is there a copy that i can loan to see?

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

• Replies 4.9k

I really dunno. but you can go to Gerry looi and look for Amir and ask him for advise. Dun worry he won't charge you if it's just visual inspection..

http://www.streetdirectory.com/businessfinder/company_detail.php?companyid=34557&branchid=93336

Thanks Terrible One! I visited Gerry 1 year back.. he seems pro.

I went to Planet Motorcycle at ubi, and Ah Chong diagnosed it to be a water pump problem. I'd recommend him as the expert to visit. I seldom frequent him cos he is way too popular.. always busy.. and gotta wait. Seems like my bike shop behind tampines safra.. see I wear office wear n decided to make a carrot out of me. Guess I have to re-visit Ah Chong more often.. honest, reliable and value-for-money shops like his is one of a kind man.

To share, it was an issue of the fan blades in the water pump (sitted under the engine), having rusted away and stopped working. So steed riders gotta watch and check/change your coolant every EO change. Else you'll end up like me having to replace my entire water pump.. and take mrt for a few days =/

Finally found WW tyres.. Thanks T1 and gmoh bros.. Sbf advertiser: Unique_Motorsports do carry Shinko WW and is cheaper than Avon brand. :)

Bro, wats the price range for Shinko WW front and rear?

Unique quoted me Front $125, Rear $180. (include installations)

Heard Chong Aik selling ard $240 for both.. You might want to check with them. :)

I already put deposit to order from Unique so now feel like eating carrot cake !! :angry:

anyone can teach me how to check coolant? :-X so sorry for e noob query :(

The coolant cap is located under the right side cover in front of your tank.

Wait till your bike has cooled, before opening the coolant cap. You def dun want to remove it when your machine is still hot.

Check for:

- Rubber seal under the cap still there. Else coolant will evaporate thru the gaps.

- Use torchlight to see if coolant level is somewhere near the cap.

- Does your radiator fan turn on when engine is hot? If it hasnt for a long time, check your fan temperature switch at a mech's.

- Not recommended for self-check: To check if your water pump fan is working (this fan circulates the coolant in your bike), throttle with ur radiator cap off. You should see the coolant churning and at times overflowing. Then you gotta top up the spilled coolant. Best to do this at the mech's.

To save the trouble, for coolant check, just do it at the mech's when you change your EO.

Unique quoted me Front $125, Rear $180. (include installations)

Heard Chong Aik selling ard $240 for both.. You might want to check with them. :)

I already put deposit to order from Unique so now feel like eating carrot cake !! :angry:

wow, that's not too bad pricing man, it's cheaper than your normal dunlop and/or bridge stone, considering it's white wall

Braap braap and away!

wow, that's not too bad pricing man, it's cheaper than your normal dunlop and/or bridge stone, considering it's white wall

Yeah Bro, Shinko are the cheapest WW tyres in the market. I read reviews on Shinko WW, they only last about 15,000 km. Will change to yellow wall after that, but still look old school.... :p

Don't worry, it'll take u a very long time to hit 15k.

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

I just bought H/Steed, year 1996 model. Any idea fuel consumption abt 120km have to activate reserve, it that okay?

Thnx

Hi bro, if you're start at full tank and hit reserve after travelling for 120km, is not ok.. Better get your bike check.. I pump petrol everytime I travel 120km which cost me around $10. Unless you'd changed to a smaller tank which only can hold $10 worth of petrol. Cheers....

Dude, not ok.

When I was riding my Steed, it reached 190 km from full to hit reserve. Shd be abt 24km per litre of petrol

I am a Honda bike lover:-

Honda CRM 125, Honda Cub C70, Honda Steed 400VSE

Honda Shadow Slasher 400, Honda XR125L, Honda XR400RW

Honda SuperCub C90 single seater (vintage ride - 43km/l)

Honda NC700X (Smooth tourer around Indochina)

Honda CRF250L (Enduro - 30km/L)

mine also hit 125-130km den need to put reserve liao. done all things stated in my signature and consulted rosli but still like that... dono wad to do liao.

spark plugs, air filter, coolant, engine oil & oil filter, OWS flush, front forks, front wheel bearing, brake pads, brake fluid, alarm, carb washed, steering cone, rear brake light, fuel filter, jets, front tyre, dyna carb tuning, rear tyre, rear tyre inner tubing, rear wheel bearing, fuel tubing, alternator, rectifier, battery, valve clearance/top overhaul, chain & sprocket.

mine also hit 125-130km den need to put reserve liao. done all things stated in my signature and consulted rosli but still like that... dono wad to do liao.

How many days do you take to hit 130km? If you're not travelling in the expressway (long distance), then maybe your FC will drop, comparing to those who uses expressway everyday will have good FC of 20+km/litre.

Anyway, if you want a second opinion, I read Ah chong from planet is good too.

Guest chuinjie

mine is about 170km reach reserve and im not a light throttler~

chuinjie

mine reach 190 than open reserve.fc is abt 23.5km/L

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

hi to all gurus.

can i know the following Question below it will be great if with "price tag"...

1.how many Litres of engine oil is needed got oil change(with oil filter/without oil filter)?

prefer of Eo semi or syn?

2.is engine flush treatment make a difference to the bike?

3.when to change oil filter?

original or OEM?

4.using of iridium plug will be better?

iridium plug cost about 20sgd/plug compare to normal plug at 5sgd/plug

5.when to change air filter?

any aftermarket air filter(k&N/bmc etc....)?

6.when to do radiator flush and change of coolant?

i was quote for EO (motul 5100)/oil filter(original)/4x iridium plug(ngk)/engine flush (240ml @24sgd)/radiator flush using engine flush at 243sgd.

i find it way too over price....

hi to all gurus.

can i know the following Question below it will be great if with "price tag"...

1.how many Litres of engine oil is needed got oil change(with oil filter/without oil filter)?

prefer of Eo semi or syn?

2.is engine flush treatment make a difference to the bike?

3.when to change oil filter?

original or OEM?

4.using of iridium plug will be better?

iridium plug cost about 20sgd/plug compare to normal plug at 5sgd/plug

5.when to change air filter?

any aftermarket air filter(k&N/bmc etc....)?

6.when to do radiator flush and change of coolant?

i was quote for EO (motul 5100)/oil filter(original)/4x iridium plug(ngk)/engine flush (240ml @24sgd)/radiator flush using engine flush at 243sgd.

i find it way too over price....

i no guru here. but jus to share.

1)2.1l of oil at draining.

2.8l at disassemly.

2.25l at oil filter change.

by the manual one.

semi will be better cuz ours are old bikes.

2)engine flush? i tried, but erm... no comments.

OWS engine flush at unique. mayb my bike too old la, cant appreciate it.

3)for me i will change 2 times engine oil, 1 time change oil filter. original shld be fine.

those castrol 12 bucks will do la. haha.

4)for me i will change plugs together wif changing engine oil. original is def fine.

btw i change engine oil every 2500-3000km.

5)for me i change 2 times oil filter, 1 time change air filter.

i not sure wad air filter is mine, i change mine at ah chong (planet) for 38 bucks.

ah boy sure much cheaper, just DIY lor. quite simple one.

6)depends on much you 'hoot' your bike.

usually change coolant will change both coolant and cap too. shld be around 30 bucks or less.

keep note of which mileage what you do etc etc. and i think your ride should be smooth.

unless your bike is like mine, drink fuel like an alcoholic drink wine.

spark plugs, air filter, coolant, engine oil & oil filter, OWS flush, front forks, front wheel bearing, brake pads, brake fluid, alarm, carb washed, steering cone, rear brake light, fuel filter, jets, front tyre, dyna carb tuning, rear tyre, rear tyre inner tubing, rear wheel bearing, fuel tubing, alternator, rectifier, battery, valve clearance/top overhaul, chain & sprocket.

i no guru here. but jus to share.

1)2.1l of oil at draining.

2.8l at disassemly.

2.25l at oil filter change.

by the manual one.

semi will be better cuz ours are old bikes.

2)engine flush? i tried, but erm... no comments.

OWS engine flush at unique. mayb my bike too old la, cant appreciate it.

3)for me i will change 2 times engine oil, 1 time change oil filter. original shld be fine.

those castrol 12 bucks will do la. haha.

4)for me i will change plugs together wif changing engine oil. original is def fine.

btw i change engine oil every 2500-3000km.

5)for me i change 2 times oil filter, 1 time change air filter.

i not sure wad air filter is mine, i change mine at ah chong (planet) for 38 bucks.

ah boy sure much cheaper, just DIY lor. quite simple one.

6)depends on much you 'hoot' your bike.

usually change coolant will change both coolant and cap too. shld be around 30 bucks or less.

keep note of which mileage what you do etc etc. and i think your ride should be smooth.

unless your bike is like mine, drink fuel like an alcoholic drink wine.

many thanks for the reply.

appreciate it alot man!

thank you very much!!!

1.2.8l at disassemly----meaning?

2.so is useless lah...haha

3.so stick to original oil filter...

4.do you have the spark plug model number?

5.i think no need to change the filter so often right?can change every 9000km right,so is 3 change @ 3000km?

6.understand..change when needed

i do want to do up everythings as i just took over the ride.

many thanks for the reply.

appreciate it alot man!

thank you very much!!!

1.2.8l at disassemly----meaning?

2.so is useless lah...haha

3.so stick to original oil filter...

4.do you have the spark plug model number?

5.i think no need to change the filter so often right?can change every 9000km right,so is 3 change @ 3000km?

6.understand..change when needed

i do want to do up everythings as i just took over the ride.

hey np man. glad if i could help u in any way.

for me i try to stick to 2500km change engine oil and spark plugs, 5000km change oil filter, 10000km change air filter and coolant.

spark plugs wise i really no idea wad model no, jus know its those 5 bucks one.

engine oil wise usually is 2.1-2.3l depends on rider or mechanic, 2.8l is when u disassemble the engine i believe.

mayb u could also check your carbs too, brakes, tyres, chain, steering cones, wheel bearings, forks, etc etc.

hi any bros know the cost of brand new suspension and fork springs for steed?

"Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one. It doesn't mean its wrong or right."

Update on the accident,

All repair went to ah chong, and it is the first i am very disappointed in his service. the bike came back,

- paint job badly done after 2 times sending back.

- Bike cannot start, after which diagnose to be some wire problem, after repair some other problem arise. So i went to Amir. He helped me to solved it, and Amir stated tat wat planet did was totally not necessary.

- Screws missing and replaced with "non original", rubber under tank missing.

- Finding from paintshop. Planet promise me to repaint all damaged parts, the paint shop said everything is juz touch up and not respray the whole part. I dunnoe if this is the rite process. stated from paint shop touch up might "turn bad" after some time like bubble forming. The paint shop say is planet problem, planet say is paint shop problem.

This incident caused me a lot of cab fare which i end up going to Amir for technical issues and suck my thumb for those cosmetics problems... LOL! Sharing...

Can anyone advice me if i can check the claims for my bike? Ah chong did it for me but i dun really trust him now. anyway to check on my own?

Anyway my bike hit around 170+ before going to reserve.