Do you know how to break in your new Bike (Engine)

johntan

Man... I am stump... we have been sold the idea of how to break in new engines.. be gentle.. rev slowly etc etc... and then this topic throws everything we have been made to believe and practise out the window...

Controversial... but it makes a lot of sense.....

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

So, all you guys who are gonna take delivery of your new bikes soon... how are you gonna break in your engine??

Decisions decisions.....

• Replies 830

eh, wat's the meaning of break in new engine??? :sweat:

class 3 -- 8 dec 2003

class 2b -- 23 mar 2004

class 2a -- 20th june 2006

ASRock 939 Dual-SATA2 (Asus A7M266)

Athlon64 4400+ (1.4Ghz athlon)

Corsair 2 x 1Gb DDR400 (UCCC chips)

40Gb maxtor ata133(6L040J2) & 80Gb maxtor sata1

500gb seagate sata2

NVIDIA 8600GT & LG 1950H

TDK cyclone(int) & TDK dvd-rw

Originally posted by secretsounds@Jan 10 2006, 08:37 PM

hey..i read abt it thru my frd.i'l b taking out my new bike tmrw...11 jan...after reading it n consulting mechanics frm unity...i think i'l go 4 d hard break in..

What bike you getting? And how much you paid?

RIDE SAFELY ON THE ROAD, BURN RUBBER AT THE TRACK

Yup... seems that hard break in is the way to go.... veryone seems to support this method... now doesn't it make you wonder if the distributors are "old tech brain" or some conspiracy to make your motor (car or bike) shite... hahaha

http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/showthread....&threadid=61740

Happy break in all you guys/gals with new motor.... you Hard Breakers!! haha

Originally posted by slow_sp@Jan 10 2006, 10:45 PM

those who dun hab the guts to do it then let me do it for them lor...since i so free now...haha...but at their own risk lor....:cheeky:

Alvin, I heard u getting G6K6 soon? Welcome to the 600cc club :cheer: Need Kinwei to help u hard break in your engine and ...some say...kantong?

By the way, another :thumb: for the hard run in method. My R6's 40,000km engine runs smooth and powerful without consuming any detectable levels of EO at all. Many bikes run in softly do, especially high compression high rev 600cc engines.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

i've read thru mototuneusa before. what i gathered from states and europe, is that, many claims this is total crap and mototuneusa has got many peps believed in it.

as for me, frankly speaking, i've got no idea at all. hard or soft.. everyone has different says and individually, there seems to be thousand and one way to break in. gawd.....

i'm just :giddy:

Ventura Puig Keiti Bagster Motovation Akrapovic BMC Pazzo GPR RaceShield Brembo Bridgestone EBC

Arai AGV Alpinestar Dainese Sidi Coolmax

Originally posted by GerardSantaCruz@Jan 11 2006, 04:32 PM

i've read thru mototuneusa before. what i gathered from states and europe, is that, many claims this is total crap and mototuneusa has got many peps believed in it.

as for me, frankly speaking, i've got no idea at all. hard or soft.. everyone has different says and individually, there seems to be thousand and one way to break in. gawd.....

interesting feedback... first non-positive one I've come across so far.... I was on another bike and car forum with international members and they all seem to think his method is good..

Could you link the sites/threads/forums where others have other comments... would make for interesting reading and pondering...

Hard break in is only for 400cc and above....

below 400cc and 2T bikes cannot hard run in.

Its a fact.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i179/vjjam/SBFpic3.jpg

Bikes Owned Previously : Aprilia RS125 / Suzuki GSX 400RR / Aprilia RS250 / Honda Phantom TA150 / Yamaha YZF-R1 2004 / Yamaha X1 2005

Bikes Owned Currently : Yamaha YZF-R6 2006

Sponsorship by : SPA TREASURES

Originally posted by GerardSantaCruz@Jan 11 2006, 04:32 PM

Who ever wants to believe anything he reads on the net or magazines is their problem. Its good you know the truth. The manufacturer way is the recommended way no whatever hard or soft. I read through the link and it was an extremely misleading article. No manufacturer will ever dare to give warranty for that kind of running in. Gerard... You know why I say that... haha..

Originally posted by zniper@Jan 10 2006, 08:43 PM

eh, wat's the meaning of break in new engine??? :sweat:

It's like breaking the virginity of a virgin girl lah, zniper. :lol: Actually, its the process whereby you whack your bike hard so that your new engine will have more power and less wear and tear in the long run... :thumb:

Originally posted by MS@Jan 11 2006, 07:48 PM

Who ever wants to believe anything he reads on the net or magazines is their problem. Its good you know the truth. The manufacturer way is the recommended way no whatever hard or soft. I read through the link and it was an extremely misleading article. No manufacturer will ever dare to give warranty for that kind of running in. Gerard... You know why I say that... haha..

Why the manufacturer,dont recommend the hard break in,cos if you do the hard run in on the street , it very dangerous,and most likely you break the law by speeding. and even if you do a hard run in, and your bike really got problem, you go back to the manufacturer, i dont think they can tell the different , weather you do the easy break in or the hard way.

As for my own research, from wat i found out, a big thank to Unity, i found out that those that did hard break in ,the bike has 1-3 bhp more than those bike that did the easy run in.I am saying both bike is same model and no mod been done to both bike.

Originally posted by amano@Jan 11 2006, 02:57 PM

Dun forget to change EO early if do hard break-in. Very important. The most inmportant distant is from 0km- 36km. Make sure its done hard and well. Take care.... My is done that way and is real good and powerful.

:thumb: When i did my hard break in after on dyno machine. i change the EO every 200km till i reach 2400km.

Originally posted by WW@Jan 11 2006, 08:57 PM

:thumb: When i did my hard break in after on dyno machine. i change the EO every 200km till i reach 2400km.

wow~ :sweat:

http://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_kanan.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_katagiri.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_ringo.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_yuukisan.gif

is reving high means hard breaking?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Originally posted by ProjectD@Jan 11 2006, 09:08 PM

is reving high means hard breaking?

No,no, you need to load the engine. with engine break. like on 3rd gear pull to almost red line ,than let go of throttle and let the engine do the braking.

Therfore it migth be very dangerous if you do it on the road,cos the car or object behind you might not know you are slowing down.So i recommend you do it on a dyno machine.