Our adjustable lowering kit replaces a stock part on your bike, and will allow you to adjust the height to fit your riding needs. Our lowering kit will allow you to set the height down 1.5" or 2.5" lower than stock height. (Please note: you will need to compress your shock spring to install this, or any other VLX lowering kit on your shock.

dun have much photos, but i guess it is mounted right at the susp from their descriptions.

• Replies 4.9k

okok i know how they mount it liao.. it replaces one end of your suspension mounts... bro.. dun need to lower first... do the subframe like what i told u.. might be able to make it work.

alrite, prob next week start... gonna do the headlites and brakelites 1st...

This is the lowering kit I used.

You can DIY it, but you will have to machine it out of a block of metal. In terms of design, it's pretty straight forward. You don't even have to make it nice and round, just make sure you take appropriate measurements.

But what you should be concerned with is structural integrity. This part carries a lot of weight, and will be subjected to a lot of force. If it cracks, your bike will bottom out, and you will crash.

Installing it isn't difficult.

You have to remove the existing shock, compress the spring, unscrew the existing head, and screw the new one in.

Removing the existing shock is quite straight forward, but tedious. You need a range of spanners, a car jack, and a few hours. The Scootwork kit comes with precise instructions, including what spanner sizes you need.

Compressing the spring to access the bolts to remove the head is difficult. Scootwork sells a spring compressor for abt US$30. If not, head down to Braddell Road where David the suspension expert is. I'm not sure if he's still there. I went to a few shops, and only David dared take on the job. The others said no one ever needs to touch Steed rear shocks, so they don't have the right adapter to compress the spring with. David himself had to improvise, but we did it in the end. He charged me $20 for all his effort.

Once you can access the bolts hidden by the spring, it's easy to loosen them to remove the head. You just need the right sized spanners, some oil, and brute force.

Screwing the new head on is easy. Just do everything in the reverse. If you want to lower the steed even more, Scootwork suggests sawing off 1/2 inch of the threaded rod. I didn't do this, but your bike will drop by another 1/2" if you do. Again, the Scootwork instructions cover all this.

After you've taken care of the rear shock, you can reinstall it. It'll take an hr or so. Again, quite tedious, but pretty straight forward.

ic, they hav another adjustable type, but the device looks real simple, probably able to diy?

http://media.50below.com/customcatalogs/7e4ec69a-af85-4ba8-8e8c-f10e7627f9de/-799/products/detail/f82bcabf-40b0-4136-ae91-3aa37a989813.jpg

thks bro, i will decide nex week wad i intend to do...

ordered already from ebay...Wait for Terrible one so long lah..About sgd$130. Oso bought new rear suspension for $350..Mine a bit bouncy lah, maybe cos of my 'feather' weight butt...heeee

Oversea leh,forget to reply ur SMS.. Haha.. We can make and sell.. Who interested? Terrible-Sprint lowering kit.. :angel:

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

This wan buy already can make and sell also.. Haha

maybe when i buy, some 1 can help copy and fabricate.. sell it cheaper here in SG... :) i dun mind helping in this.. but when i save enuff to buy... :D

if i buy and ship in is around 270-300.

I ordered this one... Felt that the holes were a bit further apart so the support should be stronger.. The one sold at scootworks looks similar but the holes are a bit nearer, and in theory, the thickness of the metal between the holes looks thinner as well as the base, and therefore, IMO is not as strong...I'm not putting down any of the products but its just my humble opinion... Both using the 1144 stress proof steel anyway but a bit cheaper, especially the postage (USD$10.49 only)...

Lowering Kit.jpg

94-95 FJ5514C xr200r,95-97 FK8732P Suzuki bandit GSF400P,96-97 FD6122A Xr350r,97-99 FP1472J KawaGt550,99-01 FR9492M Honda S4cb400vtec1,98-10 AV2612T vespa px150,98-10 AQ5313M vespa vbb150,01-03 FR7087M Harley fatboy flstf,06-08 FA8752J Vespa Rally PX,05-07 FN6735D Steed VSE 400,07-11 SGQ6458P Opel Meriva 1.6FL, 08-09 FP4470U S4 Ver S,09-11 FP1152H Honda steed VSE 400 bobber

Fix already? Sms me the next time u're working on ur bike at the mscp k. If I free I'll buy some teh tarik over

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w242/hideaway17/Picture011-1.jpg

Riot-Bike Co.

eh, make measurements leh, i see if can reproduce a replica or not... :D

Haven't got much time for my bike cos been busy with work and my 2 girls.. Finally touched the bars I wanted to make.. Rusty already.. Gonna get it welded,drilled and tapped tomoro(hopefully).. It's basically a 1inch bar but with 7/8" ends so I can fit skinny grips and a single cable throttle housing.. 31inch wide.. Used the brake cable from my bicycle for the throttle.. Turn signal switch is from a vintage Vespa.. I really wanted a Vespa part on my bike,I guess a switch will do.. Lets hope it'll look as clean as I hope it will be..

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/ABCD0013.jpg

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/ABCD0012.jpg

Riot-Bike Co.

can you post the measurements here? then can DIY. :D

No need measurement la.. Bar is 1 inch pipe(25.4mm).. But mine a bit thin walled,only 1.5mm thick.. Hope it'll hold.. I just bought watever I can find,no time to source.. Sent for welding already.. Machine a pair of fork extension also,1 1/2 inch with flush top.. Plenty of things to do,so little money and time

Riot-Bike Co.

No need measurement la.. Bar is 1 inch pipe(25.4mm).. But mine a bit thin walled,only 1.5mm thick.. Hope it'll hold.. I just bought watever I can find,no time to source.. Sent for welding already.. Machine a pair of fork extension also,1 1/2 inch with flush top.. Plenty of things to do,so little money and time

welcome to the world of backstreet kustomizing lol...

since this is steed thread...any kind soul can enlighten me...

what the diff between a shadow and steed...interm of performance, reliability and maintence cost? thanks...

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!

since this is steed thread...any kind soul can enlighten me...

what the diff between a shadow and steed...interm of performance, reliability and maintence cost? thanks...

Maintenance cost same,but Shadow front tire might cost a bit more($10-20 diff).. Performance also about the same,but my mech says Steed low end better due to gear ratio diff,got to google for gear ratio for the 2 models to comfirm.. Resale value Shadow better,but it's more ex to buy also..

Riot-Bike Co.

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/1126/68763788.jpg

Malaysian Steed

Edited by Terrible One

Riot-Bike Co.

yo terrible one, i see u have been modding the bike to a certain extent. dunno yet what plans u have for your rear fender, but malaysian steed's rear look is something u can consider. thats the only way u will can get the fender as low as possible to the tire. If u are interested to carry out THAT mod, i can guide u through.

I got a feeling you dun realy like the flat fender look on the malaysian steed.. i think you would prefer a curved one with a center rib across the entire length of the fender...hahaha..

Actually I would love to chop off my sub frame and have that look,but I still wanna pillion. I know it's possible to have a rear tire hugger like that and fabricate a pillion seat like those after-market attached on ones for Rocker,but it's ugly IMO. I shall get my bars done and fabricate the lowering kit first. Need to weld the bracket for the tail light and turn signals also. Gonna cut up the original fender and use it for the moment. How's ur Max coming along?

Edited by Terrible One

Riot-Bike Co.

Actually I would love to chop off my sub frame and have that look,but I still wanna pillion. I know it's possible to have a rear tire hugger like that and fabricate a pillion seat like those after-market attached on ones for Rocker,but it's ugly IMO. I shall get my bars done and fabricate the lowering kit first. Need to weld the bracket for the tail light and turn signals also. Gonna cut up the original fender and use it for the moment. How's ur Max coming along?

hahah.. its possible to have that look and still pillion. i done it b4. lets discuss the details in pm... not wise to do it out here so openly.