Hi.

Below are FCs of some maxi-scooters for reference (without the need to scan through all the cafes).

Thanks to all who contributed.

2B+:

1. X9 EVO250 (29-30km/l)

2. G-max 200 (31-32km/l)

3. TA200 (40km/l)

2A/2:

1. X8 400 (25-27km/l) $9,600

2. MP3 400 (24-25km/l) $13,800

3. XEVO 400 (25-27km/l) $10,500

4. YP 400 (24-26km/l) $12,000

5. Burgman 400 (25-28km/l)

6. SW 400 (24-25km/l) $12,500

7. Tmax 500 (20-21km/l) $13,750

8. Burgman 650 (Auto= 22-24km/l. Power mode= 18-20km/l. Steptronic= 23km-28km/l)

9. SW 600 (20+/-km/l)

* Bike OTR price just a guide. Could be higher due to exchange rate fluctuation & COE.

Edited by SW9000

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

• Replies 50

Hi.

Me looking into upgrade but main concern is the FC.

Could anyone post the FC (normal travelling of 90-100km/h?) of your bike for consideration? The info could help others too (without the need to search in different cafe. I did not include 200-250cc cos the average FC so far is about 28-30km/l for most models.

1. X8 400

2. MP3 400

3. XEVO 400

4. YP 400

5. Burgman 400

6. SW 400

7. Tmax 500

8. Burgman 600

9. SW 600

different brands & models in the 250cc range also differs quite a bit.

*all the 400cc piaggio bikes runs abt the same fc.

*burgman 400 from K3 to k6, shares the same SOHC engine. so running abt 25 to 28km per liter. dunno much abt the K7 onwards. cos its running on DOHC engine.

*sw 400, there are 2 models. the older JDM & newer EURO models. on local riding, its abt the same FC. but during long distance touring, the EURO's fc is better than the JDM ones. as for the silverwing 600, there is only the JDM model. fc not much different from the 400.

*there is no burgman 600. there is only the 650cc ones. there are 3 modes of riding. 1) normal auto abt 22 to 24km per liter, 2) normal with power mode (higher rev) abt 18 to 20km per liter & 3) steptronic. from K2 to to K4 only up to 5 speed. from K5 onwards got 5 speed + 1 more OverDrive. abt 23 to 28km per liter.

sorry. thats all i know. not sure abt the yamaha scoots. only riden the 250cc one b4. its abt 30 to 40km per liter

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

there are 3 modes of riding. 1) normal auto abt 22 to 24km per liter, 2) normal with power mode (higher rev) abt 18 to 20km per liter & 3) steptronic. from K2 to to K4 only up to 5 speed. from K5 onwards got 5 speed + 1 more OverDrive. abt 23 to 28km per liter.

sorry if that's been asked before, does riding steptronic equal to manual shifting the gears?

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

sorry if that's been asked before, does riding steptronic equal to manual shifting the gears?

yes. with your left thumb. just without the clutch.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

If I ride my Burgman 400 gently and don't pillion, I can get 29km/ltr.

I did manage to get 30km/ltr before, with a lot of highway riding. But only once, so should not include...

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Hi.

Me looking into upgrade but main concern is the FC.

Could anyone post the FC (normal travelling of 90-100km/h?) of your bike for consideration? The info could help others too (without the need to search in different cafe. I did not include 200-250cc cos the average FC so far is about 28-30km/l for most models.

1. X8 400 (25-27km/l)

2. MP3 400 (24-25km/l)

3. XEVO 400 (25-27km/l)

4. YP 400 (24-26km/l)

5. Burgman 400 (25-28km/l)

6. SW 400

7. Tmax 500 (20-21km/l)

8. Burgman 650 (Auto= 22-24km/l. Power mode= 18-20km/l. Steptronic= 23km-28km/l)

9. SW 600

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

hmm... on average it seems maxi scoots have better mileage than manual 400cc bikes...

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

Grrr.... can't sell my evo250 (or can't decide?)... so just continue to update this hopefully useful for others (and me in near future?).

Just a quick add-on of the FC of SW400, for me its about 19~23 KM/L. I kept a record since I got my bike in Feb 07, average so far is 19.71. Highest being 24.1 and lowest being 19.2.

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

Wah, the range so wide for your SW.

Generally I gather from various Forums that 22km/l would be ok if don't tekan the bike too much.

I was 'almost' convinced to get the SW400 at 12k (from BH Bros) but only the FC holding me back (cos I stayed East and work West).

The rest while the FC is ok for 400cc, I can't get a feel about their 'ease of maintenance' aka less headache.

thanks TS for gathering the info from other scoot threads and compiling it here. i am actually considering a majesty 250/400, burgman 400 or super 4 for my 2a. i am wondering y does auto transmission 400cc scoot will have better fc than a manual transmission bike?

Wah, the range so wide for your SW.

Generally I gather from various Forums that 22km/l would be ok if don't tekan the bike too much.

I was 'almost' convinced to get the SW400 at 12k (from BH Bros) but only the FC holding me back (cos I stayed East and work West).

The rest while the FC is ok for 400cc, I can't get a feel about their 'ease of maintenance' aka less headache.

it varies alot for me cos for 4 mths a year I work in the west (science park), and the other 8 mths is at east (tampines). I stay @ Bedok.

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

thanks TS for gathering the info from other scoot threads and compiling it here. i am actually considering a majesty 250/400, burgman 400 or super 4 for my 2a. i am wondering y does auto transmission 400cc scoot will have better fc than a manual transmission bike?

Manual bikes normally are more powerful cos you can throttle as you like for speed (higher FC).... but wait till you get in a jam and your fingers and left foot will complain.

Me riding an EVO 250 (ichy for 400cc?) and love the auto twist and go... don't see myself ever going back to manual.

In my opinion, SW4 still best amongst the lot (a wee bit higher FC but similarly priced) and performs just as smooth to a Super4.

X8 400 can consider also since the price is $2400 lower which allows for some accessories (mod?) but it is not very popular.

A scoot = No regrets.

cannot say scoot = no regrets

i was riding a vxr previously... but the damn bike keep breaking down till i almost broke down too

i had thot of getting a SW4 as well... but ended up getting a S4 only

i guess i've had enuff of auto scoots for the time being

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

Manual bikes normally are more powerful cos you can throttle as you like for speed (higher FC).... but wait till you get in a jam and your fingers and left foot will complain.

Me riding an EVO 250 (ichy for 400cc?) and love the auto twist and go... don't see myself ever going back to manual.

In my opinion, SW4 still best amongst the lot (a wee bit higher FC but similarly priced) and performs just as smooth to a Super4.

X8 400 can consider also since the price is $2400 lower which allows for some accessories (mod?) but it is not very popular.

A scoot = No regrets.

but a manual car normally saves more petrol than a auto 1.. and a manual car also provides also have more power than an auto car.

i agree on the aching part.

not really considering x8 or any other european brands the parts are more expensive? correct me if i am wrong.

OT: scooters no crashbar to provide protection for pillion?

cannot say scoot = no regrets

i was riding a vxr previously... but the damn bike keep breaking down till i almost broke down too

i had thot of getting a SW4 as well... but ended up getting a S4 only

i guess i've had enuff of auto scoots for the time being

Same as most of my colleagues who prefers manual... now got 4 Super4s at work. None wants a scoot cos they say too slow and cannot 'play' much.

To each his preferance.

After 20 years and 12 manual bikes, a scoot for me is a refreshing change though the maintenance is more of a hustle. ** Uncle like me lazy to change gears liao...

:cry: Silverwing has the worst fuel to mileage ratio.

How to give it more mileage ? how to lighten it......it is really damm heavy.

Now I put it on side stand only whenever I park :cheeky:

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

dun mind me off abit.. FC for my G-max 200 scoot is roughly 31-32.5km/litre.

good?

Wah lau eh, this is freaking good, if I have such mileage, I don't have to pump every 4 days (average)

SW 600 => 18+/- (mine about 17 cos i always cruise @ 100-120... hahaha

SW600 looks more fuel efficient than SW400....why arh ?