Hey guys. I'm on the verge of washing my pulsar alrdy. Got everything ready! Wanna ask first. Which part of the bike should not kenna water? Which part can Kenna water but not soap?

I feel like cleaning n lubing the chain and do i remove the two nuts that's holding on to the chain cover?

Hey guys. I'm on the verge of washing my pulsar alrdy. Got everything ready! Wanna ask first. Which part of the bike should not kenna water? Which part can Kenna water but not soap?

I feel like cleaning n lubing the chain and do i remove the two nuts that's holding on to the chain cover?

Dont Kena water on the exhaust pipe when it is hot, especially if your's is chrome.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Here's an update:

The car accessories sale is back on at Suntec Tower 4.

They have 2 things which are useful for bike owners.

1. Palm Cleaner. (Good for cleaning rims, fans, pots and pans) Easy application. Looks like a tub of margarine. Just put some palm cleaner on your sponge and rub on affected area. Use another clean cloth to wipe it off. Works very well on my Phantom rear rims last time. Really clean. Cost $11.00

2. Rust Remover. This item looks like a huge eraser. Easy application. Just rub it to affected area. Cost $4.90 i think.

Try to avoid washing the bike when it's still hot/warm :

- you can burn yourself on the engine block or pipe

- it's never good to splash water on a hot engine block

Warming up the bike a bit can be useful though to clean the chain or the engine block with a specific product made for that - but honestly, in SG roads we don't get so much dirt so not really needed.

Like they said, avoid splashing water to the dashboard. I recommend you clean it with a wet rag/towel. I personally spray water on it, but i know exactly where all my wires are (one would hope, after opening the damn thing a hundred times) and I know how to aim the water to avoid any water going under there.

A wet rag then a dry one will do the trick!

No water INSIDE the pipe, so if you want to clean the tip of the pipe, that small space inside, again, use a wet rag, sometimes there's rust or dust there.

For the engine block, don't aim water like you want to splash under the tank. Although everything is sealed, your carburetor doesn't like water (it's the clearest most grey part of the engine block) and there are some air intake hoses that are waterphobe as well.

So splash water from the side, in a wide gesture, don;t go in there with a hose jet .. :cheeky:

Anything you're not really sure of, think about when you ride, what's exposed to water: front forks, under the little radiator grill, that can take water and will probably the dirtiest place. Also don't forget around the main stand.

Under the fenders as well, although for the rear one, careful not to pull the rear signal lights wires. They are protected by a thick plastic wrap so they don't fear water just splash on.

For the chain, you can take out the guard if you need to, up to you and to how dirty that area seems to be.

Also, get a set of rags and towels just for the chain : you can use old clothes or rags sold cheap here and there: they will get soiled with oil and you don;t want to use those for the rest of the bike. it's good to have them you will use them many many many time, and you don;t need microfiber cloth for that area, just something that can tahan grease and can be used multiple times before throwing it away.

A brush or two for the chain and the rear wheel rim will also be a good thing to have.

If you want to clean yourself or any tool from the grease from the chain, your best bet is petrol from your tank (turn the fuel cock OFF, unplug the black rubber tube, put a recipient there, turn ON the fuel tank valve -> petrol to clean the oil !)

Don't aim water with a heavy stream on the tank fuel cap at the top.

Try not to leave the key in the ignition while washing the bike: in case water drips along the key into the ignition slot - not a big deal as it will dry, but just in case, remove the key.

The seats can get water just don't aim under them obviously, if you just splash water to clean them on every side it will be ok.

The side panels are more waterproof then they look: you can splash on, it won't get inside, don't worry.

Your mirrors might hold water, so turn them to remove any water trapped between the glass and the plastic.

Also turn right and left the handlebar to help any water trapped in the head assembly to drip and not stay too long inside all that wiring there.

In general, either put the bike to dry some place it will dry quickly, or even better, dry it yourself with a cloth. Everything close to wires or cables you want to dry with particular attention.

Anything "chrome" like (i.e aluminium or shiny), you want to dry with the same attention.

Also, in the future, look for rust marks around bolts, around the side and main stand, and on the exhaust pipe (from all sides, even the one not easy to find). Those are the places where rust will appear first, it's just normal tear from usage. But if you spot it early, you can apply some anti -rust product (WD40, chrome polish paste etc..) and prevent it from degradating.

As for the question about soap: anywhere mentioned to be careful with water, applies to soap. Otherwise, soap can go on all other places. It's advised to use sopa made for cars and vehicles: you can use dish washing soap, but it might affect the paint job on the bike.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Here's an update:

The car accessories sale is back on at Suntec Tower 4.

They have 2 things which are useful for bike owners.

1. Palm Cleaner. (Good for cleaning rims, fans, pots and pans) Easy application. Looks like a tub of margarine. Just put some palm cleaner on your sponge and rub on affected area. Use another clean cloth to wipe it off. Works very well on my Phantom rear rims last time. Really clean. Cost $11.00

2. Rust Remover. This item looks like a huge eraser. Easy application. Just rub it to affected area. Cost $4.90 i think.

Thanks for the tip Mobile ! Sale on for the whole week ?

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Update on my departure date for the touring trip (if anyone here still believes I will actually go !) : Will be this Sunday.

Went to MOM today and my card won;t be ready until Friday, so won;t be leaving tomorrow... :cry:

Alvin suggested if I leave on a Sunday that we could ride together for a portion of the road, what do you guys think ?

I am planning on taking the highway to the north, but we can also ride together on normal roads, depending on what you guys want and the type of riders that will be joining.

Likely departure time will be 7am or maybe a bit later if too early for the group. Let me know, I'm happy to put up a post for it to get attendance !

We''ll ride together as far as time permits, to allow you guys to get back to Singapore in the afternoon. Let me know how this sounds :)

yeah..i got it..i got 1 spare left actuali for e osram..gearsock i onli got neoprene..wad colour u wan?

ok can i collect that spare one? its new right?

as for gear socks, i'd prefer black cuz it would look less obvious.. got different type? one's neoprene and whats the other type?

Thanks for the tip Mobile ! Sale on for the whole week ?

Think so. Usually they run till Friday or Sunday.

The palm cleaner is good for removing grease and muck off your rims and swing arms. easy on easy off application.

The rust remover will cause some fine scratches cos it works like an eraser. But rust is gone.

Wow oren. Thanks. Haha. :) anyway. I just washed my bike before reading ur post. But now that i read it. I think i didnt do it very badly. Think i will leave chain cleaning and lubing to next week. I'm shy about one thing. I can't lift the bike onto mainstand. :x i called chris about my roadtax and told him about the mainstand and he said aiyooo dun worry. Not u not strong. Just that u duno the technique. Hehe tml i will go for servicing n collect my road tax. Will ask him to teach me how to put the bike on mainstand too! Haha. Thanks anyway oren. Guess i will check again to see whether i dried off all the wirings and chrome again

as for gear socks, i'd prefer black cuz it would look less obvious.. got different type? one's neoprene and whats the other type?

The other one which I bought from Fredd was a rubber material. Not bad.

durability wise, rubber is better..but i dun have dat anymore...black neoprene i may have stock..neoprene can take out easily..as for the osram, its new in packagin. i can meet u at rp thur or fri. goin sepang tmrw..:cheers:

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
Wow oren. Thanks. Haha. :) anyway. I just washed my bike before reading ur post. But now that i read it. I think i didnt do it very badly. Think i will leave chain cleaning and lubing to next week. I'm shy about one thing. I can't lift the bike onto mainstand. :x i called chris about my roadtax and told him about the mainstand and he said aiyooo dun worry. Not u not strong. Just that u duno the technique. Hehe tml i will go for servicing n collect my road tax. Will ask him to teach me how to put the bike on mainstand too! Haha. Thanks anyway oren. Guess i will check again to see whether i dried off all the wirings and chrome again

No worries, we all learned all this with the help of others, or by trying ourselves so ask questions and don;t be afraid to ask simple obvious questions.

For the bike on main stand, although i'm a bit taller than the average, I have ZERO strengh in my arms. So, what I do is:

1. While bike on side stand, I stand on the left side of the bike, facing its left side. I position myself a bit to the rear. I stay close to the bike

2. Left hand on the left handgrip of the handebar. This is just to keep your balance, no force is applied here, you'll use the left hand to accompany the movement

3. Right hand grabs the pillion hand bars. Or if easier for you, grab under the rear fairing. You need to feel like the grab is comfortable and strong

4. Lower the main stand slowly until it touches the floor: here, you need to make sure BOTH feet of the main stand are touching the floor. No brusk movements, just feel it. If you can't at first, then just make sure the foot that's on your side (left side of the bike) is touching the ground. You should feel the bike weight on it.

5. Put your right foot on the main stand's lever, and make sure you have a good balance BEFORE pusshing down. If at this point you feel like the bike is winning over you, reposition yourself - always remember: your side stand is your safety here, so never let the bike lean opposite you, it must be close to you or even leaning on your right leg a bit

6. Push down the main stand lever and AT THE SAME TIME pull your right hand up as much as you can. Also use your body to lean to right, taking the bike you, this will accompany the lever push and the bike will "switch" its weight to the rear, the tank weight will add to it and the main stand will be engaged.

You don;t have to worry about how much strengh you have. All you have to worry about is to always keep the bike close to you and be steady so you don;t tip over or let go of the bike. Do the movement slowly, but don;t stay too long at the "biting" point : if the bike is not fully down, main stand lever pushing hard and stays there, the bike weight will win and you might drop it. Take your time to position and hold, but when you push the lever and pull the rear, try to do it in a swift manner, in a continuous movement. As if you're trying to take the bike with you to the rear, in an ample movement.

Don't stay pressing the lever down, and trying to apply more force if the bike doesn't move, all must flow.

Many riders tend to push like mad on the main stand lever to compensate their lack of strength to lift the rear. But that's a mistake that will in time break your main stand lever. So you need to play on the bike's weight and shift it without pressing on the lever like an elephant.. Be firm, but unless the tank is empty or you have the thigh muscles of a football player, you won't be able to lift the bike just with your leg. The right hand must help a bit and your whole body must accompany the movement.

My advice is, practice it A LOT when the fuel gauge lights up on your dashboard :) Your tank will be lighter.

Until then, if you're not confident, just put the bike on the side stand. Once you practice it a few times, it won't matter anymore if the tank is full or not, you'll get the hang of it :thumb:

Edited by O'Ren

No worries, we all learned all this with the help of others, or by trying ourselves so ask questions and don;t be afraid to ask simple obvious questions.

For the bike on main stand, although i'm a bit taller than the average, I have ZERO strengh in my arms. So, what I do is:

1. While bike on side stand, I stand on the left side of the bike, facing its left side. I position myself a bit to the rear. I stay close to the bike

2. Left hand on the left handgrip of the handebar. This is just to keep your balance, no force is applied here, you'll use the left hand to accompany the movement

3. Right hand grabs the pillion hand bars. Or if easier for you, grab under the rear fairing. You need to feel like the grab is comfortable and strong

4. Lower the main stand slowly until it touches the floor: here, you need to make sure BOTH feet of the main stand are touching the floor. No brusk movements, just feel it. If you can't at first, then just make sure the foot that's on your side (left side of the bike) is touching the ground. You should feel the bike weight on it.

5. Put your right foot on the main stand's lever, and make sure you have a good balance BEFORE pusshing down. If at this point you feel like the bike is winning over you, reposition yourself - always remember: your side stand is your safety here, so never let the bike lean opposite you, it must be close to you or even leaning on your right leg a bit

6. Push down the main stand lever and AT THE SAME TIME pull your right hand up as much as you can. Also use your body to lean to right, taking the bike you, this will accompany the lever push and the bike will "switch" its weight to the rear, the tank weight will add to it and the main stand will be engaged.

You don;t have to worry about how much strengh you have. All you have to worry about is to always keep the bike close to you and be steady so you don;t tip over or let go of the bike. Do the movement slowly, but don;t stay too long at the "biting" point : if the bike is not fully down, main stand lever pushing hard and stays there, the bike weight will win and you might drop it. Take your time to position and hold, but when you push the lever and pull the rear, try to do it in a swift manner, in a continuous movement. As if you're trying to take the bike with you to the rear, in an ample movement.

Don't stay pressing the lever down, and trying to apply more force if the bike doesn't move, all must flow.

Many riders tend to push like mad on the main stand lever to compensate their lack of strength to lift the rear. But that's a mistake that will in time break your main stand lever. So you need to play on the bike's weight and shift it without pressing on the lever like an elephant.. Be firm, but unless the tank is empty or you have the thigh muscles of a football player, you won't be able to lift the bike just with your leg. The right hand must help a bit and your whole body must accompany the movement.

My advice is, practice it A LOT when the fuel gauge lights up on your dashboard :) Your tank will be lighter.

Until then, if you're not confident, just put the bike on the side stand. Once you practice it a few times, it won't matter anymore if the tank is full or not, you'll get the hang of it :thumb:

Heyyy. Thanks again. Will try later. My mum is gonna go crazy on me later. I scratched her tiled floor badly with the mainstand. :(

You live in landed house? Rich guy :thumb:

malaysia everyone lives in landed house mah.. xD

im malaysian! just turned PR. HEE. have been coming back and forth to study in singapore from primary 1 to poly year 2.

poly year 3 then only come in stay in sg. =) now graduated poly, worked for one year, stopped working recently.

school starting again on 22nd aug! =) ( SIM UOL BUSINESS )

thats abit about myself! HEEHEE.

im malaysian! just turned PR. HEE. have been coming back and forth to study in singapore from primary 1 to poly year 2.

poly year 3 then only come in stay in sg. =) now graduated poly, worked for one year, stopped working recently.

actually try this

put your body weight on the main stand and at the same time pull upwards with your right hand...

it should be easier that way

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

Thats Cool, bro. Good luck with your MBA. Wish I could do a full time MBA. Me from India working here for the last couple of years at a Bank(Credit Suisse) in the IT dept.

Update on my departure date for the touring trip (if anyone here still believes I will actually go !) : Will be this Sunday.

Went to MOM today and my card won;t be ready until Friday, so won;t be leaving tomorrow... :cry:

Alvin suggested if I leave on a Sunday that we could ride together for a portion of the road, what do you guys think ?

I am planning on taking the highway to the north, but we can also ride together on normal roads, depending on what you guys want and the type of riders that will be joining.

Likely departure time will be 7am or maybe a bit later if too early for the group. Let me know, I'm happy to put up a post for it to get attendance !

We''ll ride together as far as time permits, to allow you guys to get back to Singapore in the afternoon. Let me know how this sounds :)

maybe we can ride all the way to malacca then lunch and stop for awhile there then split from there?

Edited by alvinyansg

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787