Taiwan traffic everything opposite saK, i.e. slow vehicke keep right.

anyway

how's everything ?

Jason April race how saK ?

No cheer leader, can make it boh ?

Got pretty race queen holding umbrella beside boh ?

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s237/takala21/Bikes/CIMG1458.jpg[/img

04-05> Honda TA150

05-06> Honda Shadow400, Suzuki Bergman400

06-07> Honda Blackbird1100

07-09> Honda Super4 Spec2, Honda CBR954RR

09-13> Yamaha RC135, Yamaha YZF R6 09

13-??> Honda Silverwing

Originally posted by takala21@May 13, 2007 08:04 pm

hey every1 i`m back from TaiwaN liao, Wee U wee~

u guys mus be tinking whether i got knock down down by the TaiwaN air forCE ah ?

No worries i still in 1 piece riding my beloved 954 ~

except i`m still getting use to sG road. cos Taiwan traffic everything opposite saK, i.e. slow vehicke keep right.

anyway

how's everything ?

Jason April race how saK ?

No cheer leader, can make it boh ?

Got pretty race queen holding umbrella beside boh ?

April MRS postponed....... due to pull out of cubs...... anyway clubman will be in june. so more time for me to practise cause now really slow liao.

hey guys, i m selling my blade, if u got frens interested, can get them to call me...

929 sales!~

cheers!~

ryan...

speed is nothing without control!...

with greater power comes greater responsibilities!...

Any pte pwners is interested to let go their 945? My budget is abt 9k and below..pls do pm me or msg to me for any interested party to further discussd in these....90661812.....thank you........btw no offense but i only interested in 954 only..:cheer:

Originally posted by Wilson_cool@May 16, 2007 06:15 pm

Any pte pwners is interested to let go their 945? My budget is abt 9k and below..pls do pm me or msg to me for any interested party to further discussd in these....90661812.....thank you........btw no offense but i only interested in 954 only..:cheer:

hav u try i-motoring (bukit merah) ?

saw 1 red 954 repray FW plate

condition looks gd

mayb can get gd price.

anyway jus a suggestion.

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s237/takala21/Bikes/CIMG1458.jpg[/img

04-05> Honda TA150

05-06> Honda Shadow400, Suzuki Bergman400

06-07> Honda Blackbird1100

07-09> Honda Super4 Spec2, Honda CBR954RR

09-13> Yamaha RC135, Yamaha YZF R6 09

13-??> Honda Silverwing

Originally posted by takala21@May 16, 2007 08:12 pm

hav u try i-motoring (bukit merah) ?

saw 1 red 954 repray FW plate

condition looks gd

mayb can get gd price.

anyway jus a suggestion.

Hmm i saw that one b4...........that 954 is under goin for tuning so cant really hear the power and the mileage is astonishing....tinking if trying my luck here from pte owner.....thankx anyway:smile:

hi guys... like to check out whic grade of engine oil is good for 954 ...... 10w/40 , 15w/50

i try 15w/50 and the bike milage not very good and the engine heat up faster but gear shift is smooth.

http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s190/redsuns74/FP3762J-1_zps552ea30c.jpg
Originally posted by Hikaru@May 19, 2007 10:53 pm

hi guys... like to check out whic grade of engine oil is good for 954 ...... 10w/40 , 15w/50

i try 15w/50 and the bike mialage not very good and the engine heat up faster but gear shift is smooth.

Actually using 10w/40 or 15w/50 depends on the temperature of the country you're riding in, not so much the bike.

The first number (e.g. 10w & 15w) represents the viscosity (or thickness, or how easy it flows) of the oil in cold weather.

The second number (40 or 50) represents the viscosity of the oil in hot weather.

For weather like ours, 15w/50 is the better choice. The "15w" part of the oil will never be used in our temperature.

I've however tried straight weight 60w oil before, not so good, because sometimes our temperature also got variation, engine very noisy especially during warmup, suspect the oil doesn't flow well when engine is cold, so safest is to use 20w/50 or 15w/50 or 5w/50. The top part of the number is what matters more.

There's also the oil's rating, like SH, SJ, SK, etc. Your manual will specify which grade is needed. The higher the alphabet, the newer "version" the oil is.

GUYS CHECK my SIGGY to get race leathers,mesh and gloves..!!!!pls call 92472541 for enquiries...SMS will not be entertain GREAT BARGAINS..!!!!.

i will try to anser all your question. but not online please...i cant keep track...thanksss....

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@May 19, 2007 11:18 pm

Actually using 10w/40 or 15w/50 depends on the temperature of the country you're riding in, not so much the bike.

The first number (e.g. 10w & 15w) represents the viscosity (or thickness, or how easy it flows) of the oil in cold weather.

The second number (40 or 50) represents the viscosity of the oil in hot weather.

For weather like ours, 15w/50 is the better choice. The "15w" part of the oil will never be used in our temperature.

I've however tried straight weight 60w oil before, not so good, because sometimes our temperature also got variation, engine very noisy especially during warmup, suspect the oil doesn't flow well when engine is cold, so safest is to use 20w/50 or 15w/50 or 5w/50. The top part of the number is what matters more.

There's also the oil's rating, like SH, SJ, SK, etc. Your manual will specify which grade is needed. The higher the alphabet, the newer "version" the oil is.

the front number 0W, 5W, 10W, 15W and 20W is not the viscosity at cold temp..

the numbering is to inform u when the engine oil freeze up when hit certain low temp..

i forget the range..

for 0W is abt -10 degree..

so for 20W is abt 10 degree..

i dun really remember the range le..

as for the second number, is the viscosity after 85 degree..

hey bros.....im planning for a pump petrol session at 2nd link. need support once again frm u all, hopefully full squad like the yishun dam... hehehhe

juz need ur opinion:

-weekdays or weekends

-after midnight or before

than i shall confirm the date asap.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@May 21, 2007 01:00 am

hey bros.....im planning for a pump petrol session at 2nd link. need support once again frm u all, hopefully full squad like the yishun dam... hehehhe

juz need ur opinion:

-weekdays or weekends

-after midnight or before

than i shall confirm the date asap.

i cannot go after midnite..

if not, not enough slp for the next day work..