my friends bike also got the same problem. tik tik sound when off engine. he went to ask mech, the mech told him its because his engne cooling down. tik tik sound is because his bike no coolant, thats why when engine cool down will have that sound. don't know if the info is reliable anot.

• Replies 47

my friends bike also got the same problem. tik tik sound when off engine. he went to ask mech, the mech told him its because his engne cooling down. tik tik sound is because his bike no coolant, thats why when engine cool down will have that sound. don't know if the info is reliable anot.

I don't understand...if the bike has no coolant, why not they open up the coolant filler cap to verify o_O

cfm not reliable!

very funny, the tik tik sound sometimes got, sometimes dont have...

very easy to verify the tik tik whether it is the exhaust header. after riding n off engine, press a slight damp cloth against the header, if the tik tik sound tiks faster, then u know it's the header liao loh... don't do it too often la, once is enough...

I don't understand...if the bike has no coolant, why not they open up the coolant filler cap to verify o_O

oops. i meant like the cooling system is not use coolant one. i also don't know whats the correct term for it. haha.

oh you mean air cooled bikes ah.. this tik tik sound occurs to all bikes/machines... even planes..

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

very easy to verify the tik tik whether it is the exhaust header. after riding n off engine, press a slight damp cloth against the header, if the tik tik sound tiks faster, then u know it's the header liao loh... don't do it too often la, once is enough...

where is the header, i'm idiot on bikes. :giddy:

what's air cooled bikes? mine only got a large heat sink, no fans.

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

My TV also have this "tik tik tik...." sound after I switched it off, most likely from the contraction of parts when cooling down.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

yrs is air cooled bike if there is no radiator attached..

the header is the part where the round pipe attach to the engine(large heat sink as u mention) and link to the exhuast end..

I see alot of funny, amusing response here.. Someone even can say wheel bearing.. Park liao how to have sound in wheel bearing??

But under normal circumstances it is perfectly acceptable, like what many have mentioned it is contraction of metal parts.

So dun worry too much abt it unless its sounds as nasty as a monster k?

Scooter Tuning Is Not A Crime.

air-cooled > large heat sinks > more surface area > help in dispersing heat faster to the atmosphere... lol...

if liquid cooled u will have a radiator(something like a waterbottle) infront of ur engine...

correct me if i m wrong... xD

Inherited Will.

The Age of the Destiny and The Dreams of the People,

These are the things that will not be stopped.

As long as people continue to pursue the meaning of freedom,

These things will never cease to be!

yeah no problem de.. the sound will become slower and finally go away as ur bike cools..

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t286/modenaboi/signature.jpg

Practical Test Checklist:

√ Sudden and late braking

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Assume road belongs to father

√ Never at fault no matter what happens

√ Tailgating confidence

Result: YES! You qualify to become a Singapore car driver!

thanks all, mine is air-cooled, so no raidator.

the tik is something like small stones jumping inside the metal parts, funny is sometimes loud, sometimes soft. Is the weather playing a part too? Nowadays not so hot like few mths ago.

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

hey guys, I've just experienced the same issue.. tik tok sound WHILE riding... sound will goes off once I clutch in or stop.. it sounds like keys "knocking each other" sounds.. I tot it's my keys, took out my keys but same issue.. I tried to re-position myself while riding and the sound goes off again.. Any idea? I tot it's wheel bearings but checked ok lei.. I also tot is cable sounds but just took out and clean it liaoz... Btw, I'm riding KR150.. :)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

hey guys, I've just experienced the same issue.. tik tok sound WHILE riding... sound will goes off once I clutch in or stop.. it sounds like keys "knocking each other" sounds.. I tot it's my keys, took out my keys but same issue.. I tried to re-position myself while riding and the sound goes off again.. Any idea? I tot it's wheel bearings but checked ok lei.. I also tot is cable sounds but just took out and clean it liaoz... Btw, I'm riding KR150.. :)

It's very difficult to diagnose without hearing it. I would check for chain tension and wheel bearings. Let's not assume its coming from the engine :sian:

finally!!! figure out where's the source of the sound when i took out my ferrings... my NEWLY Mesh is not tight enough thus when wind blows... it will knock against my radiator.. Now settle liaoz... :D :angel:

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

my house there got one scooter, think its x8 or x9, everytime i see him park finish, his exhaust will tick tick tick dam loud one haha

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif

same to my K5. after a ride, n parked, wil have e tick tick sound too. i think is due to heat and e metal.yup. i think it's ok

<CMO> Easy-stand(universal) make lubrication of chain easier, faster & effordless.

Video:

***NEW*** Anti-Showa Suspension. 99% secure. Protect your CB400 Spec1 & 2 rear showa suspension from stolen.

INVEST TO PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

ok. now i have a question not from header. i am riding s4 and my bike have fast clock tiktiktiktiktiktik sound. can hear it when it is not so noisy. mostly night time. but after i off the engine. the tik tik sound stop. anyone know what is the prob?

Past Ride: 01/2007 - 04/2007 X1 (FZ7615Y) 04/2007 - 09/2008 KRR150 (FY5486X)

09/2008 - 03/2010 CB400 Spec3 (FZ2059K) 03/2010 - 07/2012 GSX 1300R Hayabusa K6 (FQ3277M)

07/2010 - 08/2012 Wave (FY4943A) 02/2012 - 07/2012 X9 EVO (FX7944H)

07/2013 - 12/2014 GSXR1000 K7 (FZ6284A)

Current Ride:

09/2012 - **/**** Fz16St

12/2013 - **/**** 883R