First, thanks to the TS for sharing his troubles to alert others on the perils of COI and verbal agreements with bike shops.

Secondly, legally, even if a shop is not fully named but enough information is provided that its identity can be ascertained they could have legal grounds to take action. However, the merits of their actions will depend fully on how factual your account is.

In fact, even if you're telling the absolute truth and you can back it up they can still send one a lawyer's letter alleging defamation and requesting you to apologise and remove your posts. If you don;t have the guts or desire to counter their claim becuase of cost or whatever reason, even though you have prove you will have to give in to their requests.

So I can understand why you do not want to name the shop but still kudos to you for sharing your experience. Lose the money. not the lesson.

On the other hand, you should do everything in your power to go after the buyer who played you out!

Someday, home will be where my front wheel points.

Astride a 2002 Yamaha Fazer FZS600

• Replies 151

First, thanks to the TS for sharing his troubles to alert others on the perils of COI and verbal agreements with bike shops.

Secondly, legally, even if a shop is not fully named but enough information is provided that its identity can be ascertained they could have legal grounds to take action. However, the merits of their actions will depend fully on how factual your account is.

In fact, even if you're telling the absolute truth and you can back it up they can still send one a lawyer's letter alleging defamation and requesting you to apologise and remove your posts. If you don;t have the guts or desire to counter their claim becuase of cost or whatever reason, even though you have prove you will have to give in to their requests.

So I can understand why you do not want to name the shop but still kudos to you for sharing your experience. Lose the money. not the lesson.

On the other hand, you should do everything in your power to go after the buyer who played you out!

i do know the law bro... and if they were to send me a lawyer letter then their identity will be out rite:thumb: ... Go to court for $1500 not worth it i think...if they feel the pinch and want me to delete the post y not? No harm.... i already state my objective....:thumb:

PROMINENT SHOP does not equal to Shop name

i did not state any names...

Also i hope other bikers can share their experience so as to future bike buyers can look out for the loopholes....:thumb:

like you state... $$ can earn

i think it would be a lesson to all of us who want to sell off their bikes.

NEVER. EVER. JUST. ADD. SUB. RIDER!

Especially if you don't know the guy well!

not even if he whines that he has no money for insurance. if thats the canse then you should already know something is amiss. if he cant pay for insurance why the hell should anyone expect him to pay installments on time?

either case. i think it would be for the greater good of everyone for you to reveal the one truly at fault here: the defaulter. expose his identity so that no other poor soul would have to suffer like you did should he do the same crap like before.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

i do know the law bro... and if they were to send me a lawyer letter then their identity will be out rite:thumb: ... Go to court for $1500 not worth it i think...if they feel the pinch and want me to delete the post y not? No harm.... i already state my objective....:thumb:

PROMINENT SHOP does not equal to Shop name

i did not state any names...

Also i hope other bikers can share their experience so as to future bike buyers can look out for the loopholes....:thumb:

like you state... $$ can earn

Didn't you read that company sued up to Court of Appeal over unpaid $200 fine for the release of wheel clamp over illegal parking ?

The most incriminating statement is that you have explicitly stated that you have been conned which infers that the shop was not honest. Their integrity has been compromised by your statement, just by that there is enough grounds to file a defamation suit against you.

If there is going to be a suit, the onus is on you to show proof that you have been conned, and not the company to prove that you were not conned

If the mod suddenly locks this thread, a storm is brewing :angel:

Let's hope this matter will die off, and not end up to be another fiasco.

Didn't you read that company sued up to Court of Appeal over unpaid $200 fine for the release of wheel clamp over illegal parking ?

The most incriminating statement is that you have explicitly stated that you have been conned which infers that the shop was not honest. Their integrity has been compromised by your statement, just by that there is enough grounds to file a defamation suit against you.

If there is going to be a suit, the onus is on you to show proof that you have been conned, and not the company to prove that you were not conned

If the mod suddenly locks this thread, a storm is brewing :angel:

Let's hope this matter will die off, and not end up to be another fiasco.

IF they insisit in gg to court i cant do anything rite..

SEE wat i mean... when i a buyer try to make known to others some facts its called defamation.... But when the shop change their agreed terms its called WHAT???????????? A mistake? A GENUINE MISTAKE?????????????:angry:

btw, for all who pmed me, i only share such personal experiences with people whom i know. for all i know, one of you could be associated with the shop and telling you how f_up your shop is = me shooting my own foot yes? since i'm still paying my monthly instalments there (miserably), i would not be dumb enough to cause more friction between me and the said shop.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

btw, for all who pmed me, i only share such personal experiences with people whom i know. for all i know, one of you could be associated with the shop and telling you how f_up your shop is = me shooting my own foot yes? since i'm still paying my monthly instalments there (miserably), i would not be dumb enough to cause more friction between me and the said shop.

ya lor bro....:thumb: me too....

u wont belive the amt of pm i received...

come on guys... the best is to learn from my Mistake and not b very very interested in the shop...

eVen if i mention shop wat can b done?

It will only make matters worse....:)

if they decides to sue u bcoz u said they are dishonest, u can sue them back for calling u a cheat.. if they did not honour the contracts, u can sue them for breach of contract..

if none of you are going to share the name of the shop......... we wont be able to knw the right one and its wrong to assume and accuse the wrong shop.

I really dont understand why are you guys complaining but yet afraid of the bike shop.

There is no way they can do you harm but mentioning here anything......

Im really puzzled with lots of ppl here with public apologies, and lots of other stuff

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

bro.. the bike shop is able to sue for defamation and slander.. becos wad we said here might be "groundless" to them and they would be able to make a big hoo ha over it and bring the parties involved to court and sue them.

damn!

i study abit law ar... hope can up it into good use here... if u change terms in a contract... all parties involved in the contract should be notified... no notification = invalid changes... but sue the shop under what gounds im not sure... not professional enuf... haha... hope this helps...

In the case of defamation, as long as you are able to prove wad u say is right, they cant sue you...

my 5cents worth :cheeky:

Class 2B - 23 Nov 2007

Class 2A - 24 Mar 2009

Class 2 - 19 Oct 2010

Class 3 - 20 Jul 2011

I think the bike shop deserves to be angry... i mean anybody wud if we were in deir shoes.. BUT the shop lyk f**k to add dis add dat, new amt of dis dat & storage fee??? dat particular pattern somehow seems familiar..

heard it happened before to a friend, but it's beside shop S!

http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/pp164/deesiriwan/kecik.jpg?t=1257906138

http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/pp164/deesiriwan/s4.jpg?t=1257910713

if none of you are going to share the name of the shop......... we wont be able to knw the right one and its wrong to assume and accuse the wrong shop.

I really dont understand why are you guys complaining but yet afraid of the bike shop.

Im really puzzled with lots of ppl here with public apologies, and lots of other stuff

Again i say.... wats the use of knowing the shop name?

Can reverse wat happenend? can i still get back the DEAL which was agreed UPON?

Sometimes it very funny.... 1st all wanna know shop name...

Now all talking ABT sUEING AND STUFF.....:thumb::cool:

I think the bike shop deserves to be angry... i mean anybody wud if we were in deir shoes.. BUT the shop lyk f**k to add dis add dat, new amt of dis dat & storage fee??? dat particular pattern somehow seems familiar..

heard it happened before to a friend, but it's beside shop S!

brO... THR IS no need for them to be angry as i came down to settle the $$ outstanding ... not that i ran away or dissappear....

& come on guys.... stop using shop A B C D E F G H I J K ETC ETC to predict the shop..... No point.... it only makes matter worse...

And if there is no harm like some said in posting Shop name (which i disagree)

y stil use ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ? :cheeky: :thumb: :cool:

totally agree... it is good enuf that someone is sharing their encounter... at least we will know wad to do when is involved in a similar situation...

thanks for sharing dude.. :cheeky:

Class 2B - 23 Nov 2007

Class 2A - 24 Mar 2009

Class 2 - 19 Oct 2010

Class 3 - 20 Jul 2011

bro.. the bike shop is able to sue for defamation and slander.. becos wad we said here might be "groundless" to them and they would be able to make a big hoo ha over it and bring the parties involved to court and sue them.

If there is no spark there wont be any fire.

So on what ground can they accuse you ..... comon lah they are just threatening most of them.

If you have enuff evidence why are u scared.

They want to sue for defamation ...... on what ground. Base on Forum and internet resource.

I ever ask Police Officers : There is no such ground they can claimed base on internet forum.

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

So on what ground can they accuse you ..... comon lah they are just threatening most of them.

They want to sue for defamation ...... on what ground. Base on Forum and internet resource.

I ever ask Police Officers : There is no such ground they can claimed base on internet forum.

I think that's a case before. http://www.hardwarezone.com involving one of the famous shop in Sim Lim Square. The coy went to court to get court order and served it to the website to handover the IP of the forum-ers. Then took legal actions against the forum-ers.

Defamation applies even in internet. To seek the proper legal advice ask the lawyers and not the police officers (this sort of defamation unlikely to be criminal defamation under the penal code so police will do nothing about it since it is non-criminal).

You may wish to refer to the Defamation Act.

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/cgi-bin/cgi_getdata.pl?actno=1965-REVED-75

Versys

well, simply put, if you need to know, you could always ask the countless others who posted negative experiences with the bikeshops. the very same people who posted public apologies soon after. if the bikeshops/ finance companies can't harm them, the forum members are apologising because of guilt? i for one do not take anyone's bait, i bet many others have gotten smarter after reading all the public apologies. they came in here to rant and get the load off their chest but as for whoever did them harm, no names mentioned to safeguard our own interests.

should some TS post their bad experience with the said shop through communication and paperwork discrepancies, the bikeshop can choose to press defamation charges and have a high chance of winning because they can prove a breach in contract through their hire and purchase legal terms that most ORDINARY SINGAPOREANS do not understand. even if we did read through all the legal mumbo jumbo, we do not necessarily interpret it correctly, ask the salesmen and they can lie about it, we won't know any better. at the end of the day, we sign and our signatures bind us to it. when the shop does a 360° turn and starts to play it's typical tricks, we can't press charges.

WHY? we can't prove that the salesmen/ boss lied but the shop has our signature on the hire and purchase form. jesus h christ what do we do? stop buying bikes? most shops are like that, inexperienced and experienced buyers get conned through aggressive sales tactics and we as consumers are not protected by the law. the small claims tribunal has NO JURISDICTION over hire and purchase acts. wanna take action to get your $

if you really need to know, ask your close friends and get some feedback. if they have no bad experiences with all the shops they got their bikes from, hey, post the bikeshop names here, i would very much like to deal with them.

any law student/ lawyers here could advise us on what the fees are like or how the whole procedure goes? btw, anyone who advices the TSs to approach CASE to take legal action for them don't know any better. CASE is a mediating organisation, stop promoting them as legal do gooders ffs.

oh and as for asking POs, they don't practice law so don't take their word for it, same goes for me. i post what i read through official sites but i would like to know more to protect ourselves as consumers so please do correct me if i made any mistakes. i got my info from http://app.subcourts.gov.sg/mdc-cic/page.aspx?pageid=6531 ,hope i did not read anything wrongly..

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

well, simply put, if you need to know, you could always ask the countless others who posted negative experiences with the bikeshops. the very same people who posted public apologies soon after. if the bikeshops/ finance companies can't harm them, the forum members are apologising because of guilt? i for one do not take anyone's bait, i bet many others have gotten smarter after reading all the public apologies. they came in here to rant and get the load off their chest but as for whoever did them harm, no names mentioned to safeguard our own interests.

should some TS post their bad experience with the said shop through communication and paperwork discrepancies, the bikeshop can choose to press defamation charges and have a high chance of winning because they can prove a breach in contract through their hire and purchase legal terms that most ORDINARY SINGAPOREANS do not understand. even if we did read through all the legal mumbo jumbo, we do not necessarily interpret it correctly, ask the salesmen and they can lie about it, we won't know any better. at the end of the day, we sign and our signatures bind us to it. when the shop does a 360° turn and starts to play it's typical tricks, we can't press charges.

WHY? we can't prove that the salesmen/ boss lied but the shop has our signature on the hire and purchase form. jesus h christ what do we do? stop buying bikes? most shops are like that, inexperienced and experienced buyers get conned through aggressive sales tactics and we as consumers are not protected by the law. the small claims tribunal has NO JURISDICTION over hire and purchase acts. wanna take action to get your $

if you really need to know, ask your close friends and get some feedback. if they have no bad experiences with all the shops they got their bikes from, hey, post the bikeshop names here, i would very much like to deal with them.

any law student/ lawyers here could advise us on what the fees are like or how the whole procedure goes? btw, anyone who advices the TSs to approach CASE to take legal action for them don't know any better. CASE is a mediating organisation, stop promoting them as legal do gooders ffs.

oh and as for asking POs, they don't practice law so don't take their word for it, same goes for me. i post what i read through official sites but i would like to know more to protect ourselves as consumers so please do correct me if i made any mistakes. i got my info from http://app.subcourts.gov.sg/mdc-cic/page.aspx?pageid=6531 ,hope i did not read anything wrongly..

Ya lor... wa bro thanks for your time.... Some r just interested in making matters worse and not take the lesson learnt......:cool:

IF they insisit in gg to court i cant do anything rite..

SEE wat i mean... when i a buyer try to make known to others some facts its called defamation.... But when the shop change their agreed terms its called WHAT???????????? A mistake? A GENUINE MISTAKE?????????????:angry:

relax ah bro..dun get too worked up...let their conscience act on them (if they have any)...

besides..my momma always tell me..money that's earned the honest way will last u..but money earned dishonestly..will be gone without u even realising it...

cheers ya!! Gong Xi Fa Cai..It's a new year..let bygones be bygones and may 2008 be a betta yr fer us all :D

what that doesn't kills u, makes u stronger!!

i think you might had read about pple were prosecuted for spreading racist remarks on the internet, ie. blogs, forums, etc. so from those examples, pple do hold responsible for their remarks on the internet.