Hi bros, just to let you know I've gotten myself a Silverwing 400 but still holding on my Nouvo until I can find a new owner that appreciates her. SW requires a different riding style and I can't ride in between cars as aggressive as Nouvo.

So now I'm both a Nouvo rider and SWinger. Yes I'm shy but also can be aggressive when the need arises. Wahahaha!!

• Replies 3k

hahahaha! ya lor now not many post. 2moro got meet up wit yamaha. they wana know y nouvo elegan not popular in malaysia.

how much is the v-belt for nouvo mx n also nouvo elegan in spore?

B2 - below 250cc

D - passenger car

2moro got meet up wit yamaha. they wana know y nouvo elegan not popular in malaysia.

I can tell you why not popular in Singapore YET.

1. Marketing issue. Not many people know about the Nouvo Elegance. No advertisement on TV, magazine, point of sales materials at shops, salesman knowledge, etc.

2. Still marketing issue. People think the CVT+belt is not as reliable as manual gear+chain, just like people used to think automatic car is not as reliable as manual car. In fact, I think think CVT+belt+clutch drivetrain is more reliable and less maintenance as the whole assembly is sealed in a casing that's protected from water, sun and dirt! Now the belt have kevlar and fibres and is rated to last 25000km for our Nouvo. But people still worry that the belt may break while travelling. Chain-drive need to clean and lube the chain and sprocket regularly, even if not due for servicing. Belt-drive just need to clean during each regular servicing.

3. Yet another marketing issue (Pricing). Automatic always priced higher than manual due to more components involved in the drivetrain. But people think why bother to pay more when they still think it's less reliable.

4. You guessed it, still marketing issue (Product-Engine). In SG we have this class 2b (up to 200cc), 2a (201-400cc) and 2 (more than 400cc) issue. Nouvo falls under class 2b but only 135cc. Within each class, rider always wants to get the biggest guns. That's why Honda Phantom 200, Gilera ST200 Runner, Piaggio x8, x9 200, and even Baja 200, are so popular. Tell Yamaha to come up with a 200cc twin cylinder Nouvo and Sparks and they will top the charts every week, every month and every year!

Edited by Uncle

True uncle! i agree but design wise y not popular in malaysia, performance are ok. thanks uncle for your input. will highlight them!

B2 - below 250cc

D - passenger car

hahahaha! ya lor now not many post. 2moro got meet up wit yamaha. they wana know y nouvo elegan not popular in malaysia.

how much is the v-belt for nouvo mx n also nouvo elegan in spore?

nouvo elegan 135 belt cost abt S$25 in Singapore

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

is it original? how about labour cost like?

orginal. workmanship & cost by your fav mech.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

herm, sounds reasonable and very affordable to maintain. i clocked 22k in my 1st year wit nouvo elegance n think belt driven scooter are cheap to maintain.

B2 - below 250cc

D - passenger car

scooting is fun in singapore busy roads..

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo MX - Sep 2006

Honda CB400 Spec II - Nov 2007

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - Oct 2008

Suzuki GSXR 600 K6 - June 2009

Gilera Fuoco 500 - Dec 2009

Honda CB1000R - July 2011

Harley Davidson Sportster Forty Eight - Dec 2012 (Current)

Is it really so cheap? The price came from Yamaha or some other bikes shop?

My License

Class 2B - 23 April 2009

Class 3 - 11 September 2006

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - 12 June 2009

Honda PCX 150 - 24 June 2013 (Current)

According to the Manual, it states that the engine oils is to be replaced every 4000km. Does you all do that? Pls comment. Thanks!

My License

Class 2B - 23 April 2009

My Rides

According to the Manual, it states that the engine oils is to be replaced every 4000km. Does you all do that? Pls comment. Thanks!

Yes, 4k km is about time as the EO is only 1 litre! Very cheap lah! No need to stress the engine with old oil.

If want to replace at longer interval, make sure to check the EO level and top up if necessary.

Hi bros, just to let you know I've gotten myself a Silverwing 400 but still holding on my Nouvo until I can find a new owner that appreciates her. SW requires a different riding style and I can't ride in between cars as aggressive as Nouvo.

So now I'm both a Nouvo rider and SWinger. Yes I'm shy but also can be aggressive when the need arises. Wahahaha!!

did you get a new SW? How much OTR? Always wanted to switch butscared hard to handle and not as easy like Nouvo, can stop anywhere, park anywhere and squeeze everywhere :angel:

did you get a new SW? How much OTR?

I got a

Always wanted to switch but scared hard to handle and not as easy like Nouvo, can stop anywhere, park anywhere and squeeze everywhere :angel:

That's true. If the lots are too narrow or the grounds too soft, SW cannot park unlike the city friendly Nouvo. Just did my first SW ride to work today on the usual congested roads. Lose some ability to squeeze in between cars. But because it has more engine power and more braking power, when the opportunity to overtake comes, it is easier to execute. So moral is, you lose some, you gain some :)

BTW, I had sold off my Nouvo to a nice young chap who used to own Fazer 600 and SW 400! Tested and liked the condition of Nouvo, so it's done immediately. So will be saying good bye to my beloved first ride which has kept me safe and allowed my riding experience to grow.

Me hoping to get a t-max maybe by end next year.Now schooling part time so need a scooter with better fuel consumption thus got the Nouvo.

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

Met yamaha yesterday n very2 surprise becos many nouvo elegance rider are mostly 23years - 35years old. hahaha, n u know wat? lucky draw winner wins nouvo lc! hahaha

i spoke to yamaha men n shows uncle inquiry but he said he will tell hongleong spore to do something.

As we gather info about nouvo elegance here, price factor are the reason why nouvo elegance not popular as it priced about the same wit 135lc. other than, malaysian are not confident wit belt driven

B2 - below 250cc

D - passenger car

Is it really so cheap? The price came from Yamaha or some other bikes shop?

not because its cheap. its because many have kana chop big time. shops need to earn a little is resonable. but some shops in Kallang area, just because customers dun know, will chop the customers.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

not because its cheap. its because many have kana chop big time. shops need to earn a little is resonable. but some shops in Kallang area, just because customers dun know, will chop the customers.

OIC. So does Hong Leong also charges the same price? I decide to book Hong Leong for servicing when it reaches 12000km. Meanwhile it is only 8898km..

My License

Class 2B - 23 April 2009

My Rides

Tats recommended retail price i guess from yamaha coz it cost the same here. labour bout rm10-15. how about roller? i believe nobody change the autoclutch yet.

B2 - below 250cc

D - passenger car

Tats recommended retail price i guess from yamaha coz it cost the same here. labour bout rm10-15. how about roller? i believe nobody change the autoclutch yet.

For rollers,my shop had asked.No heavier stock rollers,just lighter ones.So u can play pick up a bit with the lighter rollers.I'm still looking for heavier ones.:sian:

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

heavier stock roller or roller that is heavier than the stock one? hehehe, not good in singlish though.

have u try aftermarket roller instead?

B2 - below 250cc

D - passenger car

OIC. So does Hong Leong also charges the same price? I decide to book Hong Leong for servicing when it reaches 12000km. Meanwhile it is only 8898km..

never. hong leong will surely sell more ex.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Belt-drive just need to clean during each regular servicing.

really ah? when is that regular servicing? after every change of EO? i don't know must clean. lol..

so, after 25000km, i just need to change the belt only? rollers no need eh?

New tyres and eo feels so good! :smile:

Ya ah,good qn.When change new belting need to change rollers? I think if always whack the bike,the belting won't last till 25000km.i think at most 20000km shud be safe.it still lasts longer than normal chain and sprocket.