but the clutch cable is outside the engine mah :?

I think it's the clutch plates that gets lubed. Then no sound when engaged into 1st gear.

I'm surprised at all these dubious theories when end of the day, no one got it right. Nowadays, the forum is getting worse with this trend.

People dunno the answer, still anyhow come up with some "cheem" theory to sound knowledgeable.. Sigh..

I know a thread like this existed and I even posted in it! But I can't seem to find my previous postings before June last year! I know before that, someone did bring it up!

• Replies 61

Why clutch in when you start your bike??

Its a good habit to have regardless of what kind of bike you ride coz for some bikes... if you inadvertently started the bike in gear the bike will lurch forward and you could run into someone or something or worse still lose your balance and drop the bike.

Why some is there a loud sound from the transmission when 1st gear is engaged even though the clutch is pulled in on some bikes?

Transmission back lash. There already exists a certain amount of freeplay (read as clearance between the interlocking gear teeth of the drive train) due to wear and tear or the way the gear teeth are cut during manufacture.

This backlash is absorbed by the rubber dampers that are positioned inside the hub of the rear wheel.

When you remove the rear wheel and take off the rear sprocket mount assembly... you will see the black rubber dampers sitting like flower petals in the middle of the wheel surrounding the centre hole where the wheel shaft goes through. The 'blades' on the rear sprocket mounts fit in between the 'petals' of the rubber damper. If the dampers are missing or aged hardened... the backlash will be worse...ie the sound when first gear is engaged is louder.

Lack of lube (ie dry clutch) between the clutch plates will only cause grabbing, ie the bike does not move off smoothly at half clutch but rather jerks or grabs intermittently.

When you pull in your clutch lever...you work against the clutch springs which are holding the clutch plates together, meaning... you separate the clutch plate from each other allowing the engine to disengage from your final drive... ie whichever gear you have selected. That is when you are free gearing.

simply prevents ur bike from jerking forward if start in gear. double check ensure neutral is on.

Why clutch in when you start your bike??

Its a good habit to have regardless of what kind of bike you ride coz for some bikes... if you inadvertently started the bike in gear the bike will lurch forward and you could run into someone or something or worse still lose your balance and drop the bike.

Why some is there a loud sound from the transmission when 1st gear is engaged even though the clutch is pulled in on some bikes?

Transmission back lash. There already exists a certain amount of freeplay (read as clearance between the interlocking gear teeth of the drive train) due to wear and tear or the way the gear teeth are cut during manufacture.

This backlash is absorbed by the rubber dampers that are positioned inside the hub of the rear wheel.

When you remove the rear wheel and take off the rear sprocket mount assembly... you will see the black rubber dampers sitting like flower petals in the middle of the wheel surrounding the centre hole where the wheel shaft goes through. The 'blades' on the rear sprocket mounts fit in between the 'petals' of the rubber damper. If the dampers are missing or aged hardened... the backlash will be worse...ie the sound when first gear is engaged is louder.

Lack of lube (ie dry clutch) between the clutch plates will only cause grabbing, ie the bike does not move off smoothly at half clutch but rather jerks or grabs intermittently.

When you pull in your clutch lever...you work against the clutch springs which are holding the clutch plates together, meaning... you separate the clutch plate from each other allowing the engine to disengage from your final drive... ie whichever gear you have selected. That is when you are free gearing.

wow.... that's a more detailed explaination. My riding instructor in Australia just explained the 1st paragraph. As a newbie that time, I just accepted what he said.

it cant be done for mine. bike needs to be in neutral to start no matter what.

For most 2A bikes like RVF,PGM 4, there's a sensor switch on the side stand fold up area if u notice..So as long as ur side stand is down and u engage gear 1, the engine will stall..

Like if it happens so in an event of accident, the engine will stall immediately..

i nv clutch in, seem normal, personal preference

once i start my bike with neutral light on, but the bike still jerk forward. siao one.. since then i clutch in just for safety purpose.

If your bike inches forward despite being in Neutral or clutched in, this may be a sign of clutch plate wear or maybe very dirty engine oil. Or something's wrong with (something inside) your gearbox.

oh ok ok. :giddy: thanks for the info. it doesnt happen everytime but i'll check with my mechanic next time i change EO. :cool:

16043136772_a80daf3f36_h.jpg

I will also do so as it happen to me too. Thanks.

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

Class 2B 21/05/2008 (BBDC)

Class 2A 18/08/2009 (BBDC)

Yamaha RXZ 135 FS xxxx D since 04/06/2008 till 12/06/2010

Honda Vtec 1 FS xxxx K since 29/12/2009

Ah yo.....does it matter? since it is a safety feature to start the bike whether clutch in/brake in....most important is the bike will start and no problem to the bike then we all can have a safe ride......dun worry be happy!!!!!!!!!

Past rides:-

Cagiva Mito, Hexagon 150, KTM 125EXC,

Shadow 400, Ducati Monster 400, CBR 400RL,

Yamaha R1, Honda Goldwing1500

Present ride:-

Honda Deauville NT700

:gun: :bouncefire:

interesting, but i don't see how the holding the clutch in is any different from starting in neutral, after all, nothing is engaged in both instances. could you explain more in detail regarding the burden of the starter motor? i read the paragraph 2 times but my stupid brain still cannot comprehend :cheeky:

You're right that nothing is engaged when Neutral is selected.

If you clutch in while starting, you are only cranking the flywheel and all your pistons, con-rods, etc. Even your mainshaft of the gearbox is disconnected thereby reducing a bit of rotational inertia to the starter motor to overcome.

If you don't clutch in, what happens is the mainshaft of the gearbox would be turning since it is engaged by the clutch to the flywheel. This mainshaft is always spinning as long as the clutch is released whether you're in N,1,2,3,4,5. If Neutral is selected, the mainshaft would just spin without engaging any gears. The spinning mainshaft has to overcome the shearing of the oil which introduce a bit more drag.

Having said all of this, I do not think that the additional load caused by the mainshaft rotational inertia and oil-shearin drag would really affect the starter motor much. It's just that if you start your engine with clutch-in, you know that you're doing everything you can help prolong the starter motor.